Keesler AFB FamCamp

Keesler AFB FamCamp

New Hot
 
4.0 (63)
67840   0   20   0   42

User reviews

19 reviews with 4 stars

63 reviews

 
(28)
 
(18)
 
(13)
 
(4)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
 
4.0  (63)
 
3.7  (63)
 
4.1  (63)
 
4.1  (63)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
19 results - showing 1 - 19  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 20-21, 2016

Campground is difficult to get to. You must travel a narrow local street which appears to dead end near the campground. Once inside campground there is adequate space to maneuver your RV. We were placed in the overflow area even after I had called to reserve a site for overnight. Campground was full with many active duty personnel attending school on base. Only water and electric were available to us. Lots of shade but sites appear to be somewhat tight. Office staff was friendly and helpful to us in locating an overflow site for one night. Had to disconnect the toad before parking our Class A motor home. We would consider staying here again with better arrangements.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 30-April 6, 2014

Things are starting to look up for this Famcamp. In the past it has been a haven for homesteaders and stocked with many old ragged looking RVs with some on blocks. I don't know if it is because of the new hosts or not. The two hosts (not here my last visit) are very nice and accommodating folks. All the junky RVs including the old beat-up rusted out Winnebago are gone. The place is starting to look a lot nicer. We called from the interstate to inquire about a site and was told to come on in. The host said they close between 1 and 2 p.m. but would be on the lookout for us. We arrived about 1:15 p.m. and given a choice of several campsites. Another improvement this time is WiFi. They have Verizon MiFi boxes they loan you and you use them to connect to the internet. They do require a deposit of 100 dollars but will return that when you turn in the equipment.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 12, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

February 9&10, 2013

Talk about a Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde experience! After being greeted by Joe and made to feel right at home, the second evening when I came back and parked (in an overflow spot) as I had been directed by Joe to park, this mad woman from Hades came screaming across the road to my rig telling me I had to turn around and accusing me of having only paid for one night! I tried to calm her down to tell her that I had been directed to park as I was, but she couldn't stop yelling long enough to listen. A thoroughly distasteful experience. Joe came the next morning to apologize, but I assured him none of it was his fault in any way. Had the woman been polite and respectful there would have been nothing about which to be concerned. The head of the entire operation came and apologized, so I will probably return when I'm in the area again. Being self contained I didn't use the restrooms, but it was the first military laundry I've ever seen that didn't sell detergent nor softener.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 22, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sept 2012

A little hard to find, we had to call Camp Host who was awesome and willing to take the time to help us find park. Park seems a little run down and looks like there have been some long term residents. Bath house is pretty weathered but was clean. Over all a decent over nighter for the price.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 11, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2012

We had an unexpected sewage problem while camping in front of the Hard Rock Cafe (yes, you can dry camp in the front of the Hard Rock), & Joe was outstanding! He directed us to several RV mechanics, one of which was on-property. Our situation wasn't completely resolved but we sure appreciated his help in getting us assistance to survive for the night. Camp spot was readily available and reasonable considering we needed the toilet/shower house for 2 days. The park is pretty far off of the beaten path (casino's/restaurants) but pretty reasonable if you plan to stay in Biloxi for a few days.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 11, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

25 May 2012

We spent the night here after staying two nights at Shields RV park at the Navy CB Battalion in Gulfport, not far away. Cleanliness was like night and day. Keeslers Fam Camp needs a desperate "spring cleaning." We have stayed here many times before and the cleanup is well overdue. We talk about "homesteaders" and this is one of those places where it really shows. The area we were in was run down, utility's were in need of repairs. The bath house is old but clean so this proves that the area could be cleaned up. The Fam Camp is off base nestled among base housing located off main base. The base is nice, we use to enjoy the club at the marina but the new club is up and running so they closed the bar at the marina. After parking our rig we walked a few miles thru the nearby park to a nice restaurant. Beaches are not in walking distance and there is not a lot around the RV park. Reservations can't be made but we had no problem this time of year. Pictures look better then park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

16 - 21 May 2012

We stayed there for a few days while we were on our Grand Tour. The park host was courteous and helpful. The facilities clean and orderly. There were a lot of homesteaders but plenty of spaces for actual RV travelers. No WiFi, still, and that was a headache for those who want to stay connected. The BX has WiFi but you have to pay for it, it's not free. Kind of a ripoff and not what I expected from the Exchange. We connected at the hospital but that's kind of our of the way. The nearest McDonald's worked out OK, but still inconvenient. Otherwise, the place was acceptable.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

January 6, 2012

R.B. left this review using the Directory software: - Lovely spot! Host Joe Clark was ultra-helpful and friendly and got us right into a pull-through site. Wish they had WiFi but understand that is in the bidding process now. Would go back anytime.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 6 -9 2011

This Fam-Camp could be one of the best in Mississippi. But the first thing is they need to move the people that live there full time out. The Host was great. Great park to do the beach and casinos. Remember to stop at the Mississippi welcome center when first coming into the state and get the buy one get one free buffet coupons for the casinos. The RV park doesn't have them any longer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 20, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Dec. 15th to Dec. 19th, 2010

Host at check in was Joe and he was very accommodating, he offered us a site in the back but realized it was too small, then he put us in an electric and water site next to another big rig. According to the board his next offer was a big enough site opening up on the 19th. Well the morning of the 19th rolled around and no indication folks in the site were leaving. Different host this day said they had until 11:00 to extend their stay so at 11:45 we asked if they were staying and she told us she had no idea and they did not enforce the 11:00 rule. I told her we would like to know ASAP as we would need to make a reservation someplace else for the next day. Well at 12:30 the people drive out in their truck and we again asked the host what they were doing, she said she had no idea again. This is an example of homesteaders who pretend they are hosts and do not perform the duties of a host, and speaking of homesteaders there had to have been at least a dozen there as many had so much stuff around their RV that looked like it had been there a very long time. In conversation with folks we found some have actually been there 3 years and they move them around to different sites, another person there 6 months and one other 3 months. We are true RV'ers and follow rules so now find this to be a place we will not be quick to go back to.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 1-3, 2010

Visited area during the BP oil spill 4th July weekend. We didn't have a reservation but they had space. The trees are low so watch your rubber roof and air conditioners. The pads need some leveling especially the ones on the back of the park. A few homesteaders still there. Great spot when you want to visit the local casinos and see the sights. The park could use a little cleaning and work on the hookups. They were repairing and/or installing the CATV but ours worked. I will return on our return west.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jan 7, 2910

Nice park, stayed 4 nights and had to sit in overflow as the park is full of homesteaders. Many have been here for the three years we have been camping on our way to and from Florida. Keesler AFB needs to put a limit on how long folks can stay and force the squatters to move on. Camp host are outstanding and do all they can with what they have to work with. Camp grounds are well kept and the facilities are clean. Not a bad place to stop and rest.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 2009

Nice off base park. Clean and comfortable. Don't walk between RV sites here. Didn't realize that was a big no-no at this park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 25 2009

The first thing I will say this park is operated by some of the friendliest camp host around. I called early in the morning for 2 spots and they save them for us. The bad things are the streets getting to the park and that the new area doesn't have any cable, also some of the people need to clean up their spot because they can stay long term. Little pricey but I think the whole Fam-Camp program has raised there rates. In some cases it's OK but in some they need to reduce them.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

27-29 Oct 2008

We called the morning of our planned arrival like other raters suggested. Joe held a spot for us until 1400. When we arr'ed he asked me if we'd take a overflow spot since he had 2 calls from larger motorhomes coming in that morning also. The overflow spot was right beside the office, 30A/W hook up and easier to get into than the close paved spots in the mail park, so I took it. Cost was half- $10 per night. It was very pleasant, and no problem at all. Bathhouse/showers/laundry all are very clean & kept up nicely. Friendly staff and I piggy backed free wi-fi from the new housing area next door. So we're happy. No Keesler AFB remains from our tour here back in the 70's, but base is rebuilding fine. The tempo BX & Commissary are adequate for us. Base Library next dor to the commissary has internet. Web-site directions off of I-10 were correct. Watch Pass Rd. However. It is very narrow and turns are VERY tight.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

September 12 -17, 2007

We had reservations at a privately owned park in Ocean Springs but cancelled them when we arrived and took a look at it. Very tight and junky. Called Keesler Famcamp and was told they had overflow available with water and electric. The site was on grass between two regular sites. There were two other units in overflow and I just figured that you go on a list and get the next available full hookup site. Not! The following morning the hostess told me its first come, first serve but you have to be physically on site in order to move to a full hookup site. I asked her if that meant that I would have to sit at the campground for 5 days and not go anywhere in order to be moved and she said "Yes". That is the only reason that I rated hospitality so low. Anyway, at about 9:00 a.m. I noticed a motorhome across from me moving and I quickly hooked up and moved and received no flak. Didn't seem a good system to me. Other than that and a couple of junky sites (motorhome with about a ton of boxes piled up outside and a travel trailer on cememt blocks)the campground was OK. If in the area we would try to get back into this Famcamp.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 16, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 9, 2007

We're at KAFB Famcamp, 4-12-07 and will likely be here another 10 days. We initially parked in overflow for 2 nights - we camped completely "dry" and the rate was only $6/night. You can also choose other options including a few water/15amp overflow sites on gravel/dirt next to the bath house and office, or you can get 15amp only in the dry area with an extension cord. Camp host/hostess are a very nice couple, friendly and helpful, they try to accommodate everyone as best they can. Yes, there are still a few long term residents from Hurricane Katrina, but FHU sites are available first-come. My wife tells me the ladies showers give no privacy for dressing. I can't comment on the mens as I prefer to use ours. The gulf coast area is coming back from Katrina, although widespread destruction is everywhere there are islands of "back to normal" and many casinos are in full operation. We like Biloxi and this park is a good value, so we'll return 1 - 2 times a year as we travel around. Note that this park is not on the main base, and there's no security gate to go through; although the area is posted as military and patrolled. Also this is not a "resort", it is what it is, and it's OK.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec 24th 2006

Nice place, Great overflow parking area to still get you in when the main site is full. More than friendly people for camp host. Even though we stayed in the over flow we where charged full price. No grass showers, or rest rooms. Good thing we are self contained. They did have full hook ups. Getting through the gate security was a large pain in the butt as they would not give me a base pase until December 28 and I was leaving on Jan 1st. This could be alot better run, if you have all the ID's inculding passports and data you should not still have to see JAG to get a letter to. These people are on a power trip that work the main gate. Over all I would go back. As I spoke my peace of mind to JAG when I got the letter from them.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jan.4, 2007

A huge playground! Recycling on site. Clean laundry with lots of washers/dryers, but only "close" if you're in the front camp area. Showers in front area adequate, but quite mildewy. But, I gave this area of scoring a better rating because hospitality was fantastic! Being off base made shopping not as convenient, and the hurricane damage will keep these folks busy quite a while. Lots of places for pets.

Was this review helpful to you? 
19 results - showing 1 - 19