Kirtland AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.0 (149)
93057   1   20   1   46

User reviews

19 reviews with 3 stars

149 reviews

 
(47)
 
(74)
 
(19)
 
(7)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
 
4.4  (149)
 
3.9  (149)
 
3.6  (149)
 
4.1  (149)
 
4.0  (149)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
19 results - showing 1 - 19  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

15-29 Sep 15

Second time we've stayed here; both times in the newer area. Office staff was very helpful and friendly. However, the bathrooms need some help; both in terms of cleanliness and the reliability of hot water. Twice, hot water stopped while I was taking a shower. We'll stay again, but I'll call first to see if the facilities are working.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

20 Sept 2015-4 Oct 2015

Been here in past, this stay a bit bad. Wifi ok, but in the new section need better maintenance of the shower/bath area. Clean up leaves much to be desired and if you enjoy cold showers its your ideal. Maybe due to up coming balloon show? But will return good for a short stay as mentioned in previous posts.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April, 2015

This review is a mixed bag of both pros and cons regarding what should be a great FamCamp. On the plus side is its convenience to the freeway system (I-25/I-40), diesel and propane sold on base, large and easily accessed sites (new area only), a large dog run (more on this below), free Wi-Fi (see below), and last but not least the convenience to the Albuquerque region and its many wonders. The negatives mar what should be a really pleasant experience. The older section still has many issues (we have been using this FamCamp off and on since 2004); several utility locations that ought to have been taken care of years ago – one site requires an extension to access electricity, several have 50 amp outlets, but only provide 30 amp service. The dog run has deteriorated over the years – we no longer allow our dog in it. There is little to no grass remaining, even minimal maintenance of the area is lacking – downed tree branches, dog feces (!), pick-up bags on the ground and not picked up. A water sprinkler system is installed, but we did not observe it in use, nor did we see any evidence of its use – dampness, etc. Some base housing children seem to enjoy using the area for play and tree climbing. The Wi-Fi is in serious need of upgrade; unfortunately this is an issue at many FamCamps around the U.S. And finally, many residents seem to not understand the rule/courtesy of NOT walking through other’s sites! On three successive days I had to remind someone to not walk through my site (two were older, “experienced” people that ought to have known better). A discussion with the office lady wasn’t much help.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

28 Aug-3 Sep 2013

Stayed at the New Area one day and moved to the somewhat shaded area-older park where some homesteaders are staying. Seems they are not policing properly IAW USAF Reg's. The shower room/bath is not being clean on a daily basis. Otherwise nice stay but some problems. Dining facility opened to retirees on weekends and holidays for “Breakfast and Lunch ONLY.”

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 09, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Sep 7-8, 2012

The location was great. We came in through the Eubanks gate which was tight but doable if you go slow. No one in office when we arrived but we read the instructions for self check in and found a spot just fine. Host Doreen was over to see us shortly after and was very friendly. Sites are pretty big but it's all dirt, gravel and rocks. The old section does have a fair number of trees and shade. Be VERY careful about letting your dog walk on what looks like grass because it's full of stickers (think they call them goatheads locally). Our dogs had so many that we had to carry them back to the RV and it took me 1/2 hour to get them out of the bottom of our sneakers. Brutal. Price is okay at $18 but then you find out how expensive the laundry is - $1.50 wash/ $1.00 dry. Guess I'm spoiled by the Navy bases where laundry is either free or very low price. Bathrooms are tiny but okay. I'd stay here again when passing through the area but maybe get some booties for the pups!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 20, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 5 - 8 and April 11, 2012

This is a nice place to stay. WiFi would be nice and could be installed easily. Otherwise, no complaints. Janet is very nice and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 15, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Sept 12 - 15 2011

We visited for three nights and had enjoyable time. We were located in the new area; all sites are 50 amp with full hook-ups; this area is pretty barren but sites very large, windy conditions will bring up the dust. We did not use the restrooms or laundry but in walking the older section of CG it appeared that general maintenance is falling behind. $18 per night is a great price for the area. Will use again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 6-8, 2011

W.R. left this review using the Directory software: - A couple of notes. The gate issue is VERY confusing. We carefully followed the instructions for entry listed and ended up at a VA Hospital. You have to be VERY careful of the lane you are in when turning on to Gibson Ave. It forks 3 ways, only one of which takes you to the base. The water pressure in the new wing of the family camp averaged 70 to 80 psi.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 25, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Sept 24 -Sept 28, 2010

If I hadn't talked to the host this morning I would have rated this famcamp higher in hospitality and overall experience. They do not take reservations here and have a 14 day stay limit. I have no problem with that and think it’s fair. Albuquerque has a popular balloon festival that starts next week. When I checked in yesterday, the female host, (Kelly) asked me how long I wanted to stay and that would determine where she’d put me. I told her just till Monday and she put me in the new section. I did wonder why my duration of stay, if within their 14 day limit, made a difference. My wife today suggested we stay another day. I stopped by the office and asked about extending one day. The male who was in the office when we checked in and I assumed was Kelly’s husband was there. Right off the bat he was rude. When I told him I was in the new section he said the base commander told them to have that section emptied of all guests by September 30th. I asked why it had to be emptied and he became visibly upset, saying he had no idea, he was only a volunteer and he’s tired of people gripping at him. I told him I wasn’t gripping, I just asked a question. He never extended my stay, even though I’d be vacating before Sep 30th, and just stormed off. The base commander can do what he wants I suppose. This section that has to be emptied is 40, fifty amp spots – more than half the capacity of the campground that is now not available to the active duty/retired population this recreation site is supposed to serve. At a bare minimum, the folks dealing with customers at the campground should be courteous (as Kelly was) and have an explanation as to why the campground is not available to it’s customer base during a popular event.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 22, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

September 16 - September 24, 2010

We stayed for a week in September. First the Good: Dog run is one of the nicer ones we have seen. We stayed in the older part of the park, and was nicely shaded by a huge pine tree. The commissary and exchange are real nice, and are well stocked. There is a thrift store on base with a great selection of books for under $1.00. Decent central location to get to Taos, Santa Fe etc. Now the Bad!: As everyone else has mentioned, there is really no other place in the campsite to walk your dog due to the stickers. The bathrooms are old, and upon first glance - the bathrooms are 'cleaned' daily (trash emptied, mirror wiped down) but the shower is downright disgusting. For 5 days straight, there was a used band-aid in the stall along with long hairs all over the floor, and used soap in the corner. There is mold everywhere, and the shower head itself is caked with some sort of substance that makes it spray in all directions except on the person. Also - don't expect the bathroom to get 'cleaned' on the weekend, as well as the dog poo trash can in the dog run (the bags run out too). My husband is on terminal leave (officially retiring in Dec.) but is still in the military. We went to the dining facility for breakfast one morning, and was told that he could eat in the facility with a copy of his orders, but I (as a dependent) was not allowed in. We have never heard of such a thing as we have dined at various facilities all over the United States. As for the location directly outside of the base - I would advise steering WAY clear! It is as ghetto as it gets, and can be quite scary.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 22, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

15-16 Sept 2010

Some of the new sites that were added were out of order due to construction but there is still plenty of room. I think the days of having to wait in "overflow" at Kirtland are over for good. As already noted the new sites are huge, all pull-thru but are basically just parking lot locations. The old bath-house/laundry is in sore need of an overhaul. It's too old & too small for this big a RV park. I do not think $18 is a fair price for the new sites at Kirtland.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 3, 2009

K. D. left this review using the Directory software: The "new" campground is open. You will have no cable, no picnic table, no trees or shade and you will pay 5 dollars more than at the "old" sites. The reasoning for this is the sites are bigger. They only offer the daily rate. But the sites are bigger, even though they are all gravel which is difficult to walk in because of being newly put down. Easy to find though.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Oct 21-22, 2008

J.M. left this review using the Directory software: They have one of the nicest Dog runs I have seen. 110 feet by 40 feet - completely fenced - all GRASS not gravel - completely landscaped with bushes and trees and 10 (yes TEN) benches to sit on. Even had some doggie pick-up bags. Very nice.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Sep. 27 - Oct. 3, 2008

When we arrived after the closing of the office on Sat. the host Jack was not very friendly as when he came to his door of his motor home he asked if I had read anything on the porch of the office and indicated that I should have and not bothered him. Then a couple of days later he was very loud and obnoxious when asked a question about staying and paying for the site and taking the RV off of the site to go someplace for a few days. The office manager was very helpful and courteous. As of today there are no dry sites available.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 20-21, 2008

Staff was very friendly and helpful. It says they do not accept reservations, but we called early in the day and they told us to come on in and they would have a spot for us. Evidently they did fill up as there was an overflow area with limited or no hookups which had campers in it. There are about 50 campsites and one men's shower. One evening there were 3 of us wanting to use the shower at the same time. Shower wasn't all that clean either. Power pole was a mess. The 20 amp jacks didn't work at all, and the 50 amp socket was missing, leaving a gapeing hole in the panel. I used the 30 amp circuit, but wasn't getting enough amperage to run my air conditioners until I went out and tightened the internal wires myself. Wait... there is more... the concrete pad had a 3 inch curb around it. I came out of my RV at night and stepped down on the edge of that curb and sprained my ankle. Man did that hurt. Still does! No idea why that curb is there. I know... I should watch where I'm stepping. We did enjoy the wild bunny rabbits and the birds.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

27 Feb - 19 Mar 2008

We arrived around lunch time, the manager was eating as I was checking in. I got the opinion that she wished that i wasn't there. Also, we where not given the code to the bathrooms and laundry rooms when we checked in. We had to ask someone for the code. This is normal, according to the Rvers we talked to. Sometimes the manager is very helpful, other times she is more interested in watching TV. Just matters what day. Hours are posted for the office, but i don't count on the office being open in the afternoon. They do have a camp host, and they are very friendly couple. The camp has a great dog walk, and the laundry room is okay. They have a broken washer and dryer. Also they run the sprinklers every morning, again we where not informed of this. Everyday we woke up to a layer of ice on the patio and Railroad ties. You have to be careful. I guess my main problem, they just don't give out information that is important. They take your money, give you a site, and thats it. An information sheet (rules, code, ie) would be nice.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 2006

Since summer is hot, it's the slow season. No problems getting a full hook-up site. We also had a full 50 amps. Sites vary on type, size, and location of hook-ups.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Jun 2006

Electric hookups are shared between sites. By careful positioning we managed to park where our 50 amp power cord would barely reach the plug. We did have to use our sewer extension hose to reach the sewer connection. Be prepared to need power, water and/or sewer extensions. Contrary to a previous user's comment, we did have 50 amp power through the 50 amp hookup.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 2006

(No comments)

Was this review helpful to you? 
19 results - showing 1 - 19