Camp Meade RV Park

Featured New
 
4.1 (75)
74436   0   15   2   29

User reviews

33 reviews with 4 stars

75 reviews

 
(34)
 
(31)
 
(5)
 
(4)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
 
4.6  (75)
 
3.9  (75)
 
3.8  (75)
 
4.2  (75)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
33 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

7 - 11 July 2017

We initially had difficulty making a reservation at this campground, having been told 60 days prior that "everything is booked solid until mid-September, but when I called in late June I was told there WAS a spot open for 7-11 July as they had just that morning had a cancellation. This is understandable, but what IS a bit confusing is the fact that during our stay I noticed an average of 5-6 empty spots each evening! Also, when we checked in we were given a letter dated 14 Feb 13 - signed by the Director, MWR - stating that "Active Duty Military may make reservations up to 12 months in advance. All other adult authorized patrons may make reservations up to 11 months in advance." No mention is made of "peak" or "non-peak" seasons: this is in conflict of above, which speaks of 30 days in advance in "peak" season & 60 days in "non-peak" season. Oh, well! Anyways, it's a very nice campground in a great location! Easy access to Annapolis (visit the USNA!), D.C. & Baltimore. The Outdoor Rec staff is friendly & helpful! We had a VERY nice meal at the Hideaway restaurant in Odenton, MD about 15 mins outside the front gate. ENJOY!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 3- 7, 2016

Nice park. New concrete pads are nice but not level in the first area in the trees. Satellite reception not good there either. Pricey here for a military park....increases every time we come back. But we have friends in the area. Overall big sites and nice park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 2016

This was our first stay here. Had an good visit with family and friends. Had been stationed in the area during the late '60s. The prices were much higher and traffic much worse on base too. Roads on base were in poor repair and markings virtually non-existent. The famcamp and restrooms were clean and yard well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful. The prices were high, but considering the area almost acceptable. The staff was accommodating in helping us to avoid the musical campsite moving, we only had to move once during a two week stay (thanks staff). Hope to return next spring when our grand daughter graduates from HS.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jun - Dec 2016

Staying in the park until retirement. Best of the FAMCamps in the area. Staff is very friendly, sites are clean (concrete pads) and some site patios are concrete, otherwise they are gravel/grass. Lesson learned: As to the musical sites, when you make a reservation and only pay the deposit, you are not guaranteed that site! You must pay the full cost of your stay to guarantee and stay in the site you have selected. Wifi is new within the last year but an extender is needed to boost the signal. No signal what so ever for the back half of the campground. Bathrooms/laundry room/rec rooms cleaned every day and are nice.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 14-16, 2016

Check-in was smooth and friendly.  Sites are clean and spacious.  The campground is wooded, thus expect many sites to be satellite unfriendly.  WiFi is not available in the campground, only in the office.  Daily cost just rose to $42, which is a bit pricey for a military campground.  Very convenient to Washington, DC and all the capital has to offer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March through May 2016

We have family in the area and stay here often.  In older reviews, the quality and courtesy of the staff came into question; the current staff are A+.  Very helpful and accommodating.  Trying to juggle sites to fit your needs.  There are many active duty and contractors here; however, there always seems to be a few sites available (with the exception of Memorial Day Weekend & Navel Academy Grad Week).  The stay limits seem to be enforced and you often see the Actives switching sites or leaving for a few days (5 day absence is required after you have stayed your limit).  There is no cable and wifi is only good close to the office.  Sat reception is iffy due to the tall trees.  The Commissary is close by as are Baltimore and Washington and Annapolis.  Propane is available during MWR work hours.  I don't think there are any Camp Hosts.  All issues are addressed by MWR during work hours.  Effective July 1, 2016 the rates at Ft. Meade will increase to: Back-in: $36 DAILY, $210 WEEKLY, AND $870 MONTHLY. Pull-through: $42 DAILY, $$252 WEEKLY, AND $1050 MONTHLY.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 6 - June 5, 2016

We have stayed at Fort Meade multiple times while visiting family in the area, and not too much has changed over the years.  It is a great location for visiting the Washington, DC metropolitan area.  The RV park has nice level concrete sites.  The hookups are good with the exception of the high iron content in the base water supply.  You definitely need to filter the water before using it.  The RV park FINALLY installed WiFi, however it is really only accessible from within the community room.  If you have an external WiFi antenna, you may be able to access it from your RV.  Verizon service, while in the RV park, is not good (one or two bars).  The base amenities are tremendous:  a large commissary and exchange and a great gym.  Full recycling is located just around the corner from the RV park on Rock Road.  A sign was posted in the RV park, just as we were leaving, stating that the RV park rates were going to increase effective July 1, 2016.  It did not state what the new prices would be, but at $38/night or $960/month (current rates for a pull-thru site), this park already was one of the more expensive military RV parks.  If they are going to raise rates, they could at least expand the WiFi and include recycling services within the RV park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 03, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Mar 2016

No cable or Wi-Fi and TV air signal is poor. The CG itself was extremely well maintained. Sites are level concrete pads. We had a pull-thru. The CG was almost full, mostly with permanents. For the off-season they have heated blankets over the water access. The price of $38 seemed high for the amenities provided, but what a great location to see Washington, Annapolis or Baltimore. We had to drive a few miles on base from gate to CG, but really easy on/off access to Rt 32. Watch going out the gate as it is toll booth width. I was watching the concrete bollards on my side & almost took out the passenger side mirror. We stayed in a motorhome. Oh, yes, almost forgot; our stay was a week night so can't comment about the weekend, but be prepared for 0630 reveille to be blared over an excellent PA system! Certainly got us out of bed.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov-Jan 2015

We 'wintered' here and it was perfect! They allow you to skirt your RV unlike Andrews which helped allot. Nice office with multiple employees with regular hours. Can refill propane onsite. Two large shower/ laundry facilities. 5 miles from Metro.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sept 7-12, 2014

We have stayed at this park before and would do so again. Yes, the price is high for a Famcamp but when you consider the area it is just fine. We have stayed at a few Famcamps that are in the $30 range. We paid $33 a night here. Our only complaint about the campground - the building next door has a brand new loudspeaker that they are very proud of and it is LOUD! Reveille is played at 6:30 AM, colors at 5:00 PM and Taps at 9:00 PM. You will not miss them as the sound echoes through the park. Not the parks fault but don't jump a foot when it starts! I am used to hearing these, just not so LOUD. I submitted a change to the directions. Once you get through the commercial gate and turn left on Mapes road, follow it until it ends at Ernie Pyle Road and turn right. Turn right at Llewellyn (stop sign), and then left on Wilson. Outdoor Rec will be up on your left. Park in the lot and check in.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sep - Oct 2013

It was our first time to stay here. I hope these extra instructions help other first-timers. Using exit 8 off of MD 32 to enter Ft Meade with your camper, enter the roundabout and bypass the Main Gate. Take the next right off the roundabout which looks (and is) the entrance ramp onto MD 32 west. There is an exit off that road that takes you to the Truck Gate/NSA Gate. You will be driving on the left side of a road that is divided and one-way. When you reach the check-point and finish, you make a U-turn to the right in the parking lot and go back through the gate up the opposite side of the one-way road you came in on. When you reach a stop sign, turn right – (left takes you to an NSA gate where you will have you turn around). You are on Ft Meade and can proceed to the campground by taking a left onto Mapes Road at the first traffic light. We enjoyed the camp and found the staff very helpful. I had a medical emergency and had to extend our stay which the staff was reluctant but did work something out for us to stay. The campground is across the street from a small lake with a paved path plus you see deer and ground hogs almost anytime you are walking. It is expensive and the long parking pad had the water/electricity located about middle of the pad so I could not back to the end and reach the plug-in at the rear of my 5th wheel. I would recommend this campground and would stay again (non-emergency).

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sept. 22nd to Oct. 5th, 2013

This can be the one of the most expensive Military Parks in the system; however, costs can be brought into line with the weekly rate and a back-in site. The staff are friendly and, I was surprised, when they called us the day before our Sunday arrival, to provide gate codes and info. BTW - operations at the RV park seem unaffected by the shutdown. The area is well maintained with regular lawn maintenance and trash collection. It is a great location to visit Baltimore. Many of the sites are very spacious and most are shaded. Antennae picks up most of the local stations, if you have a sat-dish, many sites are blocked. We'll be back!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Aug 16-17, 2013

Very nice clean park, but as with most of these facilities, they are becoming less of a value or benefit to RVers. Internet is available within 50 ft or so of the laundry area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 29, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2013

Great location for DC and/or Baltimore. No WiFi or cable, but the security, paved sites, and proximity to facilities on base (PX, commissary, lake park, etc.) makes it a good week or weekend visit. I would camp here again for a PCS transition or a visit to the region.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 27, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 10 - June 24, 2013

The park web site says "CATV", but the cable has been inoperative for at least several months including the TV in the shower building. There was a problem with the contractor providing the service. A resident offered to help fix the problem, but management was non-responsive. The park has an unofficial WiFi, put together by some skilled park residents using existing lines from a previous landline install. The residents offered to set up a real WiFi, but management again unresponsive. The WiFi mostly works in the shower building and nearby sites. It is named "dd-wrt". Might have been previously mentioned, but..park discontinued the discounts based on Golden Age/Sr Pass etc. in April 2013. But they instituted a weekly rate. But they also raised the rates $5 per day. So a backin costs $28 per day on a weekly rate and a pull-through is $33. I suggest saving your money and taking a back-in whenever possible. There used to be recycle bins in the shower building, but now only in the office building and mostly invisible near the restrooms. Sounds like someone is ignoring the Army push for recycling - likely because thoughtless residents treated receptacles like trash cans. In the 1st 2-3 years (2003-2005 or 2006) there were Park Hosts as you entered the camping area and no barriers to entry. That meant campers could arrive after 5:00 office closing time and get a site..or could at least call. Then they fired the hosts, put up a barrier and now late arrivals or un-reserved people must sit in the paved parking lot overnight when there are sites empty inside. Bad customer service and loss of revenue for the post. I put these items and a couple others in an "ICE" evaluation to MWR. We shall see if I get an answer. I sent an "ICE" to the Law Enforcement division about speeders and tailgaters on the post and got an answer the next duty day. It has been 3 days and counting for MWR. I no response I will resent the "ICE" to the command section. I don't plan to be back at Ft Meade until 2016 anyway...

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 12, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 15 thru May 5, and May 20 thru June 9, 2013

This is a very well maintained park in a prime location. It is a bit on the expensive side ($33 per night for a pull-thru site at a weekly rate), but that comes with the location. In my opinion, the main detraction is that there is no WiFi in the park and, according to the manager, there are no plans to provide it at any point in the near future. Water pressure and electrical service are very good. Given that this is a beautiful wooded campground, satellite reception in many of the sites is questionable or impossible. If you have a DOD decal, there is no problem entering the base through the main gate on Reece Road. The pull-thru sites were designed for motorhomes (not fifth wheels), because once you pull through, there is no circular way for you to easily pull your truck in front of your fifth wheel once you leave the campground and return. The commissary is one of the largest and best stocked commissaries in the country, and it is right around the corner from the campground. The campground staff don't tell you, but there is a comprehensive recycling facility right around the corner from the campground, also (on Rock Road). You can drop off your recycling materials there 24/7. We plan to return to this park annually.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 3-5, 2013

R.B. left this review using the Directory software: - When leaving 05/05/13 at 0730 AM I discovered that the gate we normally arrive and depart by now has limited hours. The staff at MWR failed to inform anyone that due to the recent automatic budget cuts the gate hours have changed. I had to unhook my tow vehicle in order to turn around. I think the staff could provide better information the RV'ers as we arrive. I would like to also add that when I asked how to get to the golf course I was informed that it is now closed due to some kind of land ownership dispute between DOD and MWR with no plans to ever open the course again. Other that what I have already mentioned it was a good two day stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 28, 2012

First, if you have a DOD Decal, I would recommend using the Reese Rd. gate off of MD 175. The Park is well maintained and quite popular, even in October / November. The Office staff were very friendly and helpful. The wifi is extra at this time, but that is suppose to change at some time in the future. The price is high, but can be mitigated by opting for a back-in, getting the weekly rate, and using the Golden Age Pass for a 20% discount. We'll be back...

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 16, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 24-31st 2012

When I called and made my reservations in June, I talked with a young man who confirmed to me that they had cable TV, and the golf courses were still, I was hoping for a lot of time to visit DC, see the sights and play some golf. The golf courses were sold to DIA and the campground did not renew the CATV. I don't like being told "X" and getting "W" without knowing ahead of time since I made the reservation early enough that I could have changed it to Andrews AFB. That being said, the restrooms were very clean and the laundry room was the same. The people in the MWR office were very nice..but they could have called me and let me know some days out so I could have made better arrangements. Commissary and BX were excellent!!! No diesel for civilians on base.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 26, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 2010

We had no problems while staying there for three weeks and did not have to move to another space. We were in a back in space across from main laundry room. Not all of the spaces are 70' long as stated below. The pull through are longer. Back in spaces are less than 70'. Rates: seems rates are going up at every FamCamp. Daily rate of $35 at Meade is way out of line. Management: we did not experience this guy. Had he been that way with us, I would have been at the base Commander's office. When you come across a rude manager take action. Fill out ICE form. Write, call, or visit the Base Commander. But, DO SOMETHING. Far too many military campers do not speak up when they should. Some fear being kicked out or causing the rates to go up. If we don’t stand together and speak up, nothing will be corrected. Only complaints we have about Meade is two: 1. Mold in the room next to the game room. Room has been off limits with sign on door stating a hazard and close until clean up can be done. Been this way for a few years! Fix it. 2. Homesteaders: Meade, like most mil camp grounds now, seems to have a few homesteaders. Yes the move from space to space...but one told us that he and his wife (both working on base) have been at the Ft Meade Fam Camp for years. Bottom line: this rude jerk of a manager should fine work elsewhere. He is not in the right business to act that way with customers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
33 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2