Barksdale AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.2 (70)
69538   0   11   1   21

User reviews

29 reviews with 5 stars

70 reviews

 
(30)
 
(26)
 
(12)
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.1  (70)
 
3.9  (70)
 
4.4  (70)
 
4.2  (70)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
29 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2-4 2017

I'd pretty much decided not to come here but made a change in route plan and am very glad I did. It's a great little park, quiet, off by itself. I rated amenities low just because of the rather dumb layout of some sites. Whoever thought the side by side nose to tail arrangement was good?? Also those sites tend to be rather small. I was lucky to get single site 18 and even that was quite hard to get backed into. The road is narrow, there are deep ditches to beware of and after the heavy rain we'd just had I was trying hard not to tear up the grass. So just because you're told there are many sites available doesn't necessarily mean they'll work for you. It would be helpful if camp personnel assigned sites based on rig size so everyone had a fair shot. But then they'd have to understand rig handling so I guess that's a dumb idea. The base is very attractive with a great commissary and bx.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 2016

We just finished a five week cross country trip from FL to CA and back in May. We stayed at 9 military RV parks. All are very different. This was by far my favorite military RV park. It was nice and quiet. The folks there are extremely helpful and nice. We stayed in the clubhouse watching TV and using the Internet while we did our laundry. The commissary and Exchange is a few miles away from the RV park. Just a lovely, comfortable place to stay. I highly recommend. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 8, 2016

Easy to find off I-20 exit 23. Staff VERY pleasant. Did not go to Clear Lake but close enough to walk via paved trail. Great for jogging or bicycle! Stayed in 43' MH towing. Did not have to disconnect.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

December 14, 2014

T.T. left this review using the Directory software: - This is an excellent campground with a friendly, helpful staff. It does take several miles of travel to arrive at the BX and commissary, or to even reach the gate from the FamCamp, which eats into the savings on campground fees.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

24-26 Oct 13

Outstanding facility and staff (Thanks Theresa). Restrooms clean and heated. Computer available in office. FamCamp has everything except cable.... but local channels are available via air/antenna. Close to good stuff in Bossier City/Shreveport including casinos. Nothing negative to say. Enter via commercial gate off I-20 exit 23. Will definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 27 - ?, 2012

Pros: Very nice, clean park and clubhouse. Staff was friendly and helpful. Fellow campers were helpful and friendly as well, and the park is very quiet (except for the cicada bugs at night, which is the loudest I've ever heard! Would be nice to have cable TV, as the satellite signal gets blocked by the thick tall trees (the same trees that provide excellent shade). I stayed here as a temporary home while house hunting, and it is has been very nice. Theresa and Paul are awesome, and the rates are the best by far in the entire area!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 09, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 4-6, 2012

We inadvertently went into the wrong gate but did not have to turn around which was nice. We finally found the campground after making a wrong turn but once there we were greeted nicely and were given a convenient campsite. Used the shower and got ice from the laundry room...everything was fine.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 16-22, 2011

Great place to stay,,, the staff was very helpful and the facilities were great. Comfortable shady spot, and nice quiet neighbors. Easy and continent to get on and off base, great Bx and Commissary.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 20, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

19-29 Oct 2011

The hot summer drought season is over at Barksdale. Oct 19 brought the cold spell and hopefully rain. It was good to see Theresa & Paul again. Same great staff and facilities. Everything's working as advertised and we got the last spot available. Yeah, some of the longer term residents here are getting a bit "junkie". I wish the time limits were tighter but then if & when I needed to stay longer, I might wish they were not. All we can do is keep our place spotless and hopefully it will rub off on others. I for one enjoy being a bit away from the main base. Close `enuff to get there easy but far away from the traffic.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 11, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 10, 2011

Check in was a breeze and received a nice site. Real value for the cost of $16.00. Site is level with good utilities. Beverly was extremely helpful explaining everything we needed to know at check in as this was our first visit to Barksdale. Hope they keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 05, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

5th of July

The directions are spot on. Very friendly staff. Went out of their way to take care of us. Nice shady spots. Everything we needed so am going to stay one more day. Update to the camp trailers for rent, they don't have them anymore. They do still have the mobile homes though.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 20, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

22 April 2011

My husband and I was up there on the weekend of the 22nd of April 2011.We enjoyed our stay and was very pleased to see how clean and well organized this campsite was run. The hosts were very helpful ...especially Adam & Beverly Handy who were extremely courteous and informative of the surroundings activities around the campsite. I give high marks to this campsite for quietness and overall camping experience, planning to make as many trips back to this facility as soon as possible !!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

17 Mar 2011

Spending a lovely evening among the tall trees. Just to add my admiration of the staff and facilities here. Plus the kids got a real kick when the B52 flew right over the camp. Hope they don't get an early start in the morning, I was hoping to sleep in. We are just here for the night, but wouldn't mind coming back for a longer stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 30, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

28 Jan - 12 Feb 2011

Back to Barksdale. 1st visit of 2011. From the last visit, the big difference I see is open spaces. 7 open today for example. The construction & placement of the 6 new FEMA double-wides is completed and FamCamp boss Teresa says it's allowed her to take out several MWR rental Travel trailers that were taking up regular Famcamp pads. So now there's more room in the Famcamp. Guess the FEMA trailers did some good after all. Same great park, facilities and staff. Lots of new building & renovations going on here at Barksdale, thnx to Global Strike Cmd, I guess. Still no diesel, however.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 6, 2010 to June 13, 2010

We found this to be a very well run facility. Was a little hesitant about not being able to make reservations but had no trouble getting a site once we arrived. The sites are large and spaced well apart. It was very hot and dry while we were there. There did appear to be a fair amount of long term individuals staying at this facility. The free ice was an unexpected plus.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Apr 14th and 15th, 2010

Nice place to stop and stay for a few days. Hadn't seen a B-52 since 1968. They fly regular here. Played golf at the base's golf course. Caught it at the wrong time. They had just aerified and sanded the greens a week before, but that's life. It's a necessary thing to to. The campgrounds were clean, sites were roomy though it seemed like a few people had been there for some time. Campers were parked there and not a sole in them for my 3 day stay. Restrooms were very clean. FAMCAMP people were very helpful. I'll stop by anytime I'm passing through for a day or 4. After all, there are casinos in town. Over all, a nice place.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

February 23-25, 2010

Very nice quite wooded area, easy directions. Nice clean sites. Will stay here any time in the area. Have a 45 ft. rig, was assigned site #35 which was perfect. Staff was outstanding, very friendly & helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 3rd through October 6th 2009

This has to be the greatest RV facility we have been to in a long while. The place is quiet, clean and hosts are really friendly and helpful. The base itself is really good, nice size Bx and Commissary and easy to get around. Today we are going to look at houses as we think this area might be a great place to move to.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 15-25 2008

We're back at Barksdale prior to beginning our Fall/Winter RV travels. Barksdale Famcamp seems nicer than ever. The "tree men" have been here for the past 3 days removing the dead trees that a previous reviewer mentioned. It enabled us to watch the nearly full moon come up last night over the Famcamp. Four or five FEMA 3 bedroom trailers are now avail for rent @ $49 per night. They don't seem to bother the Famcamp or add to the traffic. The club/bathhouse is still great, ice maker still turns out tons of free ice. The wi-fi seems stronger than last visit and they have a new color Fampcamp brochure/map. Hurrah for BAFB MWR management.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

18-19 Aug. 08

Nice place and the management is super the only problem that we came across is that the GPS coordinates lead you to a now non used gate. They take you through a neighborhood that is a very narrow two lane and not much room to turn around. We found out that you need to come in through the commercial gate which is not marked too well and has Army Reserve on the sign. To find this gate use coordinates as follows, 32 31' 35.6" N X 93 40' 32.1" W or GPS 32.526547 N X 93.675596 W. After entering the gate turn left on Perimeter road and follow the signs. We were told that this gate is open 24/7. Other than that it was great. Just to let everyone know they have trailers on site to rent and also on site RVs too. $30.00 to rent an RV for the night. My daughter stopped at the base to stay at the Inn for the night and it seems there was an exercise going on and there was no room for her and her kids. She had to stay in a Motel for the night. Though they have been told that there were rentals here in the campground the word was not passed to her and it cost her over 60.00 for the night, plus the person at the desk was totally rude to her till the manager gave her some assistance in finding a place to stay somewhat within budget as her husband is active duty and everyone knows how that is. Now that I have vented, the FamCamp was great even though we only stayed for the night.

Was this review helpful to you? 
29 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2