Shields RV Park

Featured New
 
4.2 (78)
69430   0   27   2   32

User reviews

36 reviews with 5 stars

78 reviews

 
(39)
 
(28)
 
(7)
 
(3)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.2  (78)
 
4.0  (78)
 
4.4  (78)
 
4.2  (78)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
36 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 4-10 and 25-30, 2018

The base is easy to find and the older park where we have visited on four occasions is just inside the gate. The sites are roomy and level, the park is clean, and office staff friendly. Shields is not in a rural location so normal city noises are to be expected. Granted, there are rules and regulations applicable to the base and park; however, we are grateful to be guests of our military installations and appreciate any regulations that apply. When approaching the gate wait for the sentry to wave you up. They will indicate the easiest pass through for you. The only item that could make this a 5 instead of a 4 is to have a little gathering room for folks to meet. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

January 17, 2017

Shields RV Park is actually two parks. The older park just inside of the main gate and the newer park on the far side of the base. Edward was very helpful on the phone when trying to make a reservation. Wanted to have access to internet (medical reasons) and he told me only the old park had Internet connections. Unfortunately there were no openings in the old park on the date of my arrival. So Edward put me in a site at the new park for the first night and into the old park for the remainder of my stay. Facilities were very clean and I only interfaced with Edward and he was exceptional! According to Edward, eventually the new park will also have access to the Internet, it is just taking time to set it up. The antennas are in place and just waiting for the service to be connected. I will be returning here as I really enjoy the Gulf Coast. Hopefully by my return the new park will have wifi as I do like the location of the new park better than the old park. The only negative I have is the cable system they are using. They have cable one and you must use one of their boxes to have cable. Then you must re-cable your wiring to facilitate their box, then call a number to activate the box. Cable one's tech support is horrible and you are put on hold forever. Oh, also there is also a $100.00 deposit on the box (returnable when you return the box and all of its parts). I recommend this park highly and will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 1-15, 2016

Our second time to stay here, great campground. Diana and Edward are very friendly and helpful. Will return as often as we can. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Mar 8-11, 2016

This was our second visit. We enjoy staying here when going west/east on I-10. I concur about gps goofing us up - go to main gate (off 25th St), you can see park off to your right. Being told we could not take pets if directed to shelter is disconcerting. Always cool and windy when we pass through, but do appreciate pavement/concrete sites throughout. We definitely make a reservation during snowbird periods to get a site. Enjoy the area! Great group of recreational/social pickleballers (many military retirees) at two locations. http://www.usapa.org/places-to-play-pickleball/ We did not use restrooms/showers/laundry. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 3, 2016

We stayed there for one night on our way to Florida. We found the facility to be very nice. The gps coordinates took us off I-10 (west bound) too early, but other than that there were no problems. If we go back via I-10 to our home in the West, we'll stay there again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 25 through August 25 2015

This facility is awesome, Diana and Edward were very helpful and responsive to our needs. The bath house was clean and neat. The only drawback was the lack of shade. The afternoons were very hot and a shady area would have been a good respite from the sun.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 27, 2015

We did not stay here, just stopped in to check things out. It wasn't busy at all, only about a third of the sites were occupied. It was very quite and the campsites were neat but I'm sure that most of the RVers were homesteading. There is a small exchange and commissary on base and a Subway and that's all I need. I definitely would stay here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 3, 2014

We were there out of season so there was plenty of spaces. The spaces were excellent, level easy entrance. While there I visited the FamCamp, there sites were not comparable to Shields. Shields sites were all level and easy entrance and plenty of space between sites. Not so at the FamCamp. There is no question to it, shields is the best.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 5, 2014

Q.C. left this review using the Directory software: - Excellent facilities, friendly personnel.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

December 13, 2013

We had a great experience here. Stopped here for two days on our way to south Texas for the winter. Ended up adding a third day. We found the gate personnel (one SeaBee and one civilian) to be extremely courteous. The base sticker on the motorhome was expired, but only had to show ID's. Office personnel very courteous and helpful. Most all the sites are pull-trough's and easy to maneuver. Any size rig will fit comfortably. Park is very easy to access from the gate on Pass Road. The directions on this website are spot on (I always worry about this). PX and commissary are better more than adequate, but a bit on the small side. Should you want to visit Biloxi and Keesler, it is a bit of a drive. Take highway 90 to get there and use I-10 to return. We will definitely return for a longer stay. Finally, I saw some complaints on this website about the staff and the pricing. The staff were great and where can you get full hookup with 50 amp service, paved roads and concrete pads for 21 bucks?!?!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov 19 - Dec 9 2013

The staff, Diana, Edward and Rob were very helpful and friendly. I really appreciated the reservation system. On our original day of departure, we popped a fan belt, called back to the RV park and asked for a few more days in our old site and were able to return. We stayed through the bad weather in TX and hit the road on Monday. We arrive home safe and sound. My only complaint was with the base medical clinic. I experience a bad fall and my injury became infected. I went to the on base clinic for assistance, presented my ID card, and was asked how old I was. I stated I was 69 and was told that I was too old to be seen since I was over 65. I did go to Keesler AFB medical and was treated. Keesler medical was an awesome group of folks.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 04, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 15-21, 2013

Great campground, and you don't have to wander through the NCBC to get to it like you do on some military facilities. It is just past the main gate. No surprise, I guess ... the SeaBees know how to build things. We liked how the long term and short term campers are in separate sections of the same campground. Our corner pull through was excellent for a short stay. Be warned if train noise bothers you ... the horns are heard night and day...every day. This campground is conveniently situated to explore not just Gulfport, but Biloxi and Ocean Springs, as well as Bay St Louis. It is a short drive to the beach. We didn't use the amenities/facilities ... hence the three stars. I deducted one star from hospitality due to the rude behavior of the campground manager when my wife went to ask a question. It was the day after the Boston Marathon incident, and yes, there was a sign that guests needed their ID card to enter the office. Unfortunately I had her ID with me in the car. She no sooner opened the office door that the manager rudely told her she couldn't come in without an ID. My wife accepts the fact that she should have had her ID, but the way the situation was handled was over the top. The manager later apologized to me, but never said a word to my wife.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 05, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 2013

We stayed at Shields FamCamp Mar 2/3 after stopping by nearby Keesler AFB. Keesler has no facilities, is off base, and hard to find. Shields is easy to locate, has nice, wide cement pads, nice laundry. We were able to bike to the BX/Commissary facility and use the beauty salon, who accommodated us by bringing in a hairdresser a half hour before opening. We did not use the fitness center which is also nearby. We rode our bikes to the Gulfport beach area, about one and one-half miles away. Beautiful area that appears to have lots of recent improvements and historical markers. Wifi was spotty, probably due to the time of day when most users are on line.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 22, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 18, 2013

Only stayed one night, but will come back for a longer stay next time. Campground is very clean with very level pads. Nice small base with very thing you would need. Exchange / Gas Station / Commissary close by for all your needs. They have wifi by it is gowifi, which has limits. The only strange thing about the campground is that they will not talk to you in the office until you show an ID card even tho you have showed your ID when coming on base about 5 minutes before. Also the wife and I went over to the office to get bathroom codes and they would not talk to me without my wife showing her ID card and I had just checked in 10 minute before. Overall a great place to stay and we will be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 28, 2012

This is a very clean, well maintained facility, sites are spacious and it is a great location. Now taking long, very long term reservations which means for those who travel and move a lot it will become unusable since it will be full of long term stays. For example you can stay six months, leave 30 days, come back for six months so in essence it is now a "permanent residence" campground and will have very few sites for travelers. Good for those who just move a few times each year or need to live in the area; not very good at all for those like us who move around a lot across the country. The online reservation service is still not active so call if you need a new home site. Rates are reasonable for long term stays. Personally hate long term stay camps but others like to live in a place; if that fits you this is a great place. Some number of sites seem to be reserved for short term stays so tempered a bit. The dog park a few miles from the RV park is great place for your canine friend to burn off energy; large with high fence.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

29 Sept 12

We visited on 29 Sept. and spent the night. Had no problems getting in the gate. We were here once before so finding it was no problem and the directions are very good. The day we arrived they had just started their new reservation program. They had a few problems getting us in the computer but after a few try's we were in. New Wifi system, no one explained how it worked till the next day when we were leaving and it still didn't work for me. I have Verizon computer service and that worked great. All in all we like this site and now they take reservations it is even better. We were also told their was a 6 month limit on stays now. There were people staying longer but you would never guess witch ones because the camp is so clean.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 9-16, 2012

A great famcamp. The staff is courteous and helpful. The laundry facilities are clean and fairly priced. The area next to the road in the back of the park (sites 60 plus) a have quite a bit of road noise. However with the a/c running it is not to bad. Have your vehicle registration, insurance papers and ID ready to check in at the Pass office. It make base access a lot easier. A great experience either short or long term. Reservations should help quite a bit.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 5 - Oct 8, 2012

Still a great rv park. Clean, well maintained grounds and facilities. Now take reservations online, 800#, or by calling park office. WiFi, laundry, cable are great. Close to Keesler AFB and its exchange and commissary. On base exchange and commissary are smaller but have all the basics. New gas station/minimart are being built, but old facility is fine. Just a real nice park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 27, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 8-22, 2012

We are new to this world of RVing, so please forgive the mistakes. We had a wonderful stay at Shields, we really hated to have to leave, but had to go home to Chapin, SC. The staff was just wonderful, always helpful and ready to keep everyone on the straight and narrow, they run a clean, quite, and ultra modern park. The Navy base has everything you and the air base is just down the road. Don't arrive after hours on a Friday-- getting on base is a real hassle, it took us over 90 min to get a 24 hour pass and we had to come back the next day and do the same thing again. We went to the on base vehicle registration and registered our vehicle as if we lived there. I think that was a bit much. But I would do it all again. Loved this campground. Bob was great!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 11, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

23-24 May 2012

We spent two days at this park. We enjoyed our stay and talked to other guests. Most people were there for the Casino's. There were some "Homesteaders" and even with 64 spots they say in the winter it fills up with "Snow Birds." But you can't tell the long stay sites unless you look real close for wheel covers and heat strips on the water lines. We know these long term guests help pay bills year round. There are a lot of sites marked "short term" So I'd hope they go by the rules. The park is new, it was the mobile home park, it is just inside the gate and about two miles from the BX ,Commissary and everything else. No tree's or shade but they are planting tree's. Maybe in a few years there will be some shade. Bath house was nice and clean except for mildew on shower curtains. The golf course has been cut down to three holes, a dog park and trails added. A few places to eat on post but a lot of places right off post. It isn't a long drive to nice beaches and you have Keesler AFB right down the road. I'd say this is a good choice.

Was this review helpful to you? 
36 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2