Gateway FamCamp

New
 
4.3 (57)
48851   0   13   1   18

User reviews

27 reviews with 5 stars

57 reviews

 
(31)
 
(19)
 
(4)
 
(3)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
 
4.6  (57)
 
4.0  (57)
 
4.2  (57)
 
4.2  (57)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
27 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

17 Jun 2018

Great campground. Clean facilities and very nice sites. Grass areas neat and well maintained. Camp host friendly & helpful. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 31, 2017 - 2 Oct 2017

I am Don Kostyal, retired USAF CMSgt, and I was the camp host for the Annex this past summer. The Annex is the Famcamp located ON the base. It has 25 full hook-up sites and 5 water and electric only. The sites are various sizes and the patio may be opposite your camper door. This is because this was once the base mobile home park. Yes there are sewer connections that are at various heights from your camper outlet--again, due to the previous mobile home connections. The sites are all back in. The 5 sites that are electric and water only can only handle a camper less than 20 feet in length. There is a dump site located at the Annex and if you are camping in the Famcamp there is no charge currently. The $2 charge is for folks not staying in the Famcamp. There are no showers at the Annex but the base fitness center is across the street and it is open to campers from 0500 - 2130. There is a public restroom, ladies and a men's, with a toilet and sink in each. The base has a BX, Class VI, Commissary, gas station (no diesel), fitness center, pool (summer) and a great Outdoor Recreation Shop with lots to rent and great personnel. The cost to camp at the Annex is $20 a night or $100 a week and yes there is a 21 day max stay. I believe the off base camp grounds were around $80 a night. Great Falls is 2 hours from Glacier National Park and a stop over for folks going to and coming from Alaska. There is a project to upgrade the Annex to bigger sites and 50 amps, but is has struggled to move up the priority list of things to do. 30 amps is only a problem when the temps go above 85 degrees as there isn't much shade but it I see a dry heat. Since the power lines are from the old mobile home site days, there are times when power goes out. During the winter the winds and severe weather cause problems with the wiring. We had a few sites down with no powere this summer for several days until CE could retire some receptacles and overhead wires--sites were NOT reserved for campers, but those were the only signs we had available to block off the sites. We also had a few days where a few sites were closed off due to a sewer line backing up from some improper items being flushed down the lines. While sites are first come first serve, I did direct some campers to various sites but this was because they had long campers that I knew would most like back into a power pole or to put them on a site with a patio door side. There is one site "0" that I would try and keep for a big rig tag axle (42' or bigger) as it was the only site at the Annex that could handle that size rig. Usually those folks want to go to the main Famcamp off base as it has pull through sites, but when the main camp was full I would hold spot "0" for a big rig. Worse case scenario, Walmart was only 1/2 mile from the base and they allow overnight parking. There is no laundry on base and Annex campers cannot use the main Famcamp laundry (there is only 2 machines) but there are several laundries around Great Falls. I really enjoyed my time as host this past summer and enjoyed meeting the many folks who came to stay. It was a quiet campground and with only one exception, all the campers were great guests. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 2017

Great place to stay The whole facility was clean and neat,especially the restrooms and laundry.We would stop there again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 31 through June 3, 2017

Nice well kept no hassel Famcamp outside the gate. Camp host is friendly and helpful. Laundry room and bathrooms are clean and washer dryer price are lower than normal.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 04, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2017

Let me introduce myself. My name is Bill Whitehurst and I am the camp host for the 2017 season. This is my first time hosting, so please be gentle with me. I am here to make your Campground experience at Gateway Family Campground the best ever. The direct phone number to me to check out to see if there is any space for you is 406-731-5140. If no answer, please call back. It just means that I'm away from the phone helping out other guests. I cannot hold a site for you, but I can let you know how many sites are still available. The dump station in at the Annex campground on base. The fee is only $2.00.  We are now allowing limited tent camping at Gateway, Only $10.00 a night, includes showers, rest rooms and use of laundry facilities,

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

3-7 July 2015

Came in on way to GNP. First visit to MAFB since stationed here in 1965. How Great Falls has changed. Had rv trouble so did not dare try to make it to Canada and instead took toad to GNP. Loved the location outside the gate and how quiet it was there and the cleanliness. Plan on returning within a few years.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 7, 2016

Great stop here. Great camp hosts. The ladies restroom had that special touch with lotion, plant, boxed tissues etc... the location is great. Don't forget to visit the Lewis and Clark center. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

26 June -6 July 2015

Very nice campground. Sites have nice grass and enough room between each one. Wifi was weak, even though we were close to antenna. Laundry is very reasonable. $1 to wash and $1 to dry. Camp hosts very nice, very helpful. Only complaint: There should be a contact number available, since reservations are not taken. Having to drive almost 8 miles from I-15 and being told "no space available" would be very frustrating. This did not happen to us, even though tried calling outdoor rec and reaching a recording during working hours, but saw numerous RVs having to turn around and leave.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 5, 2014

Camped in 43' MH. Stopped here just for the night on our way to the Canadian border. Great facilities, wide, level concrete pads, great wifi and best of all wonderful people staying at the park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 16, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sep 12, 2012

A nice, clean, park in a great location. Bruce, the host was very hospitable.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 28 - July 3, 2012

Very nice campground with a helpful camp host. We called the day before arrival and asked about availability. We were reminded they didn't take reservations, but there shouldn't be a problem and to come on. The park is well laid out, clean and maintained. The new exchange at Malstrom AFB is opening soon. As posted before, getting onto base can be a hassle. Waved right on thru the first time, but the next day was told "not in the system". A short stop at the visitor center got us into the system. The airmen working in the visitor center were very polite and professional. We were here a week and will stay again when in this area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 07, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 5 - 8, 2011

What a wonderful RV Park - Hands Down. This is one of the nicest RV Parks I've ever stayed. It is well laid out, has plenty of space between sites and for walking the dogs. The restrooms are as nice and clean as the one in your own home. There is grass between the concrete sites and throughout the campground. Within a half mile off 87/89/3 and a short drive to the city or base. WiFi worked great throughout our stay. I would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 3, 2011

R.M. left this review using the Directory software: Found this to be an excellent FamCamp. Maria the camp hose was exceptionally helpful. The laundry and restrooms were clean and BX and Commissary well stocked. Over flow area available and several had to wait only a day or two before finding a spot.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 07, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 20-24, 2011

Stayed at the Annex, outside the Base. All 50 amp service. Paved sites, grassy areas in between the spaces. Well-maintained. Camp host on site. Laundry/showers kept clean. Camp host said she didn't care if we washed down the motor home. The on-base FamCamp is older, 30 amp service, smaller spaces.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 04, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

2-4 August 2011

We stayed in Gateway for 2 nights. When we arrived there were six pull thru sites available, we chose two and were greeted by the camp host shortly after. He was very courteous and helpful. We were settled in quickly and pleased with the area. The sites are concrete pads with 30/50 amp service, water and sewer, only missing cable, camp WIFI was great the entire time we were here. Was able to also get 4G with my sprint service so watched some Netflix while here. The CG is right outside gate 4 for the AFB so did not have to enter base for CG, the CG was nice and quiet while we were here. We did go on the base to check out the BX and commissary. We were confronted by something new to us when going on base. It seems that they do not use DOD stickers, instead they use ID cards for entry, we were directed to go to visitor center and register ID cards prior to being allowed on base. It was no problem getting the IDs registered and then going through the hate but it would have been simpler to do this prior to trying to go through the first time. The commissary was well stocked and convenient to get to, the BX was small but they are working on building another to be completed by June 2012. The CG is well taken care of, while we were there, although not in need of it, the grass was trimmed, looks really good. The bathrooms, small but up to date and very clean as is the laundry. Realy liked this CG and would recommend to anyone, will definitely stay here again if in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 03, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 27, 2011 to July 6, 2011

This is a review of the newer fam camp that is just before you enter the gate just off Highway 87 South. The camp hosts this year are nothing like described in previous year. They are friendly and helpful. They are in a clearly marked spot with their trailer near the entrance. The husband greeted us and was very helpful. The wife helped me with some information later and was very nice. This park is wonderful. The bathrooms are always clean and in excellent shape. The laundry room is fantastic with great washers that hold a lot of clothes and dryers that don't need to be fed more coins than once. Laundry room fully stocked with change machine, laundry soap vending machine, magazines, books donated, rollaway laundry baskets. Just next to the bathrooms and laundry room is a soda machine. Very handy to have.
There are exhaust fans in all bathrooms and in the laundry room so they don't get too hot. The groundskeeper keeps the place absolutely immaculate. There is a pet walking area, complete with doggy bags to pick up. This is such a quiet and beautiful park. There are amazing sunsets, a nice breeze. Truly get a taste of what big sky country really means. There are beautiful flower boxes everywhere, and we thoroughly enjoyed getting to see all the prairie dogs running here and there. (although I am sure they annoy the groundskeeper because of all the little holes they make) There is a nice gravel walking trail just past the park area. Never any problems with any of the campers here. The water supply is very good, and the sites are very level paved. Big enough sites to bring our 40 footer plus an 18 foot trailer (and enough space at the end to park our towed vehicle while off the trailer) The mosquitoes can be a little rough at dusk, but if you go out while the sun is out they don't bother you. This has to be the very best RV park private or military that I have ever stayed in.
Wanted to stay here a month after arriving, but had to rush off to see family. The surrounding community is very friendly and has great restaurants, plus a great RV service center just down the road. It was fun to see the Black Eagle Falls along the Missouri river just down the road. Don't forget to take a drive down River Road to see it. Beautiful! The Lewis and Clark museum was incredible, too. Coming back often!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 6-August 9 2009

Enjoyed our visit and would return! Bruce is everything the reviews say..he and his wife planted flowers and took care of on their own! There is can recycling at campground and more recycling on base. No diesel on base. Retirees can eat at the dining hall for breakfast and on weekends meals-a definite plus. Campsites off base are mostly level and paved and room out the front door. Horses and donkey to view and talk to and plenty of area to walk dog. My Verizon Internet card was much faster then camp wi-fi.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 30-July 1st 2009

We stopped on our way to Glacier Natl. Park. The Gateway Famcamp is located immediately to the right outside the main gate, so that you don't have to negotiate the security barriers. We were immediately greeted by the camp hosts and directed to an available site. The hookups are good (except for shared water which posed no problem), the laundry and bathrooms were immaculately clean. It is windy here, but everywhere we have been west of the Mississippi has been windy, so no big deal. I would highly recommend this famcamp to anyone traveling this direction. And oh, by the way, the WI-FI must have been fixed because it worked great for us...

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 5 - May 13, 2009

Great stop on the way to Alaska. Bruce, the camp host, lived up to his reputation. This is a small park and the wifi antenna is right in the center, so all should be able to get a signal. I got 1 or none. Needs upgrading. My Verizon data card worked fine, tho. Meals available at the chow hall. My biggest complaint (which the campground host, MWR, or even the base commander can't do anything about) is the wind. It was VERY windy most of the days I was there. I even brought in my slide on 3 occasions, for fear the cover would be ripped off (it is now sagging). I would go back, tho, as a last stop before going to Canada. Steve Turney

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 4 - 6, 2008

The GPS coordinates took us right to the off base facility. We found the facility to be very neat and clean. The camp host wasn't home when we arrived, so we drove in and picked out an open site. As we were setting up the host came back and came over to welcome us. He was very friendly and provided directions to the best viewpoints for the falls. My only complaint would be the lack of Wi-Fi in the camp. There is good Wi-Fi available at the BX, and after hours you can sit on the walk by the door in a lawn chair and still get a good signal. I will definitely stop here again whenever I'm in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
27 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2