Kirtland AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.0 (172)
138947 2 31 1 65

User reviews

172 reviews

 
(52)
 
(89)
 
(20)
 
(9)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.4  (172)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.9  (172)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.6  (172)
Value 
 
4.2  (172)
Overall Experience 
 
4.0  (172)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
172 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Ordering
Spet 11, 2012
(Updated: September 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Eubank Gate closes at midnight and Wyoming gate closes at 1900. Gibson is the 24 hour gate. This Park could been one of the best if there was better management. The grassed areas are being overrun with "Grassburrs" which resemble grass and "Goatheads" that mostly grow around the edges. The yard maintenance folks run the lawnmowers over them scattering them even more. The dog run was out of poop bags in all three containers and when reported to the office. I got a "I don't have time to go get any." Although I don't think she would be missed for a 20 minute to get them. When I was there, the place was nearly full. You would think with the routers already on the poles and nightly income over $5000.00, WIFI would be furnished. Then onsite Camp Host is great and very helpful. The day employ could use some additional training in dealing with the public. Instead on sitting on her butte watching TV, she could police up around the office and update the site board out on the porch. I would recommend this park to anyone as the day trips in the area are outstanding.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Sep 7-8, 2012
(Updated: September 09, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The location was great. We came in through the Eubanks gate which was tight but doable if you go slow. No one in office when we arrived but we read the instructions for self check in and found a spot just fine. Host Doreen was over to see us shortly after and was very friendly. Sites are pretty big but it's all dirt, gravel and rocks. The old section does have a fair number of trees and shade. Be VERY careful about letting your dog walk on what looks like grass because it's full of stickers (think they call them goatheads locally). Our dogs had so many that we had to carry them back to the RV and it took me 1/2 hour to get them out of the bottom of our sneakers. Brutal. Price is okay at $18 but then you find out how expensive the laundry is - $1.50 wash/ $1.00 dry. Guess I'm spoiled by the Navy bases where laundry is either free or very low price. Bathrooms are tiny but okay. I'd stay here again when passing through the area but maybe get some booties for the pups!
PB
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
5 Sept 2012
(Updated: September 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We spent one night here on our way to the east coast. We stayed in the West section, the older section of the fam camp. I rated the facilities a three because the bathrooms and laundry have not been upgraded after the number of sites have been significantly expanded. Doreen, the night host, site 25, advised us that the Gibson gate has been changed to being open 24 hours and the Wyoming gate closing at 1900. I am not sure what hours the Eubanks gate is open. This is different from our last visit here. The state fair and the balloon fest are coming shortly. This campground is easy to reach from both Interstate 25 and 40. We departed through the Eubanks gate that Doreen recommended and passed a Costco, Sam's and Walmart before reaching the interstate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
23-27 June 2012
(Updated: June 28, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Spent a few night here on the back end of the PCS while waiting for our house. Stayed in the new section and these sites are HUGE! I think you could fit two rigs in these spots if you were really friendly, more than enough for us and an extra vehicle. Nice layer of gravel to keep down the dust and services were well placed. The only other on this side is the lack of trees, so you're stuck making your own shade which can be challenging with the winds. Laundry was full up and the bathrooms, though small, were clean and fully functional. With only one shower per gender, we did experience a couple of lines but nothing unbearable. The dog area is fantastic, plenty of shade and great grass without any of the stickers. Easy walk down to Harding Field or around the back fence too. Overall, a great value and location if visiting ABQ.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
18 June 2012
(Updated: June 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
After reading the remarks I was leery about pulling off onto KAFB with a tent... but wow was I surprised. I got a really awesome spot with shade all day and a killer breeze dropping the afternoons well into the comfy range. I had no issues doing my laundry and the machines were fully functional. The shower stall is a bit small and could use a soap basket or something, and a seat big enough to sit on would be nice also.
Overall a very enjoyable stop for me, and Janet just totally rocks!!!!!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 27, 2012
(Updated: June 01, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed in the new section again and really enjoyed the new layers of gravel the staff has installed. The overall rating would have been higher except for the laundry facility and the office staff. When I stayed there last spring the same washers/dryers were broken and according to some of the active duty staying there there has been no attempt to have them fixed. The lady operating the office needs to start keeping records in the computer system so there is an accurate record of who is staying on what site. When we arrived we went to the office to look at the park listing to see what was open. There were only three sites that did not have an “X” thru them so we were limited. After a long lunch I went to the office to register only to find out the office lady didn’t use the park site map and we could have had a choice of 19 sites. She explained she didn’t like computers and relied on her memory. We will stay there again because of the location and access to diesel fuel at the base gas station.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 27-30, 2012
(Updated: April 30, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed in new section, very large gravel sites. No trees. Quiet. Close to I-40 so very convenient for sight seeing around Albuquerque. Eubanks Gate is EXTREMELY narrow, suggest using a different gate, the base is very easy to get around from the other gates. Will stay here next time we are passing through.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
April 5 - 8 and April 11, 2012
(Updated: April 20, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This is a nice place to stay. WiFi would be nice and could be installed easily. Otherwise, no complaints. Janet is very nice and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
29 Nov 2011 - 28 Dec 2011
(Updated: April 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The expansion to the east has greatly increased the capacity of this FamCamp, not only in number of spaces but in the size each camper has - some of the best sites you'll find if you have a big rig or more than one vehicle, or guests. All have full hookup, with 50 Amps. One error in construction was not burying the water pipes deep enough to prevent frequent freeze-ups and more than a few broken pipes. We experienced this in this visit as well as in past visits during New Mexico's occasional very cold snaps, which can happen anytime from November thru March. We had a pipe burst adjacent to our trailer, and were showered in spray for over an hour from 9PM into the night, while contract civil engineers were called to shut off the water! Lots of ice formed on the trailer, and the site resembled an ice rink by the following morning! No damage done, everything melted when it hit 32 degrees about 10AM. But campers should know to ALWAYS disconnect their water when there's a prediction to go below freezing. Helpful staff - Janet, the host, is great to work with. Always accommodating with pay-as-you-go, because they'd rather not refund, unless really necessary. Credit cards welcome, and late arrivals and early departures are never a problem.
Still no wifi because of concerns about interference to the mission at the Sandia National Labs, yet there are mo restrictions on using routers if you connect via a Verizon or Sprint card. Go figure - but a minor inconvenience, because the cards work just fine. The laundry facility is fair, and the shower and toilet facility is pretty poor. No issue with cleanliness, but these are old-old-old! Really in need of replacement, and better heating in the winter. Otherwise, a super 'user-friendly' place to stay. Would not hesitate to stay here anytime. Great Commissary and Good BX. Nice gas station/Class VI, and they sell cheap diesel! Fairly good, but older fitness center, convenient to RV park. Good Post Office. Excellent TV reception with line-of-site to the transmitters on Sandia Crest. Lots and lots of things to do in Albuquerque, right out the main gate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 1,2,3, 2012
(Updated: March 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I think we stayed in the newer area. Nice with rocks etc. The only complaint I have is the showers/restrooms. They were clean, but it was FREEZING cold in there. I couldn't get the hot water to work, so I went to the office to see what was going on. She said you have to turn it this way and then back that way and it will work!!! That was CRAZY! Plus only one shower? We were really surprised for the size of the camp. Since they have added the new sites hopefully there is a plan on updating those shower facilities as well. At least fix the heat! I mean it was like a "girl scout" shower.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
22-27 Mar 2012
(Updated: March 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Another nice stay at Kirtland. Came and went through the Eubanks Gate with no problems. When calling ahead to make sure there was sites available, Janet, the manager is always helpful. We'll be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
November 2011
(Updated: November 20, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed here a couple of months ago (on the newer side) and had a very nice time. The camp host was very cordial, the area clean, and RV spaces are nice. We got here this visit after the office was closed for the day so I filled out the envelope at the office per posted instructions. The space I selected in the new section was not marked off on the space chart, so I marked it on the chart and we pulled our RV into that space. There were two traffic cones sitting next to the electrical box (they were not placed in the middle of the space to look like someone might be using that space). I got out of out truck and a woman from the adjoining space came around the corner of her RV and said in a loud non-cordial voice "don't you know what the cones are for?" Not sure why she would think I knew what the cones were for -- the office chart showed the space as vacant and the cones were off to the side of the space. I told her no I didn't know what the cones were for and she continued in her loud non-cordial voice to tell me that the space was reserved. I told her the chart at the office showed the space as vacant and she again said it was reserved. It worked out well that we didn't stay next to her because her dogs barked continually from the minute we pulled into the space. I then realized when I saw her vehicle that this same woman was in that same space when we were here a couple of months ago. During that stay, I had taken our dogs over to the dog park. She was there and actually called out to me to not bring my dogs into the park until she took her dogs out!! The space outside her RV looks like she is set to stay there permanently, just as it did when we were here before. Not the best person to run into for a good first impression of the famcamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
October 2011
(Updated: October 25, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Good place to stay. Good weather while we were there but whatever it is (wind, sun etc) the east side is open to it. East side has enormous sites, wide enough for two vehicles with room to spare but they are 100% gravel. With plenty of dry camping space no need for reservations but you'll probably start on the east side. Rest rooms clean, laundry inop while we where there. Overall, I thought the place was being well maintained. Nice folks working there, especially the host. Would stay here again for sure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Sept 15 - 20, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
W.J. left this review using the Directory software - We stayed at this campground from Sept 15th - 20th. Stayed in spot w21. This famcamp is doing a good job. They have tried to answer all bad comments. Yes, for a military camp ground it is a little expensive. The best famcamp in the west only charges 17.00 where as this one charges 18.00. The camp manager is doing her best to satisfy everyone but of course, can't satisfy everyone. The fam camp is in a good location to see the upper east side of New Mexico. The new addition is now looking good. Rock and gravel have been put down and some trees planted. There is no wifi because Sandia Labs is afraid someone will hack into their system. Sounds like a problem with their security. Guess they have not heard of people bringing their own. There is no need for cable TV as Albuquerque has many local tv stations. The old FEMA trailers are still there. Problems here need to be addressed with WMR. By the way, a new restroom facility is being added in the near future to east side park. No plans for a new laundry room. I found all pf the facilities very clean, and staff very friendly. Will definitely will stay at this famcamp again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Sept 12 - 15 2011
(Updated: September 15, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We visited for three nights and had enjoyable time. We were located in the new area; all sites are 50 amp with full hook-ups; this area is pretty barren but sites very large, windy conditions will bring up the dust. We did not use the restrooms or laundry but in walking the older section of CG it appeared that general maintenance is falling behind. $18 per night is a great price for the area. Will use again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Aug 13, 2011
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
D.K. left this review using the Directory software: - Mens shower was dirty when we visited 6 years ago and at least once a year since. Condition is now filthy. Bad soap scum on walls, exhaust fan missing, mold on floor. Feces on wall of toilet stall. No latch on toilet stall. Womens shower exhaust fan inoperative. Have been telling on-site person, Janet Marchi, about showers for 6 years. Condition only gets worse. I will send email to Wing Commanders HOTLINE as they have an ORI first part of Sep 2011.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
7 - 13 August 2011
(Updated: August 22, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed for a full week, and will certainly do so again when next we have a chance. Weather was great and the campsite was most comfortable. This campground has two sides: The new East side is spacious, gravel surfaced, 50-amps, pull-throughs. It seems that the "big rigs" are more comfortable over in the newer East side. The older West side is more attractive, although some sites only accommodate 30-amps. Our trailer is a convenient 22 ft, 30 amps, back-in capable, so we were able to thoroughly enjoy our week's stay in the West side with shade trees around. Outdoor Rec decided to park three rent-able FEMA trailers in parking sites that I would like to be able to use. I wish they would have put those FEMA trailers over in the East side where there a many more sites available. The campground manager and the host were very gracious, knowledgeable and helpful. They made our stay very pleasant. The bathhouse and laundry is older but kept clean everyday. When the East side was built, more than doubling the number of sites, they did not build a new bathhouse or expand the existing one. I heard that plans are in the works for installation of one of those new modular bathhouses on the East side. But we will have to wait to see if that happens....it is needed though. No Wi-Fi in this campground. Base facilities are nice - one of the best. There is bus transportation from the base to most areas in town. One of the bus stops is a 15-20 min walk from the campground. We made it from the trailer to the center of Albuquerque on the bus in one hour.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
14 July 2011
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
J.C. left this review using the Directory software: Price is 18.00 and all the dust you can eat! Works as a "pass through", but not much else. Would not want to try to stay if raining!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
5-13 May 2011
(Updated: June 14, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I did not have any trouble with the directions at all and came in thru the Gate on Gibson Ave. I would use the Eubanks gate next time as it is easier and closer to the RV Park. We stayed in the newer section which is open and dusty. All the sites were huge pull thrus and had new stone which helped with the dust. Great location to explore the area and nice facilities on the base. The wind was terrible while we were here. We did not use the showers or bath rooms so cannot comment on them. We did use the laundry which only had 3 washers and dryers and several of them were out of order. We stayed in a 5th wheel. Janet in the office is very knowledgeable on the area and can give you tips on where to go.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
14-16MAY 2011
(Updated: May 16, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice campground with two very different sides; the nice wooded side was full including the FEMA trailers mentioned before which were empty, I assume they are rentals for the airmen on post to use which is a nice program, this facility is here primarily for them but these trailers look like they have seen better days. The other side is very open with soft gravel and huge spots, they are very nice but the wind was HORRIBLE and there is nothing to block it if you stay on that side. The post is very nice and in a great location, there is a lot to offer within a short drive from the base so it is defiantly worth the visit. They don't take reservations but with so many sites on both sides I doubt it is ever completely full except maybe during the balloon festival. If you are coming this way it is well worth staying here especially for the price and central location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
172 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9