Kirtland AFB FamCamp

Featured New
 
4.0 (151)
96302   1   20   1   48

User reviews

47 reviews with 5 stars

151 reviews

 
(47)
 
(76)
 
(19)
 
(7)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
 
4.4  (151)
 
3.9  (151)
 
3.6  (151)
 
4.1  (151)
 
4.0  (151)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
47 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

2 - 10 Aug 2017

Fair Warning do not use Gibson Gate. There are concrete barriers that will damage your RV and can not be moved. Truman Gate is the best to use for entry, period. The wifi will not even allow us to check email. The RV is large and first come first serve. Most of the sites are gravel and very large. We did enjoy our stay as there are so many things to do in Albuquerque.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 21, 2017

We arrived at Kirtland AFB FamCamp for a 14-day stay. We are in a 43-foot motorhome towing a F-150 and followed the directions to the Gibson gate. The Security Forces ran down the street to stop us before we got to the barriers. Long story short, we had to disconnect our F-150 and I had to back the motorhome up about 1/4 mile to turn around and go back down Gibson Blvd. to Truman Blvd. to go into the Truman gate. Do NOT attempt to enter Kirtland EUBANKS GATE OR GIBSON GATE if you are longer than 30 feet total. The gates are very narrow and there are new barricades that you cannot drive around without hitting them. No barricades at Truman gate.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 2, 2016

I can't say enough about the staff, especially the host Dorene, she is awesome. We arrived there Sept. 2, Sept. 7 my husband was admitted to the VA hospital, the 9th while under observation he had a heart attack. I don't know what I would have done with out Dorene. You ROCK. A big thanks to John and Janet too.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 24-Oct 8, 2016

We stayed at Kirtland Fam Camp September 24th-October 8th in a 32 foot fifth wheel. We came for the 2016 Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta. The Fam camp is divided into the old section and a new section. The old section has green grass and trees and a dog park. The new section just has gravel. It has wide and long pull throughs that are flat. Had to use the new section because I needed 50 amp service. Be informed, the utilities are shared on one pedestal between sites so we had to park close to our neighbor for access. The WiFi is so-so at best. The new section is well lite at night, with exceptionally clean bathrooms and showers. The only bad comment I could come up with is there are few goatheads or what we call stickers up north (Puncturevine or Tribulus terrestris ) in the parking area and my dog got stickers or goatheads in his paw pads a couple of times plus I dragged a couple of these nasty things into my trailer and my wife let me know about it. I highly recommend using Kirkland Fam Camp for the balloon fiesta; it just can't be beat. We used the KAFB outdoor recreation tour bus and admission tickets to get from the Kirkland airbase to the balloon fiesta and back which is a bargain for 18 bucks per session. Commissary and exchange are large and well stocked. The gas station has diesel. The Fam Camp is small showing its age and it is also a bargain for $18 per night. I need to add that Doreen the night host lady is a gem. I called the Fam Camp several times during the week and all I got was a recorded message on their answering machine. Doreen called me on a Sunday morning and said come over because “no one is turned away”. Thank you Doreen. Thank you Kirtland.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 30 to May 4, 2016

We came in only staying one night and ended up at the er with our son the first night and they camp Host was AMAZING-- she was very sweet and a amazing woman she has a great heart.. We decided to stay a few days and she check on us everyday to make sure my son was ok. I will tell you to put Costco on Eubanks in your gps and keep going past that until you run in the gate because these directions are to complicated to figure out-- we told a friend to do that and they for right there no problem. We didn't deal with the mwr worker at all so I can't say reviews are true or false. No it's not a huge fancy camp but it's still intimate and very busy.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

23-30 Sept 2015

We thought this a nice campground with long, wide, and level sites - and no shade - at least in the so-called "new" area. Staff was pleasant and helpful. We didn't use the showers, but bathroom was clean and well kept. WiFi is so-so depending on time of day, and whether or not those not so considerate are streaming data. Eubanks gate is tight but doable as previously reported. This is a good location for visiting the area, but I wouldn't recommend for Balloon Fiesta as it is 10 miles from the fiesta site with associated traffic gridlock. If you plan to visit Balloon Fiesta, stay at the huge RV park across the street from fiesta and take the free shuttle. We camped on Kirtland in a 5th wheel and would visit again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

December 2011 and April 2013

Have stayed here in the past. Well kept camp and convenient location for us.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

8 April-21 April 2015

This was our 2nd stay here and find it to be very convenient for things we wanted to do. The Eubank gate is definitely the best gate to enter. Campground is very close to Sam's Club, Costco,Walmart,Home Depot..all on Eubank. We were in Site #84 in the new section and our preferred area. Spaces are wide and long pull thru. Commissary, Exchange,Gas,PO just off Gibson. While here we toured Fort Union,Acoma Pueblo,Gilman Tunnels off scenic hwy 4, Bandelier and other areas. Facilities clean, but would be nice to have change machine in laundry. Also wi-fi not very good. We ended up using our mi-fi thru ATT. It is a quiet base. The Owl Cafe was recommended, so we went there for dinner 1 night..very 50's and food was good..also, Freddy's for frozen custard. Amy and John Stanton

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Mar 31 - Apr 2, 2015

Awesome campground and camp host. As with all military campgrounds WiFi could use work. The laundry facilities could use some attention as well. This is an awesome campground!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 27 - Oct 2, 2014

V.O. left this review using the Directory software: - Wonderful FamCamp. Loved the new pull-thru sites. Outstanding manager and hosts. Friendly guests. Definitely return. Base is superb. Great walking, jogging, bike, and pet fun. Camp Pet Area one of the best - actually had "grass."

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sep 27 to Oct 2, 2014

V.O. left this review using the Directory software: - Awesome base and facilities. FamCamp manager, Doreen, was most helpful, courteous, and supportive. First-come-first-serve is good policy. We were fortunate to get pull through site. Great WiFi throughout the park. Definitely will return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

15 April 2014

Stayed here while making our PCS move to Georgia, as well as getting to spend some time with our son in college. Absolutely worth the price and conveniently located near everything one would need. Can not say enough great things about the super friendly and professional staff that work here. We will definitely stay here in the future.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

November 2, 2014 - November 17, 2014

Stayed in the newer graveled area. Large & long sites, but had to spend time shoving gravel around to level our 5th wheel. Could have been due to balloon festival overuse, and wasn't difficult to fix. Someone pulled next to us the next day that tried using boards to level their TT, so it wasn't just our spot. Host was great when we came in on a Sunday, but one of the regular staff on Monday didn't seem to be all that interested in doing much but take our money for the stay. Location is fantastic for seeing ABQ and things in the area. Base facilities are good, but not extensive. They sell diesel at the Exchange Shoppette and at a good price, and there's an RV wash booth at the car wash.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 20-23, 2014

Nice park and very wide sites in the 'new' area. Host took care of us even though we arrived after her normal hours. Down side has to do with the office. They are still using paper, plexi-glass and a grease pencil to maintain registered guests. It takes more time than necessary and certainly not what the Air Force of the 21st Century should be doing.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 2-5, 2014

This place has the best explained "who can stay here and for how long" policy of any I've seen. And it seems to be enforced. The new addition makes their no reservation policy a bit easier to deal with. The older sections have shade and some have only 30 amp. They have good wifi and nice concrete sites. Laundry is very good, but bring your own quarters. No change available by machine or office. Recommend.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2014

I stay here every time I am in the Albuquerque area and experience is always a great one. For those with the bigger rigs I would recommend using the Gibson Gate there are no barriers so no pucker factor it is across the base from the park but it is not a bad getting there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Mar 31, 2014

Great place to stay. The WiFi is non existent here. They say it's only hard to get a good connection in the evening, but I tried different times of the day for the whole week I was staying there & never had any kind of connection. I was backed up to TLF & was able to connect to theirs. Good location & the park has everything else you need. The only bad thing I experienced was a little silver car that would speed around the park, peel out in the gravel & had their loud bass music playing in at all hours. It was frustrating because the speed limit of 10mph is posted everywhere & there is supposed to be quiet hours enforced, but nobody seemed to want to disturb the only people who were disturbing everyone else.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb 28 - Mar 1 2014

We are currently in spot 51 in the "new" area and have no complaints. We drove up from El Paso to check out the National Fiery Foods and BBQ festival at the Sandia Casino. As the other reviews mentioned, the older side of the FAMCAMP looks like it is for long termers, and after taking our dogs for a walk through that area it is clear that it used to be military housing that was converted to RV sites. The sites clearly used to be driveways into military housing. I would highly recommend picking a site in the new area. As I am typing this I am connected to their free wifi which has an excellent connection, and I have to say the gravel sites are so big I didn't have to worry about where I needed to park to make sure my slides would fit. The only issue I have with this FAMCAMP is the gate. As many have mentioned, you should definitely use the Eustis Gate. Take I-40 and don't pay any attention to the signs that say Kirtland AFB....Get off I-40 at Eustis BLVD, make a right and stay in the middle or left lane... I stayed in the right lane and without notice it ended. The thing most people didn't mention is that Eustis BLVD basically ends at the entrance to the AFB, so don't worry about where you need to go.....take Eustis until it ends and you will be there. Now to my only issue.....that gate is small....I have a Ram dually pulling a 40ft 5er that is a full 101 inches wide. Im talking pucker factor making it through the gate. We made it with no issues but seriously why don't they open up the gate a little more. When you make it through the gate, you can see the spots to your right. Overall, well worth it and for $18 a night....we will stop here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov 6-10, 2013

Stayed here for AF Academy vs. New Mexico football game. First visit. Excellent facility. Stayed in newer area. Sites are large, open and more than enough room for largest rigs. Office folks very nice to work with. Found Eubanks gate with no trouble. A little tight but manageable. During my visit, Eubanks gate was the 24 hr gate. Gibson and Wyoming gates close after hours. Base is in a great location to visit Albuquerque. We suggest SanDiago's at the base of the Sandia Peak Tramway. Food is great and the views at sunset are spectacular. Sandia Casino at I25 and Tramway Blvd is good entertainment. We will stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 4-8, 2013

Spaces are level, some have grassy areas. The laundry is clean. If no full hook-up spaces are available, be sure to sign up on the waiting list at the registration office. The base is the SE city limits to Albuquerque, so it's easy to get to sights and entertainment in the area. Be sure to visit the National Museum of Nuclear Science and History. It has been moved outside the base, so it's easy to access.

Was this review helpful to you? 
47 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3