Volunteer Park Travel Campsite

Featured
 
4.0 (46)
56913   0   19   0   32

User reviews

9 reviews with 3 stars

46 reviews

 
(15)
 
(21)
 
(8)
 
(1)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.9  (46)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.9  (46)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.2  (46)
Value 
 
4.5  (46)
Overall Experience 
 
4.1  (46)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
9 results - showing 1 - 9
Ordering
20-24 April 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This facility is very nice and quiet. All in all a great location as long as you know what you are getting, distance from Las Cruces and Alamogordo. The check in process has a lot to be desired. It would have been nice to get a map of the installation, told where the dumpsters and recycle bins were located. The folks at Outdoor Rec were nice but just not very helpful. When asked about a map, I was told to go to the gift shop, they might have one. Also my reservation wasn't on the "board" but was still on someone's desk. Good thing I was the only person to show up on Sunday. Since I've been here and know the ropes I would go back. Maybe they could take some lessons from Agave Gulch on how to check someone into the park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 2
Feb 10, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Directions are good, photos are still current. Arrived on Sunday night there were four empty sites, one camper in overflow (15Amp on street). No signs or instruction to be found, office closed on weekends. We took an empty site and went to Outdoor Rec in morning to pay and stay another night. Outdoor Rec has a small amount of supplies, seemed to be unorganized to me. They did not have any available sites for another night had reservations coming in. Did not use the bathrooms or showers so can't rate. Rec room locked up. Cell phone good, wifi none. Nice little park, which is what we like, quiet place to stay. Suggest you make reservation before driving out. $10 a night full hookup.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
7-12 Dec 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
C.H. left this review using the Directory software: - We spent 5 days here and generally agree with previous reviews. We had called the day prior to our arrival to make a reservation; that turned out not be necessary - the campground was empty when we arrived. While checking in at Outdoor Rec, I inquired about the showers and was assured they were operational. Not!! Although there was hot water in the sinks, there was no water, hot or cold, in the showers. We enjoyed a visit to the Missile Museum, particularly the inside displays dealing with the a-bomb test. Essentials were available at the small post exchange and commissary and there is a gas station. We came in from Las Cruces over the pass, but since we going to El Paso when we left, we took NM 213 south through the vast Fort Bliss ranges to the Texas line - a very good road that shortens the distance between WSMR and Fort Bliss considerably. We would probably stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
16-18 May 2011
(Updated: May 19, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The Fam Camp was easy to find if you follow directions, my TomTom took me right to it. We had called ahead and made reservations but checked in on Sunday so almost nothing was open. There was no bulletin board or any direction to tell us what spot to go to. We asked another camper & was told that the person they had spoken to said just take an empty spot, so we did the same. There are old reservation signs still hanging on many of the sites that are from March. It was easy to pull in and get connected, water, sewer and power 50/30 amp. Sites are long gravel pads with a covered patio with picnic table, really nice sites. The bathrooms are still being worked on, but it's obvious that they are not a priority nor is the FamCamp as it appears no one checks it with any frequency. When we arrived on Sunday we observed two dumpsters which were filled to overflowing, they were dumped on Monday morning. I was told that due to a record-setting hard freeze in early February the bathrooms and showers in the nearby clubhouse were closed, awaiting repairs. I asked if there was an estimated date of completion and was informed that they really didn't know. We could have used to showers in the aquatic center, but after taking a look at them decided to use our camper shower instead. The best thing about this area is the views of the mountains and the missile museum. Nearest town is Las Cruces, a nice city about 25 miles west. VERY quiet, remote setting. Small Commissary and even smaller BX, but adequate for the size of this base. I would not make this a stop if in the area again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April 1 - 4, 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
L.H. left this review using the Directory softwarfe: - Restrooms at FamCamp are now closed and posted as "Out of Order". Camp overall is in need of some attention but is generally a nice place to stay when visiting White Sands National Monument. The missile museum at the entrance is well worth visiting.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
December 2010
(Updated: December 25, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The sunrises and sunsets are spectacular, the scenery is awesome and although there's little to do (after the museum, much of the base is restricted), it is a lovely spot for the fully self-contained traveler. For anyone wanting a low impact exercise there's a beautiful walking track right next to the site, 2 laps in the morning and 2 laps in the evening makes a nice comfy 6 miles a day. The open pavilion is a nice respite from so many MWR sites with individual covered picnic tables. However, yes the mens room is in dire need of work, although the desk staff was fast in responding to being informed of the burned out lights.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
November 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I basically agree with vdub's review. It's a long way to drive, but it is quiet and it's also a way to avoid El Paso if you are heading to Carlsbad Caverns as we are. The auto shop here is very well equipped, including a hoist that easily handled our one ton Dodge dually. The staff at the auto shop was very helpful, not only with the work my husband was doing on the truck, but also with advice on the best route to Carlsbad! (Not the one we'd planned based on the maps we had.) My only real gripe is that the pet rules are not enforced. The gentleman (?) next to us has a large dog that has been allowed to make "deposits" all over his lot. If the weather were warmer, it could be quite smelly. I mentioned this to a man at Outdoor Rec a few days ago, but nothing has changed. My impression is that no one from Outdoor Rec visits the CG on a regular basis to check out the sites. Also (and this is beyond their control) the dumpster is emptied every morning before 0530--and the sound carries a long way! (Reville and bugle calls I expect--but it would be nice to postpone the "bang, bang, bang" until 0700 or so, at least. That said, for $10/night for full hook ups, it's a good deal for a short visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Feb 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Very small, very quiet, very remote, very nice. Kimberly at MWR (Bldg 445) is friendly and helpful. At the main gate, angle to the right for commercial trucks and RV's. No signs to get to the park, but the directions are accurate. However, I will add that when coming up (west) on Aberdeen, go slow -- there is a large ditch/depression across the road next to the Fire Department. Also, it's a little difficult to know which road to turn into once you get to the RV park -- after Aberdeen makes a shallow turn to the left, you will see 3 "potential" entrances on the left. All 3 will work, but the center one is best. The RV park sets at the base of beautiful, snow-capped mountains (Feb07). The commissary and PX are smaller than most, but still quite adequate. No wifi anywhere on base -- but high-speed (100Mbps) is available at the base library. Unfortunately, you have to use their computers, but printing is free. Very nice library and helpful staff. Long, reasonably steep, unmarked grade between WSMR and Las Cruces -- I'm guessing 6% on either side for 4-5 miles. I'm sure we'll be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 0
Aug 2006
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Entry on base is easy with friendly gate guards. Directions on US military campgrounds web page are accurate. Camp operated by Outdoor MWR. Personnel in office are friendly and helpful. There are 8 sites, all pull-thru, and can accommodate large rigs with toads. Sites are 110 feet long, 12 feet wide, curbed with gravel surface and very level. All sites are full hookups with 30/50 amps. Each site has concrete patio, concrete table with bench seats, BBQ grill and large cover. Mountain scenery is spectacular. Bath house is substandard. The men?s shower had no hooks to hang clothes or towel, no soap dish or shelf to place toilet articles, no shower curtain and broken shower head with poor water pressure. Women?s shower almost as bad. You must ask for key to shower at registration, they don?t volunteer. Not worth the effort. Golf course is walking distance and is first class. Club adjacent to golf course serves three meals. Outstanding play ground adjacent to camp Price is right at $10. Would use again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 11 0
9 results - showing 1 - 9