Camp Meade RV Park

Featured
 
4.1 (80)
84638   1   15   2   33

User reviews

35 reviews with 4 stars

80 reviews

 
(36)
 
(33)
 
(6)
 
(4)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
4.6  (80)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.3  (80)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (80)
Value 
 
3.8  (80)
Overall Experience 
 
4.1  (80)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
35 results - showing 21 - 35
1 2
Ordering
July 24-31st 2012
(Updated: August 16, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
When I called and made my reservations in June, I talked with a young man who confirmed to me that they had cable TV, and the golf courses were still, I was hoping for a lot of time to visit DC, see the sights and play some golf. The golf courses were sold to DIA and the campground did not renew the CATV. I don't like being told "X" and getting "W" without knowing ahead of time since I made the reservation early enough that I could have changed it to Andrews AFB. That being said, the restrooms were very clean and the laundry room was the same. The people in the MWR office were very nice..but they could have called me and let me know some days out so I could have made better arrangements. Commissary and BX were excellent!!! No diesel for civilians on base.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 2010
(Updated: June 26, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We had no problems while staying there for three weeks and did not have to move to another space. We were in a back in space across from main laundry room. Not all of the spaces are 70' long as stated below. The pull through are longer. Back in spaces are less than 70'. Rates: seems rates are going up at every FamCamp. Daily rate of $35 at Meade is way out of line. Management: we did not experience this guy. Had he been that way with us, I would have been at the base Commander's office. When you come across a rude manager take action. Fill out ICE form. Write, call, or visit the Base Commander. But, DO SOMETHING. Far too many military campers do not speak up when they should. Some fear being kicked out or causing the rates to go up. If we don’t stand together and speak up, nothing will be corrected. Only complaints we have about Meade is two: 1. Mold in the room next to the game room. Room has been off limits with sign on door stating a hazard and close until clean up can be done. Been this way for a few years! Fix it. 2. Homesteaders: Meade, like most mil camp grounds now, seems to have a few homesteaders. Yes the move from space to space...but one told us that he and his wife (both working on base) have been at the Ft Meade Fam Camp for years. Bottom line: this rude jerk of a manager should fine work elsewhere. He is not in the right business to act that way with customers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
26 June - 5 July 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
O.H. left this review using the Directory software: Was very pleased with this FAM Camp, was especially surprised to get the Golden Age Passport discount. For the most part the facility is clean and very well managed, although the grass had not been cut in some time, it was cut while we were there, it's the first time I ever had to disconnect electric, water and sewer in order to have the grass cut with a warning to do so in order to prevent damage to my property. But this was a minor inconvenience and I would not hesitate to stay here if in the area again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
March 24 - 27, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
P.D. left this review using the Directory software: - For us a very good location and fairly simple to find. At first, maneuvering the "deliveries" gate is kinda tricky (especially if not familiar with traffic circles). Once in the park is simple to find using the post directions. Friendly people, nice facility and location make this a good place to visit while in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
November 23-December 17, 2010
(Updated: December 20, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Super campground!!! Previous reviews were spot on, friendly staff, well maintained all-season campground. Just a few negatives but have to say the negatives are no different than every other campground, military or not, all over the country. Speed limit is posted in two locations at 5mph and no one does under 20mph but it is the same all over post with everyone doing at least 10mph over the posted speed limit. Very surprising since when we arrived and there were children playing all over the campground. Received a packet of information and rules when we arrived such as pets on leash and to pick up after them. Three dogs were constantly off their leash and most of the "homesteaders" (although they are required to move around the campground) don't pick up after their dogs even though bags are provided. Two of the three dogs were let out without a leash or owner present. They both came after our dog and I had to step in to make sure they weren't going to do anything. Other than those two items great area to walk, watch deer, blue jays, geese, and ducks. Very quiet while we were there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
29 July - 11 August, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We had the pleasure of staying here from 29 July until 11 August. A very nice campground with nice and helpful staff. Since we have a dog it was important and convenient to have a boarding facility on base that proved to be very nice plus we had Destiny bathed. There is also a base veterinarian just off base. The spaces were concrete and large and the laundry room and bathhouses very clean.
A very nice park and lake across the road, Commissary, BX, Shoppette and Post Office very well located in one area and easy to find. We would definitely stay here again. Amy and John Stanton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Oct 27 to Nov 2, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I found this to be a nice campground. Seems to be well run. Everything was neat and very clean. I did lose connection for my Verizon internet once in a while, but was told at a Verizon store that a lot of times, it is a weak signal or there is a lot of interference in the area such as radio, TV transmissions. Verizon cell phone worked OK. Dish Network worked also. All washers and dryers working. The sign for the rusty water was still up. I washed whites and no problem. I was in site 33 and had no problem with the electricity. Not all sites have a concrete patio. All have nice level pads for RV though. My site was like a swamp the day I pulled in because of all the rain. The area that is concrete on some of the sites in mine was grass with a border (at ground level) of railroad ties. Overall, a very good campground. A little expensive for a military one, but very well run and worth it. I did get the 20% discount for Access Pass. Very easy to drive to Baltimore or DC if you don't mind the traffic. Would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 2 - 8, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We enjoyed our stay at Camp Meade. It was an easy drive to visit Baltimore and to take the train to DC. The MWR people were friendly, but not always the most knowledgeable. One of the very few complaints we had was for some reason getting dropped regularly from our aircard internet connection. I am assuming that is due to the NSA being on the base. Being on the base for the Fourth of July was nice. The fireworks, although not the most spectacular we have ever seen, were definitely lengthy -- 35 minutes. We would return for another stay here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April 13 - 29, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
D.O. left this review using the Directory software: We are in site 33 and the power is a bit low. Runs from 113 to 121 at the pedestal which is not even barely adequate at the lower end. However when a load is put on the grid such as heat pump and coffee pot (at 117 volts) it can't handle it. Really not acceptable for "50A" power. Staff is great and very customer oriented and helpful. ITT office does not measure up to others we have used. No info at all on how to use the MARC for access to Washington DC. We are having to dig that up ourselves.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
8 July 2008 to 23 July 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a really nice campground. Maps of the post are available in the RV office, but we sometimes still had difficulty navigating around the post. We saw signs to the campground but we agree that Wilson can easily be missed-we missed it. When we made reservations we knew we wanted to stay two weeks so they put us in one site for two nights and then a much nicer pull through for the rest of the two weeks, which was fine by us. We went in the main gate (with DOD sticker) and we were not inspected. The library has a double sided stack of FREE books and we found some good ones. The librarian is VERY nice and we were pleasantly surprised to find out that we could get a library card and check out books even though we were only going to be there for 2 weeks. My husband went to the post theatre to see a movie and there was no air conditioning. He said everyone was very uncomfortable inside. Come to think of it, it was hot in the library too. The PX mall and commissary are great. The campground has lots of nice shade trees but we agree that something needs to be done about the weeds. Our campsite seemed to be newer and was very spacious with a concrete pad AND a large concrete area w/picnic table and grill.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
regular
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Chance are if you have been to the Meade Campground and have met Sherry then you know it. She is the most helpful person there and if she doesn't know the answer then she finds out, which might not be the case if you happen to go in and she is on her day off. Every customer is treated special and everyone who has dealt with her (or others) think she is wonderful. The first question everyone asks is "When is she coming back?" I am told by the other campers that she will most likely be back next week sometime. I am sure she feels a little better with her ears burning :-)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Several times
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Directions are correct except, if you have DOD stickers on your vehicle and your ID cards continue to main entrance to Fort Mead.I have never been inspected or delayed on entrance to Fort Mead. The Capital Beltway Campers chapter of SMART (Special Military Active Retired Travel Club)visit this camp ground 4 to 5 times a year. We have found the staff to be very helpful and they do thier best to satisfy our needs. They are working on repairing the sites to make them better. The only problem is that there seems to be a lot of DOD civilians that appear to be "Homesteading" at Camp Mead. They simply rotate sites every 14 days. This camp ground was presented with a "Best FAM camp award" from SMART in 2006. The location is great for visits to Washington DC or Baltimore MD. A note for groups, you can reserve a number of sites but they may not be located together, this has never been a real problem as the lay out of the camp ground is such that you are all located within an easy walk.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
March 30 - April 1, 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a very nice campground. They have a large staff that can be very friendly, but most of the time, the counter crew is too busy discussing their personal lives to be bothered by campground guests. I bought propane today and when I took my bill to pay for the propane, the clerk took my invoice, my debit card, printed my check and handed it to me to sign. I took a pen from the can at the counter and signed it and handed it back to her. In the entire transaction, the clerk never said a word to me. Not "Hi" not "Thank you" not "How was your stay?" and definately not "Have a safe trip." During the entire transaction, I was treated to a conversation between two clerks about their friend's personal life. When I arrived, the camp office was closed and the spot that I was told to camp on was occupied by someone else who said he had renewed his reservation. I took an open site only to be told that I needed to move again the next day. Minor inconvenience but could probably have been avoided. Had they had a campground host, I could have been directed to an open site so I would not have had to move. I guess if the campground had been full, my reservation would have been useless to me. Now I did not give bad ratings because this is a very nice campground. This is my 4th stay there and all have been enjoyable. The rates are too high for an MWR campground compared to the majority of military campgrounds. I just wish the folks that work at the campground showed more interest in their patrons. This could be an absolutely GREAT campground.
CH
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
My family (2 adults, 2 children ages 7 and 8) loved this campground so much that we decided to extend our visit. (The 2-week limit can be lifted if there are spaces available.) The shower facilities are private and clean. The laundry room is rarely busy, with large-capacity front loading washers ($1.25 per load) and large dryers ($1.00 for 60 minutes). Clotheslines are permitted at campsites. (One caveat-- bring cleaning supplies to the laundry room-- the campground cleaning staff gives the washers and dryers a token wipe on the outside-- the insides can get pretty nasty.) There is an arcade for the kids in the laundry building and a lounge with TV and very nice exercise bike. As mentioned by others, the campground store is well-stocked (Starbucks coffee available!)and the staff are helpful. There is no campground host and no scheduled activities. There are several semi-permanent residents and more families than at most military campgrounds. Although the campground is fairly nice, the main befefits of this location are convenience to post facilities and attractions of D.C. and surrounding communities. We can walk (less than a mile) to the library (open Tuesday-Friday), post chapel and movie theater, and we can ride our bikes to the BX/Commissary/Class 6 (just 6 minutes away on a mountain bike). The Commissary is by far the best I've seen in my travels, and it's open until 9 p.m. every day but Sunday. (Just avoid the Commissary on Payday and around 5 p.m.) The gym is an easy walk/jog/bike ride (about a mile), but the weight room and cardio machines are in a poorly ventilated basement. Be prepared to sweat! The gym also features an indoor lap pool with open swimming for families on the weekends and an outdoor rubberized running track. An alternative place to workout during the week is the Field House, which is slightly smaller and about 1/3 mile from the main gym. There is a wooded 5k running/hiking trail around the golf course which connects to more trails near the post housing. There is a small lake across the street from the campground with a walking path, playground, and a beaver dam (near the playground) where you can view a variety of wildlife. The lake is stocked with trout, bass and other fish. If you would like to visit D.C., ask at the office for directions to the Odenton train station (light rail-- about a 7 minute drive) and take the train to D.C.-Union Station. (Don't let the ticket agent talk you into going to New Carrolton--it ends up costing more). From Union Station (which is worth lingering in), you can easily walk to the Capitol and most of the Smithsonian museums. If you'd like to go further, you can take the Metro (subway) or bus. Familiarize yourself with D.C. transportation before you go and wear comfortable shoes! For fun in the local area, you can drive out the Rockenbach Gate and head straight down Ridge Rd. to Arundel Mills Mall (about a 10-15-minute drive from the campground). The Mall is huge with a Bass Pro Shop, movie theater and plenty of shops and restaurants. There's a Wal-Mart and Costco across the street from the Mall as well as strip malls with Starbucks, Panera Bread and other shops/restaurants. Many other attractions in the Baltimore/D.C. area make this campground a great base camp. You can also rent cabins if you'd like to leave the RV behind or want family to join you. It's a very cost-effective way to see the D.C. area. There are a few negatives regarding the campground. The grass is rarely cut and the weeds run rampant. My husband had to insist that someone come pull the weeds out of our picnic area, and I had to go buy ant killer to get rid of the ants. The maintenance staff spends more time watching TV and sitting outside than they do cleaning. I worry that the campground will run into disrepair over the years, but right now it is still nice with large concrete slabs and plenty of room between sites. Note: To reduce fees, you can reserve a back-in site which costs less than a pull-thru. We were easily able to back in our 45-foot 5th wheel. Larger Class A's were also in back-in sites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 10 0
May 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Very nice campground. Sites are large and neat. Beautiful lake with wildlife adjacent to campground. Staff among the friendliest I have met in military campgrounds. Most sites could get satellite TV. Great proximity to Washington, Baltimore and Annapolis. Well stocked campstore. Found no problems with leveling on my site. Prices are a little high but given where the campground is located and the quality of the campground, you could not do any better at a commercial campground in the area. We truly enjoyed it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
35 results - showing 21 - 35
1 2