Kirtland AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.0 (170)
134154 2 31 1 65

User reviews

88 reviews with 4 stars

170 reviews

 
(51)
 
(89)
 
(20)
 
(8)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.4  (170)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.9  (170)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.6  (170)
Value 
 
4.2  (170)
Overall Experience 
 
4.0  (170)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
88 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5
Ordering
March 1-7, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed in the gravel portion in the back and really liked it there. The sites are very large, both long and WIDE. I work out of the RV so I wanted something to look at besides the side of someone else's rig, so we looked for an end spot. We found one, but the way the sites are set up you have the sun flooding in your windows at dawn or sunset. So instead, we parked diagonally in the site, had a breathtaking view of the mountains, no sun blindness, only a few quizzical stares from passersby. Facilities on base were great, enjoyed seeing the petroglyphs and wandering around the open spaces at the foot of the hills. We would not hesitate to stay here again, should we ever find ourselves in Albuquerque again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
March 14 -17,2010
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Hugh improvement over our last visit to Kirtland AFB. The east area with their very large gravel spaces, sewer, and electric connections are a vast improvement over the older west area. We hope they continue to improve this park, as this park could serve as a hub for the many attractions of the Albuquerque area. A host drove up as we were sitting up in the rain/snow mix of early March and volunteered to go to the registration office and mark our spot on the sign in board, the lady who registered us the next morning was very nice and informative. Some areas of improvement are: the bathroom facilities need updating and expanded. They are woefully inadequate for the size of this famcamp with only one shower. The registration office is very small and does not have the room to have the informative brochures and other amenities of other famcamps. It would be a little better if they would compact the gravel sites but we did not have a real problem with sitting up because our jack pads compacted the gravel and we were able to level without too much effort. There is no shade or landscaping in the east area and that will help this summer for those sites. With a few more improvements this would be a very nice famcamp. With all that said we will continue to stop here and hope they continue to improve the famcamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Sept 13, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The new huge gravel sites are very nice, almost zero stickers. WIFI is still at the library, but you can pick up about five open signals and I was able to get on a few to check mail. They are repainting the bathrooms now for the balloon festival next month. Camp host and staff are very nice. The base is a step up as well.
P
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This was our 2nd visit. The new gravel lot is big rig friendly but with the desert heat trees would be nice.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 16 to July 19, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Comfortable park with excellent location and access to base and local facilities. Price is high for 30 amp, no internet, no cable tv. Our famcamps should be able to match or beat local passport america discounts in the area. I have traveled a lot over the last three years and it seems that so many are raising their prices to approach the $20 threshold with little added amenities.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice clean park. Restroom facilities could use some remodeling, but were acceptable. Park was a big gravel lot for the most part, but served its purpose.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
5-10 May 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is our second time at Kirtland and we have enjoyed our stay both times. When the new section was opened it virtually doubled the size of the park. The area is just a large parking lot with parking sites designated by light poles on the ground, but they are very large and all have 50 amp service. We elected to stay in the old section which has grass and trees which was almost full but more to our liking. Site #30 is a long site that is not designated a pull-thru but could be if necessary. I pulled our 5’er into the site and when leaving I backed out. This site has 50 amp service but my cord was too short to reach the box so we used a 30 amp extension cord. Three washers and four dryers in the laundry room and they all worked. Bathrooms were clean. Propane is available in the park. We came in the Gibson gate and had no problems getting through the maze but take it slow.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
May 5, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We arrived today at Kirtland AFB and the new camp sites are a huge improvement. The 40 new sites are huge and angled for easy entry. The hook-ups are in between two sites and easy to reach for most any RV. In fact, there are three sewer connections on each center utility run. The sites are gravel and the roads are dirt. Hopefully, they will pave the roads at some point. We had difficulty leveling our motor home on the first row, sites E-31 to E-40. We tried two sites on this row and each one had a slope downward towards the south. And the gravel was so loose that our jacks sunk into the gravel a couple of inches. We moved to the third row and site E-18 and had no difficulty leveling. Plus the gravel was more hard packed. Overall, we are very pleased with the campground expansion.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Apr 5 - Apr 15, 09
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We arrived 3 days after the new section was opened. Selected a site, dumped my air, lowed the jacks to level, extended the slide, hooked up to water and sewer, then plugged into the 50 amp electric. Should have plugged into the electric first, as there was no electricity. After all that we had to move to a site with good electric. (Problem with the transformer; it was fixed the next day). There's advantages to parking on thick gravel than dirt/grass when it rains. I had no problem with that. Sites are nice and wide, and would accommodate a picnic table nicely. The old section was full and the new section quickly filled up with people in overflow, probably because of the RV rally that came to town (that's why we were there; we moved to the rally grounds when it opened). I left for the better part of a day to take my motor home to a facility for work. I left my sewer hose attached, and placed a cone on my site. When I returned the sewer hose and all attachments were gone. One of their workers disposed of it. The park bought me a new outfit. I would go back for a short stay. For a longer stay I'd look for an off base campground at a cheaper price.

ST
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
31 Mar - 27 April 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We have stayed here once a year for several years, from two weeks to a month at a time. It would be great if they would change the 14 day limit to 30 days to be consistent with most other Famcamps, but the 14 day stay limit does allow you to "roll over" and stay in your site if there is no one on the waiting list at 9am on your day of departure. If on the rare occasion you do get bumped, you probably will spend just one night in dry camp before you are back in full-hookups. When we arrived, there was an over-voltage problem in our site in the old area. The host called out some electricians to verify the problem. As it was after 4pm, we dry-camped in our full hookup site that night (the new area was not open, and there were no empty sites) until they brought a crew out at 8:15 the next morning to adjust the transformer. It is great that they have added new sites, though the end result is a bit disappointing as it is simply a gravel & dirt lot divided by telephone poles lying on the ground ...no wifi, no catv, no grill, no landscaping, dirt/dusty streets, and only a few picnic tables so far. And the bathhouse facilities has only one commode and one shower for each sex for all 72 sites!! Due to the increase in price to $18 and the fact they do not offer any weekly or monthly discount, we probably will stay in a civilian park on future visits to Albuquerque as we know several locations where far better amenities are provided (wifi, catv, grills, tables, and others) for $100-$200 less for a month-long stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
21 - 26 APR 09
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
J.M. left this review using the Directory software: Still a great place to camp. Close to everything on and off base. New sites are on thick gravel with dirt roads located where overflown used to be. For big rigs it is much easier and safer to use the Eubank Gate. Wyoming gate is VERY tight and a few RV's have scraped their sides. Truman gate is easy entry when coming in on week ends.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
April 24, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Our second stop here this month. First stop, our site was sold out from under us when we left to tour the balloon museum. They have no computer system to track sites. You are supposed to use a scarce red cone to let them know its occupied. Too bad no one told us. Second stay, someone pulled into our assigned space before we could get there. They let him stay & moved us. At least there was another site open. There is supposedly a 15 day rule. Good luck trying to get into one of the older, nicer sites. People there last week are still in the same sites. Some look as though they have not been moved for years. People in dry camp who signed up for a full hookup site were being made to wait until afternoon because people were supposed to arrive by then who were told they had a site. This in spite of there being a strict NO RESERVATIONS RULE. If this campground had the kind if management that they have in Kings Bay, GA, it too would be rated in the top ten. There is on base cheap diesel and a very nice PX & Commissary. Location is good. New section has dirt / sand streets & when winds gust to 50 MPH, dust devils & sand pelt you & your rig hard. This has been an all too frequent happening. Of course the old section has trees & paved roads, so not bad there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
16 Mar 09
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The campground was easy to find and near the gate off Eubank. I got there before it closed. I did have to back-in but that was ok. Host was having surgery the next day so temporary host was helpful. I did have to get cash at the shoppette but that was no big deal and easy to find. I enjoyed very much the peace and quiet away from traffic. I would stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
4 MAR to 5 MAR 2009
(Updated: September 14, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We really liked this base and Fam Camp. We came in the Eubank Gate as suggested and we had no trouble finding the Fam Camp. There is good signage and it's real close to the gate. We saw the work progressing on the new campsites they are building. It IS a strange check-in process, but it's temporary due to illness of the office manager. The office was padlocked when we arrived in the early pm, but it had good instructions on what to do. I had difficulty finding the camp host even though his campsite number was listed at the office. His name was Don and he was quite friendly but he and his wife are just doing it on a temporary basis until the base decides what they are going to do at the office, with the manager being out. We picked the spot we wanted (there is a map at the office porch with available campsites listed and it shows which ones are 50 amp--we were lucky to get one) and then marked our site with the grease pencil provided. We didn't have the correct bills so we had to go get change before we could deposit our payment envelope. The campsites are pull-throughs, which is a bonus. The base is nice looking--housing looked nice and so did the grounds. Needed one pair of shackles replaced on our 5th wheel(we had the parts) so we went to the Auto Hobby Shop on base and they took us in without any wait at all. NICE GUYS and very reasonable repair cost ($55 for one hour of labor). They even lubricated our ball bearings which they said were EXTREMELY dry, so that alleviated a potential future problem for us. Nice mini-mall, exchange and commissary. If you like hatpins and veteran paraphernalia, there is a GREAT shop in the BX complex by the food court. They have USAF frequent camper packets available at the office--if it is closed, go see the camp host. This is the first AFB we've been able to find them at! Everyone else is always out of them. We would love to come back here again and stay longer, next time we're in the area. They have diesel on base and if you use your military star card, it's 3 cents less a gallon. Would have liked to visit the thrift shop and library that's on base but we didn't have time as we were only here for one day and night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Oct 17, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed here for almost a month. The FamCamp itself is on the older side, but construction is now underway on 48 new sites where the infamous goathead field was. When that is completed, they will upgrade all the existing sites. While we were there all the laundry machines were replaced. While the construction is underway, you might want to camp on the west side of the campground due to the large amount of dust blowing off the construction. You're a long way from the runways, so it is pretty quiet for an AFB. **During weekdays, USE THE EUBANK BLVD GATE! It is straight through, no zig-zags in or out, and it is the closest to the FamCamp - a straight shot of less than a half-mile. On weekends, the Truman St. Gate (located off Gibson Blvd just west of the VA Hospital) is the preferred gate because it too does not have zig-zags. You'll have to wind your way through the base to the CG, but there's no traffic. Of course, if you've got a smaller rig, go for the Wyoming or Gibson Gates on weekends. Go out the Eubank Gate and you'll find Costco, Home Depot, and Wal-Mart south of the Interstate, other big box stores just to the north. So far as the comments on the grouchy camp hosts, some are justified, some not. We personally had no problem with them. (Just remember the honey and vinegar routine.) We will stay here again. It is a great location to explore the area, very handy to the interstate (Eubank/I-40 or Gibson/I-25).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
17-25 Sep 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We were in electric only on pretty much a day to day basis while waiting on dealer & mfg coordination on repairs. The woman in the office was helpful, though never gave us any famcamp, local or bathroom combination information. We had no trouble getting a refund for days paid when the dealer called us to bring our motorhome in ahead of what they had previously scheduled. As we have experienced before, the goathead thorns are pretty bad throughout the campground. The woman in the office told us that construction is scheduled to being on 1 Oct on 40 new sites immediately East of the existing Famcamp. This will eliminate ALL drycamp and electric only hookups -- during their busiest time of the year while Balloon Fiesta is going on, but it should be great when the new addition is completed!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Sep 15-29, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
J.H. left this review using the Directory software: Visited 15 - 29 Sep, 08. We called the day we expected to arrive and found they had a few full hookup sites available. The directions through Eubanks gate were accurate and helpful. We checked in at the office where they gave us a list of available sites (4) and answered our questions. They accepted our Frequent Camper coupon and stamped our book. We selected a nice end site with a large grass yard, concrete patio, and concrete table and benches. We originally planed to stay one week but decided to stay two weeks since the area, site, and weather were so nice. The hookups were very convenient at our site, but I did notice some of the other sites required long runs of cables and hoses. The place is clean and well maintained. There are nice walking paths in the adjacent housing area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 13-14, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We called ahead and the person told us that, although they had a pad available at the time it was first-come first served, so we might have to park in the overflow area. That turned out to be the case but we did have water and electricity on a gravel/rock parking area. Kirtland AFB is a nice base, and is a nice location to stay while visiting Santa Fe and other nearby points of interest.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
11-16 April 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Famcamp is wedged between a newer housing area, the TLF houses, and the Dep't of Energy's solar energy research antenna farm. Camp itself is pleasant, but its age shows. Appears to be on land that once was the base trailer park, or an older housing area with houses gone. Restrooms are minimal - shower in men's room is really old, probably 30 years or so, and not well maintained, but shower itself was fine. Sale of propane is a very nice amenity! Lady in charge of the campground is extremely helpful, and is quick to point out that a nearly 100% refurbishment is due this summer! (2008). Wi-Fi is non-existant, although campground-wide wi-fi is scheduled as part of park upgrade this summer. Commissary operates 24/7, 0900-1900, also a very nice perk! The Commissary, BX, and Shopette/Auto Care center/Class VI and new automated car wash are all in a row, easy to access, just down the road, going west, from the Famcamp. BX and Commissary are very good. Class VI wine/beer selection is excellent - lots of microbrews, impports, great selection of New Mexico wines and others as well. All the usual hard liquor selections. Base itself is very clean. Great TV reception - analog & digital - from Sandia Peak antenna farm right behind famcamp. Base is right IN Albuquerque, and easy to get to via the Wyoming Street gate, heading north. BTW you'll intersect Central Avenue, the old Route 66 - WELL worth the drive into downtown, as well as eastward. Lots of old historic motels, diners, great neon sineage. Plenty of space near Famcamp if you like to run/jog. Well equipped fitness center, though pretty old. Would definitely stay there again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
13-16 Mar 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
There aren't any instructions (above) for arriving from the south. It's easy. If coming up I-25, look for Gibson street exit. It's right after the International airport exits. Turn right off I-25 & stay on it till you bump into the gate. Had to stay 1 night in overflow, but it had 30amp. Just no water. Moved into a full hookup next morning. Camp host is very nice/helpful. Bathhouse has only 1 toliet & 1 shower (men's), women's has 1 shower, 2 toliets. laundry is a real bargain @ $.75 per load. Sites are mostly pull thru, mostly paved and level. BX/Commissary, etc nearby. Nice place to sit out the Spring wind storms.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
88 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5