Camp Meade RV Park

Featured
 
4.1 (80)
84785   1   15   2   33

User reviews

80 reviews

 
(36)
 
(33)
 
(6)
 
(4)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
4.6  (80)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.3  (80)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (80)
Value 
 
3.8  (80)
Overall Experience 
 
4.1  (80)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
80 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4
Ordering
Jul 2012
(Updated: August 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Location-- Very difficult to find. Called the desk and left message for a return call to get directions to base. The clerk returned my call the next afternoon. After an hour and frustrated, we found our way to the base. Value-- I gave it a "1" because there is no "0". The cost ($38) was "outrageous"! All other FAMCAMPS in the surrounding areas were nearly half the cost. The staff--one gentleman (African American) was extremely helpful and polite. The female staff members lacked basic people skills. They had the "it's not my job" attitude when asked questions. We made reservations for 4 nights. When we finally found the place and checked in I paid for 3 nights (not thinking after my frustration). The clerk could have pulled up my reservation information and asked if I intended to stay 3 or 4 nights. After leaving for DC to tour the area 2 days later, the clerk calls and sternly tells me I was supposed to check out that morning. I explained we were in DC and that it would take several hours to return. We stated we had a 4 day reservation to which she repeated we had to leave immediately as someone was waiting for the spot. We asked if we could extend and she stated there were no other spots available and we had to leave. A very unpleasant experience with the staff. They don't look or act professional. When asked where points of interest are, they don't know or are not sure and don't make an effort to get the information. Someone should be available to handle calls after hours (we called around 10 min before closing hours) to answer calls from travelers unfamiliar with the area. I would not recommend this FAMCAMP.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 21, 2012
(Updated: July 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great location. Well maintained park. Easy checkin but the shuffling has to stop. WiFi and CATV not functioning after storms that blew through a week prior. Dog area should be fenced in. Shower house was spotless and sites are level with wide concrete pads. Close to everything in Downtown DC and Baltimore areas.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 2010
(Updated: June 26, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We had no problems while staying there for three weeks and did not have to move to another space. We were in a back in space across from main laundry room. Not all of the spaces are 70' long as stated below. The pull through are longer. Back in spaces are less than 70'. Rates: seems rates are going up at every FamCamp. Daily rate of $35 at Meade is way out of line. Management: we did not experience this guy. Had he been that way with us, I would have been at the base Commander's office. When you come across a rude manager take action. Fill out ICE form. Write, call, or visit the Base Commander. But, DO SOMETHING. Far too many military campers do not speak up when they should. Some fear being kicked out or causing the rates to go up. If we don’t stand together and speak up, nothing will be corrected. Only complaints we have about Meade is two: 1. Mold in the room next to the game room. Room has been off limits with sign on door stating a hazard and close until clean up can be done. Been this way for a few years! Fix it. 2. Homesteaders: Meade, like most mil camp grounds now, seems to have a few homesteaders. Yes the move from space to space...but one told us that he and his wife (both working on base) have been at the Ft Meade Fam Camp for years. Bottom line: this rude jerk of a manager should fine work elsewhere. He is not in the right business to act that way with customers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 2012 - Present
(Updated: June 25, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Most of the staff are friendly and courteous, however, since our arrival, the manager of the Camp Meade RV Park is extremely strict. The day I arrived, it we were moved three times. That evening, the office called me and said that I was given a refund for having to move so much (which I thought was great). Then the very next day, the office called me again stating that I needed to return the refund. I went to the office and requested to speak to the manager. He was very provocative and showed complete disrespect for me and my wife. Lately, I’ve gotten reports from various people who are staying there and they are telling me that he is extremely strict, has people moving in the middle of their stay (which included an elderly person who is disabled). None of the people whom I spoken with want to bring this up to the management because they feel the manager will “find” a reason to kick them out of the park. I do not recommend anyone stay at this park until the current manager is terminated. He is not military friendly nor does he have any customer service skills. I do not have the time to list the rest of the actions this individual has done. Again, I caution anyone coming here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
April 2012
(Updated: April 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here for 5 nights in April 2012. One of the better military RV parks. Fort Meade is a great military installation and this park is easy to find. Across from the park office is a lake which offers beautiful sunsets and apparently good fishing. The sites are all paved and about 70 feet long. The laundry facilities are clean and inexpensive. The cable and wifi were not available at the sites when we were there (rumored that there was a contract dispute) however I used the lounge wifi which was excellent. Another plus is the proximity to DC. About 5 mins away by car, there a MARC station with free parking. From that station (Oddenton), you can purchase a ticket for $5 and within 30 mins, you are at Union Station. The MARC is a nice, safe commuter train. It should be noted that the administration has notes posted everywhere informing that the rates have increased effective April 1, 2012. For example: from $24 to $35 a day for the back in sites. It is quite a jump but well worth it. We would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 22, 2011
(Updated: March 26, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
One of the most amazing campgrounds I've ever experienced! It's quiet, friendly and has wonderful facilities. I especially appreciated the security measures to gain access to the showers...it made me feel safe. My husband and myself have pets, and we love the fact that we can take our dogs camping with us at a pet friendly location. We'll be back soon!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
25 November - 27 November 2011
(Updated: December 01, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My wife and I stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend. We found the RV park to be top notch and a great value. The park is extremely clean, easy to navigate around and the office personnel are extremely helpful and friendly. We had our dog with us and the morning and afternoon walk around Burba Lake was awesome. It is amazing how secluded and quiet this park is, even though you are in the middle of Ft. Meade. We will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
26 June - 5 July 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
O.H. left this review using the Directory software: Was very pleased with this FAM Camp, was especially surprised to get the Golden Age Passport discount. For the most part the facility is clean and very well managed, although the grass had not been cut in some time, it was cut while we were there, it's the first time I ever had to disconnect electric, water and sewer in order to have the grass cut with a warning to do so in order to prevent damage to my property. But this was a minor inconvenience and I would not hesitate to stay here if in the area again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April 17-21, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
D.P. left this review using the Directory software: - We stayed here during the kids spring vacation, great RV park, very nice facilities, clean, everything worked very well. Large base, everything you could forget, you could get here on base. Staff very friendly and helpful, even security at the gate!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
March 24 - 27, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
P.D. left this review using the Directory software: - For us a very good location and fairly simple to find. At first, maneuvering the "deliveries" gate is kinda tricky (especially if not familiar with traffic circles). Once in the park is simple to find using the post directions. Friendly people, nice facility and location make this a good place to visit while in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
November 23-December 17, 2010
(Updated: December 20, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Super campground!!! Previous reviews were spot on, friendly staff, well maintained all-season campground. Just a few negatives but have to say the negatives are no different than every other campground, military or not, all over the country. Speed limit is posted in two locations at 5mph and no one does under 20mph but it is the same all over post with everyone doing at least 10mph over the posted speed limit. Very surprising since when we arrived and there were children playing all over the campground. Received a packet of information and rules when we arrived such as pets on leash and to pick up after them. Three dogs were constantly off their leash and most of the "homesteaders" (although they are required to move around the campground) don't pick up after their dogs even though bags are provided. Two of the three dogs were let out without a leash or owner present. They both came after our dog and I had to step in to make sure they weren't going to do anything. Other than those two items great area to walk, watch deer, blue jays, geese, and ducks. Very quiet while we were there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
Aug 25-Sept 7, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This park is one of the best on the East Coast. Is the best and the closest Army park to DC. Andrews AFB is closer, but does not come close to this park. The staff is not only friendly, but helpful. My wife and I are full-timers and we have a 40' Class A. If there is a negative to this park it is the number of active duty that are living here, but even they are required to move every month or so, no homesteading. I would probably recommend this park for an award, at least for Army RV Park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
29 July - 11 August, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We had the pleasure of staying here from 29 July until 11 August. A very nice campground with nice and helpful staff. Since we have a dog it was important and convenient to have a boarding facility on base that proved to be very nice plus we had Destiny bathed. There is also a base veterinarian just off base. The spaces were concrete and large and the laundry room and bathhouses very clean.
A very nice park and lake across the road, Commissary, BX, Shoppette and Post Office very well located in one area and easy to find. We would definitely stay here again. Amy and John Stanton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 19, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The park is clean and neat in appearance. Roads are good - all paved and wide. Most sites look fairly easy to get in and out of and are adequate in size. Camp has a nice paved pathway for walking and handy doggie bags for picking up after your pets. A very park-like campground. It looks like there are some homesteaders - although the sites were all neat in appearance. Park was almost full when we called and we were fit into a back-in site - plenty large for our 35' fifth wheel. We arrived after the office closed so did not meet any of the staff but they were very helpful when we called to change the date of our reservation and the day of in order to get the gate code for access. Be sure to call ahead if arriving late to get your gate codes! Looked into the bathhouses and they all appeared relatively modern and clean. Coming from Fort Wilderness CG at Disney, they were not quite up to Disney standards, but I would not hesitate to use them. From a visit here last year I recall the camp store/office to be very large and clean and had some supplies. This is a great base to tour the DC/Baltimore area or to stop over on the way through the area. It is a bit far for daily sightseeing to DC and not close to a Metro line. You will have to put up with the heavy traffic on the BW Parkway.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
June 29, 2010 to July 12, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great facility, great and helpful staff. Baltimore only 16 miles away, as is Naval Academy. DC about 25 miles south. Also able to get RV Gas bottles filled at refill facility located at Camp. Very quite facility. Restrooms, Showers and Laundry facilties always very clean. Will definitely return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 5-11 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
From making reservations to leaving this was a very positive stay. Thanks to the entire staff at the park office this was one of the most enjoyable experiences we have had in the military campground system. Two examples of the outstanding and friendly staff were the gentleman who provided us with a 7 blade connection tester and the young lady with the hat (Namoi) who was always ready to help anyone who walked in the door of the office (and believe me I need a lot of help). The park like environment, the facilities, and the post all were immaculate. The only negative comment about the campground I could make was site #43 is not very level but that was only a minor problem. The only negative about the post was - no driving range for the golf course. Fort Meade should be very proud of its RV park and its MWR staff. I would recommend this campground to anyone who wants to enjoy the Baltimore, Annapolis, and Washington DC area. The cable tv worked fine, we did not need our satellite since cable was so good and the antenna is even better with so many Baltimore and Washington DC channels in HD. I would rank this campground as one of the best in the military system and I have stayed in quite a few over the last two years of fulltiming.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Oct 27 to Nov 2, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I found this to be a nice campground. Seems to be well run. Everything was neat and very clean. I did lose connection for my Verizon internet once in a while, but was told at a Verizon store that a lot of times, it is a weak signal or there is a lot of interference in the area such as radio, TV transmissions. Verizon cell phone worked OK. Dish Network worked also. All washers and dryers working. The sign for the rusty water was still up. I washed whites and no problem. I was in site 33 and had no problem with the electricity. Not all sites have a concrete patio. All have nice level pads for RV though. My site was like a swamp the day I pulled in because of all the rain. The area that is concrete on some of the sites in mine was grass with a border (at ground level) of railroad ties. Overall, a very good campground. A little expensive for a military one, but very well run and worth it. I did get the 20% discount for Access Pass. Very easy to drive to Baltimore or DC if you don't mind the traffic. Would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 2 - 8, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We enjoyed our stay at Camp Meade. It was an easy drive to visit Baltimore and to take the train to DC. The MWR people were friendly, but not always the most knowledgeable. One of the very few complaints we had was for some reason getting dropped regularly from our aircard internet connection. I am assuming that is due to the NSA being on the base. Being on the base for the Fourth of July was nice. The fireworks, although not the most spectacular we have ever seen, were definitely lengthy -- 35 minutes. We would return for another stay here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Sep 14 - 17, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
It was a bit tricky finding the back entrance to the base, but once inside the gate it was easy to locate the RV park. We liked the shady, grassy sites. There was a note posted in the laundry room warning about rusty water, which was dated in August, but the problem was continuing into Sept. The detergent dispenser was out of order, and the lounge was closed due to mold problems. The office lady, Bernie, was very nice and helpful. This base is close to the MARC train station so it's easy to get into D.C. without fighting the traffic. Also nearby are several restaurants and a large shopping mall.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 20 -22, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
J.C. left this review using the Directory software: Clean and well run and convenient to Baltimore and Washington DC. Wish the roads in the campground were wider so as to make access easier. Our 45 foot coach fit into the site, but getting into the site was hard because of the narrow roads in the park. There is no WiFi.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
80 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4