Elizabeth City Lodging

 
4.2 (43)
48544   0   16   0   24

User reviews

Filters 24 reviews with 4 stars

43 reviews

 
(15)
 
(25)
 
(2)
2 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.3  (43)
 
3.6  (43)
 
4.3  (43)
 
4.2  (43)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
24 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

30 Mar 2015

Nice sites, back in only. Retirees are good to eat at the Chow Hall. There is a gym, a beach, small CG Exchange and mini-mart. C-130s go in and out and do touch and go's, but that's OK. Utilities were there, no wifi or cable though. Nice and quiet spot!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 28 - May 4, 2014

This is a beautiful, small park with a river view and a nice, sandy beach within walking distance. Rhonda, the manager, was very friendly and helpful. The sites are concrete, back-in only but the back-in angle makes it pretty easy--even for a big rig. The hook ups were very good and there is a small PX and gym within walking distance. The park is directly beside the airfield, so there is some daytime noise, but it is tolerable. We believe that our television surround sound system may have been picking up some interference from radar equipment, because we had a high-pitch background noise that disappeared once we left the park. Elizabeth City does not have much to offer to make a long-term stay at the park worthwhile (i.e. a month or more), but our bottom line was: nice park, nice location, good price, and we would definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 18, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

20 SEP TO 14 OCT

THE CAMPGROUND HAD VERY GOOD UTILITIES, EASY ACCESS CEMENT PADS AND EXCELLENT VIEW OF THE RIVER. WHILE THERE IS NO CABLE TV WE HAD ACCESS TO 7-8 CHANNELS INCLUDING ALL THE MAJOR ONES. WIFI IS AVAILABLE BUT ONLY AT THE MWR OFFICE IN HANGER 7. RONDHA (MWR OFFICE) WAS MOST HELPFUL IN GIVING US INFO. THE OBX WAS ONLY 45 MINUTES AWAY. THERE WAS A SMALL CG BX,CLASS VI AND SHOPETTE WITH GAS STATION. SEVERAL FOOD STORES AND RESTAURANTS WERE WITHIN A SHORT DISTANCE OF THE FACILITY.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 24, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 24 & 25, 2011

Nice large sites close to river, boat ramp and beach. Easy to find CGS and CG. Would stay here again!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 27, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 22-31,2011

Small Base and small park, but relaxing and close enough to the beach that those quirks aren't bothersome. Right on the water with a small beach within walking distance. The big plus is the base is close to the outer banks and Va Beach. No wifi but good hookups. Laundry located near the club and cottages but didn't use it. We were here from May 22-31. Base is small, just a small exchange, gas station. No commissary here but Wal-Mart close by. Relaxing stay would recommend it and would stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 09, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 7 thru 10, 2011

We hadn't been here in about 4 years, but needing a place to rest and relax, basically, just to chill, we decided to visit. Easy reservations for our 3 night stay.....Most campers look like they are finishing up "wintering" here as there wasn't much movement of folks moving in or out......Didn't use the laundry this time, but have been told it's still in the same place. We do have a negative to report though....As pet owners we are always observant of campground/RV Park rules pertaining to leash and clean-up rules, hence, our pet is always on leash and we clean up after him every time. While walking our dog, we saw quite a few "doggy gifts" left for someone to step in (there is a bag station in the park, but is empty.) Also, observed a couple small dogs allowed to run "free" without a leash...good thing the owner had some voice control over them and our dog was on short leash or it could have been ugly. We did not report this because the office is closed on the weekend, so had no recourse other than going the other direction when walking our dog...I do know that the staff reads this so hopefully the issue will be addressed. The new CG Exchange is very nice....with the new gas pumps projected to be completed within the next few weeks.....Hanger 7 and the whole MWR Staff are friendly and helpful. John Welcome, Manager, can be proud.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 06, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 2010

As other have commented the sites in the new section are very nice and well maintained. The (2) stars for facilities are due to no showers and PX/NEX. The new exchange opening in Nov will increase it to (3) stars, but the showers need to be built. It is a small Coast Guard sea/air rescue base so I don't expect them to be built. You can shower at the gym. No cable/wifi. Nice waterfront seafood restaurants in town. Very pretty views of the tidal basin inlets from the campground. A pretty base and RV park(new section). PS: Watch out for bee nests in the grass. Call RV manager and they will get maintenance out there to spray.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 25, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

17 Nov 2010

We stop here annually on our way south each fall. This year I had called for a reservation about a week prior to our arrival. There were only two sites available, both in the small, old camping area. But when we arrived I asked if by any chance there was now an opening for a night in the new area, and sure enough, there was. It never hurts to ask. Being in the open, getting a satellite system set up is a breeze and there's excellent VZW EVDO cellular reception. The new Exchange is open and is just a short walk from the campground. Ted Houghton

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 17, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

12-17 Sept 2010

Very nice campground, new section has paved level sites near the river, beach, and boat launch. No bathhouse or showers at this newer section but there is a toilet at the beach, just a short walk from the campgrounds. The beach is very nice with picnic shelters and benches, and grills. There was a sewage spill at Elizabeth City while we were there so the beach and the water was off limits. The water is normally very clean and I have fished in this area many times in the past. The exchange is small but pretty well stocked and good prices. A new exchange is being built and should open later this year. Laundry room is located in the old RV section and is okay with two washers and two dryers, we didn't use it as we weren't here long enough to need it. Elizabeth City has a lot of road repair going on right now so be prepared to go around cones and some stops for construction. The city had music at the park one of the nights we were here. We walked around town a little, not a lot to see other than the waterfront. We took a couple of trips to the outer banks and enjoyed the beaches. We will stay here again when in this area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 26-29 2010

Need cable tv hookup & wireless internet to make a top site. No showers or bathhouse. Very clean campground (we stayed in the new area). Very nice campground, paved level sites near the river, beach, think this would be a great place in the spring or fall. If your in the area stop by, you will be glad you did.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

19-24 June 2010

We stayed here 19-24 June 2010. Very clean campground (we stayed in the new area). No showers or bathhouse. However the beach area is within easy walking distance. The small NEX is close and has a nice selection for being so small. My only real ordeal was the location of the sewer connection. Unlike most campgrounds we have stayed at, it was located in the front as opposed to the back of the site. Our Jayco Jay Flight has it's black water connection in the back. So, we had to make a quick trip to Wal-Mart to get some extra hose and connectors. Not a show stopper, but if your black water/sewer is near the back of your rig, make sure you have enough hose. The price was a BARGAIN at $15 a day! We took daily trips to the Outer Banks and it was beautiful! We will definitely stay here the next time we take a trip to the Outer Banks.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 3-8, 2010

Very nice campground, paved level sites near the river, beach, and boat launch. About an hour to the Outer Banks. No bathhouse or showers at the newer section but there is a bathhouse at the beach, just a short distance. The beach is very nice with picnic shelters and benches, and a few chairs. There was even a life guard on the weekend. The water is very clean and safety ropes designate the swimming area. The exchange is small but well stocked and good prices. A new exchange is being built and should open late this year. Laundry room is located in the old RV section and is okay with two washers and two dryers. We will stay here again when in this area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

25-26 March 2009

J.M. left this review using the Directory software: This is a very nice campground as stated by others. Will stay here again when in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

26 Feb - 3 Mar 09

Great little campground, we were very happy with the sites. It is $15.00 a night, but worth the money. There is no wifi or commissary on station. Very small installation, but nice gym, chapel, and class six. There is a Food Lion 2 miles out the front gate. Just a great view from your campsite. I think this would be a great place in the spring or fall. If your in the area stop by, you will be glad you did.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

04-07 November 2008

Same as last visit. Excellent campground and very helpful staff. A few other campgrounds could take some lessons from this one. The campground is well landscaped and clean. Even the older sites by the gym are nice, but since they are where they are, they are not as nice as sites 5-14. On last day there talking to another camper that had been there for a while, mentioned that it would be a lot better if they had a laundry. They do. I guess they keep it hidden. It is in building 16G. Small building almost across from the entrance to the exchange. Two each of washers and dryers. $1 wash, $1 dry. Equipment very clean, but building needed a little more cleaning. Dryers run about 1 hour for the $1.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

16 July 2008

We were assigned one of the few spots up by the gymnasium, MWR shop. We enjoyed the short stay we had here. We toured the outbanks, NPS Wright Brothers Memorial, Bodie Lighthouse and Hatteras Lighthouse. Also we found the downtown area of Elizabeth City to be charming and on the "comeback" with redevelopment. We paid $7 per night for that space, a terrific deal.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 12 to 15, 2008

Mostly agree with other reviews. This is a very well kept, clean campground and the Coast Guard should be very proud of it. Windy, but nice weather while I was there. As stated, very well landscaped. Would definately stay again and/or recommend this campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

26 - 28 October 2007

Being retired Coast Guard I am very proud of the base. Clean and well taken care of. The land scape work on the base is lovely. Although the base does not have a commissary, the BX is nice and the park is restful. Great view of the water and beach. We both were glad that we stayed here. The people in the office are very nice and helpful. We recommend it to all.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sept. 2007

New part is NICE. I would call at least two weeks ahead and more if poss. If J-130s and choppers don't bother you, you will really like this place. If you just want to get away and see the water, Nice. Internet uptown at Muddy Waters (coffee shop) head to town turn right at light past school stay on that St. it will be on your left(at Main I think)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sept 2007 & Oct 2007

This is a nice campground on a small base with very limited amenities. You definitely want to get a campsite in the new section (sites 5-14)! The sites are new, level, with excellent reception potential for satellite. They have 3 very nice cabins right next to the water. You are right on the water and there is a small recreation area closeby. We are using this as a jump off point to explore the outerbanks area and to go to the Dixieland Speedway to watch the car races. Bring your bikes, your chairs and settle back to enjoy your time in the area. The staff person in the MWR/ITT office was very helpful in setting up our future reservations when we visited there in person before our intended stay. This is definitely a nice gem for people to check out!

Was this review helpful to you? 
24 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2