Desert Eagle RV Park

Featured
 
4.5 (160)
141745   1   21   1   78

User reviews

10 reviews with 3 stars

160 reviews

 
(113)
 
(36)
 
(7)
 
(2)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
 
4.6  (160)
 
4.7  (160)
 
4.4  (160)
 
4.5  (160)
 
4.5  (160)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
10 results - showing 1 - 10  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

July 2018

This was our second stay here. First time the park was immaculate. Hosts Melanie, Victor, and Howard provided excellent customer service at the office. Free bags of ice on hot days. This time bathhouses were deplorable though, floors were filthy, overflowing garbage cans at the dump station, laundry rooms were dirty and filled with ants. We cut our visit short this time, no refunds if you pay in advance. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Oct 2017 - Apr 2018

Another winter has come and gone. After staying at Desert Eagle for several winters, we see regulars now. The office staff is great. They do what they can to help out. The ice machine is installed and ice is available each day (woohoo). The NEW addition is finished. With that has come higher rates if you want to stay in the “old” clover leaf which I think is the best place to camp. Whoever designed the new addition should have their butt kicked. Looking at it, you can tell it was built for income only. The lots are SMALL and the parking for your car is next to non-existent. The WiFi is still hit and miss. In previous years, I don’t remember the weeds being as bad as they are this year, but I was told that the summer heat will take care of them. Still, for the money, it is the best around Vegas. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

28 March - 1 April 2018

After over a month staying here I like the park but am confused about all the 5.0 reviews. I have stayed at least 10 military RV parks and this is definitely not the best. Positives: Older spots are roomy and very nice, staff is friendly, base amenities are close and generally good, You are in Vegas - good and bad! Negatives: If you like peace and quiet - forget it! The area has become very industrial, thus lots of commercial noise even after 10 PM. The emergency generator at the hospital is next to the older area and kicked in at 5 am one morning. The locals race up and down Craig and Las Vegas Blvd roads all night. The new sites are simply poorly designed, too tight and utilities in wrong location - so plan for a large truck to be parked within inches of your RV or trailer. Some are very hard to level so leveling is next to impossible. And since they are a fair amount of active duty with diesel trucks or muscle cars you will be woken up at 0600 every morning as they idle their vehicles for 30 minutes while they take a shower. The reservation system seems to be crazy - I have seen several people put into overflow spots when spots are open for days at a time. If you show up before noon you will probably sit in the registration parking till afternoon. They appear to not know who is leaving or coming till after they make their rounds. Seems to be no check out time. Large RV's are put in tiny spots while small RV's get large spots. No method to match sites to type of RV. With all that said if you want to come for a few days and hit Vegas and get out of here, good place to park for short periods. They should make 50% of the park first come and first serve and the old area reservations only. Would make more financial sense. If you want long term go somewhere else. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

November 24 - December 1, 2014

This used to be a GREAT park. It has steadily gone down hill over the years. About 2 years ago, they raised their prices by a dollar per night to provide better wifi. The current wifi SUCKS! If one can log into it, it comes and goes - and I am parked right next to an antenna. I have been complaining about the wifi for 2 years and have not heard anything in response - thus the low overall experience and value scores. The staff (workers, not managers) are FANTASTIC. One gentleman was ashamed to put my coach into a non-full hookup site. I was offered a full hookup after 4 days, but did not want to pick everything to move - I would guess most of the hosts have NEVER had to move a rig after several days staying in one spot. The restrooms were great (in 1950). But now they are at the bottom of the barrel. Concrete floors, no heat and the walls are only 3/4 height walls and when the door gets opened those taking a shower are able to be seen by everyone outside the building. At one time they were going to expand the full hookup service in this park - WHAT HAPPENED?? The employees take one whole wheel, then the long term folks take up two whole wheels, that leaves only one wheel for those staying a month or less. Not conducive to frequent traveling. Current park users are also getting lazy about picking up after their pets. I have picked up more poop than can be generated by 4 dogs, but I do want to travel with my "babies" so I keep cleaning up after the lazy folks. Not sure where the PCS folks stay, I see very few of them. My rig opens directly on the road, can't use my awning, cars and trucks continually go by faster than the posted speed limit and the dust stirred up by those vehicles is constantly in the air. So much for asthmatics. There is no control of any of the given park rules other than the number of pets allowed.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

20 November 2014 - 3 December 2014

The way the camp ground is laid out unless you spend more than 1 month here they separate the spots that made me feel like we weren't really welcomed. Had to park what I consider backwards so I didn't open the door into the street. No lights and when the sunsets at 1630 it makes it kind of hard to get around. All the short term people are put in the area that is only opened from Sep - May which doesn't have any shade or sewer. The people that stay long term get the shady spots and sewer? The golf course is a real nice layout, but, is not ran very well. Lots of geese poop on the tee boxes, no marshalls to keep play moving, more expensive than most military courses I have played.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 02, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

March 2011

Everything is very nice at the park except the activities director at the park she is very mean and rude, surprising she is even a activity director. The rest of the staff is really nice and friendly and the park is very clean and quiet.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 02, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec. 2010

As of Jan. 1 they are raising the rent a dollar a day, and cutting the club card from 10% to 5%. Basically that's a 2 dollar raise a day. Its a good place, but getting way to expensive. Lots of people are saying they are not coming back next year.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Oct. 1, 2007

J.G. left this review from the Directory software: The price has gone up. They could cut back on the small army of 'Hosts' and not have to charge so much. Great commissary and BX but the Services section does not exhibit the friendliness that should there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

April 2007

All of my low scores are driven by the fact that this is a GOOD OLD BOYS network. We have tried to stay twice with limited success. The first time was a night in overflow, and the 2nd stay was 3 nights before we had to leave because the space was reserved. Reservations are fine, but retired geezers and spouses should not be allowed to reserve for six months, leave for a short period of time and then return for another six months. The park has nice amenities but it is definitely for the benefit of a select few.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Sep 2006

This is a nice camp, with level slots and Wi-fi (very convenient), but the only inconveniences are the laundry facilities. For a full camp with numerous slots, there are clearly not enough washers and dryers for everybody. Of course since Vegas is so close, nobody wants to wait all day just to do laundry when one could be doing something else. There also aren't enough showers, and beware to those with bad allergies as well.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10 results - showing 1 - 10