Kirtland AFB FamCamp

Featured New Hot
 
4.0 (148)
86146   1   20   1   42

User reviews

148 reviews

 
(46)
 
(74)
 
(19)
 
(7)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
 
4.4  (148)
 
3.9  (148)
 
3.6  (148)
 
4.1  (148)
 
4.0  (148)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
148 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 21, 2017

We arrived at Kirtland AFB FamCamp for a 14-day stay. We are in a 43-foot motorhome towing a F-150 and followed the directions to the Gibson gate. The Security Forces ran down the street to stop us before we got to the barriers. Long story short, we had to disconnect our F-150 and I had to back the motorhome up about 1/4 mile to turn around and go back down Gibson Blvd. to Truman Blvd. to go into the Truman gate. Do NOT attempt to enter Kirtland EUBANKS GATE OR GIBSON GATE if you are longer than 30 feet total. The gates are very narrow and there are new barricades that you cannot drive around without hitting them. No barricades at Truman gate.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 29, 2017

First, the gate hours are changing effective 15 May. You need to update that in the directions. I have uploaded a photo with the new hours. As for the park itself, not bad. The directions on this site are great. We came in on a weekend and used the Gibson gate and made it through just fine with our 35' MH and towed. The older part has some trees, but they need trimmed as our rig would not fit under the branches. So we picked a site in the new section. Typical "desert" RV park. Gravel sites, shared utilities, limited shade. However, this is a great place to stay. We were delaying for snow storms and cold weather and wanted a hook up to keep from freezing and this place was perfect. Watch out for all the "sand" burs, some call them "goat heads". There are millions of them in the grass and in the open areas. We did not walk our dog in those areas. Check-in was easy and straight forward. Probably the best Wi-Fi we have had at any military campground. Kudos for that!! The new side has limited showers and bath and no laundry, but that is fins as most folks that stay on this side do not use. The laundry was clean and working. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 3-24, 2017

Extended our stay easily to three weeks by talking to Janice in the office. She was very helpful. We were able to get into the older section under a large pine. May have to scrub sap when we get home but it was a very nice site. We have a 24 foot Navion and tow a Jeep. The site was surprisingly level. There is a building next to the office for men/women bath/showers and the laundry between. Only one shower but I never waited for it which was surprising because this campground is busy. Laundry was very busy at times and the machines took some abuse with some out of order most of the time. Speed Queen would be a better brand for this type of facility. Although they are easy to operate, it would be nice to have operation instructions posted. The wifi worked well for us. Tons of tv stations available with an antenna. Commissary and exchange and gas station convenient with redbox at the gas station. We brought our golf clubs hoping to play golf several times but played only once dt high winds and circumstances. Okay course...pretty rough. Surprised that they are able to keep it open because we seldom saw more than one or two groups on the course. Fun place to have lunch with pretty decent food, but crazy hours. Closed on Monday and Tuesday while we were there. The indoor pool and a fitness center is near the Gibson gate and we utilized both several times. The pool is nice with lots of lanes. We hope to stay here whenever visiting family although, hopefully, not for three weeks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 2017

BIG RIGS: DO NOT COME IN EUBANKS GATE! There are rigs in the park right now with damage from coming through Eubanks. By 'big rig', we mean anything over 25'! We have a 40' 5th wheel and came in Truman, which is the current commercial gate. We followed google maps on phone and the route avoided all traffic on base. From I-25, Exit 222/Gibson Blvd SE, follow signs for airport. Turn right at Truman St SE and gate is right there. Left at second light, Randolph Rd SE. Follow Randolph (name changes to Kirtland Rd SE) then left on Hardin Blvd. Follow Hardin (name changes to 20th St SE). Left at G Ave SE traffic light and you'll see RV park. Turn at first right, which is F Ave SE (on google) and the street sign says Frost Ave. There's a large open area just ahead where we pulled off then walked to check in. The old section is nice in that it has a lot of trees, but the 'big' sites there go first. The new section has huge sites and very easy to maneuver through. In the old section, I saw big rigs going over curbs trying to get through. (Another reason to park at the big, open area and walk/ride the park first!) We didn't need any sewer extension in new section as mentioned in previous post. No hookup problems at all. Staff is still very much part time. If you need quarters for laundry, go to the gas station. Using General Delivery, be aware that your mail will be at the base post office across the street from the USPS building.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Jan 2017

Location is marked low because of the placement of the FAMCAMP on the base and orientation of the parking spaces. The "new" area is exposed to a LOT of wind--prevalent winds hit the camper broadside--no sleep. Nite host was exceptional and has far better customer skills than the full-time staff. On-base facilities are good, but the campground could use some serious upgrading. Trees were in bad need of trimming and the goat-heads (huge stickers) are awful--especially for pets. Speaking of pets, people let them go in the weeds on the far end of the new area, which is the same direction the wind usually blows from. Think about it folks! Campground signage is poor and it is not well set up for arrivals/departures. Orientation of hook-ups is poor--sewer in new area requires a lot of hose, electric in some older slots requires an extension and is on wrong side. We're full timers and this campground is a bad choice if staying for over 2-weeks--they don't take reservations and you can't stay longer without moving out and back in, even if they are nearly empty. We moved to a nearby campground that takes reservations, is clean, exceptionally well maintained, has security, and is well managed. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 2, 2016

I can't say enough about the staff, especially the host Dorene, she is awesome. We arrived there Sept. 2, Sept. 7 my husband was admitted to the VA hospital, the 9th while under observation he had a heart attack. I don't know what I would have done with out Dorene. You ROCK. A big thanks to John and Janet too.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 24-Oct 8, 2016

We stayed at Kirtland Fam Camp September 24th-October 8th in a 32 foot fifth wheel. We came for the 2016 Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta. The Fam camp is divided into the old section and a new section. The old section has green grass and trees and a dog park. The new section just has gravel. It has wide and long pull throughs that are flat. Had to use the new section because I needed 50 amp service. Be informed, the utilities are shared on one pedestal between sites so we had to park close to our neighbor for access. The WiFi is so-so at best. The new section is well lite at night, with exceptionally clean bathrooms and showers. The only bad comment I could come up with is there are few goatheads or what we call stickers up north (Puncturevine or Tribulus terrestris ) in the parking area and my dog got stickers or goatheads in his paw pads a couple of times plus I dragged a couple of these nasty things into my trailer and my wife let me know about it. I highly recommend using Kirkland Fam Camp for the balloon fiesta; it just can't be beat. We used the KAFB outdoor recreation tour bus and admission tickets to get from the Kirkland airbase to the balloon fiesta and back which is a bargain for 18 bucks per session. Commissary and exchange are large and well stocked. The gas station has diesel. The Fam Camp is small showing its age and it is also a bargain for $18 per night. I need to add that Doreen the night host lady is a gem. I called the Fam Camp several times during the week and all I got was a recorded message on their answering machine. Doreen called me on a Sunday morning and said come over because “no one is turned away”. Thank you Doreen. Thank you Kirtland.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2016

We just finished a five week cross country trip from FL to CA and back in May. We stayed at 9 military RV parks. All are very different. The section we were in has level gravel lots. There appears to be another section of older sites. There are homesteaders here, and it stays quite busy. Location was great for access to shopping and site seeing. The utilities are shared between sites so the RVs tend to have to park close to the neighbor for access.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 30 to May 4, 2016

We came in only staying one night and ended up at the er with our son the first night and they camp Host was AMAZING-- she was very sweet and a amazing woman she has a great heart.. We decided to stay a few days and she check on us everyday to make sure my son was ok. I will tell you to put Costco on Eubanks in your gps and keep going past that until you run in the gate because these directions are to complicated to figure out-- we told a friend to do that and they for right there no problem. We didn't deal with the mwr worker at all so I can't say reviews are true or false. No it's not a huge fancy camp but it's still intimate and very busy.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 14 - 30, 2016

We stayed here for two weeks while visiting Albuquerque. The park is split into two sections, the older one, where we were was a mix of paved and gravel sites and a tree for shade at each.  The newer sites are all gravel, with no shade and appeared very long and wide.  You're not right on top of your neighbors but still close enough.  They don't take reservations so be sure to call before you stop.  The park is one of the more quiet military campgrounds we've stayed at, with only occasional air noise which was mostly from the local airport.  The hookups were fine as were laundry facilities.  No cable, but no issues picking up over the air channels and WiFi was fine.  Not a lot of grass to walk pets, but there is some just down the street at the temporary lodging area. There are walking paths (sidewalks) that take you all around the housing areas without worrying about traffic.  The exchange and commissary are ok, but close earlier than we're used to, so if you want to hit the food court for dinner, you'll need to do so before 7:00 PM.  All in all we enjoyed our stay at Kirtland and will definitely return if in Albuquerque again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

23-30 Sept 2015

We thought this a nice campground with long, wide, and level sites - and no shade - at least in the so-called "new" area. Staff was pleasant and helpful. We didn't use the showers, but bathroom was clean and well kept. WiFi is so-so depending on time of day, and whether or not those not so considerate are streaming data. Eubanks gate is tight but doable as previously reported. This is a good location for visiting the area, but I wouldn't recommend for Balloon Fiesta as it is 10 miles from the fiesta site with associated traffic gridlock. If you plan to visit Balloon Fiesta, stay at the huge RV park across the street from fiesta and take the free shuttle. We camped on Kirtland in a 5th wheel and would visit again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

15-29 Sep 15

Second time we've stayed here; both times in the newer area. Office staff was very helpful and friendly. However, the bathrooms need some help; both in terms of cleanliness and the reliability of hot water. Twice, hot water stopped while I was taking a shower. We'll stay again, but I'll call first to see if the facilities are working.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

20 Sept 2015-4 Oct 2015

Been here in past, this stay a bit bad. Wifi ok, but in the new section need better maintenance of the shower/bath area. Clean up leaves much to be desired and if you enjoy cold showers its your ideal. Maybe due to up coming balloon show? But will return good for a short stay as mentioned in previous posts.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

2 Aug - 3 Aug 2015

We were only there overnight. The sign on the door said that the office closes at 1200 on Sundays but we were able to check in due to someone being on site. The sites were HUGE & well kept. Easy in & out. The gate off of Eubanks is as reported, extremely tight. Go slow. We stayed in a class 'A' motor home.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

December 2011 and April 2013

Have stayed here in the past. Well kept camp and convenient location for us.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 2014

We only stayed here overnight. DO NOT follow the directions in the FAMCAMP Guide available at the Exchange. We arrived late Saturday afternoon and had to call security to find out how to get on base. Finally got to the gate and WOW extremely tight for our 40 footer. Found a spot and dropped payment in the drop box. The area we stayed in was a large stone lot with hookups. Perfect for a one night stay. Can't comment on anything else cause all we did was eat, sleep and walk the dog.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

29 May 2015

This was a convenient place to park and visit family in the area for a reunion. The park is pretty basic (the new section). You're out in the open on gravel parking spaces. Everything is there you need. It doesn't have much in the way of character; trees, plants, etc. All told it satisfied the parking needs and the price was ok.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2015

I concur with previous reviewer - enter at the Eubank Gate. Much easier than the Wyoming gate which we have done a few times. Campground keeps getting better each time we visit. Glad to get the last site in the new area. Work crew is steady maintaining it, chopping weeds, watering trees etc. It will never be a destination campground but very adequate for the many permanent Active Duty residents and those like us that stay a couple of weeks. Satellite TV works good, Verizon Mifi fine although not fast. We will stay again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 12, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2015

Come in the Eubanks Gate. If you can keep your rig between the lines on the highway, you can make it between the posts at the gate. Eubanks Gate is about a 1/4 mile from the Famcamp. If the office is closed, pick a vacant site then go back to the office and fill out the paperwork (lots of extra info is requested on the form) and drop the form (in a provided envelope) into the drop box. If there is an orange cone at a site, that site is claimed, but not yet occupied. Janet, the host, seems kind of grumpy to me. First time I've met a Famcamp host who was grumpy. The "new" part of the park is a gravel parking lot. At least you don't have to worry about leaves or twigs on top of the slides. Sites were long and wide with rigs alternating their direction. Lots of space between the passenger/curb side of each coach that way. Over the air tv was fine. Wifi signal strength was good, but the bandwidth (speed) was lacking. Water pressure was very good. Some noise from the Albu Sunport (airport). Hearing Reveille and Retreat again was nice. I may have been sleeping by Taps because I didn't hear it played. The dog park is in a corner of the "old" side of the park. It is nicely sized, but the area is more dirt than grass. It could be because of all the trees surrounding it or simply a lack of watering the grass. My guess is it is due to lack of watering. There are grassy areas with "No Dogs Allowed" signs, but some campers ignored those signs. There is either a trick to get the showers in the new area to work or they are simply lousy showers. Very little water volume out of either one.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

8 April-21 April 2015

This was our 2nd stay here and find it to be very convenient for things we wanted to do. The Eubank gate is definitely the best gate to enter. Campground is very close to Sam's Club, Costco,Walmart,Home Depot..all on Eubank. We were in Site #84 in the new section and our preferred area. Spaces are wide and long pull thru. Commissary, Exchange,Gas,PO just off Gibson. While here we toured Fort Union,Acoma Pueblo,Gilman Tunnels off scenic hwy 4, Bandelier and other areas. Facilities clean, but would be nice to have change machine in laundry. Also wi-fi not very good. We ended up using our mi-fi thru ATT. It is a quiet base. The Owl Cafe was recommended, so we went there for dinner 1 night..very 50's and food was good..also, Freddy's for frozen custard. Amy and John Stanton

Was this review helpful to you? 
148 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8