Kirtland AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.0 (168)
130910 2 31 1 64

User reviews

51 reviews with 5 stars

168 reviews

 
(51)
 
(88)
 
(19)
 
(8)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.4  (168)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.9  (168)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.6  (168)
Value 
 
4.2  (168)
Overall Experience 
 
4.0  (168)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
51 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3
Ordering
Mar 31, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great place to stay. The WiFi is non existent here. They say it's only hard to get a good connection in the evening, but I tried different times of the day for the whole week I was staying there & never had any kind of connection. I was backed up to TLF & was able to connect to theirs. Good location & the park has everything else you need. The only bad thing I experienced was a little silver car that would speed around the park, peel out in the gravel & had their loud bass music playing in at all hours. It was frustrating because the speed limit of 10mph is posted everywhere & there is supposed to be quiet hours enforced, but nobody seemed to want to disturb the only people who were disturbing everyone else.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Feb 28 - Mar 1 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We are currently in spot 51 in the "new" area and have no complaints. We drove up from El Paso to check out the National Fiery Foods and BBQ festival at the Sandia Casino. As the other reviews mentioned, the older side of the FAMCAMP looks like it is for long termers, and after taking our dogs for a walk through that area it is clear that it used to be military housing that was converted to RV sites. The sites clearly used to be driveways into military housing. I would highly recommend picking a site in the new area. As I am typing this I am connected to their free wifi which has an excellent connection, and I have to say the gravel sites are so big I didn't have to worry about where I needed to park to make sure my slides would fit. The only issue I have with this FAMCAMP is the gate. As many have mentioned, you should definitely use the Eustis Gate. Take I-40 and don't pay any attention to the signs that say Kirtland AFB....Get off I-40 at Eustis BLVD, make a right and stay in the middle or left lane... I stayed in the right lane and without notice it ended. The thing most people didn't mention is that Eustis BLVD basically ends at the entrance to the AFB, so don't worry about where you need to go.....take Eustis until it ends and you will be there. Now to my only issue.....that gate is small....I have a Ram dually pulling a 40ft 5er that is a full 101 inches wide. Im talking pucker factor making it through the gate. We made it with no issues but seriously why don't they open up the gate a little more. When you make it through the gate, you can see the spots to your right. Overall, well worth it and for $18 a night....we will stop here again.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Nov 6-10, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed here for AF Academy vs. New Mexico football game. First visit. Excellent facility. Stayed in newer area. Sites are large, open and more than enough room for largest rigs. Office folks very nice to work with. Found Eubanks gate with no trouble. A little tight but manageable. During my visit, Eubanks gate was the 24 hr gate. Gibson and Wyoming gates close after hours. Base is in a great location to visit Albuquerque. We suggest SanDiago's at the base of the Sandia Peak Tramway. Food is great and the views at sunset are spectacular. Sandia Casino at I25 and Tramway Blvd is good entertainment. We will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Oct 4-8, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Spaces are level, some have grassy areas. The laundry is clean. If no full hook-up spaces are available, be sure to sign up on the waiting list at the registration office. The base is the SE city limits to Albuquerque, so it's easy to get to sights and entertainment in the area. Be sure to visit the National Museum of Nuclear Science and History. It has been moved outside the base, so it's easy to access.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
17 Aug 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
R.O. left this review using the Directory software: - We stayed three days. Some sites are under trees and other sites are in the open. The open sites are are very large with level gravel surface and work well for those with satellite requirements. The Eubanks Blvd is the most direct route to the campground. The gate opening is tight but you can get a large motorhome with tow vehicle through it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
27 Jun - 9 Jul 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We were in the new part of this campground and love it. It was close to the Eubanks gate which made for easy on/off base. While there we had to have new brakes on the motorhome so there was some motel time, however we did leave our trailer and motorcycle at the campground. I would not have done this at a commercial campground. This is a campground we will stay in again when in this area. There are a number of national landmarks to visit as well as a couple of private attractions. We also took the train ride to Santa Fe to visit the farmers market, I am a train fan and this was a thrill for me since the price was only $10 round trip.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
01 MAY 2013
(Updated: May 08, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My wife and I rolled into Kirtland about 2300 local after a long drive from Arkansas. The directions provided to access the correct gate were exact and perfect! We found a spot and pulled in (as quietly as possible), getting hooked up to shore power, water and sewer. As we were getting things settled for the night the camp host drove up and welcomed us, asking if we wanted to wait and get checked in in the morning (I just paid her cash because we wanted to sleep in). She came back over about 20 minutes later, bringing a receipt and giving us a quick rundown of the parks facilities, including the laundry which was needed after a few weeks on the road. We only spent the night, but Kirtland filled our needs to a tee. We'd recommend their FamCamp to anyone!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
19 Mar-26 Mar 2013
(Updated: April 02, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our first time and location very good for shopping. We were in site 50 on East side and preferred this. Nice dog park and clean laundry room. Sites are long and wide.
Would definitely recommend coming in the Eubanks gate in spite of what GPS tells you. Very convenient to camp. Also, there is a newer Walmart on Wyoming a mile north of the exit. Costco is just north of Eubank gate next to older Walmart. Staff helpful and friendly. Will definitely return. John and Amy Stanton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
10 - 13 October 2012
(Updated: October 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stopped here mid week of the Balloon Festival and didn't expect to find any spots, but there was at least eight available. The office manager said they haven't been full for several nights but expected to be on the weekend. Since we only needed 30 amp electrical, we were given a site in the old, west section. This use to be a housing area. The sites are on driveways, and the slabs of the buildings that use to be there, pull throughs with curbs. Depending on what site you were on, you may need at least 25 feet of electrical and water hose to reach the connections. On the west side, many sites are shaded by big trees--our's wasn't--but it wasn't too hot, and the sunshine felt good in the mornings.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
November 2011
(Updated: November 20, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed here a couple of months ago (on the newer side) and had a very nice time. The camp host was very cordial, the area clean, and RV spaces are nice. We got here this visit after the office was closed for the day so I filled out the envelope at the office per posted instructions. The space I selected in the new section was not marked off on the space chart, so I marked it on the chart and we pulled our RV into that space. There were two traffic cones sitting next to the electrical box (they were not placed in the middle of the space to look like someone might be using that space). I got out of out truck and a woman from the adjoining space came around the corner of her RV and said in a loud non-cordial voice "don't you know what the cones are for?" Not sure why she would think I knew what the cones were for -- the office chart showed the space as vacant and the cones were off to the side of the space. I told her no I didn't know what the cones were for and she continued in her loud non-cordial voice to tell me that the space was reserved. I told her the chart at the office showed the space as vacant and she again said it was reserved. It worked out well that we didn't stay next to her because her dogs barked continually from the minute we pulled into the space. I then realized when I saw her vehicle that this same woman was in that same space when we were here a couple of months ago. During that stay, I had taken our dogs over to the dog park. She was there and actually called out to me to not bring my dogs into the park until she took her dogs out!! The space outside her RV looks like she is set to stay there permanently, just as it did when we were here before. Not the best person to run into for a good first impression of the famcamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Sept 15 - 20, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
W.J. left this review using the Directory software - We stayed at this campground from Sept 15th - 20th. Stayed in spot w21. This famcamp is doing a good job. They have tried to answer all bad comments. Yes, for a military camp ground it is a little expensive. The best famcamp in the west only charges 17.00 where as this one charges 18.00. The camp manager is doing her best to satisfy everyone but of course, can't satisfy everyone. The fam camp is in a good location to see the upper east side of New Mexico. The new addition is now looking good. Rock and gravel have been put down and some trees planted. There is no wifi because Sandia Labs is afraid someone will hack into their system. Sounds like a problem with their security. Guess they have not heard of people bringing their own. There is no need for cable TV as Albuquerque has many local tv stations. The old FEMA trailers are still there. Problems here need to be addressed with WMR. By the way, a new restroom facility is being added in the near future to east side park. No plans for a new laundry room. I found all pf the facilities very clean, and staff very friendly. Will definitely will stay at this famcamp again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
7 - 13 August 2011
(Updated: August 22, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed for a full week, and will certainly do so again when next we have a chance. Weather was great and the campsite was most comfortable. This campground has two sides: The new East side is spacious, gravel surfaced, 50-amps, pull-throughs. It seems that the "big rigs" are more comfortable over in the newer East side. The older West side is more attractive, although some sites only accommodate 30-amps. Our trailer is a convenient 22 ft, 30 amps, back-in capable, so we were able to thoroughly enjoy our week's stay in the West side with shade trees around. Outdoor Rec decided to park three rent-able FEMA trailers in parking sites that I would like to be able to use. I wish they would have put those FEMA trailers over in the East side where there a many more sites available. The campground manager and the host were very gracious, knowledgeable and helpful. They made our stay very pleasant. The bathhouse and laundry is older but kept clean everyday. When the East side was built, more than doubling the number of sites, they did not build a new bathhouse or expand the existing one. I heard that plans are in the works for installation of one of those new modular bathhouses on the East side. But we will have to wait to see if that happens....it is needed though. No Wi-Fi in this campground. Base facilities are nice - one of the best. There is bus transportation from the base to most areas in town. One of the bus stops is a 15-20 min walk from the campground. We made it from the trailer to the center of Albuquerque on the bus in one hour.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 5-19, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We've enjoyed another stay here at Kirtland and will no doubt be back. It continues to be a good place to be. Albuquerque holds a lot of things to see and do at times other than the Balloon Festival.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
7 June 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Base relatively easy to locate as was campground. Two sections, old, with shade but low electric and some, what appeared to be, homesteaders. Got a site in the new section and the only issue was NO SHADE and it was 102 upon our arrival. But that was not a real problem, thanks to A/C. Sites were very large, both in width and length, and all utilities were easily accessible. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was close to facilities, Exchange, Commissary and Service Station, which has diesel. This is a terrific looking base with beautiful housing and what appears to be mostly new base proper buildings. Outstanding appearance all around.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
24-27 October, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
There is an old section of campground which is well shaded by trees but from all appearances looks like homesteaded campers. The new section, which we stayed in has gravel sites wide and long enough for any rig. They have a picnic table but no fire ring. Sites have full hookup with several sewer connections which makes it easy to park anywhere you want on the site. There is a dog park which was nice for our pet as it was one of the few areas without large thorns. WIFI is available at the base library & they have free DVD checkout. The base has plenty of area to ride bikes or just walk, if you do ride be aware that the thorns will go through bicycle tires. I had to change 3 tubes while we were here. It also has a good commissary and BX. We went to Sandia mountian area and went up to the top of the mountain on the tram, a trip well worth the cost. We will definitely stay here again if we get back to this area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
February 3-4, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We arrived at night in a snowstorm. The camp hosts could not have been nicer and helped get us situated. We just needed electricity so we stayed in the new gravel area. Nice campground and AFB. Good campground for the money, we will definitely stay there again. Filled up the tank with diesel at the BX.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Sept 26 - Oct 10, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed in overflow 1 night then we stayed the rest of the time in the "new" gravel lot. We may have enjoyed the old site w/trees more, but I doubt it. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
September 25, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
There is an old and new section in the C/G. The older section has trees for shade, but those sites nearest the office are over grown. It would be difficult for a larger rig to fit on them without scraping the branches. The new section of the C/G has all gravel, wide, level, and long sites which will accommodate any size rig. They actually would fit two larger rigs on each site. There is a picnic table but no fire ring. The utility pedestal is shared by two sites, but due to the width of the sites, does not hinder space between rigs. There are several sewer connections on each site which makes it easy to park anywhere you wish. The road is dirt, but is supposed to be paved in the near future. Easy access in and out. Voltage was good. 30/50 amp service in the new section. Water pressure was high, but can be controlled easily by the valve handle. The bathhouse was old but well maintained. There is only one shower and toilet for 100+ spaces which is inadequate. Good laundry facility. I saw only one dumpster and it was at the end of the new section. Also inadequate for the number of sites. Customer service was good. I didn’t see a camp host, but there’s a self check-in for after hours. The on base gas station sells diesel. Disregard published instructions to enter or leave via the main gate unless you wish to solemn thru tight barriers or have a short rig. Use the Gibson Gate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 1, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We arrived late in the day and there were no spots available so we stayed in the overflow comfortably since we're self-contained. Filled the fresh water tank and emptied the black/gray tanks on our way out. The stay cost us nothing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Apr 23- Apr 29, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We tent camp, so we view this campground differently from most of the reviewers. We were directed by the camp host to setup our tent on the grass at the entrance of the FamCamp, where we have setup in previous trips. The manager is recovering from surgery and the host and his wife effectively handle everything when she is off site. The new section will look similar to the original park as time goes by, it takes time to establish grass in the desert. A washing machine was out of service over the weekend and was promptly returned to service on Monday. This camp is well located for anyone wanting to visit northern New Mexico as they travel I-40. To the RV's, when the spring weather forecast predicts breezy, I would recommend retracting the awnings.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
51 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3