Fourth Cliff Recreation Area

 
4.2 (44)
115228 0 14 0 37

User reviews

13 reviews with 4 stars

44 reviews

 
(24)
 
(13)
 
(4)
 
(2)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.7  (44)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.1  (44)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.6  (44)
Value 
 
4.4  (44)
Overall Experience 
 
4.3  (44)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
13 results - showing 1 - 13
Ordering
29 Sep 17
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a GEM of a place to stay. Visit before a Nor’easter/hurricane takes it away. Base badly cries out for maintence that requires an infusion of financial support which may never be forthcoming. It is literally falling into the ocean with some sites reclaimed by nature. Beautiful views, fishing and beach walks. Site information and map need update. There are 5 additional sites on top part of cliff with Big rig access, FHU strong 30/50 amp, sewer, water, concrete pads on side ... However all sites on top are nearly impossible to level without jacking one side well into the sky. Some folks didn’t bother trying and leave. Clean modern bath house. Easy access to Boston and Cape Code area. So much beauty and potential that the sea may soon reclaim.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Summers of 2015 and 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We enjoyed the view! The bathhouse has spiders etc. But worked! The cable is a box that you have to hook up. The sunsets are magnificent..it can be windy so roll in your awning. The cliff is eroding so rv 2-4 are unusable and road blocked off...this is good as road is dead end but bad for backing in to Rv 5-8. Also parking is a challenge as locals think they can park there because they did offseason...we met wonderful people there and enjoyed the fishing...water is cold.Bridgewater restaurant is fabulous but not walkable...you will go by it on way in...convenience store there too. They were adding more sites to replace the lost ones when we left...planning to visit this summer!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 2
September 18, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
A great campground for visiting Boston. We took the advise of one of the other reviews and drove to Hingham ($8 pp) to take the commuter ferry to downtown Boston. From there we walked to the visitor center and walked the Freedom trail ending up at the USS Constitution. There was a inner harbor ferry ($3 pp) back to downtown and then the Hingham ferry. Very easy. The campground sites were not totally level but site 2 was good for our 30 ft motorhome. Be sure to ask for a cable box at the office, our cable did not work on the lower channels but OK on the upper #'s (we used our antenna for the lower channels). The beach is right there and wonderful and so are the views. The campground is very busy but I had no problems with reservations when I called at first opportunity for retired.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
15 May-29 May 2012
(Updated: May 31, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This was our first stay and will definitely return. Our site was 11 next to the battery high on cliff with awesome view of ocean. Our Verizon MI-FI worked great. Staff very friendly and available..good office hours. Laundry good, but feel $2.50 for washer and $2.50 for dryer a bit much but handy. Beach is great for walking and collecting unusual stones..also dog friendly. Walk on bay side nice also. Short drive to grocery store in Marshfield on 139 and Furnace. Super Wal-Mart is in Plymouth just off Hwy 44 west..exit 7 on 3. There is a Lowe's on 139 just past Hwy 3.Be sure and try Mary Lou's coffee at Shell on 139 toward 3. Even had a deer visit one day. Great location for going into Boston or driving the Cape.Hated to leave the serenity and view.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 2
8-11 Oct 2010
(Updated: October 11, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great place to spend some time and hang your hat up for a few days of RR. We stayed in a two bedroom cottage. We had everything we needed. The only down side was that the bath towels are very old and small in size. The kitchen had everything we need it to cook a full meals. The location is very convenient, we drove to Quincy and visit the USS Salem for a few hours ( a must see for all) then took the ferry to Boston, spend the whole day walking in Boston the took the ferry back. This is a definite return place for us.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
June 01, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed until June 07, 2009. Had a great spot overlooking the ocean. Only problem was I requested a 50 amp site and was assigned a 30 amp site. Fortunately the temp was very cool and I could run my rig on 30 amps. I found the camp personnel less than informative. Needed some rv supplies. Their store was useless and they had no idea of the location of any rv dealers. I would stay again since I now know the answer to these questions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Sep 9-12, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Beautiful, but not a great place for big rigs in sites 9,10 & 11.the front or rear wheels are about 6 inches off the ground. We are in a 40 foot motorhome. We needed lots of blocks and a ladder to get into the rig. We were here Sept 9-12. The 9th was a cloudburst w/wind, 10th sunny w/wind. Today we are going to Cape Cod.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
8 - 10 August 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We were welcomed with a detour to start our hunt for the campground but the local badges were at the bridge to steer us right and we were quickly on Bayberry Street and across the other bridge to Central Ave and down to the campground. What a friendly staff. We got to site # 2 and though most of the sites are tight because of parking they are adequate and the views from the sites are nice to super depending on which you are at. Lots of cabins and and just lovely atmosphere. Couple rainy days but only for a few hours and one of those we were on Cape Cod and saw no rain. Lots to see and do. Internet at the office but not on the the end of CG. For the money it is a good deal as it is pricey down town. We want to come back and spend more time as it is very relaxing there. All the reviews are pretty accurate so I need not carry on.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
17 - 19 May 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very nice place to stay for the view! A little pricy at $44+ a night and the ammenities are only open during the "summer" (Jun-Aug?). Extremly difficult to find because the directions were bad. The bridge was washed out and they did not say anything to me when I made reservations about the "detour". You should stay here at least once. I plan on staying at less expensive places next time :)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
May 21 - 26, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Since Fourth Cliff is such a small CG, we called a few days in advance to see what the Memorial Day weekend booking situation was, and were told that all the hookup sites for that long weekend had been booked for months, but that we could get into overflow. However, when we arrived the Wednesday before the holiday weekend, there were five hookup sites still available until Friday. We took #4 which has water views to the north and west. We noticed that the bath house was completely boarded up, asked why, and were informed that they board it up over the winter, and that it doesn't open until Friday of the Memorial Day weekend. If tenters show up before then, there are a couple of porta-johns set up adjacent to the tent areas, but no showers. They did open the bath house a day early, and we found it clean and functional, if a bit run-down. The laundry house has four new washer/dryer combos and a couple of older models that I assume still work. Friday morning, we unhooked and moved to the grassy overflow area situated on the highest part of the CG for the remainder of the weekend. This area also had a great view of the Atlantic Ocean and a long stretch of the beach directly under the cliffs. You can hear the surf lapping on the shore below and, when the wind is right, you can hear the bell buoy chiming from about a mile off the entrance to the South River inlet. The overflow area isn't level, so expect to do some leveling. The hookup sites include CATV, but even without that, there are 28 local TV channels available if you hook up your antenna. For internet, we use the SPRINT PCS air card and had maximum EVDO signals and great high speed connections. You can see two cellular towers rising above the landscape across the bay to the west. If you like re-enactments like Williamsburg, VA, you can go to Plimouth Plantation, and the CG office has some special passes that are DEEPLY discounted. Not our thing, but what a deal. [And yes, the Plantation is spelled Plimouth, while the town is spelled Plymouth.] Check with the office. This is a family-oriented recreation area with many more cottages than RV campsites. The cottages appear to be very nice and spacious, and most of them have at least some water views. For folks with young children, there is an elaborate playground across from the overflow camping area. This holiday weekend, there were lots of kids using it from sunup to sundown. There's interesting wildlife here too, if you keep your eyes open. Early Friday morning, low tide, we saw a couple of deer frolicking on the west sandbar of the inlet. Then, suddenly, they plunged into the water and swam all the way across to our shoreline and came out right in front of us. The beach and the South River inlet are great walking places. As with Key West, the facilities may be a little run-down, but the location and ambience more than makes up for most shortcomings. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
September 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stay at site 10, which had a beautiful view overlooking the ocean and the sunrise in the morning was just outstanding. It was already stated that there are only 11 sites with full 30 amp hook-ups, but some are Big Rig friendly. We have a 41' 5th wheel and had no problem getting to our site. There are a couple of overflow sites with no hook-ups. The staff was very helpful and the snack bar had breakfast on the weekend. The Bathrooms are old and could use a better cleaning. Idea spot if you like fishing a small walk from your site. If they are having a special activity planned, it will be posted here. It was their Octoberfest weekend when we were there, which was a pleasant surprise. They had a German band, German food and Octoberfest beer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
Aug 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Excellent location, beautiful views, right on the beach and a cliff. Sites 9, 10, & 11 have sewer connections almost 30' away from the camper, on the opposite side. Beautiful place, very clean, picturesque beach. The only real negative was the bathrooms, which were very dirty. We will definitely come back again, now that we know which sites to choose.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 1
Jun 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The view from sites 9,10 & 11 (we are in 10) is spectacular. This is also great location for visiting Plymouth, Cape Cod and Boston. The showers look OK. Had 4 washers and dryers in laundry, one out order. (Had 4 new one for boxes). There are only 11 RV sites (water, sewer, and 30A). Reservations are recommended, however an RV was parked next to us for one night that did not have reservations, the next night he parked on the street (overflow-dry camping). There is a snack bar which has breakfast and sandwiches. Location get it an above average rating. PS: Good satellite signal (Motosat).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 10 0
13 results - showing 1 - 13