Gateway FamCamp

 
4.3 (57)
49839   0   13   1   18

User reviews

57 reviews

 
(31)
 
(19)
 
(4)
 
(3)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
 
4.6  (57)
 
4.0  (57)
 
4.2  (57)
 
4.2  (57)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
57 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jun 2018

Stayed a week at the Gateway FamCamp. It is the Off base camp. Very quiet camp. Easy in/out. 2 things on the driving directions to here; 1, the right turn is onto 63rd St, not 62nd. And 2, if coming from the north, it is easier to continue to 3rd Ave and turn left (east) than it is to turn onto 2nd Ave and then turn onto 63rd St. Bill, the host, is very helpful. The restaurant book in the laundry room is not kept updated, so use it's info at your own risk. There are 2 washers and 4 dryers, $1 per cycle for each. Lots of tourism info in the laundry room as well. No fenced dog run, but there is a designated, on-leash, dog area. The bag dispenser is not always full, so take you own waste bag just in case. There is a nice, half mile walking path at the far south end of the FamCamp. Concrete pad is about 40' with room in front and behind for extras, probably around 75' overall. Utilities worked fine. Getting a satellite signal was easy. Sites are "buddy sites", meaning your entry door faces your neighbor's entry door and you share the grassy space between. The sites seem to be somewhat staggered, so you are not directly across from each other, making it not too bad. Small BX/Shopette combo. Walmart is less than 5 min away and visible from the FamCamp. No diesel on base, but Walmart has it and you pass 2 other gas stations on the way there. One weekday the FamCamp was full and at least one RV was dry camping in the overflow parking area. No idea if the Annex was also full. The next day several sites were empty and the dry camper moved to one of them. I would definitely stay here again if in the area and I would have a better plan for what to see and do. There are many, varied museums to visit, not to mention dams and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

17 Jun 2018

Great campground. Clean facilities and very nice sites. Grass areas neat and well maintained. Camp host friendly & helpful. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 31, 2017 - 2 Oct 2017

I am Don Kostyal, retired USAF CMSgt, and I was the camp host for the Annex this past summer. The Annex is the Famcamp located ON the base. It has 25 full hook-up sites and 5 water and electric only. The sites are various sizes and the patio may be opposite your camper door. This is because this was once the base mobile home park. Yes there are sewer connections that are at various heights from your camper outlet--again, due to the previous mobile home connections. The sites are all back in. The 5 sites that are electric and water only can only handle a camper less than 20 feet in length. There is a dump site located at the Annex and if you are camping in the Famcamp there is no charge currently. The $2 charge is for folks not staying in the Famcamp. There are no showers at the Annex but the base fitness center is across the street and it is open to campers from 0500 - 2130. There is a public restroom, ladies and a men's, with a toilet and sink in each. The base has a BX, Class VI, Commissary, gas station (no diesel), fitness center, pool (summer) and a great Outdoor Recreation Shop with lots to rent and great personnel. The cost to camp at the Annex is $20 a night or $100 a week and yes there is a 21 day max stay. I believe the off base camp grounds were around $80 a night. Great Falls is 2 hours from Glacier National Park and a stop over for folks going to and coming from Alaska. There is a project to upgrade the Annex to bigger sites and 50 amps, but is has struggled to move up the priority list of things to do. 30 amps is only a problem when the temps go above 85 degrees as there isn't much shade but it I see a dry heat. Since the power lines are from the old mobile home site days, there are times when power goes out. During the winter the winds and severe weather cause problems with the wiring. We had a few sites down with no powere this summer for several days until CE could retire some receptacles and overhead wires--sites were NOT reserved for campers, but those were the only signs we had available to block off the sites. We also had a few days where a few sites were closed off due to a sewer line backing up from some improper items being flushed down the lines. While sites are first come first serve, I did direct some campers to various sites but this was because they had long campers that I knew would most like back into a power pole or to put them on a site with a patio door side. There is one site "0" that I would try and keep for a big rig tag axle (42' or bigger) as it was the only site at the Annex that could handle that size rig. Usually those folks want to go to the main Famcamp off base as it has pull through sites, but when the main camp was full I would hold spot "0" for a big rig. Worse case scenario, Walmart was only 1/2 mile from the base and they allow overnight parking. There is no laundry on base and Annex campers cannot use the main Famcamp laundry (there is only 2 machines) but there are several laundries around Great Falls. I really enjoyed my time as host this past summer and enjoyed meeting the many folks who came to stay. It was a quiet campground and with only one exception, all the campers were great guests. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.1
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

Jul 2017

Was going to stay two nights....left after one. Meets minimum standards but that's about all I can say for this FamCamp. Not pleasant appearance and zero amenities. Host told us where to park but wasn't at all friendly nor helpful. Not suppose to take reservations but I saw at least three spots with reserved signs....one I guess was for someone's pickup because that's all I saw park there. Doubt I'd even stop there again for an overnight if I was in the area. We camped at Gateway FamCamp (Military FamCamp) in a Motorhome.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July, 2017

This review is on the original FamCamp, now called the "Annex". Although Gateway doesn't take reservations as they are "never full", they close to it today (unless you want to tent camp, don't mind not having power, etc.). The higher rated off-base part is completely full and the old "Annex" has only one working empty space this morning. There are some tent spaces available and several RV ones with cones in them as they've power or other problems. This part has no showers and no laundry. The spaces are gravel with some vegetation and not very level. Gopher/prairie dog holes are all around, so you've got to watch your step when walking dogs. Only 30 amp power. Our sewer hookup was in the rear of our spot but actually level with our dump port! The CG is clean, but really needs some maintenance. Staff is great! The hosts at both camps are friendly and helpful. I had difficulty finding the on-base part and someone from Outdoor Rec. directed me over the phone. (There's next to no signage for either of them on or off base.)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 2017

Great place to stay The whole facility was clean and neat,especially the restrooms and laundry.We would stop there again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 31 through June 3, 2017

Nice well kept no hassel Famcamp outside the gate. Camp host is friendly and helpful. Laundry room and bathrooms are clean and washer dryer price are lower than normal.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 04, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2017

Let me introduce myself. My name is Bill Whitehurst and I am the camp host for the 2017 season. This is my first time hosting, so please be gentle with me. I am here to make your Campground experience at Gateway Family Campground the best ever. The direct phone number to me to check out to see if there is any space for you is 406-731-5140. If no answer, please call back. It just means that I'm away from the phone helping out other guests. I cannot hold a site for you, but I can let you know how many sites are still available. The dump station in at the Annex campground on base. The fee is only $2.00.  We are now allowing limited tent camping at Gateway, Only $10.00 a night, includes showers, rest rooms and use of laundry facilities,

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

3-7 July 2015

Came in on way to GNP. First visit to MAFB since stationed here in 1965. How Great Falls has changed. Had rv trouble so did not dare try to make it to Canada and instead took toad to GNP. Loved the location outside the gate and how quiet it was there and the cleanliness. Plan on returning within a few years.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 7, 2016

Great stop here. Great camp hosts. The ladies restroom had that special touch with lotion, plant, boxed tissues etc... the location is great. Don't forget to visit the Lewis and Clark center. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 25, 2016

Nothing much noteworthy about this Famcamp; paved interior roads with sloping concrete pads, reasonable large sites, no trees for shade.  There aren't many choices in Great Falls, so after driving six miles through heavy city traffic we felt fortunate to get a site, but not accepting reservations in this out of the way location is insane.  Drive all the way, find out there are no spaces, then figure out how to get past the gate barriers in a 40' to get to the annex.  Or drive all the way back to the interstate.  We stopped here to make a commissary trip since there's little to see in town, but it wasn't worth the effort.  WiFi didn't work, no cable, and just a few OTA channels.  Nice hosts, but I wouldn't want to be in their shoes having to turn people away.  Next time we'll shop at Walmart and skip this place.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

26 June -6 July 2015

Very nice campground. Sites have nice grass and enough room between each one. Wifi was weak, even though we were close to antenna. Laundry is very reasonable. $1 to wash and $1 to dry. Camp hosts very nice, very helpful. Only complaint: There should be a contact number available, since reservations are not taken. Having to drive almost 8 miles from I-15 and being told "no space available" would be very frustrating. This did not happen to us, even though tried calling outdoor rec and reaching a recording during working hours, but saw numerous RVs having to turn around and leave.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 5, 2014

Camped in 43' MH. Stopped here just for the night on our way to the Canadian border. Great facilities, wide, level concrete pads, great wifi and best of all wonderful people staying at the park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jul 29 - Aug 5, 2014

We spent our first night at the annex, as the main campground was full. We enjoyed our stay at the main campground, and there was no wind (our first stay there was VERY windy). The host (who is a jerk) has established some rules such as you cannot hook up your toad at your site, even though there is plenty of room. Also, Outdoor Rec has decreed that campers in the Annex cannot use the showers at the main campground. Plus, they cannot use the washers and dryers at the main campground. There reasoning, which does not wash, is that the charge for the Annex is less (by $4.00) than the main campground. But the annex is also only 30 amp and gravel. We did not use the dining hall, although retirees can on weekends. The fresh water faucets are used by two RVs, which doesn’t help the water pressure to either RV. They give a 10% discount when using the AF credit (club) card, but don't accept coupons because of the discount. But, we enjoyed our stay, and would return if we were in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 8-10, 2014

R.K. left this review using the Directory software: - Stayed here on the way to Alaska. No problem getting our 45' motorhome in or out. Nice clean, campground, friendly, helpful host, and super folks at Outdoor Rec. Had mail forwarded there, no problem. Nice commissary and bx. Will stop there on the way back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sep 2013

Pulled into the park on our way from Alaska heading south for the winter. Very nice park only about 6-7 rigs there. The winds were terrible 30MPH gusting to 50-60 for three days straight, grounded us there for that time, good kite flying wx. Lot's to do around town and overall a nice park, fond memories.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sept 2013

Nice FAMCAMP. Being there after Labor Day no doubt made getting a site no problem. I didn't count but I'd say maybe 5 to 8 were available during our stay. Sites large and level. Host was quite pleasant taking care of business but didn't chat much beyond that. Grass was ok, they'd been having rain. WiFi was not to be found on arrival but worked fine the second day. Laundry and restrooms clean, in fact the whole area which is quite extensive was clean. Laundry reasonably priced at $1 each. And the price while maybe high by national FAMCAMP standards is very (very) reasonable by Great Falls standards as I found when I was looking for a fallback in case they were full. I kind of liked having the FAMCAMP right outside the gate. I'd sooner negotiate the barriers with my toad than with the motorhome towing. Few and small facilities on post: BX, commissary, library, dining etc.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Aug 20-21, 2013

We just spent two nights here and would probably stay again if ever we are back in the area but would not go out of our way to get here. The campground was spotless, the grass dead, the camp host a bit officious, the laundry room clean and a good price. It was quiet as there are no airplanes at this Air Force base. My complaint was that WIFI is advertised but doesn't work. We pulled in, was given a choice of sites, and told to put our money in the payment box. I asked about putting a pen out for our little dog for when we sit outside as she doesn't like to be tied up. I was grudgingly given approval after I convinced the camp host that she would not do her business in the pen. He was concerned that she would ruin the dead grass! We spent about half an hour trying to log on to the internet on each of our electronic devices (one iPhone, one Android phone, the Kindle, and a Mac) and could connect to the signal but could go no further to get onto the Web. I walked down to the camp host and asked if there was a problem or was I doing something wrong. The response was that I was right, it didn't work. Rarely does. Signal is too weak, antenna is too short, and he really didn't seem to care. Others I talked to said it's always that way. I asked who to complain to and was told that if they would let him have comment cards I could write one out and put it in the comment box. Not his fault, but he 1) should have mentioned it when we checked in to save the grief of trying to figure out what was wrong, and, 2) should care enough to talk to someone above him about the issues. Not acceptable. The Outdoor Rec people need to know or maybe even the base commander. If you advertise it, then it should work. Otherwise, don't say you have it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jun 30, 2013 - July 6, 2013

We stay here whenever we travel thru this area and are always grateful if we get one of the few available spots. Again this time, we arrived around noon and got our choice of three pull-thru sites. Yes, the grass was full of dandelions and the wood picnic table was in poor condition (probably stuck outside all winter) but we were there for a military burial and were just content we only paid $130 for a week's stay. The view of fireworks through our windshield was spectacular. All things considered, it wasn't a bad place to be on the 4th of July.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 9-12, 2013

M.K. left this review using the Directory software: - This is a nice stopover on the way to Canada/Alaska. Real quiet with only one helicopter flying while I was here. Restrooms and shower were clean, and I didn't spot even one cig butt anywhere in the campground. Oh yeah, the grass was nice and green, and was being watered daily. I would like it less expensive (who wouldn't) but for me it was worth the $24 a day.

Was this review helpful to you? 
57 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3