Earle Deer Run RV Park

 
4.2 (36)
32482   0   9   0   14

User reviews

Filters 14 reviews with 4 stars

36 reviews

 
(17)
 
(14)
 
(4)
2 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.3  (36)
 
3.5  (36)
 
4.1  (36)
 
4.3  (36)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
14 results - showing 1 - 14  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

September 1-14, 2016

We stayed here for two weeks, including over Labor Day, and were pleasantly surprised by the experience. Upon arrival at the gate, we were given a welcome packet with our site number and information on where the office is to check in after setting up. When you arrive, you will pull in through a large building which is the ID check. Stay in the right lane, since the left is for commercial deliveries. The sites are long and paved and very easy to back into, but the connections are not placed in the best spots. The power pedestal is located at the back of the pad, and was a stretch for the length of our cable, so check your power cable before you park. The sewer connection is the worst I've ever seen, it is located in the middle of the pad right under where our axels were. I had to crawl under the axels to connect the sewer, and had to remove part of the piping from the plug because it was sticking up four inches high. That aside, everything else was great. It was quiet and you have enough room to not be on top of your neighbors. Although we did have an issue with one neighbor who had guests over and blocked our parking access, so I had to go ask them to move, even though they were sitting outside and watched us pull up and still did nothing until I asked. The utilities worked well, no cable TV, but over the air channels were fine and wifi is standard Navy GoWifi. The laundry room has three washers and dryers and all worked well. It was perfectly located to visit our family and be able to catch the train to NYC. There is no commissary on base, but a Super Walmart is about 10 minutes away, and I recommend visiting Delicious Orchards just up 34 for great baked goods, fruits, vegetables and deli meat. The base is small, but we still had plenty of areas to walk our dogs without worrying about traffic. Aside from the connection locations, it is a very nice campground and we would definitely return. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 3, 4 and 12, 2014

Everyone from the security force to the exchange staff is polite and professional. Campground is well maintained. Between are visit the water connections were upgraded. New contact is Chris.Mason@navy.mil. He is very accommodating to our changing schedule. We use this as a stop over on our way to/from Assateague National Seashore. This trip the bathroom ran out of TP on Columbus Day weekend.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 28, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 6, 2012

Just an update. Still a great place to camp if visiting NY city. But the rates have gone up this year, 2013, to 25.00 a nite. Not worth the increase. Has gone up 15.00 over the last 6 years. They say to cover the cost of electric they need higher rates. What a lame excuse.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 01, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

26-30 Sep 2012

We stayed at Earle for four days. Muriel is a gem and worked with us when we wanted to move to a different site.! When pulling into the park watch for the trees on your right (near the bathhouse/laundry). The limbs need to be trimmed. Sites 1-4 and 8 might be iffy for satellite reception if you have a rooftop system. No Wifi. We didn't use any of the facilities but they were very clean and well maintained. Need your towed or truck serviced? Check out the Auto Hobby Shop. I provided the oil, filter and fuel filter and Less did the work for $25. Not a bad deal and he did a fantastic job. Open Wed, Fri, Sat & Sun. Our site was #5 and the sewer connection was right in the middle of the pad. A little awkward but doable. We will return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 25, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

21-25 August 2012

We used our visit to Earl as a base to visit New York City. We had site #3 which was very level, spacious, had concrete pad, large area in the front of the site so it was very easy to back into and we had full hookups. The park is very well maintained. We did not use the restrooms or laundry so cannot comment on those facilities. There were some trees to the rear of our campsite so we could not use our roof mounted satellite. However, there were probably several other sites where you would be able to use your roof mounted satellite. We were able to get in most of the major networks on our antennae. Our Verizon cell signal was excellent. One of the very best features is the wifi. The signal was strong and fast. Whenever we contacted Muriel, the manager, she was always extremely helpful. Also, the base has many deer and they are very visible especially at dawn and dusk. A very nice campground and we would definitely return if we are back in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 29 2012 to May 6 2012

Muriel is a great manager and will do everything in her power to see that visitors have a wonderful time. The wifi was installed while we were there and is working very well.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

2-9 April 2012

D.W. left this review using the Directory software: - Muriel is great. Showers and laundry exceptionally clean. FREE WIFI should be installed NLT 30 May 2012. Great place to stay within travel distance to NYC, NJ beaches and even Atlantic city casinos.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Aug 11 - 25, 2010

This was our first visit and other than grocery stores not being convenient except for a high priced one north on 34, we have very positive thoughts. Muriel is a jewel and very helpful..always accessible by phone or in the office. The laundry was most efficient and never had to wait. Our first site #8 did not give us satellite access so Muriel changed us to site #16 which worked great. One big plus for us since we have a dog and wanted to do touring was having access to several great dog sitters. This worked out great for us and had no problem giving them key so they could come and walk Destiny during the day. Wish all bases had this service. We would definitely return. The park is quiet and easily accessible.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sept 2-6, 2009

"C" left this review using the Directory software: This is a good location to visit nearby Atlantic City, the NJ Coastline, Trenton and numerous historical sites. Nearby Colts Neck has a wonderful fruit and vegetable market (Delicious Orchards). No laundry available on site. Sites are spacious and quiet. Some new sites were being built but not yet ready for use.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 10, 2009)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 2 to August 16 2009

We're presently staying at NWS Earle in a motorhome. We are grateful that the base skipper and MWR staff offer this facility to the active and retired community. It's not the nicest or the cheapest military campground we've stayed at but given the area and the fact that other area military installations don't offer campgrounds, it is a jewel. Everything others have said in previous reviews is accurate and helped us prepare for our visit. The sewer hookups being in a strange place were the most notable. We arrived during a monsoon and crawling under the motorhome to make the sewer connection was, well interesting. They put in 9 new sites as previously mentioned and I think they’re waiting for the new grass to take hold before they start using them. There is a new bathhouse and laundry. Gate guards, security personnel and everyone we’ve met have been professional, squared away and helpful. The base skipper can be proud of his people. While some bases have a small army of host campers, Earle doesn’t appear to have any. If I was asked to make a constructive comment, a host camper might be a positive addition as a source of information and to do light site maintenance. The grass is presently high and in need of cutting, possibly due to the unusual amount of rain the northeast has received this summer. The office said they’re at the mercy of the base grass cutting crew. There are a number of empty spots right now so if you’re traveling in this area, stop in and enjoy this campground, but save a spot for me. We’ll be back. Thank you Earle for a great recreation facility. Bob, USN, Ret

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Two weeks in Sept 08, one week in Oct 08

A.w. left this review using the Directory software: At first, it may seem like you in the middle of nowhere, but in reality you are 20 minutes from 2 malls, Ft. Monmouth (closing) and Freehold Harness Racing. The campground laundromat and showers are now working. Seven new sites coming on line next year. The error regarding sewer hookup comes from the original use of the area for single wide trailer homes. That error has been carried through to the newer sites as well. Either bring a hose extender or just move your rig to dump when needed. (Note: site 2 has a second sewer outlet in the right place).

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 6 - 14, 2008

Yes, the hookups are in strange places, but not so bad it can't be done. The pads are narrow (but level) and the E boxes/W faucets can get in the way of slides, and if you opt to be close to the W/E, plan to crawl under the RV to hookup sewer, as they are in the center of the pads. There is enough length to back to the edge of the drain, then the hoses and cords all need to be longer. It's very quiet here, but the playground is too far to let little ones off on their own. But, for preteens the skate park and playground are only a short walk away. Ask the MWR office about laundry, as the old housing area still has a launderette (with no AC), but during dity hours you can stay on base and do it there. No commissary on Earle, and the shoppette in only open M-Sa 10-1700. We went to Ft.Monmoth (Go out Earle Main gate take a rt., at first light another rt, go two more lights - passing a highschool - take a lt on Tinton. This road curves around some scenic horse farms and takes you right to Monmoth's main gate). I liked the closeness to NY and Liberty State Park (NJ side), and Arlene in the office was VERY helpful. No recycling on either base.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

8-14 June 2007

This campground is the old Base trailer park with some improvements, like new power boxes but as usual is layout wrong. The sewer connection is in the middle of the pads but they could not change that since to hard to do. The water and power boxes are not always correct so be sure to look over the site before fully setting up. OH yes we have a fifth wheel so that may make a differance. Site three is not the right slope so can NOT back up into the site. There are 12 total sites two of which have stowed campers on them since the people are gone. THIS IS NOT RIGHT AND WE ARE SEEING THIS AND FULL TIME MILITARY LIVING IN THE CAMPGROUNDS. I will continue to fight this battle. I brought this to attention of the staff, who seemed unconcerned. A good place to visit and the New Jersey costal rail system lets you ride for free into New York city and if you park at Little Silver lot after 0900 they will not charge you for parking. I used to be stationed here many years ago and did live in the trailer park at that time. Hope all this helps some what. Jackie and Mel Norris "The Land Cruisers from Mossy Oaks"

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2006

We really enjoyed this campground, which is a converted mobile home park. The utilities are in very strange places as a result. If you want to use the 50 amp service, be sure to bring a long 50 amp cord as the electricity connection is at the end of the pad. Also, bring a long sewer hose and be prepared to crawl under your RV to connect it. We were told that the utilities would be moved soon to a more standard location. On the plus side, the pads are concrete and HUGE! There are no showers, bathrooms or laundry rooms in the campground, so plan accordingly. (Showers are available at the gym locker room, but bring some flip flops as it doesn't appear that the showers are cleaned often.) There is a laundry facility on base available Monday-Friday only-- see MWR for details. The campground itself is beautiful, located in a wooded area with lots of shade. The gym is a short walk and is first-rate (with the exception of the locker room-- see comment above.) There is a playground and very nice skateboard park if you have children/grandchildren with you. Darlene at MWR (who is the POC for the campground) is wonderful and friendly. She gave us maps, made restaurant recommendations, and was in general very helpful. The MWR office is co-located with the gym, internet cafe and mini-shopette (a 3-minute walk from the campground). There is a nice selection of DVDs for rent and a small library. The part of the base where the campground is located is very small-- no Commissary, BX, post office, etc. (The working part of the base is located at the dock several miles away.) We often felt like we were in a Stephen King novel as we walked through the deserted base. The chapel is no longer in use, so don't let the posted service times (on yellowed paper) fool you. There is an Army post nearby (about 15-20 minute drive with BX, Commissary, etc.) The primary reason we stayed here was to explore New York City. The train station is an easy 10-15 minute drive (Little Silver station), and we spent only $4.75 per person (one-way, military or senior rate) to travel straight to Penn Station on Manhattan Island (close to the Empire State Building). The trip takes about an hour. You can also take a ferry to Manhattan--the ferry service also offers a military discount, but it's a little pricier than the train. The town of Colt's Neck (outside the base) is charming. The Orchard store has the most wonderful produce and bakery. There is a NASCAR race track nearby and a horse racing track (we did not visit either). The highlight of our trip was exploring the Jersey shore in Point Pleasant (30 minute drive) where we walked the boardwalk, rode the rides and ate saltwater taffy. As an alternative to the RV park, you might consider the houses for rent on base. We didn't see them, but were told by several people that they're extremely nice. The price is determined by rank/pay, but considering the proximity to New York, it would be a very econoimical vacation for a family. One thing we did find irritating was the permanent residents-- active duty couples/families taking up 5 of the 8 available sites. We were told that they would be moved to sites across the road that are currently under construction so that all 8 spots will be available by the end of Summer 2006. We will definitely stay at this quiet, peaceful campground again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
14 results - showing 1 - 14