Fallon RV Park

Featured New
 
3.7 (48)
42334   0   9   0   9

User reviews

48 reviews

 
(9)
 
(20)
 
(16)
 
(2)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
 
3.3  (48)
 
3.6  (48)
 
3.7  (48)
 
3.7  (48)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
48 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Aug 22, 2017

I did not thoroughly read the reviews on this site before making a reservation at NAS Fallon. If you are seeking this military FamCamp as an option to avoid Reno, stay outside the gate in Fallon for the same price or press to Reno. The hassle of making a reservation through the lodging office then expected to navigate your rig there to their conned-off parking lot is near impossible. Further expected to disconnect rig at the RV park or other location, travel to office, check in, get spot number, then re-hook up and move into spot. Definitely not worth the hassel for a one or two night stay. Wifi is free, 3 MBPS. Concrete level slabs in all gravel RV park. No trees/shade. No dog park/run. No diesel on station.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

July 23-26, 2017

Do not attempt to get an RV into Fallon on the weekend. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon. We called the 877# we used to make our reservation to see if there were any special instructions as nothing was listed on our paperwork. They said there were none. Our GPS took us toward the South Gate. Fortunately there was a sign that said road closed so we turned left hoping to find the main gate. The entrances from the Hwy. to Fallon are not well marked. We arrived at the main gate and it was obvious we would not get a 23 foot trailer through. We were barely able to turn around in the check in parking lot. The Security Guard politely directed us to the South Gate and stated someone would meet us there and let us through. We waited 15 minutes. No one came so then we fortunately found the phone number for the main gate. We called and finally we were let in and given directions to the park. Once we got to the park the note on the bathroom door said we had to check in at the hotel.... The women at the hotel was very pleasant, but knew little about the RV park. If you want ambiance do not go to Fallon. It looks like a parking lot. It does have everything one needs. The commissary is closed on Sunday and Monday. The local grocery stores are much better. The gym is wonderful. One is only an hours drive from Tahoe. Virginia City and Reno. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

July 16, 2017

Called reservation toll free # on June 22 and secured with credit card a full hook up reservation for Sun. July 16. I received an email confirmation for my reservation. On Sat. July 15, I received an email stating that I had been moved to Over Flow without hookups. I immediately called the Fallon Office for Navy Inns and Suites. The office clerk informed me that I really never had a reservation because I had used the toll free phone # instead of calling them directly. I then showed her my printed reservation copy, to which she replied sorry we're sold out. It was 108 + F and we had already traveled 8 hours, so we made our way to over flow, parked the RV, and went to the base pool to cool off. We strongly suspect that our confirmed site was "gifted" to one of the many homesteaders at this RV park. I called the toll free # and complained to a supervisor who claimed that this had never happened before this incident. Someone needs to do an audit of the Fallon Res. Office at Navy Inns and Suites to prevent this from happening again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

19 - 26 June 2017

I had a death in the family and needed a spot ASAP. Nothing was available as a Squadron or more were there for training. Put in the "Overflow" area at $10/night. Water and electricity. The overflow had 6 places and had not been graded smooth in a long, long time. Weeds, etc. abounded. More like camping out hunting except for utilities. Reservations are now handled through the INN and Suites not MWR (confusion as to how to do it was apparent). The downer was the shower/toilet facilty (previously immaculate. NOT SO NOW. In the h/c stall there was a large smear of fecal matter that was there when I arrived and still there when I left. H/C shower head broken, sand and dirt in showers, black sock in same place for 5 days in shower area. Black and grey dust on all stall dividers and evidence of no real effort to clean. Add toilet paper and dump trash. Needs to have a GI Party or Field Day and be cleaned from top to bottom. Not a pleasant experience. Have visited for the past 3 years and it was fine. Now with the change over to Inn and Suites from MWR something happened to supervision of the facility. If overflow is to be used at least grade it somewhat smooth. Not pleased in the least about this visit. Hope it returns to what it was 1 or 2 years ago. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

9-12 June 2017

Nice military RV park, overall but the $30 rate is overpriced compared to other locations. We made reservations 13 Jan 2017 and we were quoted $25 rate but was $30 upon check-in. 30/50 amp full hookup on new 50 ft concrete pads. Everything else is gravel. There is plenty of adjacent gravel area between sites to park your toad or towing vehicle. There is a very nice laundry facility co-located with the men's and women's latrine/shower. Wash (two machines) is $1.00 and dry (two machines) is $1.00. No picnic tables at each site bit there is a central picnic barbecue area next to the laundry/shower building. There is a pet area on the north side of the RV park but no grass, so your pet needs to have a sense of humor! Unfortunately it seems that many residence were homesteading with permanent decks, residential propane tanks, junk laying around, etc. Many do not heed the dog leash rules and several occasions of large dogs running around our site. If there is a camp host they never made themselves known. Amenities are good as others have mentioned. We were very impressed with the NEX and Commissary as they looked fairly new. Although both are a little small they are very well stocked. There is no Class Six, alcohol is in the NEX. Movie theatre right across the street. Bowling alley a block away and they deliver pizzas and other items. Security Forces routinely drove by. Jet noise is prevalent, but reminds us of how lucky we are! Overall was a good stay. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 17, 2017

Has all the basics you need with electric (30/50 amp), water, and sewer. Great concrete pads with gravel stones all over the park around the concrete pads. They have laundry, shower and bathrooms if needed at the park. Across the street is the movie theater with new movies that are out showing that is free. Behind the RV park is a golf driving range. The base has all the facilities that a military has available, gym/fitness center, indoor pool, etc. The main gate has a high security gate so if you are a big rig use the South gate on the southern far end of the base. Easier access. Also you check in at the main BEQ check in vice Bldg. 393 as it says on the web site. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 2015

We found Fallon NAS an excellent camping option for military and DoD affiliates. From concrete pads with FHU, to excellent WiFi, this campground has it all - except shade. That said, campers must appreciate the "sound of freedom" aka aircraft takeoff noise. To us - music to our ears. There is a large stand alone restroom/shower/laundry building with key access. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Definitely will stay here again but not in blazing summer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

July 8, 2015

I really hate it when I have to do a poor review of a campground, but someone has to say this. What in the world is Fallon thinking? $30.00 for a concrete parking lot with zero trees, a pay laundry, and it's a base with nothing for your kids to do, there isn't even a car wash on base. It's out in the middle of the Nevada desert. We stayed at Nellis in Las Vegas for $18.00, Lemoore NAS for $24,00, Travis AFB for $20.00, Beale AFB for $18.00, the desert rose, 30 miles west of fallon, (read the reviews), one of the very finest r.v. parks in the country, let alone Nevada, is only $25.00. Why do I think this has everything to do with MWR? The Air Force takes care of their own facilities, not MWR I have been told. I'm retired Navy and this was my very last time at any Navy base. From now on its Air Force bases. I have yet to have a bad thing to say about them. Sorry, but honesty is honesty, oh yeah, they have a first class movie theater. Getting on base takes an act of congress with the new "high security" gates, something most bases still resist. I wonder if Fallon has sold their r.v. park to KOA?? That would explain everything.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 16 thru June 18, 2014

Very noisy from the aircraft. Hearing protection should be required when outside. The grid coordinates would have taken us to the main gait and that would have been a mistake. We called and were instructed to use the South gate because we would not be able to make it through the Main gate.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

April 2013

Prices are weighted in favor of long-term campers. Expensive - could have stayed at a Casino or fairgrounds for $15. South Gate at end of Berney Road to enter. Gravel with concrete pads but no patio. Park on concrete pad, patio is gravel. Figure that one out. 3 networks but site 9 Wifi barely loads mail and won't load any websites. One side is nice desert view but the other three are RV Storage and the rusting poles of driving-range netting, fuel tanks or buildings. Neat and clean except for a couple of 'homesteaders'. Not a tree, shrub or patch of grass. Good electric, hook-ups in good shape. Quiet. This campground is waay overpriced.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 16, 2014

New rate for this year is $30.00 a night, so a low rating on value compared to other military facilities. The location is a little bit off the beaten path of I80 which is why I rated the location low. This is basically a gravel parking lot with cement pads. It does have full hook-ups, WiFi etc. The facility was lock up for our stay (Sunday) but it looked well taken care of. The sign on the door describes an overall cutback in the MWR budget as the cause for reduced hours. We came in the South Gate as described in the directions. On a Sunday, it required a call to the guards to come let us in but it was no issue.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

8-11 Aug 2013

R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - We almost didn't come here as the previous reviews weren't all that exciting. We must have missed Wildes Rd, our gps took us farther south to Berney Rd, where we turned left to 120 (Pasture Rd). We missed the South Gate, it's slightly off the road. The Union Lane Gate is closed. However we got in the main gate with no problem and no questions asked. We don't have a vehicle pass on our new truck and tried to get one at Pendleton. They only issue them to people living within 60 miles and as a whole they are being phased out. There is a gravel parking lot across the street from Bldg 393 with plenty of space. Warning: the very nice lady in the office is totally computer illiterate. It took about a half hour to check in with her cursing the computer the entire time. Check in hours are rather odd. On Saturdays you check in with Auto Skills in Bldg 393, or there is a self check in by the laundry room door. I didn't see any list of open sites posted as the sign said but as there were only 3 sites full when we visited it may not be an issue. The campground is definitely spacious. Concrete pads with nothing between but gravel. The first 2 near the restroom bldg have wider pavement and are designated handicapped. There are 6 non-paved sites with only 30 amp fhu near the driving range. Hookups are new and well placed. Wi Fi works great, lots of cable tv stations. The bathrooms and laundry are quite new looking and spotless. $1.00 to wash, $1.00 to dry. The commissary was closed Sun, Mon, and Tues. It's smaller than some but quite adequate, as is the NEX. We thought Fallon was a very nice town, very clean looking with new looking shopping centers along both sides of Hwy 50. A good selection of retail should meet most needs. This is not a destination park but for a rest stop for a couple days it's quite pleasant. Glad we came.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 22, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 19, 2013

Prices now (March 2013) $30 per day, $180 per week. Gasoline cheaper in town.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 28, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 2012

OK place, a little overpriced $25.00. The weeds were pretty bad in the rv park. WIFI good, Laundry good, Overall an OK place to stay over nite. We could not get thru the main gate with a rv had to use the far gate about 2 miles away. If you need a sticker for the windshield you need to go to the bldg. outside of the main gate before entering the base. (There is a small parking no place to park a rv).

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

12 June 2012

G.C. left this review using the Directory software: - really nice place to stay. the wi-fi works great and tons of cable channels.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

14 June 2012

G.C. left this review using the Directory software: - A nice place to stay for a few days and visit Carson City and Nevada City.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 04, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2012

Fallon may be out there but alot on a little base-movie theater across the street..bowling lanes down the street with very nice community center and book exchange. We have been there when quiet(no squadrons)and enjoy the 'flight practice maneuvers' and very pleasant experience to eat at chow hall. New machines in laundry room so not free any more and the machines aren't upgraded either. Like the concrete pads and rock but be aware every dog has issues walking on the hard rock. Always a good stop going to/from California.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 30, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 24, 2012

The town of Fallon is 15 minutes from Base and is fairly large with most any retail you need. The Base has some real perks including free 1st run movies (theater is 5 minute walk from the RV), you are welcome to use the chow hall (galley) at $4.55 per person for lunch and dinner, nice laundry at $1 per load. There was no training during our visit so jet noise was minimal. The only negative is that most attractions are about an hour to 1 1/2 hours away such as Virginia City, Carson City and Reno. Sites are concrete pads with gravel surrounding them. They are 50 amp with excellent cable and the best wifi we have ever had. Verizon cell worked very well. We would stay here again if in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 09, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 2, 2012

i have stayed here in the past and enjoyed the base and the campground. raising the price by almost double really takes away from the experience as there isn't much here. the theater is pretty cool and just installed 3-D, the park has the very best wi fi i have ever seen,the base swimming pool is pretty good. but poor old fallon nevada is just not much more than a wide spot on hwy. 50. then the wind started to blow, it blew for days getting up into the 65 mph range, it was damaging my pop up so i ran over to the exchange to see about renting a room at the navy lodge. the Filipino woman in charge said they were all full, but whoever rented all of them must have been in town gambling as they ever did have any cars parked in front of them. all in all i think we will be passing on fallon in the future. it just ain't worth the price to us anymore.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 30-31, 2012

I stayed here May 30-31. I was shocked that the daily rate had increased from $15.00 to $25.00. I was told that the rates and all the paperwork comes from San Diego. This made the checkin process slow waiting on the computer. I didn't inquire about the weekly or monthly rates. There are no AT&T cell phone towers in the Fallon area. Internet service was excellent. Office opens at 0730 so I turned my keys in at 0830. I saw two employees sitting in the lounge drinking coffee (hopefully the rate increase will cover their salary).

Was this review helpful to you? 
48 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3