Gateway FamCamp

 
4.3 (57)
52166   0   13   1   20

User reviews

23 reviews with 4 stars

57 reviews

 
(31)
 
(19)
 
(4)
 
(3)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.6  (57)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.5  (57)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0  (57)
Value 
 
4.2  (57)
Overall Experience 
 
4.2  (57)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
23 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
Jun 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed a week at the Gateway FamCamp. It is the Off base camp. Very quiet camp. Easy in/out. 2 things on the driving directions to here; 1, the right turn is onto 63rd St, not 62nd. And 2, if coming from the north, it is easier to continue to 3rd Ave and turn left (east) than it is to turn onto 2nd Ave and then turn onto 63rd St. Bill, the host, is very helpful. The restaurant book in the laundry room is not kept updated, so use it's info at your own risk. There are 2 washers and 4 dryers, $1 per cycle for each. Lots of tourism info in the laundry room as well. No fenced dog run, but there is a designated, on-leash, dog area. The bag dispenser is not always full, so take you own waste bag just in case. There is a nice, half mile walking path at the far south end of the FamCamp. Concrete pad is about 40' with room in front and behind for extras, probably around 75' overall. Utilities worked fine. Getting a satellite signal was easy. Sites are "buddy sites", meaning your entry door faces your neighbor's entry door and you share the grassy space between. The sites seem to be somewhat staggered, so you are not directly across from each other, making it not too bad. Small BX/Shopette combo. Walmart is less than 5 min away and visible from the FamCamp. No diesel on base, but Walmart has it and you pass 2 other gas stations on the way there. One weekday the FamCamp was full and at least one RV was dry camping in the overflow parking area. No idea if the Annex was also full. The next day several sites were empty and the dry camper moved to one of them. I would definitely stay here again if in the area and I would have a better plan for what to see and do. There are many, varied museums to visit, not to mention dams and restaurants.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
July, 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This review is on the original FamCamp, now called the "Annex". Although Gateway doesn't take reservations as they are "never full", they close to it today (unless you want to tent camp, don't mind not having power, etc.). The higher rated off-base part is completely full and the old "Annex" has only one working empty space this morning. There are some tent spaces available and several RV ones with cones in them as they've power or other problems. This part has no showers and no laundry. The spaces are gravel with some vegetation and not very level. Gopher/prairie dog holes are all around, so you've got to watch your step when walking dogs. Only 30 amp power. Our sewer hookup was in the rear of our spot but actually level with our dump port! The CG is clean, but really needs some maintenance. Staff is great! The hosts at both camps are friendly and helpful. I had difficulty finding the on-base part and someone from Outdoor Rec. directed me over the phone. (There's next to no signage for either of them on or off base.)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
Jul 29 - Aug 5, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We spent our first night at the annex, as the main campground was full. We enjoyed our stay at the main campground, and there was no wind (our first stay there was VERY windy). The host (who is a jerk) has established some rules such as you cannot hook up your toad at your site, even though there is plenty of room. Also, Outdoor Rec has decreed that campers in the Annex cannot use the showers at the main campground. Plus, they cannot use the washers and dryers at the main campground. There reasoning, which does not wash, is that the charge for the Annex is less (by $4.00) than the main campground. But the annex is also only 30 amp and gravel. We did not use the dining hall, although retirees can on weekends. The fresh water faucets are used by two RVs, which doesn’t help the water pressure to either RV. They give a 10% discount when using the AF credit (club) card, but don't accept coupons because of the discount. But, we enjoyed our stay, and would return if we were in the area.
ST
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 8-10, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
R.K. left this review using the Directory software: - Stayed here on the way to Alaska. No problem getting our 45' motorhome in or out. Nice clean, campground, friendly, helpful host, and super folks at Outdoor Rec. Had mail forwarded there, no problem. Nice commissary and bx. Will stop there on the way back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sep 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Pulled into the park on our way from Alaska heading south for the winter. Very nice park only about 6-7 rigs there. The winds were terrible 30MPH gusting to 50-60 for three days straight, grounded us there for that time, good kite flying wx. Lot's to do around town and overall a nice park, fond memories.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sept 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice FAMCAMP. Being there after Labor Day no doubt made getting a site no problem. I didn't count but I'd say maybe 5 to 8 were available during our stay. Sites large and level. Host was quite pleasant taking care of business but didn't chat much beyond that. Grass was ok, they'd been having rain. WiFi was not to be found on arrival but worked fine the second day. Laundry and restrooms clean, in fact the whole area which is quite extensive was clean. Laundry reasonably priced at $1 each. And the price while maybe high by national FAMCAMP standards is very (very) reasonable by Great Falls standards as I found when I was looking for a fallback in case they were full. I kind of liked having the FAMCAMP right outside the gate. I'd sooner negotiate the barriers with my toad than with the motorhome towing. Few and small facilities on post: BX, commissary, library, dining etc.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Aug 20-21, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We just spent two nights here and would probably stay again if ever we are back in the area but would not go out of our way to get here. The campground was spotless, the grass dead, the camp host a bit officious, the laundry room clean and a good price. It was quiet as there are no airplanes at this Air Force base. My complaint was that WIFI is advertised but doesn't work. We pulled in, was given a choice of sites, and told to put our money in the payment box. I asked about putting a pen out for our little dog for when we sit outside as she doesn't like to be tied up. I was grudgingly given approval after I convinced the camp host that she would not do her business in the pen. He was concerned that she would ruin the dead grass! We spent about half an hour trying to log on to the internet on each of our electronic devices (one iPhone, one Android phone, the Kindle, and a Mac) and could connect to the signal but could go no further to get onto the Web. I walked down to the camp host and asked if there was a problem or was I doing something wrong. The response was that I was right, it didn't work. Rarely does. Signal is too weak, antenna is too short, and he really didn't seem to care. Others I talked to said it's always that way. I asked who to complain to and was told that if they would let him have comment cards I could write one out and put it in the comment box. Not his fault, but he 1) should have mentioned it when we checked in to save the grief of trying to figure out what was wrong, and, 2) should care enough to talk to someone above him about the issues. Not acceptable. The Outdoor Rec people need to know or maybe even the base commander. If you advertise it, then it should work. Otherwise, don't say you have it.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
Jun 30, 2013 - July 6, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stay here whenever we travel thru this area and are always grateful if we get one of the few available spots. Again this time, we arrived around noon and got our choice of three pull-thru sites. Yes, the grass was full of dandelions and the wood picnic table was in poor condition (probably stuck outside all winter) but we were there for a military burial and were just content we only paid $130 for a week's stay. The view of fireworks through our windshield was spectacular. All things considered, it wasn't a bad place to be on the 4th of July.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 9-12, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
M.K. left this review using the Directory software: - This is a nice stopover on the way to Canada/Alaska. Real quiet with only one helicopter flying while I was here. Restrooms and shower were clean, and I didn't spot even one cig butt anywhere in the campground. Oh yeah, the grass was nice and green, and was being watered daily. I would like it less expensive (who wouldn't) but for me it was worth the $24 a day.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 22, 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
R.O. left this review using the Directory software: - I stayed at the Gateway FamCamp which is just outside the main gate of Malmstron AFB. The facilities appear to be well maintained and the host "Mel" was very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the rates at this FamCamp were raised from last year's rate of $19.00 to $24.00. It appears this increase and possibly other factors such as the overall economy have caused the occupancy rate to be much lower than previous years. It would seem the Wing Commander may be trying to use the revenue from this facility to support other unfunded activities on post. I will avoid this FamCamp until the pricing is restructured.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 14-20, 2012
(Updated: May 31, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed at the off-base Gateway location. Super nice FamCamp, well laid-out facility, the only thing missing was cable TV service (our satellite had quit working earlier in our journeys) but there was plenty of local broadcast TV available on the antenna. There is a nice walking trail adjacent to the park. The FamCamp was only about 25% occupied during the week we were there, so we had plenty of choice of spaces, all pull-throughs. The camp host, Mel, was friendly and helpful getting us settled in. City (Great Falls) bus service is available just outside of the FamCamp entrance and will take you all over town. The initial process for entering the base was somewhat tedious, but once we were in their "system" everything went smoothly. Propane is available at the AAFES gas station, but only Monday through Friday. All-in-all a nice experience, we will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 14-21, 2011
(Updated: July 21, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is our second visit to this famcamp. I had forgotten just how very nice this cg is. There are only 25 sites, but the cg is probably the best laid out cg I have ever visited. The sites are all large pull-thrus with each site facing a different direction. This way when you open your door, you do not face your neighbor's hookups - instead there is about a double site-width space with picnic tables and grills on very well maintained grass. The only complaint I have with this famcamp is, when we were here, they had allowed a pretty destitute family in an old run down travel trailer, to stay in the site across from ours. According to the camp host, they were "sponsored" by someone who was eligible to be here. The only thing was, the "sponsor" did not stay in the famcamp. Does this make you want to wear a uniform for 20-30 years, along with family separations, hostile environments, getting shot at, etc, so that anyone else can enjoy the same benefits that we do? The BX and Commissary are very small, but adequate. The directions lead you to the front gate of Malmstrom. Instead, turn right off 57th street onto 3rd Ave S. This will get you right to the famcamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
June 29-July 6, 2010
(Updated: September 19, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Upon arrival we spent one night in the Annex on base as no spots in Gateway. I was somewhat disappointed as to camp 'hostess'--I will give her benefit of doubt as this is first year both as hostess & I understand to the RV world. Was often difficult contacting her & when did she could be a bit less than courteous. The couple at the Annex were great, however we really did need the 50 amp. That said the Gateway was well laid out in a beautiful area--sites were good size--do have to drive 'around' to get on base as 'main' gate was still being re-done. This was our 'base' as we did a number of day trips in area prior to driving on to Glacier & ultimately Alberta, Canada. We were lucky to be on a military base for July 4--enjoyed a great base picnic. We were told that plans are to double the size of the Gateway & close the Annex completely as Annex has been there a number of years & only 30 amp. There was no target date given for this. At this time there was 'lots' of construction on base & as there building time is so short I don't believe the expansion of FamCamp will be top priority. Oh the WiFi worked great--all in all would recommend if you are in area--beats anything the civilian world has to offer in area!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 2
July 23-24 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
A very nice camp ground (GATEWAY), but for the price ($19) other military fam camps are a better value. Ft Sam or DM for instance didn't use wi fi or the laundry or bath facilites. Would stay here again. Directions for entry are a bit confusing. We looked for 3rd st but missed, it started a turn on 2nd st, but turned around and continued on 87 N. past the commercial entry gate. Pulled over and called Outdoor Rec for directions. Kevin had a hard time figuring out where we were and started giving directions from the wrong direction, didn't seem to know where 2nd and 3rd were. The problem is this 3rd st is not at a light and easy to miss and has no signage for the FAM CAMP, the next st,. 2rd is at a light and goes straight to the gate with signage to the FAM CAMP. The attached directions should say turn rt (E) on 2nd st vice 3rd st then every thing would be fine. (Ed note: directions corrected - thanks!) All in all a very nice park. Al Sawyer

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 2
June 18, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
No host on duty upon early afternoon arrival so we drove through camp ground to pick a site, however some sites were blocked off and 2 sites, maybe more, were unusable as the occupant of the neighboring sites were using both sides of the shared water utility leaving only electrical and sewer available. This must be standard operating procedure as later in the day someone in a pickup drove through the campground whom we later saw parked at the host's site, my guess he was the host, and those sites using both sides of the water remained hooked up that way. Otherwise the restroom and laundry facility was very clean and the parking pads were large and level.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 15.29, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is indeed a nice, clean FAMCAMP and the camp host, Bruce is a very friendly, helpful man, he is a BIG ASSET to this park. The sites are nice, level. I was really surprised when they allowed me to sponsor two guests while we were here. Their brochure states that guests are allowed. The only problem with this FAMCAMP is the WiFi. It's just about worthless. We have been on for a short time and get bumped off and then about 2-3 hours later we were able to sign back on. They only have one antenna and router for the entire park and they need to add more so that the entire park can be covered. I called and discussed this with Scott, the manager of Outdoor Rec and he said he would see what could be done. If they get the WiFi working properly this will be a GREAT FAMCAMP. Even with the poor WiFi I will come back here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
5-8 June 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
When we arrived at Malmstrom we went to the new campground, but it was full. The host was very hepful; he told us to check out the on-base camp, which had openings. The hostess there was super nice, said we could pick any open site. Picked #21, and saw that obviously it was an old, and tired camp. But, the sites in the older camp were quite large...you had a good distance from your neighbor. The scenery was very mice - we looked out on a broad, open field. I walked over to Outdoor Rec the next morning to pay and asked about wifi, paving the site, etc. He explained the budget problems Services was having, and I fully understood. USAF is at war, and the $$$'s aren't there. He reminded me that the base was keeping the old camp open simply because the new one is often sold out. Wifi was available at the base library - very nice - as well as at the Lodging office, 24/7, and the food court at the BX, 9AM-7PM M-Sun. A great value at $13 a night. Great Falls is a nice little town. Oh yes, one problem...there isn't a base laundry, although you could sneak into the lodging guest quarters. Nearest laundry - a good one - is in town, about 5 miles from base. There was quite a bit of vacant commercial property right outside the gate - a great opportunity for some enterprising retiree to build and operate "Main Gate Laundry"!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
August 8 to 15, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The nicer newer park is off base which is a little inconvenient to facilities. The on base park is not bad at all if you can get by with 30 amp. Certainly worth looking at before you commit, since it is within walking distance of many of the base services. We had a pleasant stay here. While there be sure to take in the Lewis and Clark Exploratory Center.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
June 8,2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Just an update to the last post. There is a host on site at both the Gateway and the Annex Campgrounds. Facilities look very good at Gateway as a maintenance person is also on site 5 days a week. Hear that WiFI install is scheduled for July 1. Hope it comes through as it would be a great added feature.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Apr 29, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We're in the Gateway CG. Great jumping off place for Canada and Alaska. No camp host on site and only 3 RV's in 25 sites. Clean, well maintained with good facilities, including laundry, with plenty of open space around the CG. Sites could be more level. MWR people are very friendly and very helpful. You can have mail forwarded to their office and they will hold for pick up.
PC
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
23 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2