Aviation Arbor RV Park

Featured
 
4.5 (82)
67596   1   19   0   69

User reviews

50 reviews with 5 stars

82 reviews

 
(55)
 
(19)
 
(7)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
 
4.1  (82)
 
4.2  (82)
 
4.6  (82)
 
4.5  (82)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
50 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

20-25 June 2017

We spent our 6 days here, the first two dodging Tropical Storm Cindy. Since this is the closest FamCamp to New Orleans, it becomes a mandatory stay. On the South side of New Orleans, your choice is to drive into town and pay high parking fees, or take the $2 ferry ride from Algiers to the Canal Street pier. The staff at the FamCamp were very friendly, knowledgeable, and informative. The paved sites are very nice and all utilities worked well. The only minor complaint we had were the potholed roads but, maybe that's a good incentive for drivers to slow done.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov 14-21, 2016

First visit to the Park, no problems coming in the gate. The exit was under construction and was a mess while I was there. The campground was about 1/3 full. The only negative thing was the construction next door, they are building and new BEQ and they start working at daylight! Its all part of the base growing so take it for what it is, its not a reason not to stay. The fire ants were on the move and when I went to the office and ask for stuff to put on the mounds, they said they would have to put in a trouble call and it could be up to 3 days...oh well don't wear flip flops in the grass.. The laundry room is awesome and the weekly rate is hard to beat. As long as I have friends stationed there I will be back! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 10, 2017

FYI this park only accepts reservations 6 months out for Retired and DOD civilians.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb. 3 to Mar. 4, 2017

Love to visit this place and usually come during Mardi Gras and for the first time this place is packed so I am happy to see it is becoming popular. The road was not paved since our last visit but they are filling the potholes with dirt and rocks so it is helpful. Numerous buildings and construction projects going on and word has it a fence will be along the flight line beyond the small creek in the RV park. ITT moved into the MWR building from the small trailer they had last year and the negotiated rates they have are better than last year. Do not use showers and laundry but they are always clean and in working order. The sewer and water lines here are also less than 4' apart so it may be the standard for FamCamps. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

21-22 Oct 2016

Stayed there in a 32'Class C pulling a 16 foot trike trailer. Plenty of room at the site, easy hook ups with a nice pedestal for each site. Friendly helpful staff, close to commissary and exchange and not far from the Algiers ferry to NO. Would definitely stay there again when in the area. Only negative is that there are only 2 pull through spots.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 6-7 2016

This was a nice surprise close to N.O. We made a quick weekend trip & thoroughly enjoyed staying here. Very well kept. Staff was friendly, efficient, & helpful. Bath house was clean. Lawn was immaculate. The NEX was great. Will definitely come here again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 17-22. 2015

We did not stay at the campground during the day as my father in law lives in New Orleans and had a lot for us to do during the day preparing for Christmas at his house. The folder of information the office gave us was unexpected and appreciated. There were hardly any campers in the rear of the park, which was nice, however the soggy grass and wet rock roads was horrible to walk our dogs. Every couple of feet was a huge ant pile. But other than that, it was a quiet place to sleep. We missed the cadence and other sounds of a base since my husband medically retired in 2013.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov. 9th to Dec. 8th, 2015

Our fourth time here and once again it is at the top of our go to military RV parks. Each day a bus comes in fully loaded to the processing center with new recruits and the looks on some of their faces is priceless, some appear glazed while others are all pumped up. This base is upgrading the mess hall next year and some chatter about allowing retirees to eat there. Kenny feels strongly the roads will be done next year so that is good news. Not sure why the park is not used more in the winter as the weather is great here and so much to do in the area. If you visit here be sure to explore the grocery stores called Rouses, Belestra and Digornac as they offer some of the best local foods you can find near Belle Chasse and Metarie. Will we back next winter, absolutely and if possible will stay again for Mardi Gras. Only negative about New Orleans is night time visits could put you in danger as crime is high!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 30-Oct 3 2015

Best kept military RV park on the planet?, could very well be. We have stayed in military RV parks from Seward Alaska to Hanscom Field, and many in between. This is a great place to stay and such a good idea to have New Orleans next door.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 19-26 2015

This is one of the finest military parks that we have been fortunate to use. The site concrete pads are large enough to accommodate 43 to 45 foot Class A's or large 5th Wheels. Access to utilities (W/S/E) is convenient and somewhat to the rear of the pads on most sites. Most are back-in with only one pull-through. Staff was friendly and very helpful and provided a wealth of information about the area. If you are going downtown during the day, use the Algiers Ferry and save yourself the hassle of downtown parking. For the New Orleans area, there is no better value to be found. While we were here night aircraft ops were non-existent making for very peaceful evenings. It may just be the time of year, but there were lots of space availability during the week when we were there. Truly a hidden jewel.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 24-27, 2015

First let say the staff were great in assisting you with information of the surrounding area and especially for downtown parking and getting around. This park is a hidden treasure as for a Fam-Camps for the price. Free WiFi, cheap laundry, clean restrooms, clean and level cement pads. Yes the road has a few potholes but I've worst and yes there is noise from the jets but what would expect staying on base that has airplanes. The NEX and commissary are great, the biggest one I've seen on many of the Navy bases. I would come back and stay longer and tell my friends that they need to plan on staying here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Mar 19 - 23, 2015

If I had any complaints, it would be the city roads. Plan on them being very very very rough. The base is beautiful and the park really nice. WiFi is great and we toured NO but we took the Ferry and that was a great way to go. $1 each way and parking $5. Took the trolley and you get unlimited on/off for $3. Bourbon street was very disappointion because of the awful smell but French Qurther interestion and historic. Enjoy the entire experence and the base is a 10. Navy did a a great job and office staff very very helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jan. 21, 2015 to Feb. 15, 2015

WOW! Second stay here and definitely will be back as it is well maintained and rules enforced. Was fairly empty when we arrived but in the last few days it is full of fun seekers for the Mardi Gras celebrations in the area. Kenny told Lambert they plan on blacktopping the roads in the Famcamp and that will be a great improvement for bike riders and walkers and stop the dust flying around. MWR had a cookout one day for everyone in the Famcamp and I believe this is a monthly event. All the staff goes out of their way to keep your stay as pleasant as possible and we had a package delivered from FedEx and it was delivered to our door, now how many Famcamps would do that for you? The drive to go to downtown N'awlins is a breeze but we did not go to any of the parades there as had some concern about safety. Went to parades in Chalmette and Houma and the base had a Mardi Gras parade with the Clydesdales in the lead, a Coast Guard copter with blades off and decorated and a few floats and many of the wives and children and it was just so cute. Fuel price in this area was very low when we arrived, about 20 cents less than Florida where we live but now they are creeping back up. For the best seafood go to Zydecos on Route 23 not far from the base as the fried oysters and shrimp are huge, sweet and the breading is crunchy, yummmmmmmmmmmm!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 19, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

11-15 Feb 2015

RV Gate coordinates are incorrect. Sent us 15 miles out. Use main gate or NEX address. (Editor: corrected). Nice level concrete pads, good free WiFi, great free TV reception. Walking distance to NEX and Church, dog park on base about 1 mile away. Very friendly staff, Cindy and Kenny were very helpful. $20 a night, can't beat it especially during Mardi Gras season. Will definitely return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

17-20 Nov 2014

Not sure where the previous reviewer stayed or he had a beef with this place. I don't expect or even attempt to by rv products at the exchange. Commissary and exchange close to rv park and pretty nice if you ask me. Also went to liberty center (rec center) and found staff there very nice and helpful. The campground manager Kenny, and Cynthia were very friendly and helpful and provided packet of local attractions and maps. The new campground is great, double level concrete rv pads, grass, nicely spaced, no trees though. You are close to the runway and will get airplane and helicopter noise, but this is an air station. Didn't use bathrooms or laundry but it's a new building and I'll have to defer to previous comments. Plenty of spaces available only about 50% occupied. It is about 30 minutes downtown and roads here are a rough but not terrible. Directions here are excellent, you do have to go thru tunnel under Mississippi river but no problems 13'7" clearance. Will definitely stay here again. Policy just got changed to 30 day stay then move. Larry feel free to check on it and update if you want, thanks.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Mar 4-13, 2014

R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - Everything in the reviews was true....a very well run camp, extremely personable and efficient staff. Easy walk to the commissary/bx. The dryers run a little cool, probably because of the snaking pile of flexible duct trying to vent them. We liked it so much we extended our stay and would definitely return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 10 - May 14, 2014

Can't say enough nice things about this FamCamp. It fulfilled all our wants and needs. Kenny is awesome and couldn't do enough for us. We stayed 4 days and enjoyed the camp. Bathhouse is immaculate as the sites are also. It is a well kept and convenient campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb. 21 - March 12, 2014

It was a pleasure to visit Aviation Arbor Park. Kenny, the manager and his crew were delightful. We had some problems with our car and motorhome and Kenny helped us through it. Their referrals were the best. The only negative to this place was the entry gate. You would have thought they were hiding bombs or something. They would not allow any guests to visit without you being there. This was really a hardship during Mardi Gras and we had adult kids visiting and we had to stay out late with them. They were really on "overkill". Kenny ran such a good ship and all of the parks success is due to him. Thank you again Kenny!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

27Feb14 - 06Mar14

I'm really hesitant to give this park a glowing review, not because it doesn't deserve it, but because I'd like to keep it a hidden jewel. In all seriousness, the Park is great. Ken & Crew were extremely cordial & helpful prior to & during our visit. We visited during Mardi Gras with a guest RV & Ken & Crew helped us plan our viewing of the more 'fun' parades & other festivities. The Park is exceptionally maintained & is easily accessible. The commissary, base exchange & gas station (no diesel) are close to the Park as are other amenities. While the roads to the Park aren't paved, the pads are. Having spent time at other Military parks, it will be only a matter of time for the paving of the roads to take place. The 'low tunnel' described above will tighten the old sphincter if you're traveling in a big motor home but other than that it was a great trip. We & our guest were traveling in class A diesel motor homes.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

January 27-February 10, 2014

Indeed the welcome was the warmest and most comprehensive ever. We were given a packet of base and tourist information. The park is new and not a tree, shrub or flower mars the sterility. Sites are wide with double concrete pads and cute tables added while we were there. Excellent utilities.
There's a new, clean laundry. Because washers are top-loaders, it takes loads a long time to dry. Showers were clean but missing shower curtain, resulting in a flooded rest room floor. NOISY - it's in an industrial area on the river and there are planes revving engines. Potholed gravel roads serve as speed bumps. On one side of the park is a ditch full of water/mosquitoes. There is no place for meals on base, but some really good BBQ across from the gate. It's a long, boring drive to New Orleans if you do it more than a couple of times. The commissary and exchange were close and the base library is excellent. ITT is helpful with tickets for attractions and directions.

Was this review helpful to you? 
50 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3