Barksdale AFB FamCamp

Featured New
 
4.2 (69)
64279   0   11   1   20

User reviews

12 reviews with 3 stars

69 reviews

 
(30)
 
(25)
 
(12)
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.1  (69)
 
4.0  (69)
 
4.4  (69)
 
4.2  (69)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
12 results - showing 1 - 12  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

25 Oct 2016

Visited but didn't stay overnight. Talked to long-time mgnr, Teresa. She said big upgrades will begin April 2017. 20 new pull-thru' sites are being added. They will be back down the new road that currently leads to the refurbished FEMA trailers (now cute little cottage looking units). There is a new gate to Barksdale AFB in the new family housing area, approx. 5 miles beyond the FamCAmp. It doesn't admit RV's or big trucks. The gate that RV'ers now must use (detailed above) off of I-20, exit 23 -has new hours. It now closes at 1715 daily. If you're coming to Barksdale plan on arriving before it closes. There are no other gates that large enough to handle large trucks, RV's, motorhomes, etc. Besides these chg's Barksdale FamCamp looked about the same. Some of the vacant sites are the ones with "backwards" hookups and can't be used by most RV'ers. maybe they'll get those fixed during the big upgrade next yr. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

23-24 April 2014

We stayed here a couple of days in April as we toured the State of Louisiana. There are a lot of long-term folks in the campground. Very few spots are available for short-term guests. Bathhouse is clean. Clubhouse/office is well-appointed. Large TV and PC available for use to check e-mail, etc. Also, they sell beer and a few other necessities in the office. There is a mini-mart about a mile and a half up the road with some snacks and gasoline. No diesel at the station. Close to the casinos in Bossier City if that is your game. Some noise with B-52's flying over - but they do not appear to fly late in the evening.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 2014

We had hoped to spend two nights here so we'd have a day of rest before getting on the road again. We are heading home to Nevada from visiting family in Pensacola. We are a bit disappointed in this FAMCAMP. Too many homesteaders with all their "stuff" piled up outside their rigs. When we called this morning to see if there was a possibility of an open site the phone rang 12 times each of the 3 times we called. About noon we got a call back. They must have a way to tell who called as there was no way to leave a message. We were told there were plenty of sites so we came on in. When we got here we saw why there were sites available - they were all the "backwards" ones. We were told to drive around and pick our site and then come back and pay and let them know which site we chose. Utilities are on the wrong side of the RV in half the sites. Yes, some have driven in forwards so it works for them, and then driven the tow vehicle across the grass. No problem hooking up water and power but our sewer hose wasn't long enough to cross under the 5th wheel to reach the sewer. So, we are only staying one night. There is a dump station, but it seems as if it would be an issue to use - you have to park in the middle of the road to use it and no one could get by you if they needed to get out while you were dumping. Love the greenbelt area between the sites and all the trees are nice, but weird parking and the feeling of not belonging. Won't come back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 2013

The FamCamp is located on the Eastside of the base…a long way from the main base. However, it is located in a wooded area, but the roads are gravel (very dusty) while the sites are cement and very level. If you like staying in the trees, then most of the sites will be accommodating. However, I'd watch for falling tree limbs in the windy conditions…since they don't seem to do any tree maintenance. There does seem to be some "homesteading" and/or people living in the FamCamp. However, we saw very few days when there wasn't at least one slot available and they do have primitive camping in the park next to the FamCamp. We liked that they had a clubhouse with a large screen TV and AC. Nice place, but few people use it even though the Camp Hosts keep it open until 9pm nightly. Finally, the FamCamp Hosts were…distant. One of the Camp Hosts was not very engaging nor helpful…in fact I'd say rude most of the time. However, Teresa the person who runs the FamCamp was very engaging and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 17, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Nov. 13- Dec 13, 2012

It's back to Barksdale AFB. Didn't see any current reviews so here's a brief update. Exit 23 off I-20 is still the preferred entrance gate. I-20 construction has not reached it yet. Lots of SP's on base patrolling for speeders. The long winding road around the back of base to the RV park has construction, so be aware. The new main gate construction is complete & the gate is open but it's NOT for trucks or RV's. The RV park has lots of open spaces now. It is the quietest we've seen it in 3 winters. Most of the FEMA trailers turned tempo family qtrs are empty and it appears that most of the "trashy" full-timer, RV spaces have been vacated or cleaned up. Welcomed news for us since we really love Barksdale. RV park facilities and base facilities are unchg'ed.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 15 - 18, 2007

Well we just got back from visiting friends. The Cg looks better than it did the last time in. The New Bath house was good there are a few quirks to be worked out still. The water at the new Camp sites is still sort of brown & you may want to buy water or get a filter if you don't have one. It wasn't full and that was nice for a change. The grass is pretty high and ticks are out if you have pets be sure to watch them for that. There are 2 camp hosts on site now all the time...but that's not saying much. We heard from friends down there that come every month for groceries that they are very rude. The lady camp host was rude and very annoying to them when they arrived and checked in. Then another man *a camper* noticed that the new shower in the men's bathroom was leaking and mentioned it to the male host there in the Bath house. He wasn't rude he just said you may want to look at the shower head in the here it is leaking water at a good rate. Needless to say the Male camp host decided to use allot of profanity yelling back at the man that asked him to look at the shower head. The host after that started spreading rumors about this camper and tried to get him kicked out of the CG. In our opinion either they need new camp hosts or pay someone who would actually care what the Cg looked like and took care of it better. There are more complaints but I will let others tell their side of it down there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 2007

The campground is on the back side of the flight line. Enter through the back, industrial gate, then follow signs. There is currently construction at the site....new spaces. The weekend was wet and rainy and the sites were very sloppy. The sites are gravel, close and not easy to back into (the loop is narrow). The drive from the mainroad could be widened to make the turn into the area much easier. I think the construction, when complete, will make a better situation.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 25, 2007

We arrived in a driving rainstorm at 8pm, with no reservations. Pulled up next to the office and waited for the rain to at least allow us to open the door without drowning. The office was closed at that hour, so when the rain eased up a bit, we went in search of the on-duty host. Found that there were two hosts, and BOTH were OFF-DUTY. Some guy at the bath house said to "just find an empty slot and take an envelope from the registration shelter over there." (Like the self register deals at some national and state parks). The instructions said to "drop the completed envelope with payment into the mail slot." However, no mail slot was evident at the office/bath house, so I just decided to figure it out in the morning. There were plenty of empty sites, so I chose one, hooked up, and fell into bed for some much needed sleep. Next morning, when my wife headed for the bath house, she found a keypad on the door, to which she didn't have the combination. Since there was no host on duty to ask, yet another helpful stranger was kind enough to give it to her. About that same time, I took a walk around the camp, with a cup of coffee in hand to see what was what. As I walked by the two off-duty host sites, one of the hosts must have seen this suspicious looking stranger, because he came out in his bathrobe to see what I was up to. I told him I was trying to pay my fee so I could get on the road ASAP. He told me to wait a minute to let him put on some clothes, and ten minutes later he opened the office, took my credit card, and I gave him some OJT on how to use the credit card machine. Regarding the mail slot, it was on the door of the former "office," which is a tiny shack that looks like a poorly maintained tool shed. My off-duty host informed me they just hadn't gotten around to changing the instructions yet. Hmmmmm... Now, to the campground itself. The new office/bath house/day room is a wonderful facility. It's so new they hadn't got the furniture in the office part organized yet. The paint smelled like it was still drying. There'll be WIFI, but the off-duty host said it wasn't installed yet. From my walk around, it appears that about 75% of the concrete pad installations are completed and the contractors were on-site at 7am examining the effects of the previous night's deluge. Those areas to the sides of the road and concrete pads were complete quagmires. Pity the young troop living in a tent in that swamp near our site. The good news is that the concrete pads in the old section of the campground are a much needed improvement. The bad news is that, even with the upgraded electric, water and sewer hookups, they're on the wrong side for half of the users, since they went for the cheap solution and paired them back to back. Regarding the electric hookups, there was a sign on the bulletin board at the registration shelter that said in big black letters, "THE ELECTRICITY IN THIS CAMPGROUND IS BELOW 110 VOLTS." Seeing that, I got out my precision voltmeter and checked it before hooking up (I would have anyway) and found that it was in fact 117.5 volts, a perfectly acceptable voltage for normal electric connections. I suspected it would be normal, because all the concrete padded sites had brand new junction boxes and wiring. Must be another instruction they "just haven't gotten around to changing." There are six new back-in sites ajacent to the bath house, separate from the main loop. They all have the hookups correctly located. The road into the campground and around the loop is made of compacted red dirt and heavy gravel mix. It is raised above the swampy areas and about even with the concrete pads, so you can have a smooth back-in. The road appeared to drain well after the deluge (into the low swampy areas -- poor tent guy), and didn't appear to have suffered any noticeable washout around the edges. And you could walk to the bath house without tracking mud onto raised surfaces. With all that standing water in the low areas, I expect in a couple more weeks there'll be a serious mosquito problem, unless they have a major abatement program going for the base. Shortly after paying the bill, we left and noted on the way out that both hosts were still off duty.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

3-17 Oct 2006

Before I begin I must say that major upgrades were in progress during our stay. We were told they were due to be completed by Christmas `06. I hope the management of the camp improves with the facilities. No full-time host is on site, but some one was in the small office duty daytime duty-hours most days.

The FAM camp is full of long-term campers that are homesteading. My neighbor was a PCS'ed NCO at Barksdale and lives full-time in the FAm CAmp. He said he'd be there for 2 FULL YEARS !! I heard that some of the residents were re-located retirees from southern LA fleeing from Hurricane Katrina, but I came to see first hand, that there were few (if any ) of those left. Every day there were 3-4 RV'ers in the overflow, waiting on someone to check-out. I never saw anyone leave for 2 wks except myself. I don't want to seem snooty but the camp has taken on a trailer park look & feel and NOT a FamCAmp for RV'ers or short-stay active duty families. Reservations are NOT taken. Now I know why. There are seldom any vacancies.

The bathhouse is a dump. One shower only, 2 toilets & 2 sinks; of which, only one worked. Dirty walls and floors & huge spiderwebs inside, like that Indiana Jones movie. The trashcans were full to overfilling that entire time we visited. Campground visitor walk their dogs in the grass near the bathhouse. You couldn't walk off the sidewalk anywhere near the bathhouse, without stepping in feces. It was EveryWhere. No signs were posted about pets and no one picked up after their dog. One guest even took his dog inside the Men's bathroom/shower.

I know that hook-ups on the wrong side of the back-in sites are old news to FAM CAmpers, so lets just say Barksdale has them too. The new sites are suppossed to correct this. Campground roads were dirt that turns to rich, red mud in the rain. We'll be there again in Feb `07, so I'll report back then. Shreveport is my childhood hometown, so I'd really love to see Barksdale clean up & effectively manage this beautiful site.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Feb 2005

A slightly remote campground on the far side of the base. Lots of trees, but we did find a site for satellite signal. We've seen an alligator in the nearby creek. Don't expect a fancy RV resort here. Just good 'ole campsites.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Oct 2006

Not a bad little campground. Largely occupied by fulltimers and some active duty personnel. Has overflow for a few vehicles with 20A only in area near entrance to RV sites. Clean showers/restrooms. Honor system - find empty spot, pay by envelope drop in door slot. No caretaker on weekend/holidays. Lots of new sites under construction. Quite a distance to main BX/Commissary,etc. There is a convenience store/gas station about 1/2 mile away.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Mar 2006

Cement pads, metal picnic tables, large open areas, big trees, self-registration (no one on site most of time) laundry room with 1 washer & 1 dryer. Restrooms & showers. No pull through spaces. Very quiet except when B-52's are flying overhead!

Was this review helpful to you? 
12 results - showing 1 - 12