Kirtland AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.0 (172)
138109 2 31 1 65

User reviews

88 reviews with 4 stars

172 reviews

 
(52)
 
(89)
 
(20)
 
(9)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.4  (172)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.9  (172)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.6  (172)
Value 
 
4.2  (172)
Overall Experience 
 
4.0  (172)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
88 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
25 Sep - 9 Oct 12
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
S.B. left this review using the Directory software: - we came here for the Balloon Fiesta; if you get here around the end of September, the facility may be full. We arrived Tuesday, 25 Sep and there was many spaces available. But by Saturday, 29 Sep it will probably be full. We have stayed here before and little has been done to improve the cg. Many trees are either blocking or restricting entry on a site. There appears to be no cleanup or landscaping crew at all. This comment refers to the original cg not the new sites which have no trees. The office manager Janet is helpful and good at her job, but all that entails is answering the phone and registering campers. There are a few active duty people, not many that i see.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Spet 11, 2012
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Eubank Gate closes at midnight and Wyoming gate closes at 1900. Gibson is the 24 hour gate. This Park could been one of the best if there was better management. The grassed areas are being overrun with "Grassburrs" which resemble grass and "Goatheads" that mostly grow around the edges. The yard maintenance folks run the lawnmowers over them scattering them even more. The dog run was out of poop bags in all three containers and when reported to the office. I got a "I don't have time to go get any." Although I don't think she would be missed for a 20 minute to get them. When I was there, the place was nearly full. You would think with the routers already on the poles and nightly income over $5000.00, WIFI would be furnished. Then onsite Camp Host is great and very helpful. The day employ could use some additional training in dealing with the public. Instead on sitting on her butte watching TV, she could police up around the office and update the site board out on the porch. I would recommend this park to anyone as the day trips in the area are outstanding.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
5 Sept 2012
(Updated: September 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We spent one night here on our way to the east coast. We stayed in the West section, the older section of the fam camp. I rated the facilities a three because the bathrooms and laundry have not been upgraded after the number of sites have been significantly expanded. Doreen, the night host, site 25, advised us that the Gibson gate has been changed to being open 24 hours and the Wyoming gate closing at 1900. I am not sure what hours the Eubanks gate is open. This is different from our last visit here. The state fair and the balloon fest are coming shortly. This campground is easy to reach from both Interstate 25 and 40. We departed through the Eubanks gate that Doreen recommended and passed a Costco, Sam's and Walmart before reaching the interstate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
23-27 June 2012
(Updated: June 28, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Spent a few night here on the back end of the PCS while waiting for our house. Stayed in the new section and these sites are HUGE! I think you could fit two rigs in these spots if you were really friendly, more than enough for us and an extra vehicle. Nice layer of gravel to keep down the dust and services were well placed. The only other on this side is the lack of trees, so you're stuck making your own shade which can be challenging with the winds. Laundry was full up and the bathrooms, though small, were clean and fully functional. With only one shower per gender, we did experience a couple of lines but nothing unbearable. The dog area is fantastic, plenty of shade and great grass without any of the stickers. Easy walk down to Harding Field or around the back fence too. Overall, a great value and location if visiting ABQ.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
18 June 2012
(Updated: June 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
After reading the remarks I was leery about pulling off onto KAFB with a tent... but wow was I surprised. I got a really awesome spot with shade all day and a killer breeze dropping the afternoons well into the comfy range. I had no issues doing my laundry and the machines were fully functional. The shower stall is a bit small and could use a soap basket or something, and a seat big enough to sit on would be nice also.
Overall a very enjoyable stop for me, and Janet just totally rocks!!!!!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 27, 2012
(Updated: June 01, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed in the new section again and really enjoyed the new layers of gravel the staff has installed. The overall rating would have been higher except for the laundry facility and the office staff. When I stayed there last spring the same washers/dryers were broken and according to some of the active duty staying there there has been no attempt to have them fixed. The lady operating the office needs to start keeping records in the computer system so there is an accurate record of who is staying on what site. When we arrived we went to the office to look at the park listing to see what was open. There were only three sites that did not have an “X” thru them so we were limited. After a long lunch I went to the office to register only to find out the office lady didn’t use the park site map and we could have had a choice of 19 sites. She explained she didn’t like computers and relied on her memory. We will stay there again because of the location and access to diesel fuel at the base gas station.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 27-30, 2012
(Updated: April 30, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed in new section, very large gravel sites. No trees. Quiet. Close to I-40 so very convenient for sight seeing around Albuquerque. Eubanks Gate is EXTREMELY narrow, suggest using a different gate, the base is very easy to get around from the other gates. Will stay here next time we are passing through.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
29 Nov 2011 - 28 Dec 2011
(Updated: April 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The expansion to the east has greatly increased the capacity of this FamCamp, not only in number of spaces but in the size each camper has - some of the best sites you'll find if you have a big rig or more than one vehicle, or guests. All have full hookup, with 50 Amps. One error in construction was not burying the water pipes deep enough to prevent frequent freeze-ups and more than a few broken pipes. We experienced this in this visit as well as in past visits during New Mexico's occasional very cold snaps, which can happen anytime from November thru March. We had a pipe burst adjacent to our trailer, and were showered in spray for over an hour from 9PM into the night, while contract civil engineers were called to shut off the water! Lots of ice formed on the trailer, and the site resembled an ice rink by the following morning! No damage done, everything melted when it hit 32 degrees about 10AM. But campers should know to ALWAYS disconnect their water when there's a prediction to go below freezing. Helpful staff - Janet, the host, is great to work with. Always accommodating with pay-as-you-go, because they'd rather not refund, unless really necessary. Credit cards welcome, and late arrivals and early departures are never a problem.
Still no wifi because of concerns about interference to the mission at the Sandia National Labs, yet there are mo restrictions on using routers if you connect via a Verizon or Sprint card. Go figure - but a minor inconvenience, because the cards work just fine. The laundry facility is fair, and the shower and toilet facility is pretty poor. No issue with cleanliness, but these are old-old-old! Really in need of replacement, and better heating in the winter. Otherwise, a super 'user-friendly' place to stay. Would not hesitate to stay here anytime. Great Commissary and Good BX. Nice gas station/Class VI, and they sell cheap diesel! Fairly good, but older fitness center, convenient to RV park. Good Post Office. Excellent TV reception with line-of-site to the transmitters on Sandia Crest. Lots and lots of things to do in Albuquerque, right out the main gate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 1,2,3, 2012
(Updated: March 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I think we stayed in the newer area. Nice with rocks etc. The only complaint I have is the showers/restrooms. They were clean, but it was FREEZING cold in there. I couldn't get the hot water to work, so I went to the office to see what was going on. She said you have to turn it this way and then back that way and it will work!!! That was CRAZY! Plus only one shower? We were really surprised for the size of the camp. Since they have added the new sites hopefully there is a plan on updating those shower facilities as well. At least fix the heat! I mean it was like a "girl scout" shower.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
22-27 Mar 2012
(Updated: March 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Another nice stay at Kirtland. Came and went through the Eubanks Gate with no problems. When calling ahead to make sure there was sites available, Janet, the manager is always helpful. We'll be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
October 2011
(Updated: October 25, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Good place to stay. Good weather while we were there but whatever it is (wind, sun etc) the east side is open to it. East side has enormous sites, wide enough for two vehicles with room to spare but they are 100% gravel. With plenty of dry camping space no need for reservations but you'll probably start on the east side. Rest rooms clean, laundry inop while we where there. Overall, I thought the place was being well maintained. Nice folks working there, especially the host. Would stay here again for sure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
5-13 May 2011
(Updated: June 14, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I did not have any trouble with the directions at all and came in thru the Gate on Gibson Ave. I would use the Eubanks gate next time as it is easier and closer to the RV Park. We stayed in the newer section which is open and dusty. All the sites were huge pull thrus and had new stone which helped with the dust. Great location to explore the area and nice facilities on the base. The wind was terrible while we were here. We did not use the showers or bath rooms so cannot comment on them. We did use the laundry which only had 3 washers and dryers and several of them were out of order. We stayed in a 5th wheel. Janet in the office is very knowledgeable on the area and can give you tips on where to go.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
14-16MAY 2011
(Updated: May 16, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice campground with two very different sides; the nice wooded side was full including the FEMA trailers mentioned before which were empty, I assume they are rentals for the airmen on post to use which is a nice program, this facility is here primarily for them but these trailers look like they have seen better days. The other side is very open with soft gravel and huge spots, they are very nice but the wind was HORRIBLE and there is nothing to block it if you stay on that side. The post is very nice and in a great location, there is a lot to offer within a short drive from the base so it is defiantly worth the visit. They don't take reservations but with so many sites on both sides I doubt it is ever completely full except maybe during the balloon festival. If you are coming this way it is well worth staying here especially for the price and central location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
20 -27 April 2011
(Updated: April 26, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Came in through the Eubanks Gate without any problems. Surprised to see several old, beat up and very ugly FEMA trailers in some of the nicer sites on the east side. None were used while we were there. Janet assigned us to a site on the west side. Nice huge pull-through. Visited ITT and saved some money on Isotopes and Tram Ride tickets. We’ll be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
G.S. left this review using the Directory software: - Stayed in the old section, many back in sites and some crossed utilities. If they have money to invest, I'd recommend a new bath house. We have a 40ft RV towing a car and made it through the gates with care. Initially went through the recommended Truman Gate, was quite an adventure trying to find the camp from there. Need better directions, gate guard at that location not really helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Oct 26-28,2010
(Updated: October 28, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Overall a nice experience, stayed on the west side which is nothing but an open area with full hook-up sites, wide and long. There were many open spots to choose from, reservations are not taken and were not needed. We arrived after 1600 and did not have access to the bathroom until the next morning due to needing a combination to get in them. We were able to enter through the main gate. We are 36 feet with a tow vehicle. It looked tight. We would stay here again and recommend it when visiting Albuquerque.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
18-20 Oct 2010
(Updated: October 22, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Since it was a Sunday we had to go through the main gate vice the Eubanks gate. Our rig is a 38’ 5-wheel pulled by a long bed 3500 GMC so I was just a little apprehensive about going through that gate and the maze. It’s a very good thing that I pulled into the visitor parking lot as I don't believe we could have gotten through the main gate. The maze has been tightened up since the last time we were here. The Security Police checked our ID’s and told us that the gate guard usually sends big rigs to the Truman gate. They then had to remove the barriers to let us through. I called the Police Desk this morning and they said that the “prefer” large vehicles use the Truman gate. Here are directions: From I-40 East or West, take Exit 161, San Mateo Blvd. Go south on San Mateo Blvd NE. Left on Gibson Blvd SE After entering gate, go to Wyoming Blvd and turn right. Left on F Ave Then follow directions above. We stayed in the East section. Very large pull-throughs with 50 amp and 30 amp service. This sections is just a very large parking lot with hookups but it works. 10% discount for Officers/NCO Club members.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
4 Aug 10
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed just one night. Didn't use the laundry so I can't comment. Hard pressed to find a bunch of trees out there, so my site was basically a concrete pad with dirt, which turned to mud once wet. The dog run was great, but there were no bags, fortunately I had my own. Shower facility needs updating as there was only one female shower; however, it was clean. Great stop over on way out West and having the commissary right there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
1 - 12 July 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed in the new section, nice big spots but absolutely no shade and with the winds, you can't leave your awning up to block the sun. The A/C's worked HARD for the time we were there. They could use another (or larger) laundry facility as well--when they added the new sites, they did not add additional laundry/bathing. Lots to do in the local area and the base is beautiful. We'd definitely come back--but not when it is so hot :-).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
18-19 March 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice park for an overnight stop. A little expensive compared to other Fam Camps I have visited. Cable would be nice as we could only receive one english channel with our HD antennae. The newer side has lots of space. I was able to park my truck next to my trailer. The staff here was very nice. Would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
88 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5