Remington Park RV Campground

 
3.6 (27)
45362   0   2   1   13

User reviews

Filters 13 reviews with 4 stars

27 reviews

 
(5)
 
(13)
 
(4)
 
(3)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
 
3.9  (27)
 
3.3  (27)
 
3.4  (27)
 
3.6  (27)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
13 results - showing 1 - 13  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 16

Overall, a nice park in a quiet location on base. It is overpriced at the daily rate, both compared to other famcamps and for the local area, but the weekly rate is not bad if you can stay that long. The sites are very large, with the only negative being there are no trees, so not much privacy. The whole camp is impeccably maintained, and the famcamp staff was outstanding. The outdoor rec staff was friendly and tried to be helpful, but they were not as knowledgeable as the famcamp staff. It was a little inconvenient to have to deal with the two offices, rather than just the famcamp staff. There are fantastic trails over in the Remington park area. No wifi, except for sale (again, daily rate is exorbitant, but weekly rate not bad), but Verizon works good. Signage into the famcamp is a little confusing (says "RV attendant only, no thru way). Also, Pech River Road did not come up on my GPS, it said "Remington Pond Road." There is a tiny sign saying Pech River Road, but you can't see it till you're on top of it. Very nice park, but I probably wouldn't stay here again because of the rates.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 1, 2015

Overall a very nice Park with huge sites. The Park doesn't have the rental RVs anymore and the daily rate is $35/day with the week $175. Still a reasonable value for the area. Didn't check out the facilities. A very quiet Park. Convenient to the Island area and shopping. We would stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

16-20 Jul 2014

Spaces were very large and clean. As stated in previous review, there is an office there but it isn't manned. I called and confirmed my reservation the day before we arrived so we had no problems going straight to our site. There was a camp host that greeted us when we arrived and told us that if we have any questions to ask him. He was located in the first site as you drive in. Although I didn't use them, I checked out the shower area and it appeared clean and modern. The laundry facility had a coin changer but there was a sign that it was out of order. Maybe it had just been installed. In regards to wifi, we found out that you could rent a hotspot from the Recreation Area just down the road. It was a bit pricey but we needed to catch up on e-mails and do some internet work. It is just easier to do it from the motorhome instead of going to the library. It was $15 dollars per day or $25 a week. It was cheaper for us to rent for the week. It worked great. Note: It is a very large post. You may want to ask for a base map at the front gate when you arrive. It was a couple of days before we could get one and that came when I talked to the chief of MWR when he was riding through the campground. In regards to noise, we had no complaints. We heard reveille in the morning, retreat in the evening and taps at night. Personally, the "sounds of freedom" such as helicopter noise (although there wasn't any), aircraft noise, etc. just doesn't bother me. It is a military post after all. The only negative I have about our stay is that there were some MWR employees (not the chief) that we dealt with that (in my opinion) were not very professional or customer oriented. Overall, it was a pleasant enough stay and I would stay there again if in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 2013

After the Good Sam rally in Syracuse we went to Fort Drum for 10 days. We checked in on Monday and left 10 days later having never seeing the camp host. The park was little more than scattered pads spread out in a large field. We found this quite satisfying. 30 yards between pads meant no neighbor noises. The Exchange and Commissary were about 10 minutes away. There was a very nice beach area just down the road which was well used by families. We will return the next trip to Up State NY.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 28, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 23rd - 28th, 2013

Parks & Recreation office is now in control of this famcamp. In 2013 the office will open at the campground in the largest building, known as Greer's Palace, with hours 9-9 Mon thru Sunday, closed on federal holidays. We called the 800# and was referred to (315) number. We were assigned spot #8 with credit card information. Went directly to the site. Sites 7-10 are huge. Open fires are permitted. We have never found that on another famcamp. Office has bathrooms, showers & laundry. Price now $28 a night. I wish laundry room had a deep sink between two ($1.50) washers and two ($1) dryers. Dry cycle was quite long. If you are handicapped, the bathroom & showers will be difficult or impossible to use. Seen deer, wild turkeys & geese with their young. No sighting of friendly skunk reported in earlier review. We will return here whenever in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 01, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 2010

We stayed at this campground and were able to find it rather easily. Loved the quiet nights. Our dog had a ball running around in the grass. We did not use any of the amenities because we were in a class A. Good Dish reception. Excellent dog run, just up the road and looked like everyone picked up. If you like to fish, there is a big lake on post, also a kids and large picnic area. the only problem we had was this is a 20MPH and we got stopped by the MPs for doing 25, ended up with a warning. Turkeys are all over the place, the wife even gave them names, the 3 stooges, etc. Be glad qwhen they finish the expansion.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sep 26 - Oct 6 2012

Staff at lodge and campground maintenance guy are very friendly and helpful. CG is extremely spacious, quite clean with gravel roads and concrete RV pads, but no wifi or cable and overpriced at $25 per night. There's more than 12 spaces available and they are adding cabins & removing rental trailers. Wild turkeys and deer roam around freely, and the CG is near hiking & bicycling trails. Ft. Drum is very spread out, and there's no PX or Shoppette nearby, but you also are a bit removed from day to day troop movements & etc. (Not a bad thing.) There's a some things to do nearby and a great wine tour out of Watertown as well. We'd only be staying a day or so if we were traveling, but we're spending a 10 days to visit my son, so we've done just about everything there is to do! I've been told the Thousand Islands way to and from Canada is one of the less traveled, so some prefer it over anything east or west. We went to Kingston, ON for a day-trip and spent way less than an hour getting through customs each way. Another note - they told us they close the CG when the weather freezes, not on a set date. This year that may be in January!)

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 06, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

4-6 Aug. 2012

Very clean location and cement pads with full hook up. No real trees as of yet for shade. Close to everything on post and Wal Mart in Watertown about 10 miles. Price is not right its higher.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 19, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

19 Aug to 2 Sept 2011

This is a very out of the way location but near the Lake/Commissary/Bx with Adirondack Mtns close by there is no Cable but you can get about 10 channels but my complaint would be there is no control on the animals and found it difficult to believe the waiting list for family's. I had a family with 4 children next to me in a 30ft trailer from 8 to 6mths but did notice that there was new rv spots with lots of room and full hook ups. I saw lots of turkey,deer with one porcupine and a nice friendly skunk. There is no showers but a restroom to use.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 12, 2011

P.A. left this review using the Directory software: Visited on 06/11/2011, I received good directions from clerk on the phone when I made reservation a few days before my arrival. After I told him I had a big rig He told me my site number and recommended I park my fifth wheel first then come to the "Inn" to register. You pass by this "Inn" on the way to the campground, it is on the right while driving on Po Valley Road. The sites are excellent, great commissary & PX. It was a quiet relaxing night and checkout was uneventful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 29 to May 4, 2009

First, I would not call this a recreation area when comparing it to other campgrounds. The 4 RV sites are in a parking lot between two barracks like buildings. They do have full hookups and picnic table at all four. I was assigned site #1 and told it was the one farthest in. When I got to the area, #1 is the first one and #4 is the farthest in. #1 is the smallest of the sites but had no problem with my 26 foot travel trailer. The water for #2 had a problem so the RV in there had run a hose to the #1 hookup and put a Y in there. Again, no problem. The continental breakfast is in a building across the street. Not a big choice of items, but as stated before it is free. I didn't use the laundry, but see that is free too. With my Golden Age Passport, $10 per night was a real bargain. The commissary was not stocked that well but had most items. Exchange was well stocked and typical Army exchange. This is a place to park your rig to do other things in the area. Another plus is there is a fitness center in the building in front of you. New equipment and was never busy when I was there. The coordinates given will take you to Pine Ln. which is not where the camping area is. It is on Officer's Loop. The check in is at Drum Inn. Coordinates for that are 44.03608 75.78658. I have checked these a few times and I end up there every time. I also checked the coordinates of the campsites. Should be 44.03388 75.75312. These took me right to it. Again checked. It does take you a little round about, but it gets you right to the area. Good place as a base of operations or overnight.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Aug/Sept 2007

We stayed here for a week over Labor Day weekend using our Golden Age Passport for $10 a night. Check in at "The Inn at Fort Drum." They will then give you a map to the campground. Although not in a particularly scenic part of the post, the sites are fine. Active duty families waiting on completion of some new post housing were in the other three sites while we were there. We particularly liked the free laundry in the building behind us (second floor) and the small physical fitness center across the way. Continental breakfast and computer access is available in a building nearby. The base is huge and was good for bike riding. A park with lake swimming and boating and lots of other family activities looked inviting, too. The 1000 Island area, specifically Wellesley Island, is a place to see on the St. Lawrence Seaway. Lake Ontario and Canada are close by also.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Jul 2006

We were impressed after we got to the site. Personnel are very helpful and polite. Plenty of room in last 2 sites however other 2 sites are short, but could handle up to possibly 38ft.

Was this review helpful to you? 
13 results - showing 1 - 13