Kirtland AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.0 (149)
93057   1   20   1   46

User reviews

73 reviews with 4 stars

149 reviews

 
(47)
 
(74)
 
(19)
 
(7)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
 
4.4  (149)
 
3.9  (149)
 
3.6  (149)
 
4.1  (149)
 
4.0  (149)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
73 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 29, 2017

First, the gate hours are changing effective 15 May. You need to update that in the directions. I have uploaded a photo with the new hours. As for the park itself, not bad. The directions on this site are great. We came in on a weekend and used the Gibson gate and made it through just fine with our 35' MH and towed. The older part has some trees, but they need trimmed as our rig would not fit under the branches. So we picked a site in the new section. Typical "desert" RV park. Gravel sites, shared utilities, limited shade. However, this is a great place to stay. We were delaying for snow storms and cold weather and wanted a hook up to keep from freezing and this place was perfect. Watch out for all the "sand" burs, some call them "goat heads". There are millions of them in the grass and in the open areas. We did not walk our dog in those areas. Check-in was easy and straight forward. Probably the best Wi-Fi we have had at any military campground. Kudos for that!! The new side has limited showers and bath and no laundry, but that is fins as most folks that stay on this side do not use. The laundry was clean and working. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 3-24, 2017

Extended our stay easily to three weeks by talking to Janice in the office. She was very helpful. We were able to get into the older section under a large pine. May have to scrub sap when we get home but it was a very nice site. We have a 24 foot Navion and tow a Jeep. The site was surprisingly level. There is a building next to the office for men/women bath/showers and the laundry between. Only one shower but I never waited for it which was surprising because this campground is busy. Laundry was very busy at times and the machines took some abuse with some out of order most of the time. Speed Queen would be a better brand for this type of facility. Although they are easy to operate, it would be nice to have operation instructions posted. The wifi worked well for us. Tons of tv stations available with an antenna. Commissary and exchange and gas station convenient with redbox at the gas station. We brought our golf clubs hoping to play golf several times but played only once dt high winds and circumstances. Okay course...pretty rough. Surprised that they are able to keep it open because we seldom saw more than one or two groups on the course. Fun place to have lunch with pretty decent food, but crazy hours. Closed on Monday and Tuesday while we were there. The indoor pool and a fitness center is near the Gibson gate and we utilized both several times. The pool is nice with lots of lanes. We hope to stay here whenever visiting family although, hopefully, not for three weeks!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 2017

BIG RIGS: DO NOT COME IN EUBANKS GATE! There are rigs in the park right now with damage from coming through Eubanks. By 'big rig', we mean anything over 25'! We have a 40' 5th wheel and came in Truman, which is the current commercial gate. We followed google maps on phone and the route avoided all traffic on base. From I-25, Exit 222/Gibson Blvd SE, follow signs for airport. Turn right at Truman St SE and gate is right there. Left at second light, Randolph Rd SE. Follow Randolph (name changes to Kirtland Rd SE) then left on Hardin Blvd. Follow Hardin (name changes to 20th St SE). Left at G Ave SE traffic light and you'll see RV park. Turn at first right, which is F Ave SE (on google) and the street sign says Frost Ave. There's a large open area just ahead where we pulled off then walked to check in. The old section is nice in that it has a lot of trees, but the 'big' sites there go first. The new section has huge sites and very easy to maneuver through. In the old section, I saw big rigs going over curbs trying to get through. (Another reason to park at the big, open area and walk/ride the park first!) We didn't need any sewer extension in new section as mentioned in previous post. No hookup problems at all. Staff is still very much part time. If you need quarters for laundry, go to the gas station. Using General Delivery, be aware that your mail will be at the base post office across the street from the USPS building.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2016

We just finished a five week cross country trip from FL to CA and back in May. We stayed at 9 military RV parks. All are very different. The section we were in has level gravel lots. There appears to be another section of older sites. There are homesteaders here, and it stays quite busy. Location was great for access to shopping and site seeing. The utilities are shared between sites so the RVs tend to have to park close to the neighbor for access.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 14 - 30, 2016

We stayed here for two weeks while visiting Albuquerque. The park is split into two sections, the older one, where we were was a mix of paved and gravel sites and a tree for shade at each.  The newer sites are all gravel, with no shade and appeared very long and wide.  You're not right on top of your neighbors but still close enough.  They don't take reservations so be sure to call before you stop.  The park is one of the more quiet military campgrounds we've stayed at, with only occasional air noise which was mostly from the local airport.  The hookups were fine as were laundry facilities.  No cable, but no issues picking up over the air channels and WiFi was fine.  Not a lot of grass to walk pets, but there is some just down the street at the temporary lodging area. There are walking paths (sidewalks) that take you all around the housing areas without worrying about traffic.  The exchange and commissary are ok, but close earlier than we're used to, so if you want to hit the food court for dinner, you'll need to do so before 7:00 PM.  All in all we enjoyed our stay at Kirtland and will definitely return if in Albuquerque again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

2 Aug - 3 Aug 2015

We were only there overnight. The sign on the door said that the office closes at 1200 on Sundays but we were able to check in due to someone being on site. The sites were HUGE & well kept. Easy in & out. The gate off of Eubanks is as reported, extremely tight. Go slow. We stayed in a class 'A' motor home.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 2014

We only stayed here overnight. DO NOT follow the directions in the FAMCAMP Guide available at the Exchange. We arrived late Saturday afternoon and had to call security to find out how to get on base. Finally got to the gate and WOW extremely tight for our 40 footer. Found a spot and dropped payment in the drop box. The area we stayed in was a large stone lot with hookups. Perfect for a one night stay. Can't comment on anything else cause all we did was eat, sleep and walk the dog.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

29 May 2015

This was a convenient place to park and visit family in the area for a reunion. The park is pretty basic (the new section). You're out in the open on gravel parking spaces. Everything is there you need. It doesn't have much in the way of character; trees, plants, etc. All told it satisfied the parking needs and the price was ok.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2015

I concur with previous reviewer - enter at the Eubank Gate. Much easier than the Wyoming gate which we have done a few times. Campground keeps getting better each time we visit. Glad to get the last site in the new area. Work crew is steady maintaining it, chopping weeds, watering trees etc. It will never be a destination campground but very adequate for the many permanent Active Duty residents and those like us that stay a couple of weeks. Satellite TV works good, Verizon Mifi fine although not fast. We will stay again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 12, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 2015

Come in the Eubanks Gate. If you can keep your rig between the lines on the highway, you can make it between the posts at the gate. Eubanks Gate is about a 1/4 mile from the Famcamp. If the office is closed, pick a vacant site then go back to the office and fill out the paperwork (lots of extra info is requested on the form) and drop the form (in a provided envelope) into the drop box. If there is an orange cone at a site, that site is claimed, but not yet occupied. Janet, the host, seems kind of grumpy to me. First time I've met a Famcamp host who was grumpy. The "new" part of the park is a gravel parking lot. At least you don't have to worry about leaves or twigs on top of the slides. Sites were long and wide with rigs alternating their direction. Lots of space between the passenger/curb side of each coach that way. Over the air tv was fine. Wifi signal strength was good, but the bandwidth (speed) was lacking. Water pressure was very good. Some noise from the Albu Sunport (airport). Hearing Reveille and Retreat again was nice. I may have been sleeping by Taps because I didn't hear it played. The dog park is in a corner of the "old" side of the park. It is nicely sized, but the area is more dirt than grass. It could be because of all the trees surrounding it or simply a lack of watering the grass. My guess is it is due to lack of watering. There are grassy areas with "No Dogs Allowed" signs, but some campers ignored those signs. There is either a trick to get the showers in the new area to work or they are simply lousy showers. Very little water volume out of either one.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 8 thru 12, 2014

M.M. left this review using the Directory software: - We are here for the balloon festival so the park was full and the over flow had a number of units in it. Our prior extended stay was with Thousand Trails in Las Vegas. The lots here are so much wider and yes they are gravel but so were the lots at Thousand Trails and Navada State Park. A real plus for us is diesel is sold at the BX Service Station. 36' 5th wheel.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

23 Sept 14

W.R. left this review using the Directory software: - We are at Kirtland just before the Balloon Fiesta. The park is FULL and overflow is also brimming. This being said, my primary information to pass on is that the Eubanks gate is no longer the gate of choice, in my opinion. The word "tight" is an understatement and there is little room for error. Serious scrape marks on the steel entrance gate beams underscore my comments. I concur in an earlier comment about the Gibson Gate as access. Its in 2 parts and the first part is wide and not a problem. The second element, splits into 2 parts, one being a "car" or normal "check your ID section and a second, to the right, parking area with a wide entrance to the main base. The trick is to get them to remove the pylons to let you through as mostly there is only one person manning the entire gate.|This base seems to be mainly just a security area for classified security companies. Military personnel are few and we have yet to see a patrole vehicle. Lots of airport noise, and some strange whooshing sound that echoes 24-7 from one of the gated civilian facilities. I find it quite unusual that civilian companies have their own fenced (seriously with, concertina wire on top, and one over 15 feet tall) within a military base. Also their own guards. We bumped into several of these when looking for the arts and crafts center.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

10-11 September 2014

This was our second time here, we really like the long and wide gravel sites in the "new" part of the park. Super easy access for our 38' coach pulling a 20' car trailer.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 12-15, 2014

J.C. left this review using the Directory software: - We are 45 feet plus tow car and we really like the new sites. Yes they are gravel and yes there are no trees, BUT they are wide and long and easy to get into and out of. No trees is a plus for us, no way will the side of the rig get scratched, no worries about the slides hitting the trees and no problem with satellite reception. The rate of $18.00 per day beats the heck out of the nearby KOA which is $50 per day for a 50 amp full hook up pull-thru. Commissary is well stocked and gas station sells diesel. We did not use the laundry or showers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 21 - June 4, 2014

We stay here every year as this base is convenient for visiting family. The new section is deep gravel & isn't dusty. Dust blows over from other areas of the base when the winds are going. The sites are wide and long. We like the setup as we travel with friends - the pullthrus are up & down (hard to explain) so that we are able to set up our rigs with our doors facing each other & then we share our picnic tables & common area. The older section does have the trees but not all of the older section has 50amp. I have not been here yet when all of the machines in the laundry room were working. Costco is right up from the Eubank gate. The commissary & bx are over by the Gibson gate. We use the Eubank gate. We have no problem making it thru. It is easy access from the interstate. Just line up your rig & drive in. There really is room on either side.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec. 8th - 11th, 2013

Our ratings are perhaps a little high but our experience was also not at the best time of year. The site we were on didn't have water - it was frozen - which I was able to resolve by running a hose from the next site over to fill our potable water tank. Even if we could have hooked up to the water at our site we would have had to unhook it at night due to sub freezing temps. Fortunately there price for propane was a great value and we used a fair amount due to the cold. The sites in the newer section were extremely large with plenty of room but it is going to take a while for the stone to settle before it will be in better condition. The shower facility and bathroom was clean and nicely heated for those cold morning trips to the shower. The base was very nice and we enjoyed our time while in the area. Unfortunately we weren't there long enough to fully enjoy all of the area since we were really wanting to reach our destination in Arizona. We plan to return however and stay once again in warmer weather as we explore the area around Albuquerque. There is a lot to see but best during warmer weather!!! I would recommend this site to others.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

20 Dec 2013

We came into this famcamp at about 9PM, had no issues with getting campsite info and had to go through Eubank entrance with no issues. We set up on the new side and loved the large gravel sites. We found our site to be a little unlevel. The new side had very clean but limited to two showers/toilets. The other side had very disgusting showers/toilets. Price was good and we enjoyed our stay. I would recommend this site to others.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Nov 6-7, 2013

Stopped by for a couple nights to update the website information, get some more photos, and create a "tour video". The FamCamp was about 50% occupied during our visit. This time of the year, campers can stay for a month. While I've heard that a few campers have been here long-term, their sites didn't really reflect homesteading. Active duty on TDY and PCS are allowed to stay here until settled. We stayed in the newer "open" area, which was fine with us. Since you share utility pedestals, you can be pretty close to your neighbor. With the current rate of $18 a night and the close location to town, this campground is still a pretty good value (compared to many others).

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

1 November 2013

Stayed in the Open area sites which are extremely large. Unfortunately there is no staff available after 4:00 PM Friday until Monday AM. Because there were no camp managers around, one individual pulled into a single site with his large 5th wheel and utilized both his dump and the neighbor's dump to hook up his rig rather than using "Y" connectors. I did find an alternative site. The famcamp has an excellent dog run area (important for dog owners) and it appears that guests were very courteous about cleaning up after their "furry" friends. The open area is excellent for satellite reception. The gate opening on Eubanks Blvd is a little tight, but not so tight as to be worrisome if you take it slow and straight. I stayed here in my coach, and will stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

15-18 July 2013

Stayed in the new area from 15-18 July 2013. Sites were large, easy pull through, hook ups were well located, and all in all was a good experience. Certainly prefer the newer sites to the older ones. Office staff was helpful and the location of the base and the RV park were central to everything in Albuquerque. Price was reasonable, considering that many military parks are matching the fees from the local economy. We would stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
73 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4