Fort Fisher Air Force Recreation Area

 
4.0 (79)
108883   1   19   1   61

User reviews

8 reviews with 2 stars

79 reviews

 
(32)
 
(29)
 
(11)
 
(5)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
 
4.6  (79)
 
3.4  (79)
 
4.1  (79)
 
4.0  (79)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
8 results - showing 1 - 8  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

May 2018

Location cant be beat. Lots to do in area. Some issue going on during the week I am here before memorial weekend. Pool is closed for undetermined length of time - restaurant is closed, kayak/canoe rental shop is closed as well and they are extremely short staffed. I guess they are not happy about not receiving enough funding and take it out on customers. I read where other reviews said staff was helpful- I guess that one was off today. Ive been here 3 days and asked when someone will clean the bathrooms- (trying to find nice way to tell the truth; If you don't want MRSA or Scabies or impetigo or any other fungus infections- don't use any of the bathrooms offered to campers.) I was told- "You are welcome to the job of cleaning them if you want" They double talked saying they had cleaned them- but really only restocked paper and removed trash- I was further told about being short staffed but in a very rude tone like it was my fault. I would have rather been treated more civilly with an apology and offer to clean- but I think she was avoiding that offer because she would have been the one to have to clean those nasty bathrooms. I had to go 30 min down road to another campground and pay to use there shower.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

April 24, 2014

Here is the GOOD. Location is ideal to the beach. Two or Three minute drive. Kure Beach is lovely and quiet. Picture perfect for those seeking peace and tranquility. Camping locations are descent however little shade. You can rent golf carts for $20.00 a 24hour period. Inside the rental building is tiny gift shop. If you are using a Tent there appeared to be plenty of shade for those folks. There is also a pool AND a beautiful dock area reaching out into the Cape River. Views from the dock at sunset are very nice. The not so good. Ladies Bath House very small and not clean. We rented a mobile home as our friends used their travel trailers. So we had a mix of tent users, travel trailer users and mobile home renters. Our mobile home good points AC- I must say worked GREAT. A full size12 cup coffee pot was a must and well used every morning. Bring your own coffee filters. They had very old and over used pans (we brought our own frying pans) ample coffee cups and 8 plates were in the home. There is also a small grill to use. There is for guests use inside the mobile home a washer and dryer. Yes it was loud but I was thankful to have it, so I did not pay any attention to the noise. Bring your own folding chairs if you plan on sitting outside unless you don't mind sitting on the deck. The decks are in need of repair and we did get splinters. Inside: The carpets are awful and in serious need of being removed. Black stains, stains from bleaching to remove some stains. As the first thing you see when you walk in left me wondering how dirty everything will be. The sofa and love seat appeared to be as dirty as the carpet. Large bathroom area off the Master bedroom but the tube/shower combo was very small. Queen size bed was ok. Dressers had broken handles which is unnecessary if housekeeping is inspecting each unit. Second Bathroom down the hallway off of the two other bedrooms. Double beds in them. These units have 1980 mini blinds that are broken and do not keep sun out so you may want to bring eye masks unless you want to be wide awake at sunrise. We carry them with us for every trip we take. The cost of the mobile home does not match the product. If we would have paid $60.00 per night in spring I would have been semi ok with it. The unit was just too dirty and the quality of furnishings were awful. Sorry I would have much rather reported clean sleeping facilities but I can not. The location saved the day and the company we visited with. Fort Fisher Recreation /Beach is a diamond but demolish the mobile homes OR fix them up. Great for RV, tent and Travel Trailers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

May 31 thru June 8, 2012

A.C. left this review using the Directory software: - Campground is currently undergoing installation of new water pipes and the sites are hard to access at times to say nothing of the mess. Additionally the bathouse is being redone and as a consequence only one shower/toilet facilities are available for the entire campground. The laundry facilities are also undergoing refurbishment so no washers or dryers are non existent at this time. We have managed but it would be nice if we were told this before we made the reservations here. Also the rates are not as advertised on the website (Fort Fishers or the Campground Directory). They should update the info. Not sure when the construction work will be done.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

3 - 7 June 2012

We rented one of the cabins up front that sleep 12 - first of all, the employees, (reservations desk) should inform everyone that the cabins are scheduled to be demolished in 2013 and are in very poor condition. The cabins need to be demolished immediately. The carpeting is nasty, the living room furniture was dirty and torn, the walls and trim molding are battered and unpainted, the washing machine bangs loudly while using it, the refrigerator doors did not have bars on it to hold milk jugs, two burners on the stove did not work, the pots and pans were battered and several had loose handles. This is a disgrace that they would even make these units available to our active and retired military personnel. Anyway we stayed there one night; got up the next morning and requested to be moved to a mobile home which was much better. The snack bar staff was great! However, the snack bar closed at 2pm during the week and was only open late on Friday and Saturday nights.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 30, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

April 2012

I have been coming here for 5 years and I come 2 or 3 times a year. This has been such a poor experience. The dryer in house did not work,paint falling off the ceiling in the houses,tubs fill with water when taking a shower.not to mention they painted the tub and the paint is chipped every where. Then to top it off they are raising the prices for E5 and up.why? I'm retired the price of a house for a week is half of my retirement pay. They are making no money because nothing is open. How can you change from winter to spring prices and have nothing open. I have run business for along time and this is the worst I have seen. If you are going to rent houses and trailers open the rec center and the restaurant. I would eat there before going to town.please tell me why the prices are going up when you offer nothing. The store sells nothing you need ( bread ketchup,mustard and so on.this is where they can make money instead of raising the prices.this hurts the retired community. Also you can only rent for a week at a time well that's nice if you don't have to work for a living.i used to come here for 3 day weekends but can't do that any more.this will be my last trip here until they learn how to run a business.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 18, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

4 July 2011

Had to stay in overflow, had electric and water. It is farther to the beach than I thought it would be from the web site. Beach is public, People running the camp store are nice but don't know how to manage the computer for the camping sites. Over priced for what is there, we moved to (Onslow Beach Campsites and Recreation Area) much nicer and a better value for the money with private military beach. Used the ferry from Southport to get there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

10-12 September 2010

It has been approximately since our last occasion to utilize this facility. The quality of our experience has diminished significantly and we will not return. Outside of the proximity to the beach, there is little of merit to this facility. On the positive side, personnel coordinating and making our reservation were professional and did an outstanding job. The ocean and beach are easily accessible, but all other support facilities at the base have been closed for the season. It appears that Labor Day is the cut-off point for operating all other amenities. The grounds in the campground are not being maintained, grass needs cut, basic repairs to facilities are not being addressed. Showers and laundry room facilities are filthy and were not cleaned during entire period of our stay. Campers staying in adjacent RV spot have encroached upon our space by not only erecting a 28-ft. travel trailer on the hardstand, but also erecting two large tents, one of which is inches from our picnic table. They have surrounded their site with multi-color lighting which was not turned off until late each night. There is no camp host or supervision of any variety at this facility, thus activities and noise in wee hours of morning are not uncommon. We have utilized numerous FamCamps across the country and this facility ranks as the very worst.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

8/7/2007 to 8/13/2007

We have stayed in numerous military recreation areas throughout the United States and Europe, this by far was the most run down, filthiest place we have ever stayed in, military or civilian. We stayed in the Marsh Landing Rooms which looked like old single Officer or Staff NCO quarters. The room needed to be updated, the furniture was falling apart, and the room was filthy. The entire room smelled of mildew. There was visible mildew on the walls and ceiling of the sleeping area and bathroom. There was black mold growing out of the shower head and the knobs to turn on the bath were full of mold. The entire room was equally as disgusting. The room was infested with ants and those large roaches that the south is famous for. The bed spread was covered in stains and smelled like it had not been washed in weeks. We had to ask twice to get someone to come and clean the room and it took them three days to get around to cleaning it. The entire time we were there they never came around and switched out the towels or cleaned the room on a daily basis, we had to ask for clean towels about half way through our stay. This place needs to be either updated or closed down. I would imagine it is not very healthy to be exposed to that much mold and mildew. I do not understand why the Air Force allows this place to continue to operate in this condition, I have always been impressed with the Air Force standard of living until now.

Was this review helpful to you? 
8 results - showing 1 - 8