Holloman AFB FamCamp

 
3.8 (61)
58610   0   10   0   18

User reviews

26 reviews with 4 stars

61 reviews

 
(19)
 
(26)
 
(8)
 
(4)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
 
3.9  (61)
 
3.5  (61)
 
3.7  (61)
 
3.8  (61)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
26 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

November 2016

Major improvements. WiFi and cable both working fine. But, maybe most appreciated for those who have wandered through post to get here - Mesquite (the road that goes in front of the FamCamp) has been put through to the road that the commercial gate is on. Now you just come through the commercial gate, take the first right and go til you get to the FamCamp. I don't think it shows on google maps yet you can see it on the satellite view.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

30 Sep 2016-4 Oct 2016

Recommend utilizing the Commercial gate if possible. I believe it is open 0600-1800 M-F Signage from this gate to the Fam Camp is non-existent. The Fam-camp is to your right so head East and try to keep the highway in sight and you will find it. The serpentine at the main gate is very tight with our 43' 5th Wheel and the bollards at the guard shack is very tight with a dually. The condition of the Fam Camp was acceptable for a desert environment. We were able to get into one of the concrete pads with a cover over the table. The cable TV was inoperative but the Wifi had just been brought back on line. Our neighbor reported it was working pretty well. We have our own hotspot. I was surprised at the appearance of the base. It seems they don't have a lot of pride of ownership. Weeds have taken over the entire base. I have never seen a military facility look so shabby. There is lots of stuff to do and see here. We were here for the trip out to Ground Zero at the Trinity Site which was a happy coincidence. The Trinity site (where they tested the first Atomic Bomb in 1945) is only open twice a year. The first Saturday in April, and the first Saturday in October. We stopped at the White Sands National Park and the Space Museum. We also took a day trip up to Cloudcroft up in the Sacramento Mountains and then on to Roswell to the Alien Museum. A 275 mile trip but it sure was fun. Our stay was enjoyable and would stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2016

We just finished a five week cross country trip from FL to CA and back in May. We stayed at 9 military RV parks. All are very different. Some spaces have covered picnic tables and some do not. Also was quite windy when we were there. Small but clean bathhouse. We were surprised how affordable the food was at this commissary so we loaded up. Not much in terms of clubhouse, but we were able to get wifi in our camper.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 16,2016

The road you turn left, after entering the base is Almagordo Blvd. (not Almagordo Ave) There is a rate increase 20/night and 120/week, 500/month. Laundry is $1 per load.  Driving through town I'm not sure I'd want to stay anywhere else.  The Sacramento Mountains are a beautiful view with an observatory and the white sands is a must. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 15, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2016

Well, it seems they found one way to take care of the homesteading issue - rate sheet shows monthly rates now $500, weekly $120. I wonder when they'll figure out you can save $20 by doing 4 weeks instead of a month? No cable, wifi unusable but if those aren't critical its a good place to stay - clean, quiet. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

21-24 Aug 2015

NOTE: If you a long "Big Rig" use the commercial gate. Be advised that there will be "NO SIGNS" from that gate to get to the Famcamp. I'm 43' and pulling a enclosed trailer. We were in the back row and able to keep the trailer hooked up. As stated in other reviews its an over-all good experience for being in the desert. White Sands is just down the road. Clean and well kept laundry and restrooms. There are some homesteaders but it seems that the CG never fills. Camp hosts are wonderful people and extremely helpful with any questions.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

1 April-8 April 2015

This was our first stay and found it to be a good value and location for things we wanted to do. It is small, but only $20/nt or $90/wk. Directions to gate very good. Commissary and Exchange convenient. We happened to be in area for first Saturday in April opening to public of Trinity Site. It is also open to public 1st Sat of October. Also drove to Roswell, White Sands Missile Museum and White Sands NP. Weather was windy and hot. Park not very full. Hosts were nice and facilities very clean. Amy and John Stanton

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 4 - 11,2014

Nice park. Nice people. Small Commissary and BX. Front gate was a challenge with a 40 foot coach and dolly. I'd recommend using the contractor gate just West of the main gate if arriving M-F during the day.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 10-12, 2014

We called when we were two hours out and was told there was one opening. First time in area and base/Famcamp was easy to locate. Under new management, 2 new buildings housing showers and laundries. Host at site 15 (Larry) was friendly and helpful. Small famcamp with 36 sites... but lots of overflow space. Clean... Clean...clean! What ever problems were in the past reviews were in the past... try this site again for a good experience... loved the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 03, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 12-14, 2011

Convenient stopover for travelers passing between 1-40 and 1-10. Small campground with most spaces occupied more or less on a permanent basis (DOD employees and some active duty military personnel. Wifi is iffy at best, and laundry facilities are limited to a couple of washers and dryers in one building and a couple of washers and dryers in another building. The price is a bit high for the limited services offered. Plenty of overflow--nearly unlimited. When the wind gets up, it can get pretty dusty. The interstate highway is across a dirt area from the camp, but I noticed very little noise except for a few big rig trucks. I would consider staying here again. Even though they do not take reservations, I highly recommend calling ahead to see if a full h/u site is available; otherwise, expect to stay in overflow a night or two.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Mar 3, 2011

J.C. left this review using the Directory software: We have two GPS's in our truck, when using the listed coordinates the portable Garmin took us to the permanently closed gate well North of Alamagordo while the built-in GMC GPS took us in the correct direction but tried to take us to a location well West of Holloman AFB. We used "West Gate Rd. Holloman AFB" and the Garmin took us right to the gate. Previous write-up complained about the noise from the highway. We were there in cooler weather so didn't have our windows open but the highway noise was not a big deal (I can't hear anyway but my wife has good ears and didn't complain). The overflow area could easily hold 30 RV's. We would definitely come back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 25, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec 2010

The FamCamp is a slab of concrete in the back 40 of nowheresville, quiet and isolated with only the sound of Raptors in the sky... but it's one of the better kept FamCamps I've seen anywhere. The host and hostess are warm and friendly and responsive to any request for help and guidance, and they keep the facilities spotless. Well Done!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

December 2009

If coming from Alamogordo south on Hwy 70, the West gate is the second gate. You can use the West Gate unless you are coming in on a weekend, or after 5:30 or 6:00 p.m. weekdays. Otherwise, you will have to use the Holloman AFB main gate. The directions to the famcamp from the West Gate above are correct. However, if you come in the Main Gate, Martin Ave. is closed and blocked off due to housing construction. Our entry preference was to proceed to Arizona Ave.(3 more streets down), turn left and proceed to Patterson Dr. You will pass the commissary on the right. Turn left on Patterson Dr. until you reach Mesquite Dr. (3 speed bumps) When you reach Mesquite Dr., turn left and continue as per directions above. You avoid driving through housing this way. There are no signs on base pointing the route to the famcamp, which we found a bit odd since most bases display them. We did not find the background highway noise that distracting; the mountain view in the background is beautiful. Camp hosts were friendly and helpful. Laundry room has upgraded machines. The free Wi-Fi works best near the laundry/shower rooms. Will stay again if we come this way.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov. 1, 2009

J.C. left this review using the Directory software: The camp is clean and the host Fred & Judy are outstanding.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

29 Oct 09

Prices have increased to $20 per night, $90 per week. The directions need updating. Ongoing construction in base housing has wiped out the first block of Andrews. From Martin take the first left at the end of the construction fence, then the second left onto Boeing. Then right on Andrews, right on Mesquite, and the first left into the rv camp. The host was pleasant, the camp is clean and well maintained. The base is nice with all the usual amenities and facilities, golf course, indoor pool, commissary and BX, etc. White Sands National Monument is only six miles further but has no camping. However $20 per night for a parking space and hookups exceeds the price at New Mexico State Parks and many of the commercial parks in the area I think.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb. 5, 2009

R.H. left this review using the Directory software: Just arrived and camp host was very helpful. Very nice but small famcamp.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

28 Mar 08

Blocked roads , new construction , and no signs , makes it difficult to reach the camp. Eeven though it can be seen from the main gate. Stayed there a year ago, and was a good experience. This time we arrived in the early afternoon and observed 6 empty pull thru sites. A few had orange cones but most were completely empty. Rather than just claiming one, we first checked in with the camp host, who advised that they were full, and did not offer overflow. Written policy says no reservations ?. So, we went on our way and will try again next time through.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Mar 2-4, 2008

We were lucky to get in, as there were only 2 sites available. The CG was full by 1:00pm with another rig spending the night in overflow. They got a FHU site the next day. Nice RV Park with friendly hosts. I was stationed here over 20 years ago. The base has grown and still is. Lots of new housing being built. But Alamogrodo hasn't chenged very much. This trip brought back many fond memories of our time stationed here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

8 Oct 2007 - 7 Dec 2007

The Holloman FAMCAMP is in a "unique" location. Trying to find it without prior knowledge of the base can be tricky. Wi-fi is intermittent at best but the library is close and they do have wi-fi access. The camphost is really nice and has a wealth of info on what to do in the local area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov. 10 thru ? 2007

This campground is very clean and the camp host very friendly. We did get the last space available....but just getting to the camp ground was very confusing. There is a lot of construction ( removing old base housing ) so the streets were blocked off. Lucky for us a very nice young man saw that we were lost and led the way to the famcamp. After our first trip to the shoppette we learned the error of our ways. You take the first left after entering the gate, then the next left ( which takes you through part of the housing area) straight to the campground. There are no signs posted for the second left.....which is why we went straight through. As for internet connections..I am sitting in my motor home right now using wifi.

Was this review helpful to you? 
26 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2