Earle Deer Run RV Park

 
4.2 (39)
35518   0   9   0   15

User reviews

18 reviews with 5 stars

39 reviews

 
(18)
 
(16)
 
(4)
2 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.2  (39)
 
3.5  (39)
 
4.2  (39)
 
4.3  (39)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
18 results - showing 1 - 18  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

17 - 28 June 2017

17 – 28 June 2017, Earle Deer Run RV Park, Navy Weapons Station, Colts Neck, NJ I could not find a good GPS street address for the post. I used 201 Hwy 34S, Colts Neck, NJ. That address is North of Hwy 18, the post is South of Hwy 18. From Hwy 18 go South on State Route 34S about one half of a mile, the post will be on your left. The main gate is as described in other comments, a large structure to drive thru (either left or right side as directed). After you pass that structure a small gatehouse will have a packet for you with your site assignment if you arrive after duty hours. After you pass the gatehouse turn right on the second street (T-1 Road). There are two separate RV parking areas, for sites 9 – 15 turn right on the first small gravel road (by the fire hydrant). The road is pretty rough, lots of pot holes. All sites are back in with a tree line in front of each pad. I was in site #11 and had no problem parking with RVs occupying sites 10 and 12. The sewer connections for these sites are off of the pad on the opposite side of the electric and water connections. I had to buy an extension for my sewer hose. The water connection is really close to the ground as previously stated. Hard to use a “Y” connection. Sites 1 – 8 require you to drive to the end of T-1 Rd, turn right and then left and then right into the parking area. This is a circular park with some of the pads elevated slightly. The sewer connections for these sites are in the middle of the cement pad near the rear. The laundry facility was clean, $175 for a wash, $125 to dry. No book exchange, in fact they discourage anything being left in the laundry facility. The post is well maintained and landscaped. We had a small heard of deer outside of our coach every night. Very small but well stocked NEX, nice gym and workout area. Very friendly and professional staff from the gate guards to the lodging facility staff. We drove the jeep to NYC and spent a couple of nights there to catch a couple of Broadway shows. The ride took us about an hour and a half. Close to the shore and Jersey Beaches, lots of great restaurants and a Super Walmart close by. We will return to this park in the future, we had a great time. Amenities/Facilities rating was a four because of the sewer and water connections. We have a 45’ coach and we tow a Jeep Wrangler 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

September 9-14 2016

We really enjoyed our stay. Nice, quiet park conveniently located between NYC and Philly. Lots to visit in the area. Not much on the base, but not too far to the nearest stores. When you enter the base, be sure to take the second right. Ask if you should take the first or second road into the park. They dead end and it could be an issue if you are longer. We read in other reviews about the weird hookups and they are right. We found out that it used to be trailer park that was converted into an RV park. Be sure to have extra sewer hose and make sure that your electric will reach before you start setting up. Office staff is very helpful and are located off site at the gym, mwr, small store building. Sites are very long and accommodated our 69' rig and we still had plenty of room for our car. I recommend Purr'n Pooch if you want to board your pets. It's a luxury hotel for pets. We used them when we went to NYC. The train station is just a few miles from there. It was very convenient. Be sure to visit Sandy Hook area. Recommend eating at Bahr's Seafood Restaurant. We will be staying here again when we are in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

21 Jun - 6 Jul 2016

This was our first visit to this FamCamp. Small (15 sites total) and quiet. Unlike most of the military campgrounds we have visited, this one appears to actually be a campground and not a trailer park. They apparently enforce length of stay policies. Only one camper appeared to have been here a while - no homesteaders. The reservation process was seamless. NWS Earle is well marked and access was easy. Bear left after coming in the gate and loop around and through the inspection building. We arrived after hours and our packet was at security office past the main gate inspection station. You will be handed your packet without having to exit your vehicle. The pads are level and paved with a paved extension for the picnic table. Sites are FHU but beware when siting your rig that the connections are in weird locations. Get out and have a look before you start backing. - Our power connection was at the very back of the concrete pad. Make sure when you site your rig so your cord will reach. - The sewer connection was in the center of the concrete pad about 15 ft from the back of the pad. I ended up climbing under our RV to make the connection. - The water connection was on the left side as usual but the spigot was very close to the ground. Water tasted and smelled fine. - The cable TV connection which is on the side of the electrical box was inoperative. When I asked the office they were not even aware there was one. - WiFi signal strength was good with reasonable speed. The system requires you re-log in periodically, but that just keeps the system fresh. As mentioned in other reviews, there is no commissary but they have a well-stocked NEX with many Navy souvenirs and uniform items; basic food items and alcohol. We had to travel a ways to find the nearest grocery store or Walmart, so plan accordingly. Swimming pool looked nice but we have not used (yet). The laundry facility also houses the latrines and showers with a pushbutton lock on the doors. Three washers ($1.75) and three dryers ($1.25). No change machine so bring a roll of quarters. Everyone we dealt with here from reservations to arrival have been very pleasant and very helpful. Overall we are very happy with this FamCamp and would definitely return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 13, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 11-12, 2015

This FamCamp was a pleasant surprise. Level concrete pads with FHU. Sewer connection was a bit odd; middle of the rear end of the concrete parking pad. There was a second sewer on the side which we used. We made our reservation on line and it worked well. We extended one day by calling Chris at the number given. Chris had a packet of information waiting for us at Security, just after passing through the gate. No commissary but essentials can be bought at the NEX. The fitness center is first class. We extended a day just to take advantage of that facility. WiFi was OK. Picnic table and grill at each site. Only four or five sites were occupied. Overall a great experience.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

29 May - 9 June 2014

This was our first visit to this location. It is a great base camp location for visiting NYC. And, it is a great place to shake off the stress after visiting NYC. Not much to do on base. There is a small shopette that has minimal groceries. Co-located with the shoppette is a snack bar with burgers and such. Reasonable price, good food. Open for breakfast and lunch only. Lots of deer running around. Sites are very good and level. Sewer hookup is not an issue. Just do not back in so far. Location is close to the Highlands Ferry into the city. We used it round trip for two ($80). Next time we will try a train or bus. Showers lacked sufficient water pressure, so we used coach shower. Showers/laundry were clean and in good order. Book exchange in laundry room. We were told that tics were a problem. We did not have that problem. It may be associated with those with pets. Price of $25/night might be a little high for a military base with the same amenities, but compared to everything else in the area, this is surely a bargain. Overall, a great place to stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 22, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 31-Jun 15 & Aug 21-28, 2012

We chose to camp at Earle because it was a good location to look up blood relatives and seek information about my pre-adoption life, visit the places where I grew up, and to do some sightseeing in NYC and NJ. Upon our arrival, Muriel met us at the gate, gave us our campground packet, and showed us to our site. She answered many questions, provided us useful information about the area, and even helped us when our cell phone was destroyed. NWS Earle, and all RVers that stay here, are very fortunate to have Muriel as our RV Park Manager. She is the best. The sites are very nice, quiet, and well maintained. The bath houses, laundry room were in good order and very clean. Wifi worked very well too. Our first stay had to be cut short due to a family emergency. So we came back to our same site (#4) to finish our business and do our sightseeing. We stayed a total of 24 days and enjoyed every minute here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 28, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 18-29, 2012

I agree with all comments in the previous review. This military campground is a gem mainly because the other military campgrounds in New Jersey have issues. For us it's perfectly positioned to visit family. The campground manager, Muriel goes out of her way to assist. It's an annual stop for us and I'd like to say thank you to the campground manager, the base CO and MWR Director and I hope they continue to support the campground. I think recently some sites were lost to construction of some other facility but there is land to replace and even increase the number os camping sites. The laundry and restrooms are above average. I also think they should try and keep a few sites open year round and see if there is any winter demand for them. It's easy money for MWR.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

22-26 June 2012

This was our first visit to Earl. We hope to visit again as this was one of the really good ones. Great place, nice sites, and the best manager ever.....Muriel. Even though she was leaving the next day on a vacation for herself and much earned I'm sure, she was able to provide us with a multitude of info and suggestions that kept us busy the entire time. V/R BL and CL

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 14, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

2 October and 8 October 2011

I agree with all the previous comments regarding Muriel, she is absolutely fabulous. We stayed at NWS on each leg of our journey from Ct to Md and back. The bathhouse / laundry facility is spotless. The base itself has limited services (no gas station etc.) but if you know this it is not an issue. Since our stays consisted of an arrival time of around 1600 and a 0800 departure the next morning we opted to eat on town and Perkins - about a 1 mile north on 34 is fabulous. We were so impressed with the facility we plan on planning a trip there to check out the Colts Neck area. Having served with the Subbase NLON Police Dept. I also agree the MA / DoD Police Force is highly professional - courteous and polite - and stone-cold serious.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 01, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

29 April - 1 May 2011

We opted for Earle NWS as a launchpad for a day trip to NYC. Lots of options for getting into the Big Apple from there. Our 41' 5ver fit the park's big rig spaces with lots of room to spare. The spaces have a LOT of room to spread out, probably 35' wide and 100' deep with concrete pads, picic table and lots of grass. The restrooms and facilities were spotless. The person who manages the campground is a gem. Ms. Muriel Smith is without a doubt the reason Earle NWS has such a terrific RV park. She will do anything she can to make you stay pleasant. I'd stay there again just because she's the person that makes the arrangements. I didn't ask about the Earle NWS mission, but the sailors there are VERY serious and professional about security. Ms. Muriel had a packet waiting for us at the gate, which we got to enter only after producing TV and Trailer registration, proof of insurance, drivers license, and waiting for the security detail to search our vehicle and RV. All that even with a current DoD decal on the windshield. They were impressive. We felt quite secure at the campground. The only drawback I found was the placement of the sewer connection. It's right in the middle of the concrete pad where you park. On our rig, it was directly under the trailer about two feet behind the rear axle. Since our stay was short we opted not to dump there simply because I didn't want to crawl under the trailer to deal with it. Another quirk was the electrical hook up was on the opposite side of the site from where it should haave been. It wasnt' a problem reaching it with the 50A power cord, but it was strange having to go under the RV with it. All 5 of the sites we looked at were set up this way. Overall a great place to stay, short or long term.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 05, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 23 - Nov 4, 2010

I've read a few questionable comments about the facilities at Earle, however, I have absolutely none. Yes, the sites could have the sewer hookup where they should be, but they are no problem. The greatest thing about Earle is the wonderful person that oversees the place. Her name is Muriel Smith and she is an absolute jewel. She knows camping because she full-timed it for over ten years herself. She consistently goes out or her way to make each and every camper feel at home and keeps everyone up to date on what is happening in the area. I was retiring from McGuire AFB, and needed to spend an extended stay due to the earlier than planned sale of my home. As long as I didn't displace another camper, Muriel allowed me to stay as long as was required. She always came by to check on us to see if we needed anything and even assisted us in getting a deal on the auto-train to Florida to reposition one of our vehicles. She’s a great lady, fantastic campground manager, and now a trusted friend. As far as the famcamp goes, Earle offers full concrete pads and patios, great walking and jogging trails, a nice pool in the summer, and a nice little Navy exchange for the basic necessities (beer, wine, food items etc.) Their gym and work-out center is also excellent...all within two blocks of the famcamp. If you want a great stay in N.J., Earle is it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 15, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

13 September 2010

My wife and I were there for a one week stay. Overall the stay was very pleasant. Muriel, the MWR Representative, is available for questions that may be fielded. The only strange observation I had was the location of the sewer connections. This was an old mobile home park and I can understand the location (in the middle and at the rear) for them. However, they did build a number of new sites and located the sewer connections again at the rear and in the middle of the pad. This will not prevent us from returning to this campground but it does make for a conversation piece.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 20 - June 30, 2010

This was our second stay at Earle. I think it is a tremendous asset for us. I worry about how long the base will be there because it looks like a ghost town. Even the campground was sparsely used during our June visit. Go check it out, you’ll enjoy it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 7- 8, 2010

This was my 2nd time staying at this FAMCAMP. It has really changed since the last time I was here in 2007. More sites were added PLUS now a Bath House with Washer and Dryer. Now let me start from the beginning. First I made my reservation over the phone with Muriel at the MWR. She need a CC to hold the site for you. Now there is a old site and new site. Since I have a TT it is good for me to stay at the OLD site and let you BIG guys use the new sites. Now after making my reservation, I arrived at Earle and received my Welcome to Earle RV/FamCamp package at the 2nd Guard Post. After the Main check-in then you stop at the 2nd Post and get your package with everything u need to know wit your site on the outside of the package. Upon arriving to the site i got out and did a walk around to decide how far back I will go.. I did notice that the sewage was in the back middle of the site. That's because in the past Mobile Homes use to be there. The water is on the driver side and electric on the passenger side if backing up. Everything work at great for me since I was only staying for 1 night, to get my TT ready for the season. The Bath House and Washer/Dryer room are very clean. Only 2 problems i have with them. In the shower there is nothing to put your soap on. So you either have to hold it (on a rope) or rest it on the Handicap chair in the shower. And the Washing is 1.75 which I feel is kinda high for a FamCamp. That is why I have it a 4 for Amenities/Facilities. Anyway, dealing with Muriel is a real dream. I was made very welcomed by her and she is the one that makes this visit a pleasure also. SO make sure that you ge Muriel on the phone when making your Reservation. If you have any questions you can always E mail me at MrNavy2@aol.com.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 31-May 1, 2010

This is a very nice campground. The rate has gone up to $20 but worth every dollar. It has eight very large spaces that were formerly part of a trailer park on the base. This causes the hookups to be at locations that are not the most convenient but it works out OK. It also has a new section where they have constructed 11 more sites that are more conventional RV sites but not as large. We have full hook-ups with 50 amps, good Verizon coverage and I was able to hit the satellite after a little moving around of the dish to get through the trees. We didn't use the restroom or laundry facilities but they were just built last year so should be fine. The RV park is ran by Muriel Smith who is absolutely the most congenial person I have ever met that was in charge of anything. You call and make a reservation and she emails you a confirmation (a first for me at FamCamps) and then gives you a call the morning of the reservation if there may be any problems getting on base. In our case, a Condition Delta drill shut the base down and she wanted to make sure we wouldn't get there before the drill was over and the base opened back up. A well deserved Bravo Zulu for Muriel.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 2009

We are traveling across the country from Portland, OR. We have experienced many campgrounds, but rate THIS THE BEST, so far. The setting is beautiful & peaceful. The base is a well-guarded location, so your safety concerns are not any issue whatsoever! The RV area doesn't have a lot of sites, but each individual site is ample with grass & trees, with openings for satellite & antenna reception. The shower & laundry facility is immaculate & new! The staff is very friendly & the location so convenient to take the Staten Island Ferry (about 40 miles) to avoid any driving over to NYC! The ferry is free, parking there was $7.00 with free shuttle over to terminal. The New Jersey area of Colt's Neck is pristine with lots of wealth. Sure not what I had imagined, or heard about of New Jersey! The close proximity of beaches & Sandy Hook Lighthouse & historic area is convenient to this location.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 7-27, 2008

The check in process was as easy as ever, Met Arlene at the MWR office during check in. We needed to extend our stay by a few days at check in she helped and made sure it happened. They base has little to do on it but FT. Monmoth is just a few miles away, also Ft. Dix & McGuire AFB is just a short drive if you really need a great PX/BX. A laundry mat is near FT Monmoth about 5 miles away.But let me tell you the BEST things, your about a hour from Philly, Alantic City, & NYC. The lighthouses and the NJ beaches are just a few miles away. The NJ Transit system parking is Free after 09:00 and show your ID card on the train and the ride into NYC is Free also. Remember do not ride during prime time or it cost Go to the USO in NYC and get some discounts for Broadway show with out having to stand in line at TKTS outlet every day. The USO is located in the port authority. Some times they have Basaball tickets. I would or will stay there again and again. Yes the hook ups are different but I'm been at worst both Military and civilian. Just plan a little for the sewer hook up. I only used a 20 foot sewer line with no problems, 25 foot H2O hose & a standard Elect cord for 50 Amps. The security police drove thru every day to check on things.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 2006

Tight Security day I was there. Welcome packet waiting at guard house, with map to BX and MWR. C/G is in two sections. One seems long-term. Newer section, where I stayed, has concrete pads and full h/up. Cyberroom opened 7:30 a.m. - 8 p.m. to retrieve email.

Was this review helpful to you? 
18 results - showing 1 - 18