Elizabeth City Lodging

 
4.2 (43)
48544   0   16   0   24

User reviews

Filters 15 reviews with 5 stars

43 reviews

 
(15)
 
(25)
 
(2)
2 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
 
4.3  (43)
 
3.6  (43)
 
4.3  (43)
 
4.2  (43)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
15 results - showing 1 - 15  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2017

Enjoyed our visit at the base. The RV park is small but well kept and the staff that we met were helpful and personable. If you are planning a trip to the Outer Banks I highly recommend the base.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

8 - 11 November 2013

Second stay here. Beautiful location. Small exchange with grocery stores near by. Rhonda is a great manager! This is close to our home base which makes it a great weekend getaway site. Watch for sandspurs in the grass. Good fishing from the pier by the boat ramp.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sep 27 to Oct 1, 2012

Stayed here for three days in late Sept 2012. Very nice camp with large sites. We stayed here in a Class A. Everyone was very helpful and nice to deal with. Walt

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 06, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 31-Sept 5th 2012

What a great campground. Walking distance to the beach for swimming or fishing from the pier or from the shore. Quiet and very clean with large cement sites. Rhonda with the MWR is very friendly and sweet and helpful to make your stay that much more special. She will bend over backwards to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The Pass and ID office was very friendly and helpful on obtaining vehicle stickers for both our auto and RV. The gate guards were very friendly and helpful. Again a great campground and will come back soon to visit and have peace and quiet and watch the sunrise over the river. RV with a 40ft Motorhome. Steve and Ann from Hope Mills, NC

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

23 July - 1 Aug 2012

R.L. left this review using the Directory sofwtare: - Love it here! It didn't look like the old campsites were used any more, they weren't very attractive anyway. The new area is great, large level concrete pads w/ all new hookups, easy in and out. Attractive landscaping. Beach a short walk, very clean and better for swimming than at the ocean. Laundry is functional, located in a small "garden shed" building. Rhonda at MWR was very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 02, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

19 - 30 APRIL 2012

Stayed here 2 weeks. Very quite and relaxing, right by the water. Campground was spotless. Had water, electric, & sewer hookups. Direct TV and Verizon cell & internet worked great. Paid $ 20.00 per night. Small exchange on base, but not far from other shopping and dining out. Had laundry by exchange, $100 wash & $ 1.00 dry. I'm not a numbers rater, either I like a FamCamp or not. Well I like this FamCamp. Will stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 17, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov.2010

We enjoyed our visit here as always. Only problem = the weekend we were there was also the weekend that Boys Scouts are at the base (maybe a couple hundred) = eating in the dining facility was like eating in an elementary school cafeteria = noise, wasted food, etc. Interesting that the couple traveling with us due to security regulations had to have one of us with them at all times, yet there were loads of boys and scout leaders roaming around who were non-military. It's still one of the nicest places to stay in NE North Carolina.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov 15-18, 2009

Excellent CG. Great layout. Nice location and not much air traffic, so is quiet except for morning traffic going to work. Everyone is friendly. Best if you are self contained. Go to Hanger 7 for fast food at a good price or a drink or two in the evening. Our dogs don't like the stickers in the grass, but there is plenty of space for walks on roadways.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 16-23, 2008

Elizabeth City CG Support Center RV sites were very well maintained and had a great view of the river. The Exchange is small but had everything we needed. Elizabeth City had a wonderful waterfront, excellent seafood and a good museum. The MWR staff could not have been more helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

3-9 July 2008

I stayed in the "old section", site #4, and felt it was the best site in both sections (loved the trees and shade). Very well stocked shopette and mini BX with great prices. The base was very well maintained. After hours: check in the gym front desk but they don't have a map of the sites and don't know anything, so know your site number before arrival. Sites 1-4 are located by the MWR shop and trailer homes - 5 on up are in the new section by the water. Never did find out where the bathouse was...Great new Wal-Mart near by also. Loved the stay there and look forward to returning!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Mar 16-26, 2008

Spotless campground with great landscaping throughout the base. Very limited amenities but retirees can eat at mess hall which makes up for not having a commissary. We were on water site which was very windy this time of year. We hope to come back when the weather is better so we can take advantage of the fishing and beach area. Nice places to ride our motorcycle. Outerbanks and Elizabeth City area are great rides. Verizon wireless and phone work great. Great campground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

28 Feb-3 Mar. 2008

The United States Coast Guard should be very proud of their small part of Heaven. Excellent level concrete pads. Hanger Stayed in site 6 with our 38' Coach had more than enough room. Site 5 could accommodate a 45' or larger. Hanger 7 (club/grill) great food Chief Myers runs a great grill and makes great food. As others have said the BX is small but has allot. Excellent boat ramps and fishing dock with bench seats for us that don't like to stand long. Outer banks area and Kitty Hawk just a hour away. Nice drive. I would return again and again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

---

I could not get a site but drove out and looked at it. Fantastic. Can't wait to visit there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 2006

Have to agree with D. & C.B. A great site! One of the cleanest and best maintained bases we?ve visited. Hospitality was just fantastic with a smile on everyone?s face. MWR has moved from the gym to Bldg 7 (?The Hangar? all hands club) next door. Check-in after hours is still at Bldg 5 (the Gym). Campground is broken into two areas: gravel sites 1-4 nestled in cabin area directly across from CG Exchange; paved sites 5-14 down near the river. Was blustery when we visited, so glad we were in site #3 and protected. Would we go back? Bet your bippy we will!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 2006

This is truly a gem! Paved sites with fhu and water view. Nice dock with benches and picnic tables at waters edge. Exchange, shoppette & gas station close by. We give this famcammp a 5 and it would be a 5+ if had 50amp electric. Location within an hour of outer banks and/or Virginia sites.

Was this review helpful to you? 
15 results - showing 1 - 15