Fallon RV Park

Featured New
 
3.7 (48)
42334   0   9   0   9

User reviews

20 reviews with 4 stars

48 reviews

 
(9)
 
(20)
 
(16)
 
(2)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
 
3.3  (48)
 
3.6  (48)
 
3.7  (48)
 
3.7  (48)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
20 results - showing 1 - 20  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

9-12 June 2017

Nice military RV park, overall but the $30 rate is overpriced compared to other locations. We made reservations 13 Jan 2017 and we were quoted $25 rate but was $30 upon check-in. 30/50 amp full hookup on new 50 ft concrete pads. Everything else is gravel. There is plenty of adjacent gravel area between sites to park your toad or towing vehicle. There is a very nice laundry facility co-located with the men's and women's latrine/shower. Wash (two machines) is $1.00 and dry (two machines) is $1.00. No picnic tables at each site bit there is a central picnic barbecue area next to the laundry/shower building. There is a pet area on the north side of the RV park but no grass, so your pet needs to have a sense of humor! Unfortunately it seems that many residence were homesteading with permanent decks, residential propane tanks, junk laying around, etc. Many do not heed the dog leash rules and several occasions of large dogs running around our site. If there is a camp host they never made themselves known. Amenities are good as others have mentioned. We were very impressed with the NEX and Commissary as they looked fairly new. Although both are a little small they are very well stocked. There is no Class Six, alcohol is in the NEX. Movie theatre right across the street. Bowling alley a block away and they deliver pizzas and other items. Security Forces routinely drove by. Jet noise is prevalent, but reminds us of how lucky we are! Overall was a good stay. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 17, 2017

Has all the basics you need with electric (30/50 amp), water, and sewer. Great concrete pads with gravel stones all over the park around the concrete pads. They have laundry, shower and bathrooms if needed at the park. Across the street is the movie theater with new movies that are out showing that is free. Behind the RV park is a golf driving range. The base has all the facilities that a military has available, gym/fitness center, indoor pool, etc. The main gate has a high security gate so if you are a big rig use the South gate on the southern far end of the base. Easier access. Also you check in at the main BEQ check in vice Bldg. 393 as it says on the web site. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 2015

We found Fallon NAS an excellent camping option for military and DoD affiliates. From concrete pads with FHU, to excellent WiFi, this campground has it all - except shade. That said, campers must appreciate the "sound of freedom" aka aircraft takeoff noise. To us - music to our ears. There is a large stand alone restroom/shower/laundry building with key access. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Definitely will stay here again but not in blazing summer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 28, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 2012

OK place, a little overpriced $25.00. The weeds were pretty bad in the rv park. WIFI good, Laundry good, Overall an OK place to stay over nite. We could not get thru the main gate with a rv had to use the far gate about 2 miles away. If you need a sticker for the windshield you need to go to the bldg. outside of the main gate before entering the base. (There is a small parking no place to park a rv).

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 08, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 30-Sept 30, 2011

The monthly rate is $360. The free movie theater across the street from the rv park, and the free 70+ cable tv and free wifi at the park makes up for being way out here in the middle of nowhere. I was sad to learn that the other great thing about this park, the free washers and dryers, are no more. They died last summer and were replaced with pay-type commercial ones. They aren't the tiny ones you find in private rv parks, they are pretty big for that type, and at $1.00 each, a deal considering what could have been put in. I love watching the jets take off, especially at night when you can see the flames coming out the tail - a great air show every day! This is not a "destination resort", you have to want to come here, but it's a nice place to hang out while my husband and I wait for Yuma AZ to cool down to livable winter temperatures.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2, 2011

C.T. left this review using the Directory software: This is a nice small campground with big spaces, good wifi, cell phone and air card service. The facilities look new. The commissary is closed on Sunday and Monday. You will probably need to make reservations or call before you come to make sure they have space.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 13, 2010

We are at Fallon NAS as I type. $15 per day, or $90 per week. Large concrete pads, all are pull through. 50 amp FHU, cable TV with a tremendous number of channels. Free laundry (need a key from MWR or camp host, drop key in lock box before departure). Three working high speed wifi connections available. Verizon air card and cell phone reception is good. Great deal for a famcamp.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 22, 2009

We stopped by for only 1 night, but wished we could have stayed a week or two. VERY relaxing there. This campground is only a couple years old and still looks new. Staff was friendly and helpful, campground was very clean, showers and bathrooms were very clean and the price is perfect! Cable TV is now available at all of the sites. WiFi is available at the laundry room (tables outside to sit at) and they are working to get the WiFi signal at the sites. Unfortunately, higher HQ is forcing them to raise the rates once WiFi is operational at the sites. Hopefully, they will remain good. Military Campgrounds are a BENEFIT and the pricing should reflect this, as it does here. Fallon NAS is sort of away from everything. If in this area, we'll be back for sure!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

29 June 2009 to ??

You no longer have to use the back gate to get into the base. WIFI is available but I understand that you have to go over to the laundry to get it. We have Verizon air card so don't use WIFI unless it is readily available in the rig. I only rated as it won't let me post unless I do, as I believe ratings are very subjective. What is 5 stars to you might only be one to me.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 2009

Just to let you know that as of Mid June the famcamp at Fallon NAS offers Cable TV and Wi-Fi. If only they had some trees in the park ......

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb 12-18, 2009

As stated before, this is in the middle of nowhere. However it is only 6 miles to town and some decent shopping. The park is a field filled with crushed rock. Each site is a nice level concrete pad with w/s/e hookup. There is an area near the bath house that has a picnic table and two double grills. Laundry is free and all machines were work well. The laundry room and bathroom were very clean. This time of year, not many people here. At $77 a week, it is a good deal. People at checkin were friendly and helpful. At check in, you are given keys to the bath facilities and laundry room. There is a drop box in the laundry room to leave the keys when you leave the park. Noise level was not that bad. A few flights, but not that many. It is a park I would stay at again if I were in the area. Again, no one flying the colors. I think it is sad that we don't see that more at military campgrounds. Verizon wireless not perfect, but worked well most of the time. Same for wireless broadband for computer. It does get cold here overnight. The surrounding mountains are some of the best I have seen. Mostly snow capped right now. Very beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 20, 2008

We called before the office closed, but arrived after the staff had gone home for the day. Unfortunately the showers/laundry don't use a cipher lock, but require a key instead and the person I talked to didn't reveal that fact so we had to trouble our fellow campers to borrow a key when we needed to use the bathroom or shower. NAS Fallon is out in the boonies, but the personnel were friendly and helpful--we had another person along who we put up in the Navy Lodge.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 14-19, 2007

Can hardly beat $13/night for full hookups and free laundry! However, only the actual pads are concrete, the ENTIRE rest of the park is gravel; not condusive to bikes or scooters. Although the Top Gun trainees are flying constantly, it's a quiet area otherwise. There is recycling in the CG, and some organic at the commissary. There is no playground near, but within 2-3 minutes driving are: a free pool, great covered play area, go-carts ($10 for 20 mins) and batting cages. Nice stop-over before heading into California (land of high-fees). There are no picnic tables or grills/fire rings. And, the park will be closing next week due to a burst water line. CALL BEFORE COMING IN!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

1 July 2007

The host is a retired Navy Command Master Chief and very interested in your camping experience to be excellent. The sites are very flat concrete pads. The laundry is free as well as the base movie. The Exchange as well as the comissary are closed on Sunday and Monday. It is a small base with limited facilities but very friendly people. A few of the pads don't have water because of faucet failures. Like the description notes you CANNOT use the main gate to enter or leave. The South gate is the only option. Lee Parmeter (losone)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 3 - 10, 2007

Fallon NAS, home of the Top Guns Directions: At the junction of Hwy 95 and Hwy 50, continue south on Hwy 95 which is Taylor Street (There is a Jack in the Box fast food sign on the corner). Go several miles on Taylor Street to Wildes (There will be a Fairgrounds on the right side on Taylor Street) turn to the left. (This road looks unlikely but it is the road you want) Right after you turn left there will be somewhat of a fork. Bear right. Continue on Wildes until you see the beginning of the fence perimeter for the base. Turn right. This will be Pasture Road. (This road also looks to be unlikely.) Go past the main gate and continue on to the South Gate. Turn left off Pasture Road to enter the gate. After going through the gate take THE FIRST LEFT immediately after the gate. Then take the very next left and follow this road around base housing. Go through the first 4 way stop and the campground is two blocks ahead on the left. Look for the netted driving range and you will see the campground. When this campground (Coyote Junction) was laid out, just two years ago, it was laid out backwards (IMHO). The hookups are located so as the windshield is facing Southwest. In the afternoon when one would want to sit outside under the awning, the sun is hitting the awning side broadside out of the West. In order to sit in the shade, one has to sit on the sewer side. The whole park is pea-gravel with beautiful long level pull-thru concrete slabs for the RV to sit on. The pads are just wide enough for the RV with no patio. Large wide sites with plenty of room for slides and awnings. (Be careful about leaving RV with awning out as the desert winds kick up at anytime). There are no actual streets in the park, just pea-gravel areas down a line of RV's. Good maneuvering room for big rigs. There are no trees for shade, shrubs or grass. The contractor that installed the water system has had 8 sites that failed due to freezing and pipes bursting. They want $45,000 to fix it so of the 25 sites (per campground host), 8 are no water but with 30/50 amp electric and sewer for $10 per night. The other 17 sites (minus the #1 host's site) are full hookup for $13 per night or $77 per week, $300 per month. The old campground is used for overflow but has only 30 amp. If necessary a water hose can be hooked up to a 'Y' fitting to accommodate the sites that don't have water. The water has some sediment in it so be sure to filter your water and maybe think about bottled water for drinking. There is no CATV at this time. There is a dump station and several dumpsters along with re-cycle bins. They DO take reservations so check in at the recreation rental building (across the street in building # 393 where you will see the rental trailers, etc. Hours: M-F 0800-1700, SA 0800-1600 closed SU Phone 426-2598) If after operating hours check with the camp host on site #1 before sitting up so as to be certain you are not on a reserved site. Also, be sure to check if you have a water site if needed. The park is less than 1/2 full at this time in July. The laundry is free, new and clean as are the restrooms! A key from Outdoor Rec is required for the laundry and the bathrooms. You are allowed to wash your vehicles on site. No clotheslines allowed. Satellite is good, Verizon is on extended network and Verizon broadband is on roaming. Although the park is pet friendly, unless you can carry your pet to the designated walking area at the north end of the park, they will have to walk across very hot gravel. The commissary is somewhat small compared to larger bases but very adequate and nearby, as is the NEX. Also ITT/Library/Internet Cafe, the gas station (no diesel) the bowling alley, free theater, Hot Stuff Pizza, the gym and weight room are all within walking distance. Turn to the right out of the park and then turn left at the stop sign. Down this street is where you will find everything. Follow the street down to where it curves to the right. Turn right at the stop sign and you will see the commissary and NEX and Subway located in the same building. There is a swimming pool on base. The car wash is right across from the campground but is currently broke and it sounds like it has been broken for a long time. A short drive brings you to the base outdoor air museum. Even though the flightline is close by the campground, we seldom heard planes, at least on this visit. We were told when a carrier is in (California) and the planes are off-loaded, the planes run day and night. Nine miles from the base is the town of Fallon, population 8,299, and it has everything one would need including a hospital and a brand new super Wal-Mart. ACE Hardware has a pretty good supply of RV articles. We were surprised at the size of the town. When you come here, remember it is desert camping and in the summer during the afternoons, it does get HOT, (106 degrees today, July 4th.) The nights are very cool and the mornings are wonderfully cool. There are no picnic tables at this time so if you have a portable table, bring it. No bar-b-que grills on site but there are two over by the laundry room. No fire rings. Virginia City, Carson City, the Reno area (all around 60 or so miles) are good day trips from the base.
The campground host, 'Red', is from south Georgia and goes out of his way to show his Southern hospitality. Very friendly, helpful and informative. He immediately welcomed us as we pulled our rig into the park. His wife, PJ, came over to the motorhome and told us if we needed anything, to not hesitate and ask. Very nice people. We would stay here again but I don't think in the summer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 23-28, 2007

We previewed this facility and, after selecting a site (#2 - an end unit sharing the water faucet with nice people on Site #3), we were able to make reservations to arrive the following day. Some sites had their water faucets taped off pending repairs but we were told they were being fixed one at a time (one reason why we had to attach a y-coupler to our neighbor's faucet). In this newer park, all pull-thru sites have wide, long paved pads; to date, there's no landscaping but great potential around the perimeter. No trees thus no problems for spouse getting his DISH satellite signal but our Verizon cell phone was on extended service & I couldn't get Broadband access (my issues, not campground's). Clean, new laundry room; plenty of paperback books to swap. Friendly on-site Camp Host who gave us a heads-up the Base Library was closing down its operation and giving away hardback books. I was happy to relieve them of three. All-in-all, a decent place for the price and one we'd return to. Much preferred our own directions: coming from the South (or North) on Hwy 95 turn East on Berney Lane (AKA Hwy 119). Berney goes straight to the South Gate (truck/RV entrance); after pulling thru gate take an immediate left, then another left at the intersection. Follow winding road (parallels a handy paved walking/biking path) until a major fork in the road with a Stop Sign. Go thru that stop and keep going straight. You should be able to spot the RVs parking area down the road on the left. When you get to the intersection with those RVs off to the left, turn left then turn right into the campground. There's a spacious area for parking RVs next to the bathhouse while you check which sites are available. Once you know which sites are not yet occupied, go over to the MWR Dept. in Bldg. 393 about a block away. Price is a reasonable $13/day or $77/wk.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

17 April 2007

RV Park is easy to get to and spaces are easy to pull into. All spaces are pull-thrus, 50/30/20 Amp services and Cable TV (Did not connect so don't know how many stations you get). Staff was very friendly and helpfull, however they were out of base maps, and did not have an RV Park broucher. Laundry was very clean and FREE, however you need to get the key from the office when they are open. I was told that if we get in after the office closes to see the C/G host, however there was no sign or info who or where he was. The base has a decent Commissary and Exchange to replenish your rig for the next leg of your journey. It was EXTREEMLY WINDY the day we were there and did not get a chance to meet any other campers. The Officers club has a functioning diner for evening meals but the menu is mostly burgers and sandwiches. No food at the CPO club, but the enlisted club has a couple of fast food restaurants inside. There was no clubhouse to get books, info, TV, WIFI, or other ammenities. It would be nice if the restrooms/showers and laundry rooms had access without having to get a key from MWR. A punch code would workout great. I gave it top marks for Cleanlines/Hospitality and Value. Lower marks for Amenities because no WIFI or Clubhouse, Overall Experience was very pleasant. This is a good spot for a couple of days to get caught up on your laundry, shopping, and a decent rest.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec 2006

(No comments)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jun 2006

Good campground for basing out of for day trips to Reno/Carson City/Virginia City/Tahoe Lake/Pyramid Lake/ etc. Pull in, find a site and then go check in at Bldg 393. Famcamp is near active flightline and the sound of freedom rings out through the day here. This park is big rig (40'+) friendly. If you don't enjoy aircraft you might want to reconsider this famcamp. We would stay here again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2006

The laundry is free. The rv park is very clean. A short walk to the NEX, Commisary, and Liberty, where they have quite a few computers for checking email. CPO Club is very nice and friendly. Be sure to pick up a base map in Bldg. 393 (equipment rental bldg).

Was this review helpful to you? 
20 results - showing 1 - 20