Fourth Cliff Recreation Area

 
4.2 (44)
117486 0 14 0 37

User reviews

24 reviews with 5 stars

44 reviews

 
(24)
 
(13)
 
(4)
 
(2)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.7  (44)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.1  (44)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.6  (44)
Value 
 
4.4  (44)
Overall Experience 
 
4.3  (44)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
24 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
July 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Love the location. The staff is friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the camp is falling apart due to erosion. There was no water where I stayed and needed an extra long power cord and a sewer hose. The camp needs an overhaul. We had a fantastic time. Loved the location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
May 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We had not seen many reviews on the cabins and chalets at Fourth Cliff prior to going so we were a little nervous as to what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised with our two-bedroom chalet! If you are used to staying in Hiltons and are dismayed by a few ants or peeling paint in a bathroom, this is not the place for you. However, if you are used to the outdoors, want a great view of the water, and do not feel like tent camping, you will love it! One bedroom has a queen (I think) sized bed, the other bedroom has two twins, and the living room has a pull out couch. There is no air conditioning, but when we were there in May, the breeze coming through the windows cooled the whole chalet. There is a gas fireplace to warm the place as well. The kitchen was amply stocked with cookware and dishes. The only basic item we found to be missing was a cutting board. There is a full size refrigerator, stove, oven, and microwave. The check in building has free ping pong, games and puzzles to borrow, and a little store.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
July 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We were very fortunate with our camp site. It was overlooking the ocean with full hookups. BEAUTIFUL place. Lots of places nearby to include a short drive to Plymouth were took 3 of our grandchildren whale watching.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
September, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Beautiful!!!! This might not be the most pristine RV park with perfect concrete pads and manicured lawns but the view, location, and community cannot be beat. This is an old WWII post that overlooked the Atlantic watching for enemy subs/ships and the concrete pads are what is left from whatever was there back then. (At least the area we parked - # 9, 10 & 11) On any one of these 3 sites you back up to a cliff about 20 feet above the beach with an unobstructed view of the Atlantic Ocean. Just to the north (left) of where we were backed up to the water is an inlet where the fishing boats and pleasure boats go out to sea and come back in. (There are RV sites down on that side as well - but for smaller RV's. We are a 40' 5th wheel). We had about a 270 degree view to include the inlet. There are no facilities like bath house or laundry that we saw or used. The town and the peninsula that you drive through to go anywhere is so...."New England". Beautiful houses, neat and clean and the people were very nice. There is a restaurant right at the bridge called "Bridgewaye Inn" that has delicious seafood. We were there 2 weeks and would have stayed longer if allowed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
28 - 30 April 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Fourth Cliff is a spectacular area close to Boston! The cottages are under rehab and will be in great shape for the season. Most appear done already. The New England winter was not kind to Fourth Cliff! The Cliff at the north end collapsed and took most of the road with it. RV sites 2, 3, and 4 are inaccessible by vehicle and the main road along the North River side of the park is blocked just after site 5. If there are cars parked across from site 5, you will have to turn around at the bath house and back to that site. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 2
October 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The Good: Great views. Convenient to both Boston and Cape Cod. We drove to Scituate and caught the train from there to Boston which was really convenient. Clean bath house, staff very helpful. Good antenna tv coverage for us. Really loved the location. Hard to beat the price for all of the things nearby. The Not So Good: No wi-fi (at least at our site). Other than small gift shop in office have to drive into town for any supplies. Driving directions are accurate but roads in the area are not well marked and can be confusing. Other: Unfortunately erosion has required closing of three RV sites (2,3,4) and the road in front of them. Because the road is closed, backing into site 1 is challenging with a large rig. Campsites were full almost every day even though our visit was at the end of the prime tourist season. No change machines or supplies in laundry room. We did not have a problem with security. Campground was extremely quiet in the evenings with no traffic (may be because roads are dead end now instead of a loop). We didn't ask about cable tv since we were doing the tourist thing during the day and used the campground as a home base. As someone else already commented, winds can be strong or gusty on the point but no problem unless you leave your awnings out. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and look forward to returning for another visit in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
August 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Fourth Cliff is certainly one of the nicer park locations in the military system. It sits on the south bank of the North River where it meets the Atlantic Ocean. If you love water this is the place. The park is owned by Hanscom AFB which is more than an hour away. There is another park on the base proper. Here is a short list of positives and negatives. POSITIVE: Location - Right on the Atlantic. Great beach to walk or fish from. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Great restaurants nearby. Boston within easy reach via the Hingham Ferry about 30 minutes up route 3. Unless you live there don’t even think about driving in Boston. No need. The ferry drops you off right on the edge of town. History abounds here. Plymouth Colony within an hour, Cape Cod a day trip. Brand new bath house just finished this spring. Laundry has 4 washers, 8 dryers all working while we were there. If you are a marsh rat there is a nice one to gunk around in adjacent to the park. Boat watching is very good. The North River estuary is right here. Lots of small craft coming and going. I counted 51 out in the Atlantic one afternoon. Free basic cable tv, but you have to ask for the box when you register. NEGATIVE: Security is nonexistent. I saw none. Locals drive through to check it out and some park here to use the beach. It’s small. The park is only 56 acres, and features 17 cabins along with the RV Park. There are 13RV spots and they are small. Pretty much shoulder to shoulder. Two are overflow with no services. Bugs can be bad when the wind isn’t blowing. Bring Deep Woods Off. Winds can be spirited. Don’t put up an awning unless it is heavily supported. I lost one here in 2006 in a sudden gust. No BX, no commissary and nothing within an hour. They have soda, beer and ice at the park store, but few grocery items. Park population on a summer weekend can be very heavy. Lots of beach partiers. During the week the park may still be full, but not so many people using the facilities. The wifi in the office area is fast. It is not transmitted out to the park. There are three computers supplied or you can use your own. If you have a Verizon Jetpack fast 3G service is present.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 9 6
30 June thru 8 July 2013
(Updated: July 05, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We were finally able to get reservations at the Fourth Cliff by getting on the phone 75 days and two minutes before our desired arrival date. They did not answer the phone until 8 AM and I was told I had the last slot available. The big business here is the renting of cabins. This also increases the beach traffic which is on the bay side. As for the Campsites, there was only about 6 feet between sites but the reason all were here was to appreciate the ocean and the bay and it can’t be beat for the price. All of our neighbors were from within 30 miles and they use it as a get a way to the ocean and then bring in the family to visit. It is a very reasonable vacation paradise. The kids, and there were loads of them, even have many things to do including a game room. The one way street on check in has you parked going up a hill. If they changed the one way direction, you would be on level ground. The young staff also figures you need a cable box to get their cable TV. There is no deposit on this but you do sign for it and will be charged if you depart without returning it. If you have cable ready on your TV, you do not need the box. We occupied site #6 which was a concrete slab but only 20’ long. It was not level and we had to adjust with the jacks. 50 AMP was a welcome addition. All campsites are in full sun. The rest rooms are brand new and very clean. With the many environmental restrictions, I do not see them expanding the campgrounds and for the beauty surrounding you, we will accept it as it is. It is a very busy place during the daytime but extremely quiet at night. If you love the ocean, it is a wonderful place to spend a week. WIFI was available at the camp office and the manager wants to extend it to the campgrounds. His primary concern at the moment is to save the north end of the cliff as erosion has even taken out a part of the road. Nothing is more beautiful than to watch the sun set over the bay. We will return. Since this was a time of increased security, We had AP’s on duty during the entire time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
September, 2012
(Updated: November 18, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
If you are an ocean lover, this facility is an absolute gem and an outstanding value for money. The location is perfect for a get-away with beach access just steps away from your site, while at the same time convenient to Cape Cod and Boston. Few camping facilities give you such a wide range of immediate area activities for such reasonable cost. Facilities are well maintained by the friendly staff, but definitely need updating/renovation, including better Wi-Fi service. Overall, we had a great time and look forward to our next visit to this exceptional facility.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
20-24 October 2012
(Updated: October 04, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We spent 4 days in the full hookup rv section late September. Sites were right on the point between the inlet and the ocean, beautiful view. Would be nice if wi-fi was available at the site, but going down to the office wasn't a problem. We are going back in October to the same site. Boston, Plymouth, and the cape are all within easy driving distance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Jul 29 - Aug 3, 2012
(Updated: August 05, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
A true gem. 4th Cliff is by far the greatest location I've been to for a campground. Don't go there expecting a commissary or exchange, they are not there. This is a fantastic place to go and get away. The beach is fantastic, and with the tides and currents, the beach is ever changing. The only downside of this facility is, the civilians in the area seem to think it's for them too. If you do go and encounter civilians, feel free to escort them out. The gate is normally open, but should be closed by each and every guest. I hate to tell everyone how much I have enjoyed being there, as I fear too many people will want to go there, making it difficult for me to get my RV site, but it's a chance worth taking. The cottages outside the gate are getting up to 1200.00 a week in rent. Consider this when you bring your RV and pay 25.00 a night, or 100 for a cottage or chalet. There is WI-FI at the office/rec center, but I was able to access it from my RV site occasionally. I already have reservations for later this month.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
September 10th through 17th, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
P.A. left this review using the Directory software: - We made reservations for our stay a few months ahead as we have a 38 foot 5th wheel. We were assigned RV Site #9 which worked out very well. The view was just awesome. We were lucky with great weather the first 3 days of our stay. The wind was not so bad and we could listen to the breakers from our bedroom. Looking out of the living room watching ships in the distance as well as the local fishing boats was a relaxing treat. We were disappointed that we were not allowed to walk on the Atlantic side beach. All utilities worked well but we did have some "over voltage problems", on our 30amp service that was resolved by the maintenance crew in a day or so. This is a good location to see Boston and Plymouth area attractions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
22.-24.April 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We were 5 people and stayed in a Chalet, it was very nice. First day it was stormy and the heat with the fireplace worked well, than we had a nice sunny day and the beach was very nice for adults and the kids. A lot of space and a great view to the ocean from the house. We definitely will come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
February 27, 2010
(Updated: September 14, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I stayed in one of the chalets and it was very well kept. A very pleasing atmosphere. I live approximately 20 minutes from the area and the view of the beach is beautiful. I would recommend this site to anyone, it's very peaceful. I am going back as many times as I can go.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
Sept 25-27, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
If you like the ocean you will love this place. Bring your camera. About an hour south of Boston, a great place to relax and walk. If you arrive at night you need to push the gate out of the way and find your spot. (Close the gate behind you). Its not as bad as it sounds. Each spot is well marked. Laundry available. Enjoy the area and enjoy the nearby restaurants.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
August 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
P.M. left this reicew using the Directory software: Overall a very nice place to visit. $25 per night. We were there for six days (Sunday to Saturday). Narrow streets can make it difficult to navigate a big rig, especially on busy weekends - but we managed okay. Pam, the person in charge, was easy to work with. Very high water pressure - be sure to use a regulator to avoid possible damage to your rig. We never did rid of a water leak at the connection. 11 RV spaces - ours was site 4 with great views of the ocean. We needed a second sewer hose to make a sewer connection. Good electric voltage. As might be expected (being right on the ocean) the sites were pretty narrow and packed in. We never did our rig exactly leveled. We stopped for a beer at the store - ended up paying a dollar more and bought the whole six pack. There's a gate but one could never know if it would be open or closed after 5 PM - but it was certainly never locked. Several nice local places nearby (by car) to eat. A million kids around so be careful driving. We saw what looked like a nice playground there but we didn't visit it. We didn't use the laundromat but it looked just fine. A perfect place to relax and enjoy the beach. We'd go back in a heartbeat.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
11 JULY - 18 JULY 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Overall a great visit! Very hard to get a reservation here; visited the area two times before and could not get in. This time I was able to change my other plans by a few days when I called in and was told this week was available. Think I have a clue to some of the reservation problem as my neighbor while here informed me that he comes here all the time! Seems he is from this area, now lives in FL, but travels back here for the summer. Was here while I was, left but said he would be back in a week for another 2 weeks in the same site, and would be in and out for the whole summer. Guess it just depends on who you know in the office, which it seems it getting to be very prevalent in the FamCamp business. Anyway, we had Site 10 and had no problems at all; maybe since we only have a 37' RV it made a difference. Pull straight in and have a great view of the Atlantic! Would be nice if they put a WiFi repeater on the tower, then maybe the whole camping area could have a signal! As is is now, down to the office area for each time to use computer, bummer. Did note that the staff (summer hires?) did not have much info on anything it seemed, could not even find me a Channel List for the Cable TV provided, said "It's in your cabin". Hello, I'm in an RV site, where's the list? Maybe a little OJT for summer help would be in order?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 14-18 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed from June 14- June 16, we loved it. This is the 2ond time and can't wait to go again. great place!!! Poor Fred & Diane
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 18-22, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Back again! Another wonderful stay at 4th Cliff, except for Mother Nature and high winds (Nor'easter). We stayed in RV9 which is at the top of the cliff. Our trailer was "rockin' & rollin'" during the night. The weather & winds actually "forced" us to leave a day earlier than we had planned. Other than that, we are very pleased with the area and had a wonderful time. I still wish and hope that they will extend the WiFi to cover the RV/cabin areas. I don't think it would take too much effort or expense. The staff is great! We will be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Love this place! I enjoy going here better than a regular hotel on the Cape. Great value and great location. We go yearly whenever we can get reservations.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
24 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2