Camp Meade RV Park

Featured
 
4.1 (80)
86792 1 15 2 34

User reviews

80 reviews

 
(36)
 
(33)
 
(6)
 
(4)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
4.6  (80)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.3  (80)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (80)
Value 
 
3.8  (80)
Overall Experience 
 
4.1  (80)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
80 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4
Ordering
Sept 7-12, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We have stayed at this park before and would do so again. Yes, the price is high for a Famcamp but when you consider the area it is just fine. We have stayed at a few Famcamps that are in the $30 range. We paid $33 a night here. Our only complaint about the campground - the building next door has a brand new loudspeaker that they are very proud of and it is LOUD! Reveille is played at 6:30 AM, colors at 5:00 PM and Taps at 9:00 PM. You will not miss them as the sound echoes through the park. Not the parks fault but don't jump a foot when it starts! I am used to hearing these, just not so LOUD. I submitted a change to the directions. Once you get through the commercial gate and turn left on Mapes road, follow it until it ends at Ernie Pyle Road and turn right. Turn right at Llewellyn (stop sign), and then left on Wilson. Outdoor Rec will be up on your left. Park in the lot and check in.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
May 5 through June 1, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We have stayed here multiple times over the past couple of years, and there is one thing of which you can be sure--nothing ever changes. Yes, it is an ideal location. Yes, they have nice, wide concrete sites. Yes, there is not another RV park in the area that comes close to the price of this park. With that being said, there has been no effort to improve the RV experience at this park in years. We paid $231 per week for our four week stay. We have stayed in many military RV parks across the eastern and southern United States, and nobody charges more for less than this park. The water quality is absolutely horrible. There is a lot of iron in the water, and dark orange surges are common. Plan on going through at least one water filter per week. There are many overhanging trees throughout the park that need trimming. It is virtually impossible to drive through the park without brushing against tree branches. There is still no WiFi and there is no plan to add it to the park's amenities. The office staff is friendly enough, but after you check in, you will not hear from them again unless they have a problem with something you are doing. Here is the crazy thing--we will definitely stay here again because it is still the best deal in the area--and they know it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
Sep - Oct 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
It was our first time to stay here. I hope these extra instructions help other first-timers. Using exit 8 off of MD 32 to enter Ft Meade with your camper, enter the roundabout and bypass the Main Gate. Take the next right off the roundabout which looks (and is) the entrance ramp onto MD 32 west. There is an exit off that road that takes you to the Truck Gate/NSA Gate. You will be driving on the left side of a road that is divided and one-way. When you reach the check-point and finish, you make a U-turn to the right in the parking lot and go back through the gate up the opposite side of the one-way road you came in on. When you reach a stop sign, turn right – (left takes you to an NSA gate where you will have you turn around). You are on Ft Meade and can proceed to the campground by taking a left onto Mapes Road at the first traffic light. We enjoyed the camp and found the staff very helpful. I had a medical emergency and had to extend our stay which the staff was reluctant but did work something out for us to stay. The campground is across the street from a small lake with a paved path plus you see deer and ground hogs almost anytime you are walking. It is expensive and the long parking pad had the water/electricity located about middle of the pad so I could not back to the end and reach the plug-in at the rear of my 5th wheel. I would recommend this campground and would stay again (non-emergency).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Oct 25, 2013
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
I maybe adding a comment once we get there, since I have read the posts, and how the campground is being take care of. The homesteader I am sure don't complain since they are double dipping (getting paid more for living allowance than they pay there). Even though it is one of the pricier parks it is still a bargain for homesteaders. I thought I had read at onetime, that active and retired military, could get a site before DOD civilian and contractors. Is this no longer true? Apparently this is not true at FT Meade, which seems to be a homesteaders meca, especially since of BRAC. We called Ft Meade RV CG and requested a back-in site (which are cheaper) for 5 days. We were told they only had one for 2 days, but we could get a pull through (more expensive). I know FT Meade has many DOD and Contractor homesteaders from the years we have used their campground. Our family lives in the area and we stay there when we visit MD. I thought as the rules stand, they would have to move someone, either a homesteader, or DOD/Contractor, to open a site. I really don't feel it is fair, that we will be spending much more for a site, when we are "guest" using the park for Recreation, and the campgrounds are called RV parks. :( :angry:
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 4
Oct 5, 2013
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I read the previous review and I agree the grass is cut and the dumpster was not over flowing. I was in site 23, a pull through for $38, and had great difficulty getting into my site and out of it because of tree limbs and branches that scraped the sides and roof of my coach. There was also what I believe a telephone junction box in my site, front right, by the road that was probably 40 inches tall. It showed signs of being hit by previous rigs. With a tree on the left side it made turning left interesting. The roadways also need tree limbs trimmed. Although on previous stays I was told that nobody stays longer than 30 days, on this visit I was told that there are a large number of folks that do. I was told they can stay six months, depart for a day and return for six more. This is a convenient stop for us on a Saturday, so we can get on a jump on the D.C. beltway early Sunday morning but I think $38 is too much to charge for a military campground, especially one that is not maintained properly, and does not have cable or wifi.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Sept. 22nd to Oct. 5th, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This can be the one of the most expensive Military Parks in the system; however, costs can be brought into line with the weekly rate and a back-in site. The staff are friendly and, I was surprised, when they called us the day before our Sunday arrival, to provide gate codes and info. BTW - operations at the RV park seem unaffected by the shutdown. The area is well maintained with regular lawn maintenance and trash collection. It is a great location to visit Baltimore. Many of the sites are very spacious and most are shaded. Antennae picks up most of the local stations, if you have a sat-dish, many sites are blocked. We'll be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Aug 16-17, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Very nice clean park, but as with most of these facilities, they are becoming less of a value or benefit to RVers. Internet is available within 50 ft or so of the laundry area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
30 April to 16 May 2013
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - Absolutely disappointed with this park. We have stayed here several times over the past 5 years. They used to provide cable TV and wifi at a rate less than they charged us. Seems the Army is simply interested in gouging the RVers. We wont be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 28-30, 2013
(Updated: July 02, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here for the weekend to see some local sites. Great location, less than 30 minutes from the inner harbor and not too far from Washington. As others stated the cable did not work, however we picked up many local stations with no problems. We did get the "dd-wrt" WiFi but was not the best quality. A new PX is being built along with some construction along the route to the campsites. The campground is clean and well shaded with plenty of space between sites. Some have concrete pads under the table and fire ring. There were a few RVs that appeared to be there for a while and not occupied, however there were plenty of open sites. The office personnel were friendly. The store had several items for RV'ers that we've not seen at other military campgrounds. The store also has the Leisure Travel Service for discount tickets. The store and office do close at 5pm, however if you have a reservation they will call the number you give with the reservation with the code for the gate and bathhouses.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 2013
(Updated: June 29, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great location for DC and/or Baltimore. No WiFi or cable, but the security, paved sites, and proximity to facilities on base (PX, commissary, lake park, etc.) makes it a good week or weekend visit. I would camp here again for a PCS transition or a visit to the region.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 10 - June 24, 2013
(Updated: June 27, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The park web site says "CATV", but the cable has been inoperative for at least several months including the TV in the shower building. There was a problem with the contractor providing the service. A resident offered to help fix the problem, but management was non-responsive. The park has an unofficial WiFi, put together by some skilled park residents using existing lines from a previous landline install. The residents offered to set up a real WiFi, but management again unresponsive. The WiFi mostly works in the shower building and nearby sites. It is named "dd-wrt". Might have been previously mentioned, but..park discontinued the discounts based on Golden Age/Sr Pass etc. in April 2013. But they instituted a weekly rate. But they also raised the rates $5 per day. So a backin costs $28 per day on a weekly rate and a pull-through is $33. I suggest saving your money and taking a back-in whenever possible. There used to be recycle bins in the shower building, but now only in the office building and mostly invisible near the restrooms. Sounds like someone is ignoring the Army push for recycling - likely because thoughtless residents treated receptacles like trash cans. In the 1st 2-3 years (2003-2005 or 2006) there were Park Hosts as you entered the camping area and no barriers to entry. That meant campers could arrive after 5:00 office closing time and get a site..or could at least call. Then they fired the hosts, put up a barrier and now late arrivals or un-reserved people must sit in the paved parking lot overnight when there are sites empty inside. Bad customer service and loss of revenue for the post. I put these items and a couple others in an "ICE" evaluation to MWR. We shall see if I get an answer. I sent an "ICE" to the Law Enforcement division about speeders and tailgaters on the post and got an answer the next duty day. It has been 3 days and counting for MWR. I no response I will resent the "ICE" to the command section. I don't plan to be back at Ft Meade until 2016 anyway...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April 15 thru May 5, and May 20 thru June 9, 2013
(Updated: June 12, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a very well maintained park in a prime location. It is a bit on the expensive side ($33 per night for a pull-thru site at a weekly rate), but that comes with the location. In my opinion, the main detraction is that there is no WiFi in the park and, according to the manager, there are no plans to provide it at any point in the near future. Water pressure and electrical service are very good. Given that this is a beautiful wooded campground, satellite reception in many of the sites is questionable or impossible. If you have a DOD decal, there is no problem entering the base through the main gate on Reece Road. The pull-thru sites were designed for motorhomes (not fifth wheels), because once you pull through, there is no circular way for you to easily pull your truck in front of your fifth wheel once you leave the campground and return. The commissary is one of the largest and best stocked commissaries in the country, and it is right around the corner from the campground. The campground staff don't tell you, but there is a comprehensive recycling facility right around the corner from the campground, also (on Rock Road). You can drop off your recycling materials there 24/7. We plan to return to this park annually.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 14, 2013 thru May 21, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
F.D. left this review using the Directory software: - Beautiful campground. Rest rooms kept clean (door code given at check-in). Gate Code needed for entry (given at check-in). Site has concrete pad with an attached pad (made from playground gravel) with aluminum picnic table at each site. Each site has a cable TV connection. Nice Commissary & Exchange. Ten minute ride to Odenton MD, MARC (railroad) station. $5/one way ticket to Washington DC (30 min train ride) Union Station. Union Station gives you access to all METRO subway lines and 2 blocks from Capital building. Camp store with propane sales. Exchange gas station has gas & diesel fuel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 3-5, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
R.B. left this review using the Directory software: - When leaving 05/05/13 at 0730 AM I discovered that the gate we normally arrive and depart by now has limited hours. The staff at MWR failed to inform anyone that due to the recent automatic budget cuts the gate hours have changed. I had to unhook my tow vehicle in order to turn around. I think the staff could provide better information the RV'ers as we arrive. I would like to also add that when I asked how to get to the golf course I was informed that it is now closed due to some kind of land ownership dispute between DOD and MWR with no plans to ever open the course again. Other that what I have already mentioned it was a good two day stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Numerous times 2008 - 2013
(Updated: April 02, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
We have stayed here off and on for the past four years. I was going to write exactly what the person before me did, so please read his for details. It is a beautiful campground and could have so many possibilities. The last manager was given a free playground. Instead of putting it in the campground to help to entertain the children she put it by the lake where there are already two. The pool on Rock that we were able to use has closed. They keep telling us they've upped the rates for improvements. In four years we have not seen any of the money go back into this campground to make it any better. The mold issue in the lounge is a concern. How can mold in a building be contained to one room? Seems it would be present in the whole building. No cable, no internet, unfriendly staff! Doesn't make for a a very friendly place to stay. If you do complain about anything to the office it puts a huge target on your back. We recently went to Florida and stayed at a Navy campground in Mayport. It was 19 dollars a night, free laundry in a very clean facility, free ice, view of the ocean and a very friendly staff. I am proud that the Navy takes care of their own and offers an awesome place for people that have earned it to stay. From what I've heard Fort Meade is the worst FamCamp people have dealt with. Once we leave we never plan on returning.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
March 2013
(Updated: March 21, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
My wife and I have stayed at this site several times over the past two years. It started off being a very nice campground with a great staff and decent ammenities. The prices were reasonable though a little bit higher than most other military campgrounds. All that has changed for the worse. Cable TV two years ago consisted of nine channels and very poor quality, including no CBS. Internet was available but only if you were parked near the main office. The lounge/laundry building is ok, but the game room was closed off sometime before our first stay in September 2011 due to mold. A sign said they were "working on it". Fast forward to the Spring of 2012. Suddenly rates went up by over 50%, no cable or Internet at all. We asked the manager - the guy that only walks around in the morning with his cup of cofee and blue-tooth piece jammed in his ear - about this. He said the rates are going up in order to improve the campground, put Internet and cable TV back in. Fast forward to Fall of 2012. The only improvement was replacing several site picnic pads with a fine gravely/dirt mixture that turns to quicksand in the rain. Still no Internet or cable TV. Fast forward to today, March 20, 2013. We arrived for the Cherry Blossom Festival in D.C. and are staying here for three weeks. Still no cable, no Internet, game room still closed due to mold, and now they've announced that effective April 15, 2013, they will no longer take the National Park passes. You would think they'd lower their prices because of that, but no, the greed continues with absolutely no improvements to the campground. Oh, wait - they did paint large site numbers on the pads. With an estimated increase in revenue of between $500 and $1000 per day (depending on number of guests), you'd think they could at least put in basic cable! With prices not far off from off-base campgrounds that offer so much more, I don't see this potential gem lasting much more.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
October 14-18, 2012
(Updated: January 22, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here in a large 5th wheel. Although a little pricey, you can't argue with the location and the considerable base amenities that are within a short distance from the park. We plan to stay here again soon when visiting the D.C. area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
November 27, 2012
(Updated: December 01, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a nice FamCamp. The access road is paved. The sites are either paved or concrete, but there is some degree of sloping on many of the back-ins; although, there is plenty of space between sites. There are picnic tables and fire rings. The utilities worked as expected. The combination MWR office and club/bath house is pretty much centrally located. There are at least a half dozen individual shower rooms which precludes any waiting. There is also a nice laundry facility in the same building with lots of machines. They are pay-for-use which is not the norm because that is usually a freebie for most FamCamps. The check in office is closed on Sundays and access to the campground is controlled by a security gate system. That means you cannot just show up and get a site on that day. Verizon cell worked well including my hotspot. The daily cost of a campsite is higher than most FamCamp facilities, but that may be due to the close proximity to the Washington DC area. Prices reflects an America the Beautiful discount.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Oct 28, 2012
(Updated: November 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
First, if you have a DOD Decal, I would recommend using the Reese Rd. gate off of MD 175. The Park is well maintained and quite popular, even in October / November. The Office staff were very friendly and helpful. The wifi is extra at this time, but that is suppose to change at some time in the future. The price is high, but can be mitigated by opting for a back-in, getting the weekly rate, and using the Golden Age Pass for a 20% discount. We'll be back...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 24-31st 2012
(Updated: August 16, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
When I called and made my reservations in June, I talked with a young man who confirmed to me that they had cable TV, and the golf courses were still, I was hoping for a lot of time to visit DC, see the sights and play some golf. The golf courses were sold to DIA and the campground did not renew the CATV. I don't like being told "X" and getting "W" without knowing ahead of time since I made the reservation early enough that I could have changed it to Andrews AFB. That being said, the restrooms were very clean and the laundry room was the same. The people in the MWR office were very nice..but they could have called me and let me know some days out so I could have made better arrangements. Commissary and BX were excellent!!! No diesel for civilians on base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
80 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3 4