Fallon RV Park

Featured New
 
3.7 (48)
42334   0   9   0   9

User reviews

15 reviews with 3 stars

48 reviews

 
(9)
 
(20)
 
(16)
 
(2)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
 
3.3  (48)
 
3.6  (48)
 
3.7  (48)
 
3.7  (48)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
15 results - showing 1 - 15  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

July 23-26, 2017

Do not attempt to get an RV into Fallon on the weekend. We arrived on a Sunday afternoon. We called the 877# we used to make our reservation to see if there were any special instructions as nothing was listed on our paperwork. They said there were none. Our GPS took us toward the South Gate. Fortunately there was a sign that said road closed so we turned left hoping to find the main gate. The entrances from the Hwy. to Fallon are not well marked. We arrived at the main gate and it was obvious we would not get a 23 foot trailer through. We were barely able to turn around in the check in parking lot. The Security Guard politely directed us to the South Gate and stated someone would meet us there and let us through. We waited 15 minutes. No one came so then we fortunately found the phone number for the main gate. We called and finally we were let in and given directions to the park. Once we got to the park the note on the bathroom door said we had to check in at the hotel.... The women at the hotel was very pleasant, but knew little about the RV park. If you want ambiance do not go to Fallon. It looks like a parking lot. It does have everything one needs. The commissary is closed on Sunday and Monday. The local grocery stores are much better. The gym is wonderful. One is only an hours drive from Tahoe. Virginia City and Reno. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

19 - 26 June 2017

I had a death in the family and needed a spot ASAP. Nothing was available as a Squadron or more were there for training. Put in the "Overflow" area at $10/night. Water and electricity. The overflow had 6 places and had not been graded smooth in a long, long time. Weeds, etc. abounded. More like camping out hunting except for utilities. Reservations are now handled through the INN and Suites not MWR (confusion as to how to do it was apparent). The downer was the shower/toilet facilty (previously immaculate. NOT SO NOW. In the h/c stall there was a large smear of fecal matter that was there when I arrived and still there when I left. H/C shower head broken, sand and dirt in showers, black sock in same place for 5 days in shower area. Black and grey dust on all stall dividers and evidence of no real effort to clean. Add toilet paper and dump trash. Needs to have a GI Party or Field Day and be cleaned from top to bottom. Not a pleasant experience. Have visited for the past 3 years and it was fine. Now with the change over to Inn and Suites from MWR something happened to supervision of the facility. If overflow is to be used at least grade it somewhat smooth. Not pleased in the least about this visit. Hope it returns to what it was 1 or 2 years ago. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 16 thru June 18, 2014

Very noisy from the aircraft. Hearing protection should be required when outside. The grid coordinates would have taken us to the main gait and that would have been a mistake. We called and were instructed to use the South gate because we would not be able to make it through the Main gate.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 16, 2014

New rate for this year is $30.00 a night, so a low rating on value compared to other military facilities. The location is a little bit off the beaten path of I80 which is why I rated the location low. This is basically a gravel parking lot with cement pads. It does have full hook-ups, WiFi etc. The facility was lock up for our stay (Sunday) but it looked well taken care of. The sign on the door describes an overall cutback in the MWR budget as the cause for reduced hours. We came in the South Gate as described in the directions. On a Sunday, it required a call to the guards to come let us in but it was no issue.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

8-11 Aug 2013

R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - We almost didn't come here as the previous reviews weren't all that exciting. We must have missed Wildes Rd, our gps took us farther south to Berney Rd, where we turned left to 120 (Pasture Rd). We missed the South Gate, it's slightly off the road. The Union Lane Gate is closed. However we got in the main gate with no problem and no questions asked. We don't have a vehicle pass on our new truck and tried to get one at Pendleton. They only issue them to people living within 60 miles and as a whole they are being phased out. There is a gravel parking lot across the street from Bldg 393 with plenty of space. Warning: the very nice lady in the office is totally computer illiterate. It took about a half hour to check in with her cursing the computer the entire time. Check in hours are rather odd. On Saturdays you check in with Auto Skills in Bldg 393, or there is a self check in by the laundry room door. I didn't see any list of open sites posted as the sign said but as there were only 3 sites full when we visited it may not be an issue. The campground is definitely spacious. Concrete pads with nothing between but gravel. The first 2 near the restroom bldg have wider pavement and are designated handicapped. There are 6 non-paved sites with only 30 amp fhu near the driving range. Hookups are new and well placed. Wi Fi works great, lots of cable tv stations. The bathrooms and laundry are quite new looking and spotless. $1.00 to wash, $1.00 to dry. The commissary was closed Sun, Mon, and Tues. It's smaller than some but quite adequate, as is the NEX. We thought Fallon was a very nice town, very clean looking with new looking shopping centers along both sides of Hwy 50. A good selection of retail should meet most needs. This is not a destination park but for a rest stop for a couple days it's quite pleasant. Glad we came.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 22, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 19, 2013

Prices now (March 2013) $30 per day, $180 per week. Gasoline cheaper in town.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

12 June 2012

G.C. left this review using the Directory software: - really nice place to stay. the wi-fi works great and tons of cable channels.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

14 June 2012

G.C. left this review using the Directory software: - A nice place to stay for a few days and visit Carson City and Nevada City.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 09, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 2, 2012

i have stayed here in the past and enjoyed the base and the campground. raising the price by almost double really takes away from the experience as there isn't much here. the theater is pretty cool and just installed 3-D, the park has the very best wi fi i have ever seen,the base swimming pool is pretty good. but poor old fallon nevada is just not much more than a wide spot on hwy. 50. then the wind started to blow, it blew for days getting up into the 65 mph range, it was damaging my pop up so i ran over to the exchange to see about renting a room at the navy lodge. the Filipino woman in charge said they were all full, but whoever rented all of them must have been in town gambling as they ever did have any cars parked in front of them. all in all i think we will be passing on fallon in the future. it just ain't worth the price to us anymore.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 30-31, 2012

I stayed here May 30-31. I was shocked that the daily rate had increased from $15.00 to $25.00. I was told that the rates and all the paperwork comes from San Diego. This made the checkin process slow waiting on the computer. I didn't inquire about the weekly or monthly rates. There are no AT&T cell phone towers in the Fallon area. Internet service was excellent. Office opens at 0730 so I turned my keys in at 0830. I saw two employees sitting in the lounge drinking coffee (hopefully the rate increase will cover their salary).

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 24 thru June 30, 2011

L.C. left this review using the Directory software: Stayed a week and a day. No trees in park so Satellite worked well. Lots of channels on the free cable. No picnic tables at any sites. A couple picnic tables on slabs near bath/laundry house. Rest rooms were clean. Quiet park except for a few planes flying during the week. The Price of Freedom!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 02, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

2 June 2011

We were unable to stay here as we were told that there was no space available so decided to stay elsewhere. We did ride by and take a look at the camp and area. We saw at least eight open RV sites when we drove by. The sites are concrete paved sites and look level, they have 30/50 amp, water, sewer and Cable. Bathrooms were locked so didn't get a chance to look inside, but from the appearance of the area around the camp and the baths/laundry, I would say all was quite clean and taken care of. There are NO Trees or bushes or grass around the area, no picnic tables or grills. Basically if you don't bring it with you then you won't have it. The FamCamp is located right next to the airstrip and is really loud during flight ops. The base is about four miles from the town of Fallon in the middle of nowhere. It has a decent commisary and small exchange that is fairly well stocked. There is a Navy Federal Credit Union on base. I am glad they told us they did not have sites available as I would prefer not using this FamCamp unless I really have to. This is not a FamCamp that I would go out of my way to stay and will take a different route to avoid.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

31 May 2008

The "office" has no clue about what they are doing. Was assigned site 9. This is the ONLY site that is laid out where you have to pull into at an awkward angle. It is 90 degrees off every other site for no reason other than to maybe be a managers spot for some reason. The new water access outlets are extreemely awkard to use. They are in ground. You have to lift off the plastic box cover which they cut in half and permenantly mounted half of it to the box. Then because of a heater rod, you can not get to the valve wheel to open the water valve. I have 5 scrapes on my wrist where it was scraped by the permenant cover, while trying to open and close the water valve. Whoever designed this out to be sent out to open and close the valves themselves. Second complaint is the access to the showers / laundry. At check in, they asked what keys we would need. I said men and womens shower and laundry. Was given one key and when I went to use it, it would only open the womens and laundry. The office was closed by this time, and no sign of a camp host was anywhere. There is a connection in the pedistal for telephone and cable, however neither work. The office said that they do not have a cable company contract, and did not know anything about the phone.
Asked where on base we could get a sit down meal and their best guess was the bowling alley. They didn't know if any of the clubs offered meals. Asked for a base map or campground info sheet and was told they are on the wall in the office. Overall, this is a clean and open CG and has great possibilities with the free laundry and cleaan showers. If they had a decent operation person and fixed the water concern it could be top rated. If they had a camp host to do the check in, or had someone to run the place that knew what they were doing it could sure make for a better experience. This is our third time to Fallon over the years, and it really does not seem to improve any.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 2-10, 2007

Nice place to base out of for day trips. Park was littered with cigarette butts and dog droppings. Contacted the host and asked him to remedy the dog gifts, saw no action. Close to base facilites. Six sites were down water hydrants broken. Also has six sites near the driving range which are 30 amp. The new park has 26 sites the which gives them a total of 32 sites not 29.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 2006

New Walmart is open (on US 50, West end of Fallon).

Was this review helpful to you? 
15 results - showing 1 - 15