Kirtland AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.0 (172)
139068 2 31 1 65

User reviews

172 reviews

 
(52)
 
(89)
 
(20)
 
(9)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.4  (172)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.9  (172)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.6  (172)
Value 
 
4.2  (172)
Overall Experience 
 
4.0  (172)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
172 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Ordering
29 May 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This was a convenient place to park and visit family in the area for a reunion. The park is pretty basic (the new section). You're out in the open on gravel parking spaces. Everything is there you need. It doesn't have much in the way of character; trees, plants, etc. All told it satisfied the parking needs and the price was ok.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I concur with previous reviewer - enter at the Eubank Gate. Much easier than the Wyoming gate which we have done a few times. Campground keeps getting better each time we visit. Glad to get the last site in the new area. Work crew is steady maintaining it, chopping weeds, watering trees etc. It will never be a destination campground but very adequate for the many permanent Active Duty residents and those like us that stay a couple of weeks. Satellite TV works good, Verizon Mifi fine although not fast. We will stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 2015
(Updated: May 12, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Come in the Eubanks Gate. If you can keep your rig between the lines on the highway, you can make it between the posts at the gate. Eubanks Gate is about a 1/4 mile from the Famcamp. If the office is closed, pick a vacant site then go back to the office and fill out the paperwork (lots of extra info is requested on the form) and drop the form (in a provided envelope) into the drop box. If there is an orange cone at a site, that site is claimed, but not yet occupied. Janet, the host, seems kind of grumpy to me. First time I've met a Famcamp host who was grumpy. The "new" part of the park is a gravel parking lot. At least you don't have to worry about leaves or twigs on top of the slides. Sites were long and wide with rigs alternating their direction. Lots of space between the passenger/curb side of each coach that way. Over the air tv was fine. Wifi signal strength was good, but the bandwidth (speed) was lacking. Water pressure was very good. Some noise from the Albu Sunport (airport). Hearing Reveille and Retreat again was nice. I may have been sleeping by Taps because I didn't hear it played. The dog park is in a corner of the "old" side of the park. It is nicely sized, but the area is more dirt than grass. It could be because of all the trees surrounding it or simply a lack of watering the grass. My guess is it is due to lack of watering. There are grassy areas with "No Dogs Allowed" signs, but some campers ignored those signs. There is either a trick to get the showers in the new area to work or they are simply lousy showers. Very little water volume out of either one.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
8 April-21 April 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our 2nd stay here and find it to be very convenient for things we wanted to do. The Eubank gate is definitely the best gate to enter. Campground is very close to Sam's Club, Costco,Walmart,Home Depot..all on Eubank. We were in Site #84 in the new section and our preferred area. Spaces are wide and long pull thru. Commissary, Exchange,Gas,PO just off Gibson. While here we toured Fort Union,Acoma Pueblo,Gilman Tunnels off scenic hwy 4, Bandelier and other areas. Facilities clean, but would be nice to have change machine in laundry. Also wi-fi not very good. We ended up using our mi-fi thru ATT. It is a quiet base. The Owl Cafe was recommended, so we went there for dinner 1 night..very 50's and food was good..also, Freddy's for frozen custard. Amy and John Stanton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April, 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This review is a mixed bag of both pros and cons regarding what should be a great FamCamp. On the plus side is its convenience to the freeway system (I-25/I-40), diesel and propane sold on base, large and easily accessed sites (new area only), a large dog run (more on this below), free Wi-Fi (see below), and last but not least the convenience to the Albuquerque region and its many wonders. The negatives mar what should be a really pleasant experience. The older section still has many issues (we have been using this FamCamp off and on since 2004); several utility locations that ought to have been taken care of years ago – one site requires an extension to access electricity, several have 50 amp outlets, but only provide 30 amp service. The dog run has deteriorated over the years – we no longer allow our dog in it. There is little to no grass remaining, even minimal maintenance of the area is lacking – downed tree branches, dog feces (!), pick-up bags on the ground and not picked up. A water sprinkler system is installed, but we did not observe it in use, nor did we see any evidence of its use – dampness, etc. Some base housing children seem to enjoy using the area for play and tree climbing. The Wi-Fi is in serious need of upgrade; unfortunately this is an issue at many FamCamps around the U.S. And finally, many residents seem to not understand the rule/courtesy of NOT walking through other’s sites! On three successive days I had to remind someone to not walk through my site (two were older, “experienced” people that ought to have known better). A discussion with the office lady wasn’t much help.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Mar 31 - Apr 2, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Awesome campground and camp host. As with all military campgrounds WiFi could use work. The laundry facilities could use some attention as well. This is an awesome campground!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Sept 27 - Oct 2, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
V.O. left this review using the Directory software: - Wonderful FamCamp. Loved the new pull-thru sites. Outstanding manager and hosts. Friendly guests. Definitely return. Base is superb. Great walking, jogging, bike, and pet fun. Camp Pet Area one of the best - actually had "grass."
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Oct 8 thru 12, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
M.M. left this review using the Directory software: - We are here for the balloon festival so the park was full and the over flow had a number of units in it. Our prior extended stay was with Thousand Trails in Las Vegas. The lots here are so much wider and yes they are gravel but so were the lots at Thousand Trails and Navada State Park. A real plus for us is diesel is sold at the BX Service Station. 36' 5th wheel.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
23 Sept 14
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
W.R. left this review using the Directory software: - We are at Kirtland just before the Balloon Fiesta. The park is FULL and overflow is also brimming. This being said, my primary information to pass on is that the Eubanks gate is no longer the gate of choice, in my opinion. The word "tight" is an understatement and there is little room for error. Serious scrape marks on the steel entrance gate beams underscore my comments. I concur in an earlier comment about the Gibson Gate as access. Its in 2 parts and the first part is wide and not a problem. The second element, splits into 2 parts, one being a "car" or normal "check your ID section and a second, to the right, parking area with a wide entrance to the main base. The trick is to get them to remove the pylons to let you through as mostly there is only one person manning the entire gate.|This base seems to be mainly just a security area for classified security companies. Military personnel are few and we have yet to see a patrole vehicle. Lots of airport noise, and some strange whooshing sound that echoes 24-7 from one of the gated civilian facilities. I find it quite unusual that civilian companies have their own fenced (seriously with, concertina wire on top, and one over 15 feet tall) within a military base. Also their own guards. We bumped into several of these when looking for the arts and crafts center.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Sep 27 to Oct 2, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
V.O. left this review using the Directory software: - Awesome base and facilities. FamCamp manager, Doreen, was most helpful, courteous, and supportive. First-come-first-serve is good policy. We were fortunate to get pull through site. Great WiFi throughout the park. Definitely will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
15 April 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed here while making our PCS move to Georgia, as well as getting to spend some time with our son in college. Absolutely worth the price and conveniently located near everything one would need. Can not say enough great things about the super friendly and professional staff that work here. We will definitely stay here in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
November 2, 2014 - November 17, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed in the newer graveled area. Large & long sites, but had to spend time shoving gravel around to level our 5th wheel. Could have been due to balloon festival overuse, and wasn't difficult to fix. Someone pulled next to us the next day that tried using boards to level their TT, so it wasn't just our spot. Host was great when we came in on a Sunday, but one of the regular staff on Monday didn't seem to be all that interested in doing much but take our money for the stay. Location is fantastic for seeing ABQ and things in the area. Base facilities are good, but not extensive. They sell diesel at the Exchange Shoppette and at a good price, and there's an RV wash booth at the car wash.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
10-11 September 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This was our second time here, we really like the long and wide gravel sites in the "new" part of the park. Super easy access for our 38' coach pulling a 20' car trailer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
August 12-15, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
J.C. left this review using the Directory software: - We are 45 feet plus tow car and we really like the new sites. Yes they are gravel and yes there are no trees, BUT they are wide and long and easy to get into and out of. No trees is a plus for us, no way will the side of the rig get scratched, no worries about the slides hitting the trees and no problem with satellite reception. The rate of $18.00 per day beats the heck out of the nearby KOA which is $50 per day for a 50 amp full hook up pull-thru. Commissary is well stocked and gas station sells diesel. We did not use the laundry or showers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Sept 20-23, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Nice park and very wide sites in the 'new' area. Host took care of us even though we arrived after her normal hours. Down side has to do with the office. They are still using paper, plexi-glass and a grease pencil to maintain registered guests. It takes more time than necessary and certainly not what the Air Force of the 21st Century should be doing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 21 - June 4, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stay here every year as this base is convenient for visiting family. The new section is deep gravel & isn't dusty. Dust blows over from other areas of the base when the winds are going. The sites are wide and long. We like the setup as we travel with friends - the pullthrus are up & down (hard to explain) so that we are able to set up our rigs with our doors facing each other & then we share our picnic tables & common area. The older section does have the trees but not all of the older section has 50amp. I have not been here yet when all of the machines in the laundry room were working. Costco is right up from the Eubank gate. The commissary & bx are over by the Gibson gate. We use the Eubank gate. We have no problem making it thru. It is easy access from the interstate. Just line up your rig & drive in. There really is room on either side.
M
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 2-5, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This place has the best explained "who can stay here and for how long" policy of any I've seen. And it seems to be enforced. The new addition makes their no reservation policy a bit easier to deal with. The older sections have shade and some have only 30 amp. They have good wifi and nice concrete sites. Laundry is very good, but bring your own quarters. No change available by machine or office. Recommend.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
12 May 2014
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
This is a good overnight stop but the new area which is where they insist you park is just a gravel parking lot with hookups. No trees, no shade and no WiFi at all. When we asked the ederly lady that runs the office when it might be repaired she told us she didn't know anything about it. When checking in she was more interested in watching her game show on tv than helping us. I would not recommend this for a longer than one night stop.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I stay here every time I am in the Albuquerque area and experience is always a great one. For those with the bigger rigs I would recommend using the Gibson Gate there are no barriers so no pucker factor it is across the base from the park but it is not a bad getting there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Mar 31, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great place to stay. The WiFi is non existent here. They say it's only hard to get a good connection in the evening, but I tried different times of the day for the whole week I was staying there & never had any kind of connection. I was backed up to TLF & was able to connect to theirs. Good location & the park has everything else you need. The only bad thing I experienced was a little silver car that would speed around the park, peel out in the gravel & had their loud bass music playing in at all hours. It was frustrating because the speed limit of 10mph is posted everywhere & there is supposed to be quiet hours enforced, but nobody seemed to want to disturb the only people who were disturbing everyone else.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
172 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9