Kirtland AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.0 (164)
117062   1   31   1   58

User reviews

9 reviews with 2 stars

164 reviews

 
(50)
 
(85)
 
(19)
 
(8)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.4  (164)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.9  (164)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.6  (164)
Value 
 
4.1  (164)
Overall Experience 
 
4.0  (164)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
9 results - showing 1 - 9
Ordering
Oct 4, 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
I feel that all the others who gave reviews were at another camp. I was shocked at how much the park is not maintained. The manager indicated their maintenance guy retired and they had no one for a long time. The problem with this campground is simple. None of the funds collected are going back into the camp. Laundry room too small for the size of the camp. Amenities are awful. Everything looks run down. Sand spurs everywhere that coat your tires, feet and everything else. The overflow is so full of fire ants that I had to move three times and gave up and left the camp. Even the FHU's look rough and ugly. The road to the camp is very residential and too narrow for big rigs. If I were the commander I would close the camp. The base commander and his staff clearly do not care what happens to this camp. This isn't the camp staff's fault, reminds me of an old KOA that wasn't ever remodeled since 1965. I have stayed at many installation camp sites from all the services and this one gets my vote for the worse! STAY AWAY!!! Let it die a natural death! Don't reward poor leadership all the way up the chain of command. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 3
Jan 2017
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Location is marked low because of the placement of the FAMCAMP on the base and orientation of the parking spaces. The "new" area is exposed to a LOT of wind--prevalent winds hit the camper broadside--no sleep. Nite host was exceptional and has far better customer skills than the full-time staff. On-base facilities are good, but the campground could use some serious upgrading. Trees were in bad need of trimming and the goat-heads (huge stickers) are awful--especially for pets. Speaking of pets, people let them go in the weeds on the far end of the new area, which is the same direction the wind usually blows from. Think about it folks! Campground signage is poor and it is not well set up for arrivals/departures. Orientation of hook-ups is poor--sewer in new area requires a lot of hose, electric in some older slots requires an extension and is on wrong side. We're full timers and this campground is a bad choice if staying for over 2-weeks--they don't take reservations and you can't stay longer without moving out and back in, even if they are nearly empty. We moved to a nearby campground that takes reservations, is clean, exceptionally well maintained, has security, and is well managed. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 1
12 May 2014
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
This is a good overnight stop but the new area which is where they insist you park is just a gravel parking lot with hookups. No trees, no shade and no WiFi at all. When we asked the ederly lady that runs the office when it might be repaired she told us she didn't know anything about it. When checking in she was more interested in watching her game show on tv than helping us. I would not recommend this for a longer than one night stop.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Aug 13, 2011
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
D.K. left this review using the Directory software: - Mens shower was dirty when we visited 6 years ago and at least once a year since. Condition is now filthy. Bad soap scum on walls, exhaust fan missing, mold on floor. Feces on wall of toilet stall. No latch on toilet stall. Womens shower exhaust fan inoperative. Have been telling on-site person, Janet Marchi, about showers for 6 years. Condition only gets worse. I will send email to Wing Commanders HOTLINE as they have an ORI first part of Sep 2011.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
14 July 2011
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
J.C. left this review using the Directory software: Price is 18.00 and all the dust you can eat! Works as a "pass through", but not much else. Would not want to try to stay if raining!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
27 Sep - 06 Oct 08
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Stopped in to see the balloon fest. Left hand needs to communicate with the right! A few days before the festival started partial and dry camping was closed for renovation, leaving lots of campers "stuck" for a place to park, and no work had started as of our departure date!! I do agree it needs some work done. The bathhouse is the worst I've seen, laundry was ok. Except for a place to park your rig the CG offered nothing else. Might be back for the balloon fest but won't stay here..
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
14 Sep 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Arrived after dark and drove around the park once before I found the Camp Host who sat watching me from his window. Jack Neal, the host, was busy watching TV, and simply yelled out the window rather than getting up and coming outside. I inquired if he was the host and whether any were slots open, - he called to his wife who said yes, 22 and 23 were open. I asked where to obtain the user package and payment folder and was directed to the office which was closed. No payment folders were available so I simply wrote my name and pertinent info on the back of a local map, folded it with the money inside and deposited it in the receptical provided. I asked if there was a combination for the showers and laundry, = he called out the combination. I located the open slots, which were 21 and 22, (Thank goodness the shower combination was correct). I purchased a 'USAF frequent camper' subscription and have stayed in 12 USAF Fam-camps this summer. All were great, with this one exception. When a 'host' is too pre-occupied with his TV program to provide the service he is being paid for, - maybe they should find other employment? Dumpsters were full, - 'wi-fi' not operating, was told by another camper that the washers and dryers might not be working. Plans to expand this facility might be of questionable profitability? I'll admit my 2006 Lance slide-in camper sitting on a 2006 1 ton diesel isn't awfully impressive, but I feel entitled to the same cordiality I'd expect to give others. Mary the day host, was quite personable, but displayed little surprise or concern in regards to the perceived shortcomings.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
Oct 2006
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Spent a week here, only because we had to wait to have our rig repaired. Not a prleasurable experience. Dog run was directly behind us, and our site was where they "went" if they couldn't quite make it. We were "reminded" by the staff of our day of departure, (does anyone EVER forget when they are leaving someplace?) and reminded of the policy of only a 14 day stay. The manager needs remedial math though, as after our 7 days, he said we could only stay for another 5. Made for some chuckles, but won't stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Aug 2006
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Just OK.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 2
9 results - showing 1 - 9