Camp Meade RV Park

Featured
 
4.1 (80)
84636   1   15   2   33

User reviews

80 reviews

 
(36)
 
(33)
 
(6)
 
(4)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
4.6  (80)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.3  (80)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (80)
Value 
 
3.8  (80)
Overall Experience 
 
4.1  (80)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
80 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4
Ordering
May 23-24, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
RV Park was very clean and well organized. The staff was great and helpful. We stayed at site 16 which was very good and easy to get into. I opted for the backin site b/c the pull through sites cost you an extra $10 per night, not a bad deal for 1 or 2 days but if you plan to stay there any length of time go for the back in option. The hookups were easy to find and centrally located on the site. Some CG hookups are either located at the back or the front, these were located right in the middle which made hooking up easy to do. We used the location to go to Six Flags but will be coming back to do other site seeing. The CG is located between DC and Baltimore which makes it a great spot to be. The management also offered me a location in the lot to leave the RV so I did not have to drag it to Six Flags which is a huge plus.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April 13 - 29, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
D.O. left this review using the Directory software: We are in site 33 and the power is a bit low. Runs from 113 to 121 at the pedestal which is not even barely adequate at the lower end. However when a load is put on the grid such as heat pump and coffee pot (at 117 volts) it can't handle it. Really not acceptable for "50A" power. Staff is great and very customer oriented and helpful. ITT office does not measure up to others we have used. No info at all on how to use the MARC for access to Washington DC. We are having to dig that up ourselves.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
20-22 Feb 09
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Cleanest and nicest military RV campground we've visited. The campground is very neat and unlike most other military campgrounds, the fulltimers can't clutter up the area with fences, furniture and other stuff. Only negative is the Ft Meade area has nothing to offer for entertainment.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
29-31 August 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a first rate military RV park! Maybe not the luxury of some of those $80-$100/night parks in Florida but you won't find a better value for your dollar anywhere in the USA! If it's your first stay at Ft Meade, I recommend an arrival during daylight hours. There are three gates for entry onto the base and they are manned at varying times depending on the day of the week and/or the hour of the day/night. Also, know which gate you are looking for. While that seems obvious, it's not so obvious when you are trying to navigate using three different sets of directions. At all three gates there were large concrete barriers through which to maneuver but with a watchful eye it definitely was doable for my 37 foot fifth wheel. As others have commented, Wilson Blvd, off Llewellyn Blvd is poorly identified and therefore easy to miss particularly in the dark. Our concrete slab was perfectly level, no blocks or levelers required. Very neat and clean surroundings. Centrally located to a wealth of things to see and do. Don't forget to use your Golden Age Passport if you have one.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
26 July - 1 August 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Well this is a great campground and convenient to Baltimore, MD and Wash DC. very nice and roomy sites. Staff very friendly but not much help on how to get to places. A little pricey but not bad for the area. The NSA gate is a little bit to move through but adequate. I was told later that if you have a mil decal on the RV you can go through the other gates. There has been some construction going on so a couple gates are closed and this construction creates problems getting around the base. There are signs but small and the Wilson street sign has fell off the pole causing more than myself to miss the road. The grounds are very clean and the showers and restrooms are very well maintained. We will return again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 12-14, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Of course arrived after the NSA Delivery Gate was closed (2200), but easily made our way around Hwy 32 to 175 where the Main Gate is located. Easily traversed the gate with a 36ft fifth wheel. Guards were very helpful with directions and welcomed us heartily. Campground is very nice with concrete pads and patios. Base maps are available at the campground store/check-in center. Didn't have reason to use the bath houses, but from outside appearance, they should be fairly nice. Every thing is clean and neat. Very short (2 nights) stay, but even at $33 per night, cheap in comparison to off base. Will definitely stay again if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
8 July 2008 to 23 July 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a really nice campground. Maps of the post are available in the RV office, but we sometimes still had difficulty navigating around the post. We saw signs to the campground but we agree that Wilson can easily be missed-we missed it. When we made reservations we knew we wanted to stay two weeks so they put us in one site for two nights and then a much nicer pull through for the rest of the two weeks, which was fine by us. We went in the main gate (with DOD sticker) and we were not inspected. The library has a double sided stack of FREE books and we found some good ones. The librarian is VERY nice and we were pleasantly surprised to find out that we could get a library card and check out books even though we were only going to be there for 2 weeks. My husband went to the post theatre to see a movie and there was no air conditioning. He said everyone was very uncomfortable inside. Come to think of it, it was hot in the library too. The PX mall and commissary are great. The campground has lots of nice shade trees but we agree that something needs to be done about the weeds. Our campsite seemed to be newer and was very spacious with a concrete pad AND a large concrete area w/picnic table and grill.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 14, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is one of the most expensive military campground we have been in but it is still 50% of the going rate for the area. We entered Fort Meade from Route 32 into the NSA gate as directed by the MWR personnel. Be aware that there are absolutely no directional signs for the campground anywhere on the post. The last turn onto Wilson can be easily missed because you will be turning left but the road sign is on the right side nearly hidden by a tree. We did not use the showers/restrooms but did take a look at them and they are some of the nicest we have seen. Individual showers with large sink and toilet in each shower room. We had plenty of room with a 40 footer towing a minivan on a level concrete pad. Laundry looked very nice too. Exercise room consisted of one stationery bike and some sort of ab exercise gizmo. Overall we were very pleased.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
Mar 28 - 30 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a fabulous fam camp! The sites are on concrete pads and are nicely spaced and mostly level. The restrooms were clean when we arrived, however, on the evening on the second night I had to try three different shower rooms before finding one that didn't have issues with the toilet. The showers were clean, be patient with the hot water...it will get hot. The camp store is great and the people were friendly and helpful. I think the price per night is a bit high for a miltary fam camp and I was shocked at what we paid to fill a small propane tank. We came in the NSA gate, which was a bit confusing. After being inspected, no one told us to make a u-turn and head back out the way we came in, until we almost went up a narrow road trying to follow the directions that are printed on the website. Luckily, the lot was big enough to manuever in. Next time, we will use the main gate. Even with these minor issues, this is a fabulous campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
October 10 - 15, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Nice camp. We came through the main gate (with DOD sticker) with no problems. The first turn onto Ernie Pyle comes up rather quickly after going through the gate and was a little tricky with a 40 footer and towed. The camp itself is beautiful, the sites large and well spaced. The office staff was great, altho we didn't get to meet Sherry. The office has a well stocked RV supply store. The laundry is large, clean and has a comfortable lounge adjacent. The camp is centerly located for touring Baltimore, Annapolis, and DC.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Oct. 5 - 9, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Due to a medical emergency, we had to extend our stay an additional day. The staff was wonderful in shuffling sites around so we could remain on our site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
regular
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Chance are if you have been to the Meade Campground and have met Sherry then you know it. She is the most helpful person there and if she doesn't know the answer then she finds out, which might not be the case if you happen to go in and she is on her day off. Every customer is treated special and everyone who has dealt with her (or others) think she is wonderful. The first question everyone asks is "When is she coming back?" I am told by the other campers that she will most likely be back next week sometime. I am sure she feels a little better with her ears burning :-)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
April 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We use the Ft Meade Campground, about 4 times a year. Though pricey, it is a very nice campground. We know Sherry well, and agree 100% that she is a real gem. She remembers us everytime we check in. I know she had been off for sometime, and was greatly missed. I am so sorry to hear she is back in the hospital, we to will keep her in out prayers. The Campground would not be the same without her.
KK
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 6th to June 20, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is one of the best FamCamps we have stayed at. We were in a 37' MoHo and had plenty of room. Make sure you go in the NSA commercial gate (not the main gate) or you will have problems with the concrete barriers. Good space between sites with concrete pads,full hook ups,picnic table. Laundry and showers were excellant but busy. On post commisary, PX, eating places, chapel, etc: were all right there within a mile. From reservation to arrival we seem to always talk to Sherry and she was # 1. She greeted us with a smile and was so helpful with all the information we needed. While in the camp office/Store Sherry took care of everyone 3 times to 1 over some of the other staff who where just sitting around. Need more like Sherry ! Was very concerned because she had shared with my wife that she had breast cancer. Later we were more concerned because we learned she was in the hospital. Our prayers are with her. Great place to stay and take a (MARC Train about 2 mi from the post) to D.C. or Baltimore for site seeing etc: Everything was first class and we will be back in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Several times
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Directions are correct except, if you have DOD stickers on your vehicle and your ID cards continue to main entrance to Fort Mead.I have never been inspected or delayed on entrance to Fort Mead. The Capital Beltway Campers chapter of SMART (Special Military Active Retired Travel Club)visit this camp ground 4 to 5 times a year. We have found the staff to be very helpful and they do thier best to satisfy our needs. They are working on repairing the sites to make them better. The only problem is that there seems to be a lot of DOD civilians that appear to be "Homesteading" at Camp Mead. They simply rotate sites every 14 days. This camp ground was presented with a "Best FAM camp award" from SMART in 2006. The location is great for visits to Washington DC or Baltimore MD. A note for groups, you can reserve a number of sites but they may not be located together, this has never been a real problem as the lay out of the camp ground is such that you are all located within an easy walk.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
March 30 - April 1, 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a very nice campground. They have a large staff that can be very friendly, but most of the time, the counter crew is too busy discussing their personal lives to be bothered by campground guests. I bought propane today and when I took my bill to pay for the propane, the clerk took my invoice, my debit card, printed my check and handed it to me to sign. I took a pen from the can at the counter and signed it and handed it back to her. In the entire transaction, the clerk never said a word to me. Not "Hi" not "Thank you" not "How was your stay?" and definately not "Have a safe trip." During the entire transaction, I was treated to a conversation between two clerks about their friend's personal life. When I arrived, the camp office was closed and the spot that I was told to camp on was occupied by someone else who said he had renewed his reservation. I took an open site only to be told that I needed to move again the next day. Minor inconvenience but could probably have been avoided. Had they had a campground host, I could have been directed to an open site so I would not have had to move. I guess if the campground had been full, my reservation would have been useless to me. Now I did not give bad ratings because this is a very nice campground. This is my 4th stay there and all have been enjoyable. The rates are too high for an MWR campground compared to the majority of military campgrounds. I just wish the folks that work at the campground showed more interest in their patrons. This could be an absolutely GREAT campground.
CH
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
My family (2 adults, 2 children ages 7 and 8) loved this campground so much that we decided to extend our visit. (The 2-week limit can be lifted if there are spaces available.) The shower facilities are private and clean. The laundry room is rarely busy, with large-capacity front loading washers ($1.25 per load) and large dryers ($1.00 for 60 minutes). Clotheslines are permitted at campsites. (One caveat-- bring cleaning supplies to the laundry room-- the campground cleaning staff gives the washers and dryers a token wipe on the outside-- the insides can get pretty nasty.) There is an arcade for the kids in the laundry building and a lounge with TV and very nice exercise bike. As mentioned by others, the campground store is well-stocked (Starbucks coffee available!)and the staff are helpful. There is no campground host and no scheduled activities. There are several semi-permanent residents and more families than at most military campgrounds. Although the campground is fairly nice, the main befefits of this location are convenience to post facilities and attractions of D.C. and surrounding communities. We can walk (less than a mile) to the library (open Tuesday-Friday), post chapel and movie theater, and we can ride our bikes to the BX/Commissary/Class 6 (just 6 minutes away on a mountain bike). The Commissary is by far the best I've seen in my travels, and it's open until 9 p.m. every day but Sunday. (Just avoid the Commissary on Payday and around 5 p.m.) The gym is an easy walk/jog/bike ride (about a mile), but the weight room and cardio machines are in a poorly ventilated basement. Be prepared to sweat! The gym also features an indoor lap pool with open swimming for families on the weekends and an outdoor rubberized running track. An alternative place to workout during the week is the Field House, which is slightly smaller and about 1/3 mile from the main gym. There is a wooded 5k running/hiking trail around the golf course which connects to more trails near the post housing. There is a small lake across the street from the campground with a walking path, playground, and a beaver dam (near the playground) where you can view a variety of wildlife. The lake is stocked with trout, bass and other fish. If you would like to visit D.C., ask at the office for directions to the Odenton train station (light rail-- about a 7 minute drive) and take the train to D.C.-Union Station. (Don't let the ticket agent talk you into going to New Carrolton--it ends up costing more). From Union Station (which is worth lingering in), you can easily walk to the Capitol and most of the Smithsonian museums. If you'd like to go further, you can take the Metro (subway) or bus. Familiarize yourself with D.C. transportation before you go and wear comfortable shoes! For fun in the local area, you can drive out the Rockenbach Gate and head straight down Ridge Rd. to Arundel Mills Mall (about a 10-15-minute drive from the campground). The Mall is huge with a Bass Pro Shop, movie theater and plenty of shops and restaurants. There's a Wal-Mart and Costco across the street from the Mall as well as strip malls with Starbucks, Panera Bread and other shops/restaurants. Many other attractions in the Baltimore/D.C. area make this campground a great base camp. You can also rent cabins if you'd like to leave the RV behind or want family to join you. It's a very cost-effective way to see the D.C. area. There are a few negatives regarding the campground. The grass is rarely cut and the weeds run rampant. My husband had to insist that someone come pull the weeds out of our picnic area, and I had to go buy ant killer to get rid of the ants. The maintenance staff spends more time watching TV and sitting outside than they do cleaning. I worry that the campground will run into disrepair over the years, but right now it is still nice with large concrete slabs and plenty of room between sites. Note: To reduce fees, you can reserve a back-in site which costs less than a pull-thru. We were easily able to back in our 45-foot 5th wheel. Larger Class A's were also in back-in sites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 10 0
May 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Very nice campground. Sites are large and neat. Beautiful lake with wildlife adjacent to campground. Staff among the friendliest I have met in military campgrounds. Most sites could get satellite TV. Great proximity to Washington, Baltimore and Annapolis. Well stocked campstore. Found no problems with leveling on my site. Prices are a little high but given where the campground is located and the quality of the campground, you could not do any better at a commercial campground in the area. We truly enjoyed it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Jul 2005
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Office personnel very helpful to us in the past, especially on reservations. Was told last year that, if park is full, there is an overflow area next door (call ahead). Excellent walking area nearby at Burba Park. On-post roads quiet enough during the day for bicycles. CG office (which is also Outdoor Rec office) has extensive equipment rental including boats and small trailers. Regarding cost - local KOA is $45 and up per nite; we tried KOA and much prefer Camp Meade (we used to live in this area). Yes, cost is higher than other Famcamps, but this is the DC area. Was also told park may expand in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 2006
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Easy access by rail into Baltimore or to Washington DC. $3.60 buys you a day pass on the Baltimore transportation system including Lite rail, Metro and bus systems. Great campground. The sites not being level are no big deal. They are flat enough that some 2-by material can level you out. New modern facilities with an exercise bike in the lounge.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
80 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4