Shields RV Park

Featured
 
4.2 (80)
73445   0   27   2   33

User reviews

31 reviews with 4 stars

80 reviews

 
(40)
 
(29)
 
(7)
 
(3)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.2  (80)
 
4.1  (80)
 
4.4  (80)
 
4.2  (80)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
31 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2018

A decent park for a short stay. Good pull-thru sites. Close to commissary and BX.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 2018 - April 2018

We have been here for 45 days and it has been a wonderful stay. The park is great. It is clean, roomy side to side and front to back and each site has its own grassy area. The ‘yards’ are meticulously maintained as is the whole park. The sites are concrete pads and the roads are asphalt. Nice, wide roads and deep sites. Wifi is good. The speed is good and we didn’t have any problems with it. The Verizon cell signal is strong and, because there are no trees, our satellite dish zoomed right in. The staff at the office are great. The park (base) is only about 6 blocks from the beautiful Gulfport beaches and there are a lot of restaurants and just about anything else you might need. Now here’s the bad news. Trains! Each day/night there are about 3 to 5 trains going through town and they blow their horns as if they are going through a school yard. There is a little traffic noise from the road to north side, but it isn’t too bad unless there are emergency vehicles. And, there are emergency vehicles in this area often. All in all, we would stay here again and again. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 2018

This is our first time at this facility and I'd say won't be the last! What a great location! There are miles of beaches nearby and not even close to being crowded. And even if one section were crowded, you just head west or east and find you a spot! The restaurants are great, plenty of seafood and fishing, the people are friendly; it's just and all-around great place to visit! Now for the park: Location: As I said, brilliant! Great location; I-10 is just a few miles north of the park, too. There are two parks, the older park beside the cemetery, just inside the gate; and a newer park at the back of the base by the lake. Cleanliness/Hospitality: The office staff have been friendly and helpful; the Men's Room was a bit dirty on arrival, but has been spotless thereafter. Amenities/Facilities: All amenities are well serviced and maintained. Laundry facility is great ($1.50 to wash and dry one load, for us). The NEX, Commissary, and NEX Gas/Convenience store are easy to find with helpful signage, though there are towards the back of the base. Value: Considering how civilian campgrounds gouge you for $40-60/night, these days, it's a spectacular value... Overall Experience: Awesome! One note: we stayed in site #12 in the old section, just inside the gate, and it floods when it rains. So, does site #11. It eventually drains and dries, but just know that if you get either spot, it will flood when it rains (an inch, or more of rain).

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 1-8, 2018

Shields RV Park is located on the Navy Construction Battalion Center in Gulfport, at the end of Pass Road. We came from the East, Hwy 90 which was a beautifully scenic road, on the water! We had no problems traveling this road in our Class A RV with toad. Once in Gulfport, we turned on 33rd Ave and then looked for the Burger King on the left, a small NCBC sign is seen on the right. At this intersection we turned left onto 25th St. which is Pass Rd. NCBC gate is at the end of this road. Entrance to the gate included temporary barricades. Essentially, you come up to a stop sign and wait for the sentry to motion for you to come forward. We presented ID and were told how to get to the RV park office. The older RV park is located to the right of the entrance gate so you can't miss it. Signage was good. We stopped near the office and checked in. There were two people working. We received materials on the campground as well as the community. We also paid a $100 refundable deposit for a cable TV box to use during our stay. The box included a remote with batteries (that worked!) and an informational book with the phone number to call to activate the service. This entire process took less than 30 minutes and we had several hundred (yes, hundred!) channels! We were pleasantly surprised. Our reservation was at the older RV park. This park has really spacious campsites with a concrete pad to park the rig and paved entrance and exit to the site. It also had a picnic table in good order. Almost all of these sites are pull through. Only a few in the very front of the park are back in. Rules for the park are clear, though, that you cannot have anything in the ground (no tents, stakes, etc.) and your slide outs cannot extend beyond the concrete pad. We saw a few minor violations, but, for the most part, this park seemed to be well managed with rules enforced. The older RV park has great open WiFi and our Verizon service was excellent! It is noisy, though. This park has a graveyard on one side but also has a heavily traveled road on the other. An active railroad track is close by and the Dole distribution trucks are across the road. The hospital is also close by so we heard ambulances, fire and police sirens most nights. We also heard trains every day and could noticebly smell exhaut fumes from across the road. We visited the newer campground just to see the difference. This campground is located across the base and I would think, based on what is around it (golf course, dog park, walking path, woods), the noise level is probably minimal. The sites are closer and they are all back in. The campground seemed well kept overall. Each site had the same concrete pad and was paved. We attempted to check WiFi speeds but were unable to do so. The base has a nice fitness area, indoor pool, commissary, and other amenities. We were pleased with the overall experience at this campground. Because we stayed seven nights, we paid $19/night, a great deal for full hookups and better than expected cable! The local area of Gulfport and Biloxi were nice. Getting back to Hwy. 90, we enjoyed the beach and a Veterans appreciation lunch at one of the local casinos on Monday. We did not gamble (no interest in that), but we did enjoy a BOGO lunch buffet there. We enjoyed local farmers' markets, purchasing local honey and enjoying the history of the area. Memorials from Hurricane Katrina devastation are present throughout this area. We enjoyed our stay and I could see us going back in the future! We also made great friends and met "Libby," who is a spitting image of our schnauzer, "Lizzie." 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb. 4-6, 2018

We have stayed at this base several times in the “old park” so decided to stay in the “new park” this time. The additional park is located towards the back of the base and is very quiet. Park is in a nice location close to the large dog parks and lake. The sites in the new park are all back-in and much smaller than the older park. The interior roads are also not as spacious. This newer park has fewer sites than the original. Next time we return we will go back to the original “older” park just because of site size and space. No cable but our satellite worked fine. Free wi-fi that I felt did not work as well as in the other park. Great facility to go the beach or the casinos. Small commissary and exchange on base. Office staff is very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

1 -3 May 2017

We stopped at this campground on our way to the Natchez Trace Parkway. Very nice installation, Exchange, and Commissary. We called and made our reservations. We arrived early afternoon and were assigned a pull-thru site in the old section near the front gate. The only complaint would be the noise from trains and sirens. Not that the installation can do anything about it as all these sounds are from off the base. Just be aware if you are a light sleeper and plan to have your windows open. Adequate laundry, the shower/restrooms could certainly use a good cleaning, a bit funky for me, although I did not use the showers or laundry. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Apr 6-9, 2017

Very nice rv park, clean, well maintained. Lots of rules but it seems to work well. Stayed for Seabees Day. Fun event.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 8, 2016 to Oct 31, 2016

Regarding a previous review, pet animals (dogs/cats) are allowed in the concrete block rest room building during severe weather but they must be leashed & under control. Diana, the RV manager was very polite and helpful when we checked in. Edward was helpful during the next week when Diana was out of the office. The new RV park at the west end of the base is now open and is very nice. During our time here there were maybe 4 RVs at the new site. The new park does not have WIFI. We spoke with the base commander (a Captain Hansen) at the commissary and she told us that due to budget constraints there is no WIFI at this time. But, if we were to stay here again (and we would) we opt for the new sites (quiet). The front RV park (just inside the gate) is somewhat noisy (trains, ambulances, fire trucks, police sirens and regular traffic). The fitness center is well stocked with various equipment and the outside lap pool was open. The base has a small club just inside the gate called Anchors and Eagles (in the Navy Gateway) but it's only open Tues, WED and Thurs. On the weekends we rode our bikes around the perimeter of base (2x around is about 12 miles). We were not concerned about activities at the RV park because we usually do our own touring while staying on military bases. We recommended a visit to the Maritime and Seafood Industry Museum in Biloxi.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

16 Dec 2015 - 12 Mar 2016

We didn't have a bad stay and would go back.  HOWEVER, there are limitations to the place.  I love the Gulfport/Biloxi area. There is lots to see and do there especially if you are a casino lover; there are several within a 20 mile radius.  We found southern hospitality, both on and off the bases (NCBC & Keesler AFB) to be truly endearing and memorable.  For us Yankees our first Mardi Gras was a real hoot!  Great food and the beautiful Gulf.  It was decent to walk the dogs around the perimeter of the park and the dog park on the other side of the base was nice.  Both of the bases have decent Exchanges and commissaries as well as the usual Thrift Shop, Auto Hobby Shop, gas station, etc.  The limitations of life at Shields RV Park are the (afore-mentioned) Warden and the lack of organized activities for the campers. The staff did make attempts; Christmas and Super Bowl Parties, but for the most part you are pretty much on your own.  Campers were trying to gin up activities like going out for Taco Tuesday, an occasional breakfast, etc. And when the weather cleared folks were out and about more and friendships were formed. Camper Max will gladly help you repair things and his dog Boo is always friendly.  It would just be a better place if there were more organization and group activities.  As for The Warden: There is a real problem w/ customer service there.  We usually got the feeling that we were bothering her if we had to go to the office for something... anything!  At times it seemed like the whole park was her personal giant-sized chess board.  She sure did a whole lot of moving units around; SEVERAL people we met were required to move to a different site at some time or other during their stay.  It's bad enough having to move a motorhome, but a major pain to do it with a 5er or a TT.  Two couples we know ended up being in at least three different sites during their stay and in one case the site they had to vacate sat empty for four days before another unit moved into it.  The other side of the coin for the staff is Edward.  He's wonderful, helpful, efficient, caring, and lots of fun.  There is a new (additional) RV park being added on the back side of the base near SeaBee Lake, it's probably now open and in use by the time this is being written.  It's a beautiful facility and seems like it'll be nice.  I'm not sure why, unless it was because of space limitations, but none of the sites are pull-throough.  That's workable, but why, oh why build a brand new site and not put in wifi and TV Cable???  Dumb!   Storms... yeah, a couple were forecast and every time we were very firmly informed that the shelter for the park is the showers. AND then informed that dogs were not allowed in the shelter.  ARE YOU KIDDING ME???  There is NO WAY anyone in that park was going to leave their animals in the RV and go to a shelter without them.  Ain't gunna' happen!  The prevalent sentiment of all we spoke with was, "My animals are going with me and she can kiss my ***."  Hey Shields staff:  We were staying at the camp on Maxwell AFE when a tornado was spotted.  The base police came out and escorted all campers to the shelter and everybody's dogs were certainly welcome. Get with the program!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 29, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 2015

This is a great campground and everyone we've met has been helpful. The security force at the gate is the most pleasant, professional group we've seen. The directions were perfect. Most of the sites are pull through. The pad is concrete and has a picnic table. They do not allow slides to extend beyond the concrete pad over the grass. There is a nice laundry, a small commissary, exchange and gas station on base. The manager told me there are plans to build 35 more sites. There are some homesteaders in the campground, but their sites are not cluttered and look neat. The literature they gave me says there is a six month limit on stays but goes on to say they support active duty living in the campground and it sounds like there is no limit for them. This is off season here and the the CG is less than 50% full with most of those appearing to be long term. I'm sure it's very busy here in the winter. I did see a half dozen sites with signs saying they are for stays of 14 days or less. A great place to visit the local casino's.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

APRIL 2015

Good sites and paved roads. The rail tracks in the photos are not in use, but trains can be heard from other tracks about a mile away. The neighborhood has men who express their manhood with loud pipes and radios. Management is right in the center of the campground, no need to search for a remote MWR building. The base is compact. The bathhouse wa dirty upon arrival and not cleaned the 8 days we were there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 2015

The directions here was spot on! Very easy to find this base. They have a fitness center with a gym, handball, a pool and kids can swim free. Nice small exchange and commisary has everything you need and very good prices on meats! Downside is RV park is not kid friendly or pet friendly. Rules and management is very strict. Kids are not allowed to leave site alone or ride bikes without parents. Pets can only be in a designated area near the perimeter, not allowed on grass, leashes can not be more then 6ft long. They are also very strict about the grass here. Nothing is allowed to be on or touch the grass, slides on RV can not over hang above the grass. It rained the whole time we stayed here and water pools up on sites.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 12, 2014

This was a one night stand. We called from the road and was given a site number because I estimated arrival time of about 1800. When we arrived, we noticed that the park was less than half occupied. Our site was perfect. One big note, if you plan to arrive after 1600 and if you call from the road, ask the person in the office for the bath and laundry room codes. We didn't need them but if you do and don't have the codes, you are out of luck. Also, WiFi is available but, you need a code for it also. And about the complaints about the train and road noise. I don't understand why people expect complete silence when they stay on a military base, especially a base like this one in the middle of town. As for the trains, they could run all night for all I care. I love it. This is our first overnight stay at this campground and would stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

5-7 April 2014

This was our second stay at this park. It's roomy, open, and flat. Concrete pads are nice. We were here for only two nights so didn't use the laundry. Staff is friendly. Hookups all worked well. Be sure to use a water regulator as the pressure is quite high. They have strict rules about making sure nothing is placed on the grass, including hoses and our satellite dish. I had to set the dish/tripod up on the concrete, so had to weight it down (gallon milk jug filled with water), rather than stake it down. There are some comments about train/traffic noise on previous reviews. We have double-pane windows and couldn't hear any noise. Beach is only a couple of miles away, which is nice. Overall a nice experience, and we'll be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

12 January 2014 to 2 February 2014

My first time camping here, this park was built after Katrina and is well laid out with very level concrete pads to park on. Park workers are very friendly and courteous. Had an electrical problem 20 amp 110 receptacle GFCI was not working and it was repaired within an hour. All washers and dryers worked and cost less than any other park we have been at. The laundry room was very clean. Now for the bad, the park is wide open, no trees at all, across the street to the north there is a large parking area for tractor trailers and the reefer units are running all night. More trains here in Gulfport than I cared to listen to at all hours through the night, again with no trees it was very noisy. Although the restrooms were clean the showers were not. Doesn't seem the staff likes to clean showers. We are here for a month leaving on the 2nd of February, I will not be back, I will stay at a commercial RV park down the street.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April, 2013

W.P. left this review using the Directory software: - This is a very nice and clean RV park. Our stay was for a week in mid-April 2013. The only problem was my motor home sticker had expired and we were told to park in the parking lot next door and register the motorhome. The sticker on the van was still good. The parking lot was designed for cars and not for motorhomes and especially towing. Luckily a couple of cars were pulling out as we entered so I blocked part of the drive and 4 parking places. I am not critical of the security requirement of registering, but of the parking not designed for RV’s. Fort Jackson in our home area and where our vehicles are located has closed the registration office and no longer requires post registration. This is the reason my motor home sticker had expired.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 13, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 12 - 16, 2013

Modest campground. Very good facilities - very clean, good water pressure, cable, level concrete pads, etc. Were not bothered by noise from music or train whistle, just from traffic from road next to campground - motorcyclist continually gunned motor each time he/she went by, which was often. Other than that small annoyance - no noise problem. Probably won't have heard him/her if windows were shut. We were lucky and got a pull thru near the office. Easy check in at RV office but lengthy amount of time to get "visitor" pass. Gate guard didn't see joint base sticker on coach so he sent us to get visitors pass, which we found out later that we didn't need. Staff was courteous and efficient. Commissary is a decent size and had most of what we needed. Subway right next door when you don't feel like cooking. Great place for the price. Will come back again when in this area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 9 - 22, 2013

P.C. left this review using the Directory software: - The facilities are nice - nothing fancy but much more than just adequate. Web site says weekly rate is $100 but we were charged $120 and $120 is posted in the office. Spaces are large; power is good; our water pressure was fine; campground is extremely clean and well kept. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Commissary and BX are good - we never felt the need to go to the AFB for shopping. WiFi is only OK - tends to go in and out fairly frequently. We won't return for 1 reason: planes, trains and automobiles - you get noise from all of them. It's not the CG fault of course, but this is the noisiest place we have ever stayed. Trains with loud whistles 24/7; heavy truck traffic on an adjacent road; sirens day and night; most irritating - a local off base "recreation center" next door to the Pass Road gate plays music and literally ear shattering levels several times a week. Since it's only a few hundred yards from the CG you get full "benefit" of their music selections. A shame since otherwise this would be a really good place to stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 18, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

November 2012

Easy to find and convenient to I-10. Easy check-in and Shirley at office was very pleasant. No hassle getting in gate as we already have a base sticker. Nice to have commissary and exchange close by on base. All sites for short term stays are back in while the long term stay folks get the pull throughs. Go figure. Lots of road noise close by as well as seemingly non-stop trains with whistles blaring even at 6:00 AM on Sunday morning. Surprised no one mentioned that in their reviews. My site (9) had very low water pressure. This is not somewhere I would chose for a destination but it's certainly more than okay for a few days stay. Bathrooms were not heated even though it was in the 40's overnight during our stay. Wifi worked great and was easy to connect to. Small, clean laundry and only .75 for washers and dryers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 02, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 24, - Aug 3, 2011

The famcamp is a nice facility and the staff is very friendly. However, we were traveling with a non-military (but retired govt) couple and to get them on post was a little bit of a chore. So if you travel with non-military be sure that you have everything you need (insurance cards, registration, length of stay, etc) for however long you are staying so you don't run into problems like we did. Getting on base is not as user friendly as Corpus Christi NAS or other military bases or posts that we have been too.

Was this review helpful to you? 
31 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2