Keesler AFB FamCamp

Keesler AFB FamCamp

Hot
 
4.0 (63)
69522   0   20   0   42

User reviews

12 reviews with 3 stars

63 reviews

 
(28)
 
(18)
 
(13)
 
(4)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
 
4.0  (63)
 
3.7  (63)
 
4.1  (63)
 
4.1  (63)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
12 results - showing 1 - 12  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

15-18 Jan 2017

We didn't find the campground especially difficult to find or to get to in our 35' motorhome (just enter "200 Annex Rd Biloxi" into your GPS, then follow the "Keesler AFB FAMCAMP" signs to the campground entrance.) The campground itself is outside the base - just next to leased family housing - and is a bit of a letdown. It appears to have been neglected & in dire need of some "TLC": 3 of the 5 washers in the laundry were inoperable, the grounds need some tending & the shower/restrooms are BADLY in need of some upgrades. It's just a short drive over to Keesler AFB from the campground. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 2013

L.S. left this review using the Directory software: - This campground is almost all homesteaders. Very obvious. Nice place, but hard to get into with all the "permanent" residents. What happened to no homesteaders????

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 29, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 3 - 9, 2013

We had no intentions staying here. Last time we stayed here we said never again. But the weather changed our minds. We have been staying in Ocean Springs at the Gulf Islands National Seashore campground but couldn't find a suitable site this time. We called Gulfport Seebee Base and they had an opening so we headed there. By the time we got to the Ocean Springs-Biloxi bridge the weather had changed drastically. We go caught on the bridge in what I found out later to be 60 mile an hour winds. It was very scary. On the coast road thru Biloxi we were pelted with more winds and blowing sand. We decided that we would try Keesler to get off the road. To our surprise they had two sites to choose from. The host was new since our last visit and seemed a lot nicer than previous ones. We had a nice site but the overall appearance of this park is not nice. I would guess that about 70 percent of the sites are taken up by people who live here permanently. There are trailers on cement blocks. One old beat-up Winnebago was still there from our last visit. For the ammount of units here at the time, we saw very few people. Regardless, we enjoyed our visit. I just wish that the next time they will have cleaned the park up some, but doubt it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 15, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

August 2011

I'm not quite sure they enforce the 6 month max stay. Too many long timers with permanent porches, etc. Too few sites to choose from. They have a nice short term site but no cable tv hook up. We had full hook up with cable. MIFI 2200, cell worked well. Excellent location.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 12-14, 2010

As mentioned by others, this is a homestead campground; it is definitely not a FAMCAMP. Really seems that the Air Force has more problems of this type than any service. Some get cleaned out every so often, other never, and some clean house for a while and then go back to the same old ways. Office has a big board with all sites listed. Just take a look, we're here in March 2010 and several on board show check in early 2009 months; that is surely not a 6 month stay on one of the 42 Long Stay sites! Also, every site is filled right now, dry camping only and yet when I was at the office this AM one of the long stay campers came in to extend stay and no questions were asked by the staff, just make the added payment and all set. This situation really stinks and should be corrected. Maybe if enough of us "travelers" give such reviews someone at Keesler AFB will take note and make corrections. Not much in amenities also, no internet, no TV, etc. Bottom line - great for homesteaders, not what FAMCAMP should be.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

February 2010

Spent a night here to check out the area. Nice RV Park. We got lucky, as we didn't have a reservation and there were a few sites still available. The entrance road is narrow and has low trees - be careful. The RV Park isn't behind any security gates, so there's no hassles and less security. Biggest downside here is no Internet access.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

December 3, 2009

We arrived late afternoon without a reservation. Host said they only had overflow available. In this case, overflow meant pulling up next to another camp site and hooking into their electric/water. The electric box had both 50 and 30 amp connections. The other guy had the 50 and we got the 30, which was fine, since our power demands are small. The water had two separate spigots on a tee. Our spot was a short walk to the bath house, which was clean and adequate, and the doors were secured with cypher locks. The charge for w/e hookup was $10/night...recently raised from $8...about right for our requirements, and we were pleased to get a spot at all because the place was really full. Last time we were here was about a year after the last big hurricane, and the whole coast looked like a war zone. Now things look normal again in the neighborhood...the c/g is in great shape, and the adjacent family housing is all brand new. Highway 90, from Biloxi to Gulfport is all newly paved and free of construction. But the host says it's still best to come to the c/g via Pops Ferry Road. We only stayed one night on our way west. Probably stay again on the way back to Florida. For Sprint air card users, internet connection was OK, but NOT 3G EVDO speeds.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 17th & 18th,2009

The Hostess was very nice and helpful, However whoever is in charge is apparently not familiar with RV Parks. We were in site 52 with someone in "overflow" next to us in 52A. We had to maneuver to avoid their awning which extended to the paved patio so our slides would not extend without contacting. We shared the electric box (they were in a camping trailer and used the 30 amp while we used the 50 amp), we shared the water, however the occupant told us that in order to use the sewer at the site they had to pay a $5.00 charge! (Anyone had to pay to dump anywhere if you paid for a site?) Cable is not available at that site, although is at the other sites. Overall we paid the same $20 as the other full hookups, but shared the site and did not have cable. I feel this is out of line with other FamCamps and the additional charge for Sewer is outrageous. Getting to the park is a challenge and would recommend caution to avoid hitting road signs while avoiding oncoming traffic, once you leave Jim Money drive. Should be one way or widened but it is off base so that isn't going to happen. US 90 is completed so directions do not need to include the detour.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 8, 2008

We stayed at the Keesler AFB FamCamp on May 8, 2008. This FamCamp is small and they will hold a space for you if you call early on the day of your arrival. They charged us for a full hookup ($20) because they didn't have enough customers for the full hookups--even though we only needed a partial hookup ($14) and partial hookups were available. Thus the price was higher than the far nicer FamCamps at McChord AFB ($10) and Nellis AFB ($14) and equivalent FamCamp at NAS Fallon in Nevada.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Mar 30 - Apr 2, 2008

R.F. left this review using the Directory software: Host is great & campground is nice but price is very high.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 22, 2007

We stayed at Keesler's Fam Camp for 16 days during our PCS to Keesler. I called months ahead to check for availability. I was told to contact them the morning of our arrival and I would be given a site, if one was available. If not, they would put us in the overflow. I called the day of our arrival and they put their last site on hold for us, as this was a PCS. The staff was very friendly. The fam camp was full everyday of our stay, usually with people in overflow. They do have a good bit of sites that are occupied by "full-timers". The draw back for our family was the spacing of the sites. Our awning was almost touching the unit next to us. Also, if you are traveling with children, they do not have a playground. They do, however, have an open field where they can play ball.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

15 May 07

With the construction of the new base housing that was destroyed by Hurricane Katrina, the main entrance road on Jim Money has been changed to the another road. Go past the old entrance to the 4 way stop, turn right for about 500 yards and there is a small road that cuts the RV storage area in half. There are temp signs and no street name but you can't miss it. It is a hard turn with a big rig near the office because the construction has taken away the overflow. The new road doesn't allow two rigs side by side so be aware. They plan to construct more overflow but we all know how rebuilding goes with the priority to build 1067 new base housing units that were destroyed. Lee Parmeter losone

Was this review helpful to you? 
12 results - showing 1 - 12