Holloman AFB FamCamp

 
3.8 (60)
52522   0   10   0   17

User reviews

19 reviews with 5 stars

60 reviews

 
(19)
 
(26)
 
(8)
 
(3)
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
 
3.9  (60)
 
3.5  (60)
 
3.7  (60)
 
3.8  (60)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
19 results - showing 1 - 19  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 2015 - Mar 2016

Our trip down from Buckley AFB in Denver and compared to Holloman is apples and oranges. Being on Military Installations, you would think of finding uniformity and familiarity from one place to another, for example, most of the sites on Holloman are gravel and the hard pads are rare to get for they are utilized by active duty personnel waiting for housing or other reasons, Buckley has hard concrete pads. Wifi is another example, virtually non-existant at Holloman unless you bring your own or have it installed, Buckley has a Verizon jet pack system you rent monthly for a refundable 50 dollars and is unlimited data. The camp hosts on both are present, willing to work with you and do a good job of accommodating travelers but it is advisable to contact the outdoor rec at both installations for availability. Holloman is quiet except for the highway noise and daily training of the pilots overhead. Lots of interesting places to see in the area, Trinity test site (open 2x year) lava beds north of the test range, space museum, observatory and white sands national park. I was paying 300 a month and was informed to the increase to 500 which in my mind doesn't warrant the increase unless they hard pad and use a jet pack wifi system.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2015

Can't beat the price for an extended stay. Nice sites on 2 of 3 rows with concrete pads and covered patio with some attempts at bushes or trees (its the desert ok). Third row is a gravel parking lot with hookups. Wifi was ok for us, actually got some pretty amazing speeds now and again. Cable was some kind of strange satellite system - maybe if I had a satellite receiver it would have helped - but we don't watch much if any TV so didn't try to figure it out. All kinds of things to do in the area - especially outdoor type activities - hiking etc. Base facilities if not real big are adequate and conveniently located in a central area. At the main gate they've done away with the Jersey barriers for the serpentine in favor of a 10-12" high poured curb so you don't have to worry about body damage - at least until you get to the ID check station where its a tight fit but doable. There is still the opportunity to abuse tires tho as the scuff marks on the curb indicate. The commercial gate is a straight shot but also has the tight fit issue - gate guard told me next time just to head for the truck inspection shed to the right.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

December 11-15, 2014

We got on base and totally got lost! Lucky for us the folks we asked for directions lived at the park so we followed them. (So thankful for those two to offer that service!!!!) Coming in the West gate, after going through security, you need to take first right at traffic circle then first right where you will see teen/youth center down that road. [I'm not giving you any street names because there were NO signs!!!] Then left on Mesquite (there was a sign there) and the park will be down the road on your right. You'll see it. Google gives a good pic of the route too. Good luck. Once there, we were welcomed by the camp host and it was all fine. We stayed in one of the new sites, which is just gravel, but all we needed for a few nights. I really like the covered patios that they have at the older sites. Nice amenity when it would be hot in summer. Kudos to the camp host who became our hero the next day. Our electric died on us that night. He called a mobile tech he highly recommended. Before the end of the day, we were back in business! (Turned out we had a short somewhere underneath, but we have the winter package where it's all sealed. He hardwired our cord to the front of the fifth-wheel and we were back in business. Awesome serve and price!) We stayed in a 40' fifth-wheel and have a Jeep pulling an 8' trailer (motorcycle). Everything fit at site. Great location for visiting White Sands park. Small exchange, but town just up the road had anything else we needed.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

26 Jun 2013

This is our second time here and it was everything we have come to expect from this base. Excellent commissary and BX. Close to two national landmarks, Carlsbad Caverns and White Sands. There are also there military bases, Holloman (AF), White Sands Missile Base (Army), and Ft. Bliss (Army) within 50 miles. Also are the cities of El Paso and Los Cruces as well as Alamogordo. The campground has a new area with water and electric. We will stay here again when in this area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 29, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

14-28 March 2011

This is our second time at the FamCamp and 4th time at Holloman AFB. The FamCamp is fairly small, but has a vast area for dry camping if one wants to wait for a space to open up. Best feature is weather! Numerous sunny days, some wind in the spring, and little rain. Roughly half the sites are hardstands and covered picnic cables; all have picnic tables. Cable is 'expanded basic', i.e., about 70 channels. Off-sir (antenna) TV, via translators is fair; CBS. ABC and Fox are HD, NBC and a couple locals are still in analog. Wi-Fi fair, but if you have an AllTel or Verizon computer card, its fine. Cell Service excellent. New, although small mens and womens latrine and unisex shower are EXCELLENT. Newer laundry room and check-in day room, open 24/7, excellent as well. Still remaining is older laundry and bathrooms with showers, which are adequate in themselves. Alamogordo is about 7 miles east, very busy, lots of chain stores, fast foods, many new motels, lots of new housing. New Mexico has unusually good roads for a relatively small state, with 4-lane expressways to Las Cruces and interconnection with I-25; 4-lane road to El Paso, TX, and 4-lane roads to Roswell and beyond (100+ miles), and excellent 2-lane and partially 4-laned road to Albuquerque. Excellent value for the $$$: Base is loaded with new facilities - health center, hospital/clinic, BX, Shoppette, Base Housing. Older Commissary, well stocked. Scenery is excellent - big mountain range (Sacramento Mts) to east, desert to north and south, and San Andreas Mts to the west. No reservations, but no limit, either. 1st come, 1st served. $20 a night; $90 a week ($12.85/night) or $300 a month ($10/Night). Clearly a 'hidden gem'...one of the best all-round values in the realm of Military FamCamps!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 28, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 4&5, 2010

We arrived on the Saturday of Labor Day weekend without a reservation. We felt fortunate that we were able to have a site. The host's trailer was well marked as you enter the Famcamp. The host was very friendly and handed us a brochure about the Famcamp as well as a base map. He pointed out places that might interest us. The bathrooms and laundry room were clean and usable. The only mark down was the new showers built separately from the one in the bathroom. The newer ones are nicer however the wind had warped the middle showers door. For some reason the last shower was locked all three days that we were there, so only one new unisex shower was available. I would definitely return to this FamCamp.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

March 24 - April 7, 2010

Very nice FamCamp! We stayed here while exploring the area, came here specifically to tour the Trinity site. The base is upgrading housing, including new roads, so do not believe your GPS. Follow the directions from the previous poster if you have to enter the main gate. Wifi is up most of the time, but it does crash regularly. Nice exchange and commissary, we loved the base library. Overflow parking is generous, level and graveled. During our two weeks here, we saw a lot of turnover, most people only stay overnight. We only saw people in overflow for one night, then they either left or moved into a full hookup site.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

15 July 2008

We stayed here on our way to Mexico. Getting to the campground takes a little as the facility in in one of the housing areas which you have to drive through, one wrong turn could be a problem. The campground has pull through and back in sites with full hookups. Each site has a picnic covered table, concrete pad, and is long enough for a 40' motorhome and toad. Services, W/E/S, are located just where they should be for minimum stretching of hoses and cords. Didn't use the showers or laundry facility but did look and found then clean. We were told that the base was expanding the campground with up to 25 more sites. We would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 2008

We loved everything about our stay here. The sunsets were astounding. We will visit again when in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

15-17 Sep 2008

Altogether a rewarding experience for AF Fam Camps. A little difficult to locate on first attempt, (probably my fault). Construction was distracting. Facilities all clean and up to date. Camp host Mary genuine and helpful with a smile. Wish bases provided base maps to military ID card holders at the main gate. Google world maps is an excellent alternative. White Sands missile test range is a must see for first time visitors.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jan 11 - Feb.10, 2008

We spent also a month here, we found it very comfortable. The host were great with info about the base and how to get around town can't wait to go back again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

16 Mar 08

Just six miles west of Alamogordo on US70. We used main gate...enter on the right hand lane. If closed, beep your horn and the civilian rent-a-guard will move the cones, check your ID, and wave you in. Very nice folks on the gate! Take your first left, into base housing, then your next left, go to end of road, take right turn and then first left into RV park. EZ to find. Base people are super friendly. Base is clean, tidy, and on the grow! Certainly more happening now than last time here in 2004. New mission is takeing place with retirement of the stealths. Relatively new BX, very nice, and older but VERY clean and well stocked (wide aisles!!) commisary. Park itself very clean - paved sites, full, easy hookups including real (not satellite) cable TV with 70+ channels. Wi-fi, probably from base housing, is weak, but obtainable if you go outside or use a small wifi antenna. I'm writing this online from site #22. Very nice, easy going hostess...super helpful. Lots of comments from other patrons as to how nice Holloman is. Based on what we've seen, we decided to do a full week here rather than press on for another 300 miles to Davis Monthan where we're told there is still a 3 to 6 day dry camp wait. Right now Holloman is about 50-60% full. Would definitely recommend it!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

14 Jan - February, 2008

We are schedule to leave here on 14 Feb, 08. We are going to try and stay another two weeks. According to the camp host it shouldn't be a problem. This is one of the nicest Military Campgrounds we have stayed at. It will be the first time we have ever stayed more than 4 weeks. They have wifi, but the signal is really low. My sprint wirless card works good, just not at broadband speed. My cingular cell phone works great here. The gym is awesome, they have a bike path, and the BX/Commissary are okay. They have a super walmart downtown. The only knock is the water pressure, but that is controled by the base. This is the place to stay if you are ever in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jan 29 - Feb 10, 2008

The camp host, Ralph and Mary, are the nicest people! We even went through moving from a class A to a fifth-wheel and they were great and helpful through our process. The older kids enjoyed the youth facility and the baby loved the age appropriate playgrounds on base. The laundry and baths are clean. The only bad thing I could find is the prices at the Main Exchange. DO NOT buy RV items there. A water filter is 27.00 and for the same filter at Wal-Mart is 17.00. Just to give you an idea of price differences. Would recommend a filter, water is hard and I do not like a rainbow film on my morning coffee! Price is excellent. We will return at a later date.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

December 10-17, 2007

We checked the FamCamp out during a trip to White Sands to see if we could get a spot. We had been staying in Las Cruces. The camp host was great in talking to us re moving over there. When we asked her about getting onto the base via the main gate (the entrance was blocked) she told us the secret. You need to sit at the cones and blow your horn! We moved the very next day and followed her advice. The guard had to come out in the rain to move the barricade, but he remained very pleasant! The campsite is near the freeway, but the noise never bothered us at night. We were gone site seeing most of our visit, but when we were in the camp the freeway didn't seem to bother us at all. The spacing between sites is very good and there are tables with shelters at each site. Although laundry facility is small it is clean and sufficient. The camp host is extremely pleasant and helpful. Base facilities not far from campsite and are good. We really enjoyed our stay and the value is excellent. It is a good location for site seeing and take off point for day trips!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Early March

We drove up without reservations and got one of the last campsites available. The Campground is quite nice, new with covered patio, cement level pads and full hookups. One of the things I thought made it even better was the hosts and people who worked there. Beautiful scenery, if you like the desert and mountains, we do, warm days and cool nights. Close to the highway but not as bad as I thought it would be. Nice community and people, we had a very enjoyable stay there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 13, 2007

This is a well run, well maintained famcamp. The hookups have their own area lights to simplify night arrivals, which is what we did, and the light was much appreciated to help speed the task in a drizzling rain. Instead of a combination keypad lock that you find on many campgrounds, they issue a key that is for the bathhouse and laundry, so when you depart, you need to remember to leave the key at the host shelter, or in the drop-box in the laundry. We made no reservations and, as of this date, there were several empty spaces available. Seems some of the snowbirds have flown, and as I write this I'm watching another one in a big class A making departure preparations. We're just passing through, so it's just this one night and a leisurely morning before we head down to see White Sands, and then travel on into Arizona. When you're out this way, this is definitely a fine place to stay, either overnight or longer term.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 2004-Nov 2004

The park and the people who run it ( Hosts Ralph and Mary and Fred and Judy) were some of the nicest people I have met on the road. Camp was very clean, sites were large, shower and wash house was easy to access. One of the nicest places I have been.

Now yes there was some extra noise because of the Air Field and the highhay being sort of close by.. however well worth the trip and a great value..

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

12/5 thru 12/13 2006

Secure Campground with things to see (IE White Sands), other than a little sound of Freedom an excellent camp

Was this review helpful to you? 
19 results - showing 1 - 19