Kirtland AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.0 (172)
139019 2 31 1 65

User reviews

172 reviews

 
(52)
 
(89)
 
(20)
 
(9)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.4  (172)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.9  (172)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.6  (172)
Value 
 
4.2  (172)
Overall Experience 
 
4.0  (172)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
172 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Ordering
Feb 28 - Mar 1 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We are currently in spot 51 in the "new" area and have no complaints. We drove up from El Paso to check out the National Fiery Foods and BBQ festival at the Sandia Casino. As the other reviews mentioned, the older side of the FAMCAMP looks like it is for long termers, and after taking our dogs for a walk through that area it is clear that it used to be military housing that was converted to RV sites. The sites clearly used to be driveways into military housing. I would highly recommend picking a site in the new area. As I am typing this I am connected to their free wifi which has an excellent connection, and I have to say the gravel sites are so big I didn't have to worry about where I needed to park to make sure my slides would fit. The only issue I have with this FAMCAMP is the gate. As many have mentioned, you should definitely use the Eustis Gate. Take I-40 and don't pay any attention to the signs that say Kirtland AFB....Get off I-40 at Eustis BLVD, make a right and stay in the middle or left lane... I stayed in the right lane and without notice it ended. The thing most people didn't mention is that Eustis BLVD basically ends at the entrance to the AFB, so don't worry about where you need to go.....take Eustis until it ends and you will be there. Now to my only issue.....that gate is small....I have a Ram dually pulling a 40ft 5er that is a full 101 inches wide. Im talking pucker factor making it through the gate. We made it with no issues but seriously why don't they open up the gate a little more. When you make it through the gate, you can see the spots to your right. Overall, well worth it and for $18 a night....we will stop here again.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Dec. 8th - 11th, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Our ratings are perhaps a little high but our experience was also not at the best time of year. The site we were on didn't have water - it was frozen - which I was able to resolve by running a hose from the next site over to fill our potable water tank. Even if we could have hooked up to the water at our site we would have had to unhook it at night due to sub freezing temps. Fortunately there price for propane was a great value and we used a fair amount due to the cold. The sites in the newer section were extremely large with plenty of room but it is going to take a while for the stone to settle before it will be in better condition. The shower facility and bathroom was clean and nicely heated for those cold morning trips to the shower. The base was very nice and we enjoyed our time while in the area. Unfortunately we weren't there long enough to fully enjoy all of the area since we were really wanting to reach our destination in Arizona. We plan to return however and stay once again in warmer weather as we explore the area around Albuquerque. There is a lot to see but best during warmer weather!!! I would recommend this site to others.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
20 Dec 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We came into this famcamp at about 9PM, had no issues with getting campsite info and had to go through Eubank entrance with no issues. We set up on the new side and loved the large gravel sites. We found our site to be a little unlevel. The new side had very clean but limited to two showers/toilets. The other side had very disgusting showers/toilets. Price was good and we enjoyed our stay. I would recommend this site to others.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Nov 6-10, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed here for AF Academy vs. New Mexico football game. First visit. Excellent facility. Stayed in newer area. Sites are large, open and more than enough room for largest rigs. Office folks very nice to work with. Found Eubanks gate with no trouble. A little tight but manageable. During my visit, Eubanks gate was the 24 hr gate. Gibson and Wyoming gates close after hours. Base is in a great location to visit Albuquerque. We suggest SanDiago's at the base of the Sandia Peak Tramway. Food is great and the views at sunset are spectacular. Sandia Casino at I25 and Tramway Blvd is good entertainment. We will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Oct 4-8, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Spaces are level, some have grassy areas. The laundry is clean. If no full hook-up spaces are available, be sure to sign up on the waiting list at the registration office. The base is the SE city limits to Albuquerque, so it's easy to get to sights and entertainment in the area. Be sure to visit the National Museum of Nuclear Science and History. It has been moved outside the base, so it's easy to access.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Nov 6-7, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stopped by for a couple nights to update the website information, get some more photos, and create a "tour video". The FamCamp was about 50% occupied during our visit. This time of the year, campers can stay for a month. While I've heard that a few campers have been here long-term, their sites didn't really reflect homesteading. Active duty on TDY and PCS are allowed to stay here until settled. We stayed in the newer "open" area, which was fine with us. Since you share utility pedestals, you can be pretty close to your neighbor. With the current rate of $18 a night and the close location to town, this campground is still a pretty good value (compared to many others).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
1 November 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed in the Open area sites which are extremely large. Unfortunately there is no staff available after 4:00 PM Friday until Monday AM. Because there were no camp managers around, one individual pulled into a single site with his large 5th wheel and utilized both his dump and the neighbor's dump to hook up his rig rather than using "Y" connectors. I did find an alternative site. The famcamp has an excellent dog run area (important for dog owners) and it appears that guests were very courteous about cleaning up after their "furry" friends. The open area is excellent for satellite reception. The gate opening on Eubanks Blvd is a little tight, but not so tight as to be worrisome if you take it slow and straight. I stayed here in my coach, and will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
17 Aug 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
R.O. left this review using the Directory software: - We stayed three days. Some sites are under trees and other sites are in the open. The open sites are are very large with level gravel surface and work well for those with satellite requirements. The Eubanks Blvd is the most direct route to the campground. The gate opening is tight but you can get a large motorhome with tow vehicle through it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
28 Aug-3 Sep 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Stayed at the New Area one day and moved to the somewhat shaded area-older park where some homesteaders are staying. Seems they are not policing properly IAW USAF Reg's. The shower room/bath is not being clean on a daily basis. Otherwise nice stay but some problems. Dining facility opened to retirees on weekends and holidays for “Breakfast and Lunch ONLY.”
DF
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
15-18 July 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed in the new area from 15-18 July 2013. Sites were large, easy pull through, hook ups were well located, and all in all was a good experience. Certainly prefer the newer sites to the older ones. Office staff was helpful and the location of the base and the RV park were central to everything in Albuquerque. Price was reasonable, considering that many military parks are matching the fees from the local economy. We would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
27 Jun - 9 Jul 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We were in the new part of this campground and love it. It was close to the Eubanks gate which made for easy on/off base. While there we had to have new brakes on the motorhome so there was some motel time, however we did leave our trailer and motorcycle at the campground. I would not have done this at a commercial campground. This is a campground we will stay in again when in this area. There are a number of national landmarks to visit as well as a couple of private attractions. We also took the train ride to Santa Fe to visit the farmers market, I am a train fan and this was a thrill for me since the price was only $10 round trip.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
21 June - 2 July 2013
(Updated: June 29, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed in the new area. Large, level gravel pull-thrus that can accomodate any size RV. Laundry Facilities are very limited - 3 washers and 2 dryers and no change machine and the office does not make change either. Go to the bank before doing laundry. The new bathrooms are adequate with stainless steel one-piece commodes, but the water temperature in the showers is impossible to regulate. The showers have "hot water on demand" type heaters. Either hot or cold and nothing in between. New base exchange opened 28 June. Diesel on base at 9 cents a gallon cheaper than in town. Not the best place, but convenient for taking in the local sights!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 13-19 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
R.L. left this review using the Directory software: - We stayed in the new section, which is pretty much a parking lot, but the sites are very large while the older section, though pretty, is more cramped. It got very windy while we were there, our 5th wheel shook and rattled all night. We actually felt better NOT being under a lot of trees. The Exchange was just in the process of moving into a new and larger building right next to the commissary.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 2013
(Updated: June 04, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Hours for staff have been cut back. While we were there for a weekend the office wasn't open and we did the self check in. The prior comments still hold true - it's a good value for the area and lots to do around the city. I did notice one change - a new bath facility in the middle of the "parking lot." People were still working on it so I didn't go inside.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
27-29 May 13
(Updated: May 29, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We arrived on Memorial Day. This proved to be a problem because there was no staff of any kind available to help us out in understanding the check in process. We never did see the camp host. There are instructions and procedures posted but they refer to a map that must be updated for the process to work and it was not updated. We stayed in the "new" part which is basically a parking lot with hook ups. Several sites require maintenance to fix their power. When the staff did arrive after the holiday they were barely responsive to our intrusion into their television watching so we could square-away the paperwork. Overlooking the staff responsiveness issues, which may be isolated because of the holiday, this is a good stopping place to enjoy the Albuquerque area and Kirtland AFB. The routing into the base through the Eubanks gate is a good way in, but be advised the gate is narrow so drive carefully.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
01 MAY 2013
(Updated: May 08, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My wife and I rolled into Kirtland about 2300 local after a long drive from Arkansas. The directions provided to access the correct gate were exact and perfect! We found a spot and pulled in (as quietly as possible), getting hooked up to shore power, water and sewer. As we were getting things settled for the night the camp host drove up and welcomed us, asking if we wanted to wait and get checked in in the morning (I just paid her cash because we wanted to sleep in). She came back over about 20 minutes later, bringing a receipt and giving us a quick rundown of the parks facilities, including the laundry which was needed after a few weeks on the road. We only spent the night, but Kirtland filled our needs to a tee. We'd recommend their FamCamp to anyone!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
19 Mar-26 Mar 2013
(Updated: April 02, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our first time and location very good for shopping. We were in site 50 on East side and preferred this. Nice dog park and clean laundry room. Sites are long and wide.
Would definitely recommend coming in the Eubanks gate in spite of what GPS tells you. Very convenient to camp. Also, there is a newer Walmart on Wyoming a mile north of the exit. Costco is just north of Eubank gate next to older Walmart. Staff helpful and friendly. Will definitely return. John and Amy Stanton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
March 13-17, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
R.W. left this review using the Directory software: - Camp dir. and host helpful. New drive through sites nice and wide. Should have new shower house open soon {this will improve the camp overall}.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
25 Sep - 9 Oct 12
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
S.B. left this review using the Directory software: - we came here for the Balloon Fiesta; if you get here around the end of September, the facility may be full. We arrived Tuesday, 25 Sep and there was many spaces available. But by Saturday, 29 Sep it will probably be full. We have stayed here before and little has been done to improve the cg. Many trees are either blocking or restricting entry on a site. There appears to be no cleanup or landscaping crew at all. This comment refers to the original cg not the new sites which have no trees. The office manager Janet is helpful and good at her job, but all that entails is answering the phone and registering campers. There are a few active duty people, not many that i see.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
10 - 13 October 2012
(Updated: October 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stopped here mid week of the Balloon Festival and didn't expect to find any spots, but there was at least eight available. The office manager said they haven't been full for several nights but expected to be on the weekend. Since we only needed 30 amp electrical, we were given a site in the old, west section. This use to be a housing area. The sites are on driveways, and the slabs of the buildings that use to be there, pull throughs with curbs. Depending on what site you were on, you may need at least 25 feet of electrical and water hose to reach the connections. On the west side, many sites are shaded by big trees--our's wasn't--but it wasn't too hot, and the sunshine felt good in the mornings.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
172 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9