Aviation Arbor RV Park

Featured Hot
 
4.5 (82)
65121   1   19   0   63

User reviews

Filters 9 reviews with 3 stars

82 reviews

 
(55)
 
(19)
 
(7)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
 
4.1  (82)
 
4.2  (82)
 
4.6  (82)
 
4.5  (82)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
9 results - showing 1 - 9  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

10 Oct 2010

I witnessed this park being built as I lived across the street in the military housing units. The concrete pads are a welcomed addition to the new campground. I found the old campground did not have working laundry machines or good drainage. With daily rain storms it necessary to find a good dry site anywhere in New Orleans. Make sure you lock up your bicycles when you leave your site, my son's was stolen after leaving it out overnite.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 07, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 2015

Please be advised, the directions here are incorrect! It took us 2 hours to find this base!!! The directions state that you should take (sr23/ exit 18) this is WRONG, exit 18 does not exist!!! (Editors note: the directions state to take the SR23/18 exit - not exit 18. Directions have been updated to state to take the SR23/SR18 exit). Once you get onto the business 90 toward West Bank, the exit starts at 12 and goes down. New Orleans is the worst place to get lost in if you have a large rig, we have a 35ft class A pulling a car and the streets in town are very small. The truth is you need to take exit 7 called Laffette, then take a left under the bridge onto the SR23, not 18! I almost diddnt go to this RV park due to the comments about "very very rough roads" but this is also false information, NONE of the roads going to this base are even close to being "rough". They were very flat and smooth roads just like highway 10. In downtown New Orleans there are a few places that's a little rough but no where near the base. Aside from that that base was small but nice, wifi was very slow and I always got kicked off and had to login again, kinda like dial-up.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Spring 2014

Location is about 15 miles from downtown and is not very convenient. Hospitality was good from the manager. Pet rules are not enforced so there is dog crap in the grass and dogs not on leashes. Office personnel acted like there was nothing they could do about it. Enforce your rules, kick out those who do not comply. Laundry and bathrooms are fine. Exchange is terrible. Not one RV product and with the permanent RV park next door there are approx 100 RV spots on base. Value is awesome, $20 for full hookups is hard to beat. Outdoor rec is terrible as is the Auto Hobby Shop. I was greeted with "what do you need" when I went to get some air. No air compressor is available on base except for when the Auto Hobby Shop is open. I guess if you just wanted to stay for a few days in route to somewhere it would be fine. But not a paradise. I was really turned off by the dog thing.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 17, 2013

L.N. left this review using the Directory software: - Long way from New Orleans.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 28, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 20-27 2012

We just finished up a week here. Clarification of directions - exit 7 and then left on 23. We used Verizon air card with frequent disconnects except during work hours. Verizon said this campground is in an extended coverage area. Good location with good NEX and Commissary - nice new campground. Just wish they had though to put handicap bars in shower. Library has no DVDs to check out.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 26, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Dec 24 - 27, 2011

Brand new 45 site park with FHU opened 22 Dec 2011. They have a few bugs to work out. Bring your surge protector/polarity tester. I didn't have one and it cost me a microwave, alarm clock and kitchen light bulb. Only 2 spaces are pull thru. Each site has a nice, lighted pedestal for power and water. Campground has a pavilion with bathrooms and laundry facility. No picnic tables or fire rings at the sites. No camp host. On base road construction is happening and makes getting to the CG a little difficult, but not too bad. Finding the Outdoor Adventure building (143) is much more of an issue...even for a small base. If you don't have a base sticker, you will need to get a pass at the main gate, so have your DL, mil ID and vehicle reg/ins info handy. Dogs barked all night every night we were there. Could have been SP dogs, could have been an off base neighbor. DW was kept awake by them, I wasn't. Dump station available. Road to the base (Rt 23, I think) is a bit rough. NEX, Commissary, etc are available. ITT closed Sun and Mon. Outdoor Adventure closed Wed and Thurs. I made a reservation with them over the phone. Pets allowed though no designated dog walk area yet. Clean up after your pets and hopefully there will be no problems.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Mar 16-18, 2011

T.L. left this review using the Directory software: Arrived on a Thursday. The office isn't open on Wednesday or Thursday. Couldn't find a Campsite host, so checked in on Friday. To get to bldg 143 follow Rinard to 3rd stop sign turn left, bldg 143 is on right at next corner.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 3 - 11, 2011

This is not a campground or rv park and really shouldn't be listed here. It is a residential trailer park. There are 68 spaces and 67 are occupied, they would not rent the empty space on a temporary basis. On advice of residents I left my rig for a week unattended on base in the parking lot of an office building across the street from the park while I stayed in New Orleans. When I returned I stayed there one night and in the empty park space one night (the MWR office responsible for the trailer park is closed on Weds and Thurs - I pulled in on Thurs and out Fri without talking to anyone). There were no problems from leaving the rig or borrowing the spot for a night. Construction has begun on a new rv campground for those passing through the New Orleans area with completion expected around the end of September. They are still rebuilding from Katrina, the exchange and commissary are brand new; as was the parking lot I stayed on. I arrived on Thurs when the office was closed but I spoke with several residents and MWR employees. Everyone was friendly and helpful. There are no amenities for campers but the value was great, 8 nights of parking at no charge. The base is reasonably close to New Orleans, you can park a car for the day somewhere at Algers Point and take the free ferry to Jackson Square. All in all, a good experience for me, perhaps I was just lucky though.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 12, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

February 2010

Heard this campground may be in operation after years of being told there was no campground here. We stopped by to verify and found the campground. We spent the night. This is a no frills place to park your RV with full hook-ups. Not located in the best location for touring New Orleans, but is a very reasonably priced option. RV Park is almost filled with long-term residents working and assigned to the base. However, there were a few empty sites available. MWR states any authorized military can use the park, but it's best to call for availability.

Was this review helpful to you? 
9 results - showing 1 - 9