Camp Grayling RV Park

New
 
3.3 (35)
57505 0 22 4 6

User reviews

7 reviews with 2 stars

35 reviews

 
(6)
 
(8)
 
(16)
 
(5)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.9  (35)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.1  (35)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.9  (35)
Value 
 
3.7  (35)
Overall Experience 
 
3.3  (35)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
7 results - showing 1 - 7
Ordering
Summer 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
2018 was our 2nd stay at Camp Grayling RV Park. The facility isn’t a U.S. military facility; it is a Michigan Army Nation Guard camp. As compared to 2017, the facility obviously hasn’t had any upgrades or care since the close of last season; perhaps due to funding or lack of concern. The bathrooms are in need of care and maintenance; often out of paper towels and toilet paper. All the sites, other than the big rig row are very “tight,” campers on adjoining sites will be less than 10 feet away. The electrical capacity is overmatched by the amount of draw during high temperature days and brownouts and/or low voltage can be normal. Also there is a very limited number of 50a sites. There are many trees which make parking large RVs a challenge and due to the crowding and lack of adequate parking facilities, getting out can be as challenging as getting in. Also, the abundance of trees keep vehicles coated with pollen and limbs (hopefully nothing large) falling on the RVs all the time when the wind blows. The park has no laundry facilities and there are none available on the camp. Grayling is about 5 miles away and has at least one laundromat. It is a great value for the “seasonal” camper, for the short to intermediate stay camper it is nothing to rave about. It serves its purpose of providing National Guard personnel a place to park their RVs while on summer camp drills; that seems the only imperative. The park hosts are cordial enough but poorly motivated to keep the camping areas maintained; the “it is what it is mentality prevails.” 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
July 14, 2017
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
I visited this campground thinking maybe I could take the grandkids there for a visit. NOT! 95% of the spaces are occupied by full time campers. They have wood decks and skirting around the trailers. The Commanding Officer of the base should be ashamed of their self for letting this place get so bad! Move the full timers out...Even the camp host site was a mess!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 2
July 2013
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
July 2013, This tacky sight has more than it’s share of problem common to RV Parks. 1. Very difficult to contact before arrival. 2. Undersized overlapping sights. 3. Unleveled soft sand sights. 4. Dysfunctional layout. 5. Sewer pipes high. 6. Waterlines in the dirt. 7. 30/20A Only. 8. Most of park unlit at night. 9. Homesteaders / Seasonal(s). 10. Boat and trailer storage in park. 11. Location too far to receive local channels.
12. Trees impede satellite usage. 13. No cable available. 14. No barbeques or fire rings. 15. Majority of the picnic tables are ready for the dumpster. Big rigs and toy haulers be warned. You will be better off doing without full hookups in one of Michigan’s State Parks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 5
July 4, 2012
(Updated: July 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
We stayed there only one night. We arrived about 4pm. The campground host was not on duty but a note on the door indicated our space. It was a hot day/evening and there was no tree cover at our RV space. The space itself was sandy loam, not a paved space and very gritty. The bath house was dirty and the showers were very small and the floors very wet making it difficult to shower, dry off and change. We did not take advantage of any other amenities. This is run by the Camp Grayling Officer's Club and it was interesting to note that several of the RV spaces were occupied by the same people for dozens of years and have been made their own. One resident showed us "his" space that he has occupied each summer for the last 37 years. It was like a permanent homestead. The price was right, however, at $17 a night. I would only return if I needed a safe harbor for the night and I would not use their bath house.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
29 October 2011
(Updated: October 30, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
my wife and i drove by the check out the site for 2012. we were both not impressed. the park was not well maintained. there doesn't seem to be much up keep to the park. doesn't support newer larger rv's. as stated in the previous review, sewer lines are on the wrong side. sites aren't clearly marked. the restrooms were not maintained. i love nature, but some of the tree need to be cut down. many of them block slide outs from opening fully. the ground is very uneven. in comparing this park to the one at camp perry, there is no comparison. camp perry lots are paved and level. up keep is on a constant basis. the office isn't maintained by the officers club. i don't know how the money aspect of camp perry is, but they seem to care about their rv park more than grayling. grayling needs major work. the officers club house that manages the rv park looks like a palace. i can see where the money goes. it's apparent that no officers stay there. i can safely say that we won't be staying there. which is a shame, because the location is excellent. the lake is a short walk away. this really could/can be a excellent site that could have a mile long waiting list to get on if someone would just fix it up. we are going to be working on the post next year, and had planned on bringing our 5th wheel. it would be to much of a headache to try to maneuver into.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
9 sept 2011
(Updated: September 09, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
not much good to say here. The Nat Guard should be ashamed of this facility. Dirt sites with well worn patches of grass here and there. Older...older facility. Sewer lines located on wrong side . Restrooms had peeling wall and floor paint although the to it's and sinks were clean. Showers had obvious black mold everywhere. It's obvious the Officers Club isn't minding the health and welfare of their personnel. This place needs a complete redo. The beach was very nice, so? A one stand for this place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
August 3, 2007
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
This campground gives trailer parks a bad name. We had reservations for two weeks, with a five-day prepaid deposit. The dirt camp sites were unlevel, close and very unkept. The shower/toilet building was deplorable; stalls were old and dirty and insect nests/webs were everywhere. The only good thing about the place was the friendliness of the hosts, however, they were so elderly that they didn't get around well. The place is run by the officer's club. It is obvious that an "officer" hasn't been around for years nor have they put a dime back into the place. Needless to say, we didn't even stay our deposit's worth - we left after three days.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
7 results - showing 1 - 7