Keesler AFB FamCamp

Keesler AFB FamCamp

Hot
 
4.0 (63)
69522   0   20   0   42

User reviews

27 reviews with 5 stars

63 reviews

 
(28)
 
(18)
 
(13)
 
(4)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
 
4.0  (63)
 
3.7  (63)
 
4.1  (63)
 
4.1  (63)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
27 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 11-18, 2015

Here we are again. This time I have some good news to report. The host said that Keesler is going to build a new Famcamp with over 100 sites and will take reservations. The old camp will remain open as an overflow area. I saw a map of Biloxi with this site marked off and it's located near the Imperial Palace Casino at the southeast corner of Porter Avenue and Division Street. east of I-110. At least it's good news for me because I stay here twice a year and like the idea of making reservations. Now some not so good news. The homesteaders with the large toyhauler 5th wheel are still in the short-term site area. Otherwise, another good stop-over.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 22 - May 3, 2015

This is still a nice campground with great hosts. There are some things happening here that I don't like. They have this one section you can only stay for 2 weeks and then have to get out. The rest of the park is open for homesteaders and active-duty at Keesler to live rather than base housing. I found on this visit that homesteaders are now in this 2-week only section. They all have 2 cars or trucks and park anywhere they want to. Our neighbor had a 45 foot toy hauler that took up most of the site and they parked their car almost in the road and the truck whereever. That could mean on the grass next to the one neighbor or the concrete behind my unit. They dropped the tailgate on the toy hauler and used it as a patio and would leave 2 large dogs out there when they left. The dogs barked one day from about 4 pm until when they came home at around 9 pm. Nothing can be done about it because what I hear is that these people claim they are not leaving their dogs outside unintended because the patio is attached to the trailer. I try to remember these people and not park next to them next time. It's still a great place to stay while in the area and we'll be back in about a week. In my opinion, the hosts, Al and Bobbie are about the best anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb 2, 2015

We just spent a week here. We were happy with our stay. My husband was assigned here pre Katrina therefore we knew the area. We visited during the time Mardi Gras parades were scheduled. There are plenty parades during this time. Check www.wlox.com for parade schedules. Next door to fam camp is Hiller Park. This includes tennis courts, disc golf, play ground, ducks to feed and walking path. A lot of the locals use this park. On the back bay of the park is quiet for a picnic or just to sit and enjoy the water. The base has a beautiful BX, Commissary and Marina. Famcamp the Laundry is $1.50 per wash load and $1.50 dry load. This park is close to a Walmart Neighborhood market and other shopping. New shopping area is located at I-10 & I-110. Great place.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 13 - 20, 2014

Another great visit. I will say again that the hosts, Bobbie and Al are 2 of the best hosts I'm come across. We arrived around noon and was allowed to choose our site from many. Something happened here on Saturday that I've never seen before. We had been to town and when we arrive back at the camp, there was a Keesler security policeman at the entrance checking IDs. I have never seen this before and asked the host (Al) about it. He said they've been doing this for a long time. We were here for a week in April and never saw it and this was the first time this trip. Al said it was because of what happened at Fort Hood. The officer left about an hour later and was never seen again. If they are worried about an attack, what happens during the time there are no ID checks? An hour here and there makes no sense to me at all. Another first for me at military bases was once going onto Keesler they asked to see my drivers license. None of this was a big deal to me, I'm just mentioning it. This Famcamp has made a complete turnaround from what it used to be and I enjoy staying here very much.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2014

Prices need to be updated $420 for a month which starts on the 1st not the day you arrive and they do not prorate. If you show up in the middle of the month you may end up paying the same for a couple of weeks as you would the entire month. No reservations: first come first serve but you get to pick your site. We first stayed here in April 2014; they have short term and long term sites. We came back in May and stayed in a long term site. Overall pleased with area... the sites are a little tight but considering we came from Ft Sam where the sites are huge we got used to it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 7, 2014

We loved this FamCamp and the area so much that we stayed an extra day. The Camp hosts Al and BJ were fantastic and helped us with everything that we needed. The bathhouse is spacious and immaculate!!!!!! The camp has quite a lot of tree shaded sites and it is very neat with a very relaxing atmosphere. We would love to come back again, and again, and again!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 16, 2014

What a great place! Neat and clean, and less than five minutes from the beaches and casinos. The campground manager was friendly and helpful. Everyone we met in the park was friendly. Lots of grass and plenty of places for our dog to run around. We had been warned about noisy trains and our first night there was indeed a very loud train that woke us up at 3:00 AM. The second and third nights either there were no trains or we somehow slept through them. Overall, I'd say the train noise was infrequent and not a big deal. We would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 2013

My wife and I stayed with you during cruising the coast (blue 66 nova). We had a great time and hope to stay with you again this year. Just wanted to say MERRY CHRISTMAS and HAPPY NEW YEAR. Hope to see you again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 29, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 28, 2013

Attendant named BJ greeted us as soon as we drove up. She was very courteous and helpful. She gladly drove us around the park to show us the available spots. The park was neat and clean and the bath houses were spotless. The park is located a little bit out of the way but BJ gave us a map and information about the base. It is not an attractive park but the price was right and everything worked as it should. We will use it again. Thanks BJ! Garrett

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 12, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jun 3-7, 2013

Stopped here enroute to Florida. Called ahead and the hosts were very accommodating. The host was very nice and gave us a site number since we were going to arrive late. The directions the website were great, but there were no signs along that route to indicate you were headed to the camp. Upon arrival one of the hosts greeted us. The site was great! Overall appearance is the grass needed cutting (knee-high), which was cut three days later. About 70 percent of the sites are taken up by people who live there and they have all the shady sites. There are several trailers on cement blocks with one old..... Winnebago which lacked all four wheels, and the door appeared to be tied on. The one RV next to the office was not the host and the site was very cluttered. Regardless, we enjoyed our visit and the amenities are nice. I just wish that they will ask the permanent rvers to cleanup their areas/rv's and mow more often. All famcamp facilities were clean.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 31, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 29-June 1, 2013

I was very apprehensive after reading earlier reviews. Glad we had a better experience. From my first call, I had great service. The directions on the website were perfect, and we drove right to the camp. There were few sites to choose from because there are quite a few homesteaders here, but we got a good location. There really is an old Winnebago that is on jack stands. I don't get it, but I don't really care. The camp is quiet and it's close to everywhere we wanted to go. We will definitely be back. You sure can't beat the price.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

1-10 Feb 2012

We are Fulltime and we stay at Keesler FamCamp every time we are going through the area. We try to schedule our travels to stay there at least a week. The area is normally quiet except for the occasional flights from the base. But I have always looked at those little noises and things as our price of freedom. Joe and Bobi are great people and will always help you when you need it. All you have to do is ask. Even though they do not take reservation we have never had an issue getting a spot. Call ahead and see what is available. I wish they had wifi available, but I understand it is in the works along with the possibility of turning one storage lot into additional RV spaces. Great Idea. Hope to see it soon along with the WiFi. Easy access to the base if needed and great local eateries. Bootleggers Pizza, the best around, will deliver to your site and they offer a military discount.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 21, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov 2011

We've been here a week & really like the campground. There may be a couple homesteaders, but not an over abundance. We're in the open area, and it seems to have more space between sites. It has nice big pull thrus & level. Our area doesn't have cable but we have satellite so that's not a problem. We have a dog, so I've walked thru the whole park many times already & it's clean & well kept. I think the man who runs the office is Joe & he's very nice & helpful. There were a few open spots when we arrived, but it looks like it's full now. The base is less than 10 minutes away & so is the beach. I would definitely come here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 29, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March to May 2011

It was good to be able to stop here for awhile, the VA Medical Center is right next to the Famcamp. This park offers both long and short term spaces and there are a few, mostly active duty assigned to the base, living here. The staff were very nice and helpful, I had no trouble getting in initially nor in moving to a long term spot when I got sick. I can understand that this is a premium location in the wintertime, but they do have a large overflow area. I'm sure the camp is nearly empty in the summer. Biloxi was a great place to visit, and the base has many amenities. A very friendly community. The casinos offer great military discounts on meals to retired as well as active duty, but each one is on a different day of the week so call to check that out. I also thought the buffet lunch at the Bay Breeze Club on base was great food and a good value too. Yoga classes are offered free at one of the fitness centers and the instructor was a cut above those I've encountered elsewhere. The on base marina offers a lot of activities and I got a sailing class in while I was here. All in all this was a great extended vacation.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 26, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 2-8, 2010

Stayed for a week in blistering heat and humidity. Very nice park. I am not sure why previous reviews are so critical about homesteading at this place. We saw no evidence of it. The camp hosts were pleasant and helpful. There were several open spots every day we were there. Everyone had their air cranked up high but power was more than adequate. Nice plus with the cable TV. Keesler is a short drive away. Has essentially been rebuilt since Katrina. Very nice PX. Took out 17 year old son with us. Plenty for him to do on base: beautiful pools, great marina with rentals, amazing gyms better than most YMCAs, and an incredible Teen/Youth Center. Could not say enough about this facility and the folks that work there. My son loved it and it hard to find things he even likes, much less loves. Place has a full gym, every video game, cool field trips, and even serves hot food for the kids. Most kids there lived on base but welcomed my son like they had known him for years. Highly recommend this RV park!!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 27-30, 2009

Writing this as we are still at Keesler AFB FamCamp, this is not our first stay here and certainly won't be our last. The campground has been upgraded since our last stay and is pretty nice. The only drawback is the lack of grounds upkeep. Grass is not being watered and fire ants and sticker burrs are everywhere! We have a pet and walking him around the area is done while trying to avoid the sticker burrs and fire ants. Office personnel are very helpful and very friendly and go out of their way to make sure you have a nice stay here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 2009

We spent one night only. Got in late the host was very accommodating even though they had no open sites helped us park on the grass and we spent the night and was on our way. Next time we'll make a reservation and plan to stay a while.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov 24, 2008

This was our first experience as RV'ers at a military park. The host was very nice and escorted us to our spot. We didn't have a reservation and did not call ahead, but we were treated like old friends. The facilities were very clean and the showers had plenty of hot water. The only thing that was a problem was the detour on I-110 getting into the park. There should be some warning about the construction on US-90 and the fact that west bound traffic from I-10 can't go west on US 90 to get to the camp. We had to do a little creative navigating to get around the detour and fortunately we were able to turn around before we got into a bad situation. Despite this minor irritation, we would highly recommend this campground and will stay there again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jun 20-23, 2008

They do not take reservations but they held a site for me when I called in the morning of our arrival. Camp host very friendly and professional. The pictures on this website do not do the campground justice. It is clean and well laid out. The concrete pads are level. Getting through the traffic to the campground was a little hectic but this is not the fault of Keesler. The beach is still being rebuilt from Katrina. The casinos appear to be fully operational but little else on the gulf. A lot of construction is going on base as well. I thought the price was a little high but not that unreasonable. We enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2008

P.M. left this review using the Directory software: We stayed here for three weeks in April, 2008. We thought the place was just wonderful.. The campground host by the name of Millie is so capable and helpful.. it is very quiet.. except for the train which you get used to!! It is very clean and comfortable...we cannot wait to go back there!

Was this review helpful to you? 
27 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2