Kirtland AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.0 (172)
138968 2 31 1 65

User reviews

172 reviews

 
(52)
 
(89)
 
(20)
 
(9)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.4  (172)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.9  (172)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.6  (172)
Value 
 
4.2  (172)
Overall Experience 
 
4.0  (172)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
172 results - showing 121 - 140
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Ordering
July 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This was our 2nd visit. The new gravel lot is big rig friendly but with the desert heat trees would be nice.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 16 to July 19, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Comfortable park with excellent location and access to base and local facilities. Price is high for 30 amp, no internet, no cable tv. Our famcamps should be able to match or beat local passport america discounts in the area. I have traveled a lot over the last three years and it seems that so many are raising their prices to approach the $20 threshold with little added amenities.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice clean park. Restroom facilities could use some remodeling, but were acceptable. Park was a big gravel lot for the most part, but served its purpose.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
5-10 May 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is our second time at Kirtland and we have enjoyed our stay both times. When the new section was opened it virtually doubled the size of the park. The area is just a large parking lot with parking sites designated by light poles on the ground, but they are very large and all have 50 amp service. We elected to stay in the old section which has grass and trees which was almost full but more to our liking. Site #30 is a long site that is not designated a pull-thru but could be if necessary. I pulled our 5’er into the site and when leaving I backed out. This site has 50 amp service but my cord was too short to reach the box so we used a 30 amp extension cord. Three washers and four dryers in the laundry room and they all worked. Bathrooms were clean. Propane is available in the park. We came in the Gibson gate and had no problems getting through the maze but take it slow.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
April 1, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We arrived late in the day and there were no spots available so we stayed in the overflow comfortably since we're self-contained. Filled the fresh water tank and emptied the black/gray tanks on our way out. The stay cost us nothing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 5, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We arrived today at Kirtland AFB and the new camp sites are a huge improvement. The 40 new sites are huge and angled for easy entry. The hook-ups are in between two sites and easy to reach for most any RV. In fact, there are three sewer connections on each center utility run. The sites are gravel and the roads are dirt. Hopefully, they will pave the roads at some point. We had difficulty leveling our motor home on the first row, sites E-31 to E-40. We tried two sites on this row and each one had a slope downward towards the south. And the gravel was so loose that our jacks sunk into the gravel a couple of inches. We moved to the third row and site E-18 and had no difficulty leveling. Plus the gravel was more hard packed. Overall, we are very pleased with the campground expansion.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Apr 23- Apr 29, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We tent camp, so we view this campground differently from most of the reviewers. We were directed by the camp host to setup our tent on the grass at the entrance of the FamCamp, where we have setup in previous trips. The manager is recovering from surgery and the host and his wife effectively handle everything when she is off site. The new section will look similar to the original park as time goes by, it takes time to establish grass in the desert. A washing machine was out of service over the weekend and was promptly returned to service on Monday. This camp is well located for anyone wanting to visit northern New Mexico as they travel I-40. To the RV's, when the spring weather forecast predicts breezy, I would recommend retracting the awnings.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Apr 5 - Apr 15, 09
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We arrived 3 days after the new section was opened. Selected a site, dumped my air, lowed the jacks to level, extended the slide, hooked up to water and sewer, then plugged into the 50 amp electric. Should have plugged into the electric first, as there was no electricity. After all that we had to move to a site with good electric. (Problem with the transformer; it was fixed the next day). There's advantages to parking on thick gravel than dirt/grass when it rains. I had no problem with that. Sites are nice and wide, and would accommodate a picnic table nicely. The old section was full and the new section quickly filled up with people in overflow, probably because of the RV rally that came to town (that's why we were there; we moved to the rally grounds when it opened). I left for the better part of a day to take my motor home to a facility for work. I left my sewer hose attached, and placed a cone on my site. When I returned the sewer hose and all attachments were gone. One of their workers disposed of it. The park bought me a new outfit. I would go back for a short stay. For a longer stay I'd look for an off base campground at a cheaper price.

ST
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
31 Mar - 27 April 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We have stayed here once a year for several years, from two weeks to a month at a time. It would be great if they would change the 14 day limit to 30 days to be consistent with most other Famcamps, but the 14 day stay limit does allow you to "roll over" and stay in your site if there is no one on the waiting list at 9am on your day of departure. If on the rare occasion you do get bumped, you probably will spend just one night in dry camp before you are back in full-hookups. When we arrived, there was an over-voltage problem in our site in the old area. The host called out some electricians to verify the problem. As it was after 4pm, we dry-camped in our full hookup site that night (the new area was not open, and there were no empty sites) until they brought a crew out at 8:15 the next morning to adjust the transformer. It is great that they have added new sites, though the end result is a bit disappointing as it is simply a gravel & dirt lot divided by telephone poles lying on the ground ...no wifi, no catv, no grill, no landscaping, dirt/dusty streets, and only a few picnic tables so far. And the bathhouse facilities has only one commode and one shower for each sex for all 72 sites!! Due to the increase in price to $18 and the fact they do not offer any weekly or monthly discount, we probably will stay in a civilian park on future visits to Albuquerque as we know several locations where far better amenities are provided (wifi, catv, grills, tables, and others) for $100-$200 less for a month-long stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
21 - 26 APR 09
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
J.M. left this review using the Directory software: Still a great place to camp. Close to everything on and off base. New sites are on thick gravel with dirt roads located where overflown used to be. For big rigs it is much easier and safer to use the Eubank Gate. Wyoming gate is VERY tight and a few RV's have scraped their sides. Truman gate is easy entry when coming in on week ends.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
April 24, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Our second stop here this month. First stop, our site was sold out from under us when we left to tour the balloon museum. They have no computer system to track sites. You are supposed to use a scarce red cone to let them know its occupied. Too bad no one told us. Second stay, someone pulled into our assigned space before we could get there. They let him stay & moved us. At least there was another site open. There is supposedly a 15 day rule. Good luck trying to get into one of the older, nicer sites. People there last week are still in the same sites. Some look as though they have not been moved for years. People in dry camp who signed up for a full hookup site were being made to wait until afternoon because people were supposed to arrive by then who were told they had a site. This in spite of there being a strict NO RESERVATIONS RULE. If this campground had the kind if management that they have in Kings Bay, GA, it too would be rated in the top ten. There is on base cheap diesel and a very nice PX & Commissary. Location is good. New section has dirt / sand streets & when winds gust to 50 MPH, dust devils & sand pelt you & your rig hard. This has been an all too frequent happening. Of course the old section has trees & paved roads, so not bad there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April 3, 2009
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
K. D. left this review using the Directory software: The "new" campground is open. You will have no cable, no picnic table, no trees or shade and you will pay 5 dollars more than at the "old" sites. The reasoning for this is the sites are bigger. They only offer the daily rate. But the sites are bigger, even though they are all gravel which is difficult to walk in because of being newly put down. Easy to find though.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Mar. 5-19, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
J.B. left this review using the Directory software: Great campground. Construction is on schedule for the new campsites to be finished by end of March. (The contractor is delivering the gravel for the sites). We will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
16 Mar 09
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The campground was easy to find and near the gate off Eubank. I got there before it closed. I did have to back-in but that was ok. Host was having surgery the next day so temporary host was helpful. I did have to get cash at the shoppette but that was no big deal and easy to find. I enjoyed very much the peace and quiet away from traffic. I would stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
4 MAR to 5 MAR 2009
(Updated: September 14, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We really liked this base and Fam Camp. We came in the Eubank Gate as suggested and we had no trouble finding the Fam Camp. There is good signage and it's real close to the gate. We saw the work progressing on the new campsites they are building. It IS a strange check-in process, but it's temporary due to illness of the office manager. The office was padlocked when we arrived in the early pm, but it had good instructions on what to do. I had difficulty finding the camp host even though his campsite number was listed at the office. His name was Don and he was quite friendly but he and his wife are just doing it on a temporary basis until the base decides what they are going to do at the office, with the manager being out. We picked the spot we wanted (there is a map at the office porch with available campsites listed and it shows which ones are 50 amp--we were lucky to get one) and then marked our site with the grease pencil provided. We didn't have the correct bills so we had to go get change before we could deposit our payment envelope. The campsites are pull-throughs, which is a bonus. The base is nice looking--housing looked nice and so did the grounds. Needed one pair of shackles replaced on our 5th wheel(we had the parts) so we went to the Auto Hobby Shop on base and they took us in without any wait at all. NICE GUYS and very reasonable repair cost ($55 for one hour of labor). They even lubricated our ball bearings which they said were EXTREMELY dry, so that alleviated a potential future problem for us. Nice mini-mall, exchange and commissary. If you like hatpins and veteran paraphernalia, there is a GREAT shop in the BX complex by the food court. They have USAF frequent camper packets available at the office--if it is closed, go see the camp host. This is the first AFB we've been able to find them at! Everyone else is always out of them. We would love to come back here again and stay longer, next time we're in the area. They have diesel on base and if you use your military star card, it's 3 cents less a gallon. Would have liked to visit the thrift shop and library that's on base but we didn't have time as we were only here for one day and night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Oct 17, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed here for almost a month. The FamCamp itself is on the older side, but construction is now underway on 48 new sites where the infamous goathead field was. When that is completed, they will upgrade all the existing sites. While we were there all the laundry machines were replaced. While the construction is underway, you might want to camp on the west side of the campground due to the large amount of dust blowing off the construction. You're a long way from the runways, so it is pretty quiet for an AFB. **During weekdays, USE THE EUBANK BLVD GATE! It is straight through, no zig-zags in or out, and it is the closest to the FamCamp - a straight shot of less than a half-mile. On weekends, the Truman St. Gate (located off Gibson Blvd just west of the VA Hospital) is the preferred gate because it too does not have zig-zags. You'll have to wind your way through the base to the CG, but there's no traffic. Of course, if you've got a smaller rig, go for the Wyoming or Gibson Gates on weekends. Go out the Eubank Gate and you'll find Costco, Home Depot, and Wal-Mart south of the Interstate, other big box stores just to the north. So far as the comments on the grouchy camp hosts, some are justified, some not. We personally had no problem with them. (Just remember the honey and vinegar routine.) We will stay here again. It is a great location to explore the area, very handy to the interstate (Eubank/I-40 or Gibson/I-25).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Oct 21-22, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
J.M. left this review using the Directory software: They have one of the nicest Dog runs I have seen. 110 feet by 40 feet - completely fenced - all GRASS not gravel - completely landscaped with bushes and trees and 10 (yes TEN) benches to sit on. Even had some doggie pick-up bags. Very nice.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
26-28 September 2008
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Will never come here again! We arrived on Friday afternoon after confirming with the office that the CG was full and we would be using the overflow area with no hookups. Although we have used overflow areas at other Famcamps, this one was nothing more than a dirt field with old power poles on the ground to mark the "spots." More importantly, we were never advised where the water or dump station was located, or that the overflow area was covered with "Goathead Stickers" to the extent that after driving onto the field, the tread on our tires (both our motor home and towed vehicle) were literally "white" with stickers. Unaware of this problem, we exited our MH to find our shoes were covered from heel to toe. Fortunately no damage appears to have been done to the MH tires, but we had to purchase a complete set of tires for the "towed" as the Goatheads punctured the sidewalls ($588). Additionally, the field contained numerous rodent holes capable of swallowing a small dog or small child or causing injury if someone stepped into one. There was "rebar" sticking out of the power poles that could be a serious safety issue for children. The overflow area should be closed, inspected by the base safety office, and not reopened until these issues are corrected. We agree with other visitor's comments regarding the host/hostess. They do not offer helpful information, you must drag it out of them. Please note that the Gibson and Eubank gates are closed at night, and there are no signs directing you to a gate that is open!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
27 Sep - 06 Oct 08
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Stopped in to see the balloon fest. Left hand needs to communicate with the right! A few days before the festival started partial and dry camping was closed for renovation, leaving lots of campers "stuck" for a place to park, and no work had started as of our departure date!! I do agree it needs some work done. The bathhouse is the worst I've seen, laundry was ok. Except for a place to park your rig the CG offered nothing else. Might be back for the balloon fest but won't stay here..
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Sep. 27 - Oct. 3, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
When we arrived after the closing of the office on Sat. the host Jack was not very friendly as when he came to his door of his motor home he asked if I had read anything on the porch of the office and indicated that I should have and not bothered him. Then a couple of days later he was very loud and obnoxious when asked a question about staying and paying for the site and taking the RV off of the site to go someplace for a few days. The office manager was very helpful and courteous. As of today there are no dry sites available.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
172 results - showing 121 - 140
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9