Aviation Arbor RV Park

Featured New
 
4.5 (81)
60766   1   19   0   62

User reviews

22 reviews with 4 stars

81 reviews

 
(54)
 
(19)
 
(7)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
 
4.1  (81)
 
4.2  (81)
 
4.6  (81)
 
4.5  (81)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
22 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

January 6-24 2016

When driving in, take I-10 to Business US 90 to exit 9B 428E General De Gaulle drive.  Take it until it becomes 407, then merge onto 406 towards Belle Chase Highway.  The other route listed takes you down 23/Belle Chase Highway which is very bumpy and has a narrow tunnel which is passable at 13'7", but I strongly recommend taking the alternate route. The campground is very clean, well laid out and easy to maneuver around.  All utilities were very good, no cable but plenty of channels to pick up over the air.  Nice paved, level sites with plenty of grass between each, very roomy.  Wifi was solid and laundry room has three washers at $1.00 and six dryers at $.75 for 30 minutes. The biggest complaint is about the information given by the office.  Other reviews raved about Kenny in the office giving tons of information about New Orleans including the ferry, places to park and many other things.  We arrived and the girl checking us in, while was nice, had to keep asking other people in the office about the things listed above and really knew nothing about the area.  We arrived late in the day and were given the welcome packet and essentially told all the information we needed was listed in the packet.  None of the information in it was correct.  The ferry address and hours was incorrect, the tours and prices listed for the ITT was also wrong.  When checking with the ITT office, they stated the contract for 2016 hadn't been completed yet so many tours were not even available.  I was amazed by this considering we were there during the Mardi Gras season.  On top of everything I was called back to the office because at check in I was not charged the correct amount for the stay.  I can understand one mistake in the office, but with all the misinformation and the payment mistake it makes it tough to go higher than bad on service. The commissary and exchange were fine, not the largest, but had most of what we needed for a two and a half week stay.  Outside of the service the park is great.  Nothing to do in the immediate area, so you will drive at least 30 minutes for something to do, including off base shopping at Walmart. You will hear Coast Guard helicopters frequently since the pad is just behind the campground.  Jet noise itself was occasional.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

1 November 2015

This campground is outstanding and the staff are wonderful, but the base Security program leaves a lot to be desired.  We stayed here during the time my Great Niece was getting married in New Orleans, and due to this I had my Brother-in-Law and family stay with us as guest.  Big mistake, not sure if every base handles their guest the same as this base but what a HUGE pain in the rear this was.  We had to go to the Pass & ID office daily for a vehicle pass for their RV which took sometimes up to 3 hours waiting in line.  Then when my wife and I were getting ready to leave Security couldn't find my weapon that had been checked into the Armory.  Finally after a 2 hour delay they found the weapon. My big complaint about the security dept. is in relation to policy every person you talk with gives you a different policy.  And what is sad is after talking to a few other campers it was shown to us as to how easy it is to circumvent their security system in reference to bring guest on board the base, very poorly done all it does is make things hard on those who try and follow the rules, and easy for those who don't.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

November 12-18, 2015

This was our fourth visit to Aviation Arbor in the past three years.  Kenny McCune, the manager, and his staff are unsurpassed in hospitality.  The concrete pads are wide and level and the hookups are excellent.  The nice commissary and NEX are within walking distance and this park gives you great access to the French Quarter via the Algiers ferry ($2 per person, one way).  There is recycling on site (minus glass).  This RV park is overwhelmingly positive but there are a few negatives.  It has gravel access roads that are dusty when dry and messy when wet.  Reportedly, these roads are going to be asphalted in the near future.  The GoWiFi internet access was not working the first five days of our stay.  When it was finally fixed, it worked very well.  According to Kenny, they have had ongoing issues with GoWiFi.  One word of warning, you are in southern wetlands so be prepared for voracious mosquitoes at dusk.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 1-14, 2015

We had a site facing the canal with the runway on the other side. The canal had trash. Gravel road into the campground was full of potholes. That's pretty much the only real negatives about this place. We stayed 2 weeks. Sites are cement pads surrounded with clover and grass. Plenty of room between sites. Hookups are in the middle. No trees. Laundry $1, dryer 75 cents, very clean. Also clean restrooms and showers. No off leash dog park but plenty space to walk dogs. Also, there's an off leash park nearby in one of the neighborhoods that we used. Free WiFi was fairly strong during day, not so much at nite. Campground is noisy with planes taking off or idling on runway which is just on the other side of canal. Check in person was very helpful with nice welcome package at check in. They accept UPS and Fedex at park. Exchange and commissary are within walking distance. Park is neat and orderly. Cute base. Would stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 16, 2015

Great site. Use the 407 bridge over the canal to bypass the tunnel; straight down DeGaulle. We're returning for an extended stay in June.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 7-13, 2015

On the advice of a New Orleans Native, we took the General DeGaulle drive (very first exit after crossing the bridge on US-90BUS) until across the Intracoastal Waterway. That avoided the Belle Chasse tunnel which is narrow but passable. With the exception of location, every aspect about this RV Park exceeds the former Navy Annex park in the Algiers neighborhood. The Staff is friendly and responsive. The Base facilities (NEX, Commisary, MWR, Gas Station, Chapel) are nearby. YOU CAN WASH YOUR RIG HERE!!! Base security is among the most polite and professional we have encountered. And, a word about activity in the Big Easy. Do not miss the National WWII Museum. This is an expertly produced testament to and history of the greatest achievement of the Greatest Generation. Plan an entire day there. Bottom Line: We won't look elsewhere for our next stay in New Orleans.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jan 30, 2015

G.B. left this review using the Directory software: - The coordinates for the park is the park office which is in a strange place in the back of the park. There are no signs to direct to the office.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

13 Nov to 28 Nov 2014

We never saw Kenny but Cynthia in the office is very friendly and helpful. They no longer have the weekly rate, it's $20 a day, period. The library on base (we walked there every day that it was open) is wonderful, small, but they said they will be enlarging it soon. Each person with ID card is allowed 5 books and 2 DVDS and there are also books on tape. They have a nice selection of DVDs. There is also a redbox at the smaller NEX (near the bowling center). As stated, no retirees allowed at mess hall BUT they make exceptions for certain holidays so we ate there on Thanksgiving but the food was pretty bad. NEX and commissary is nice. There is also a Walmart not TOO far away and they do have diesel there. Nice info packet given at check-in but just a word of warning--DON'T go to Zydecko's (menu is in info packet) We did and it was TERRIBLE. The campground is very nice. Not even half full while we were there. There are two pull-thrus and we were lucky enough to get one. Be forewarned if you "carry", gate guard asks EVERY TIME you enter whether you have any weapons.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

4-10 May 2014

We stayed here for a full 7 days. The campground has large back-in spaces - no pull thru's. The shower/restrooms facility is clean and well-maintained. The staff has enough literature on local things to do, you walk out of the office with information overload. The Wi-fi worked reasonably well - only one evening did we have a "unable to connect" situation. It is set up on the Navy's free on-line system - register with a credit card, but free to use at many Navy bases in the US. The office even provided a survey card for rating the wi-fi service that is submitted to the base commander. TV on antenna worked fairly well - most of the major networks were available. Sprint cell service was adequate. Base Exchange and Commissary are within walking distance. There is a gas station on base--but no diesel fuel available. Dining in mess-hall is not permitted for retirees. Subway on base at the exchange. Also, two grills available at the bowling alley. If we are in the area again, we will stay here. Thanks to Kenny, Joycelyn and Eddie!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 1-8 2014

Very nice staff there to greet you with a well informative package. The grounds are clean and the sites are level. WIFI works well. The reason for the 4 star rating for amenities is the lack of cable TV. Was able to receive 30 channels with roof antenna. The ITT office is close and has tickets for different tours of New Orleans. I bought a combo ticket for a city tour followed by a paddle boat tour. They don't tell you that the "ticket" that they sell you is a voucher and must be exchanged at the ticket booth located where you board both the bus and the boat. Parking can sometimes be a pain in this area of NO, so my recommendation would be to spend 2 dollars (1 dollar if you have medicare card) and ride the ferry from Algiers Point. The ferry lets you off within easy walking distance (10 minutes) of the ticket booth and the French Quarter.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 5-9, 2014

This was our third visit to Aviation Arbor over the past 18 months, and Kenny and his staff continue to improve on a very nice park. The orientation package was a great, new perk. WiFi is still a challenge. The GoWiFi connection was so slow that it was essentially useless. The only suggestions for improvement would be to improve WiFi and pave the gravel connecting road to the excellent, concrete pads.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

February 14-17, 2014

We enjoyed our 3 day visit. We happened to be here for the first Mardi Gras parade in the French Quarter for this year. Kind of crazy, but no problems. The RV Park wasn't even 50% full, but looks like it will fill up soon for Mardi Gras. Camp host/Manager Kenny has the best attitude and was very helpful. The RV Park was fairly quiet. Although about 10 miles from the Ferry, it's still a convenient location for visiting New Orleans. The New Exchange and Commissary was nice. We used the RV Park laundry for $1 wash and .25 cents dry for 30 minutes. However, the dryers didn't work very well and took an hour to dry our clothes. We'll stay here anytime we're back in the New Orleans area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 06, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

1-6 April 2013

Very nice RV park with all the amenities. Fairly level concrete pads, good 30/50 amp elec and good water pressure. Not a lot of lights which helps with sleeping. Kenny, the manager is doing a great job and will give you all the information you need to enjoy your stay in the New Orleans area. About a 30-40 minute drive to the free ferry at Algiers Point. Washer/dryers work great; $1 to wash and .75 to dry. You will need a sticker to get on base. When we arrived they let us go to the park but I had to return the next day for a new sticker (new windshield recently installed). When they say that I-10 and LA 23 are rough, they weren't kidding. Be sure to have chicken at Willie Mae's Scotch House and a Po'boy at Johnny's. I'm glad we came and will return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 28 - April 1, 2013

T.L. left this review using the Directory software: - Very nice looking rv park, modern hookups, level concrete pads with gravel roadways. First half of park is for larger rigs. Mostly back in sites.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jan 28-31, 2013

J.C. left this review using the Directory software: - Nice, clean park. I felt that $20 per night was a good rate, expecially given the proximity of New Orleans. There is a free ferry as was mentioned. It is about a 25 minute drive from the base. Back gate has restricted AM and PM hours. We followed route directions from directory, is one small tunnel (probably 13-14 feet headroom. Route 23 is OK, just slow and congested. We are a 43 foot motorhome with tow.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 22, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

November 16 - December 4, 2012

Kenny runs a first-class operation. We stayed here in a large 5th wheel and we would definitely stay here, again. The only downsides are the mosquitos (you are in the swamplands of Louisiana, however) and the unpaved (gravel) connecting roads between the large concrete pads. There are only 2 pull-thru sites, but the connections (W/S/E) are top notch. When we stayed there, WiFi was still a work in progress.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Late June 2012

Wonderful, all new sites! Spacious sites with concrete pads and clean, well-maintained grounds. Internet access was still being installed, but otherwise this campground has everything I could have asked for. The bathhouse/laundry facility was clean and well maintained (its new of course) and is a short walk from anywhere in the campground. Kenny was very helpful and informative-the best "host" I've ever dealt with. The campground is about 25 minutes from downtown.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 25, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sep 25 2012

The new park is just past the old one. If it doesn't look new, your in the wrong place. Great place to stay while visiting the surrounding area. About 30 min to the French Quarter. Only complaint, wifi slow as dial up and unusable.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

25 April 2012

M.D. left this review using the Directory software:- This is a beautiful campground, and the staff, particularly Kenny, go out of their way to be helpful. To find the campground, after you turn on to Rinard Rd. and go about .75 miles, you will see a campground on your left. This is for permanent party. Continue to, and enter the last (south most) entrance to this campground, then make an immediate right turn, keeping the small green "Aviation Arbor" sign on the PASSENGER side of your vehicle. Continue past the RV dump area, and you will be in the new transient campground. As others have mentioned, the light poles opposite the campsites are a problem for parking some vehicles. It takes a certain amount of space to safely and conveniently park a 30 foot fifth wheel. Many of these sites do not provide that space. Also, while the grass is very well maintained, it contains burrs, so be careful with pets and barefooted people. That said, this is a beautiful, well maintained and managed park, in a very convenient location.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 01, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Mar 28, 2012

Great new park, terrific sites with nice concrete slabs. One caution, they have concrete wheel stops on the sites, these are 7" high and the transmission on my Newmar is 6" from the ground after I dump the air. Just watch where you are when you dump the air if you dump the air. I found the directions confusing so, from hwy 90 go south on sr-23, (Belle Chasse hwy)8.3 miles. Turn right just past the Texaco Station onto Russell Dr. This is the main gate entrance. Go 3/4 mile to 4 way stop and turn left onto Rinard Rd. About 3/4 mile you will see a RV park on the left, the new fam-camp is past the old park on the left. I'm not sure if you can stay in the older park, or if we must use the newer park. I did see prices listed in bld #143 for $10 a night and I assume it is the older park prices. The older part was full and only a few rigs in the new area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
22 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2