• Page:

TOPIC: Are 100% service connected given reduced rates?

Are 100% service connected given reduced rates? 2 years 2 months ago #14815

• parrish
  • parrish's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello, my Wife and I have just started camping in Ohio and do not have to pay for a site here in our home state. We would like to expand our camping options, and are now looking at utilizing the camping facilities at bases in other states. Would appreciate any information regarding any reduced rates for other state park camping, as well as military installations. I am a USAF Veteran 1969/1973 with a 100% service connected disability. In advance thank you for any information and guidance.

Chuck and Laurie Parrish

Are 100% service connected given reduced rates? 2 years 2 months ago #14816

• monkey44
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Platinum Boarder
  • Thank you received: 101
You'll have to check each state and each base individually.

National Parks give free admission and discounted camping for America Beautiful Access pass (Get it at any NP) Disabled get a lifetime pass, free. You need proof, so bring your letters.

Some states (Oregon, Texas, Florida) give discounts, and some states charge extra for out of state campers (S Dakota, Wisc, Ind. etc) ...

Some bases give a discount for the NP Access pass (you should get one) ...

Genie and I are creating a state x state accounting of which states give veterans discounts, and which do not -- also, which states charge extra "day-use" fees on top of the camping fees. Day fees are a new method to collect additional revenue from out-of-state travelers. We'll post our results here when we finish the listings ...
Last edit: by monkey44.

Are 100% service connected given reduced rates? 2 years 2 months ago #14817

• LamSan
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
  • Thank you received: 65