Fort Fisher Air Force Recreation Area

 
4.0 (79)
108883   1   19   1   61

User reviews

9 reviews with 3 stars

79 reviews

 
(32)
 
(29)
 
(11)
 
(5)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
 
4.6  (79)
 
3.4  (79)
 
4.1  (79)
 
4.0  (79)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
9 results - showing 1 - 9  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

July 2018

They are working hard to make this a great place to stay by upgrading some of the facilities. At $25 per night and just yards from the beach, it's hard to complain about Ft Fisher. However, if they don't pay attention to the small things, people may start going elsewhere. First, we were supposed to have side-by-side RV sites. They gave me sites 11 and 12 four months previous based on that request. However, in the process of pouring new concrete pads, they renumbered some of them (not all) and 11 is now several sites away from 12. Not the end of the world, as it is not a huge campground, but at least they should have told us ahead of time. We were quite confused upon our arrival, couldn't get a wi-fi or Verizon signal to call the office, so had to back a 50+ foot rig/truck all the way out of the RV area to drive down to the office to figure out what was going on. Once we finally got in our sites, we found that one had no cable hook up and the other had a hook up, but no service. Wi-Fi was down all week. When I asked at the front desk about it the lady just laughed and said "it will be fixed whenever the Army of Air Force decides to get around to it." No apology, poor customer service. Normally, I don't even watch TV or use campground wi-fi, but the RV area was a dead spot for Verizon (and my brother-in-laws ATT), so we had no connectivity at all. That makes it a bit tougher when trying to keep up with the bad weather we were having, as well as looking up things to do in the area. Also, the dumpster in the middle of the campground was not emptied for over 10 days - it was overflowing, smelled horrible, and was a gathering place for huge swarms of flies that made being outside miserable. I also told the office about this (they seemed completely unaware) and was told it would be emptied on Monday (it was Friday). I told them they needed to take care of it immediately as it was unbearable for sites close by, but no one seemed motivated to do something. It was still overflowing when we left. I found this to be representative of the staff's attitude all week. They seemed to act as if the customer was more of a burden than anything else. I've never encountered this in over 30 years of RVing - and certainly not at the commercial campgrounds up and down the coast. All in all, Ft Fisher has the potential to be a real gem, but the staff and management need to start paying attention to details or people will decide to pay a bit more and go elsewhere.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

14-18 April 2016

First time here. I made reservations for 4 nights for full hookups, 50 amps. When we arrived, the staff in reception told us not to hook up our septic because the lift station wasn't working. We discovered later that it hadn't worked in months. Now that's not full hookups, is it? We still had to pay the full rate. They suggested we use the camp restrooms and gave us a site near the showers. They were individual rooms, a bit dated but cleaned daily (we saw the cleaning staff) and definitely old. As someone who likes showering and using the bathroom in my own rig, it was a bit inconvenient for us not to be able to connect to septic. Our site was a pull in. The electric and water were on the correct side, the septic was in the front (wrong) side. Pad was concrete. Roads were paved. Site was long and very level. No wifi so we used our jetpack. A couple sites were shady but most were open to the sky. No dog park but lots of acreage to walk the dogs. It's a small open base. No Exchange or commissary. The area is quiet, the beach is across the street. I'd stay here again but will make sure we can hook up to septic next time.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

August 2007

We stayed in a cottage back in 2007 that looked like an old Officer Bachelor Quarters that had two bedrooms with individual bathrooms separated by a kitchen and living room/common area. I am hoping that they have improved them since we stayed there but they were horrible. The cottage we were in needed a complete update. The unit stunk of old carpet and furnishings, the bathtub and bathroom was covered in mold and mildew, the air-conditioner stunk and the filter was full of dirt and mildew. The carpet was stained and stunk. The furniture in the common area was old and worn out. Now saying all of that about the cottages, the staff was very helpful and friendly, the location was right across the street from the beach, and the facilities were nice. The small annex was well stocked and the prices were reasonable. My father is also retired military and my daughter and her husband are active Army and my son is a former Marine. They all stayed in the campground and that area was very nice and well maintained and the bathrooms seemed adequate and clean. But since we stayed in the cottage, this reviews is based on their condition.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 6 to April 15, 2012

This place is in a great location and we love to go here,but over this Easter week it was a complete disaster. We stayed in the overflow section and the bathrooms that we normally use at the tent area were closed. The one bathroom that was open met with disaster when it overflowed. Fortunately we knew about the rec center bath and showers but most people didn't.I sure hope they get things in order because its such a shame a facility with so much potential has so many problems. The people at the reception center are so nice, I kind of feel for them.We want to go back this summer,but:

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

May 31-June 3, 2010

We have stayed at Ft. Fisher many times but this wasn't our best visit. We were in the overflow area (at $15/night) with no water or sewer and just 20 amp power, thus unable to run A/C and it was hot and humid. Terrible ant problems and we are still trying to get rid of them in the coach. We arrived on Monday after the Memorial Day crowds had left and the bathrooms/showers were terrible - but they were cleaned on Tuesday. The Beach House restaurant is closed except on weekends - too bad as it is a beautiful location for a casual lunch or dinner and a drink on the screened porch. The dump station is the worst we have ever seen - no water spigot nearby and no gravel or concrete apron. We elected not to use it. But in spite of all the problems, this is a great location if you like the beach. We will come back but will make reservations earlier so we can get a full-hookup site.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

July 2009

I would agree with the other comments that the staff is very friendly and there are some decent amenities at Ft Fisher including a pool and fishing. But we were generally disappointed in our visit and left after one night. I suspect the newer RV sites are better but we were placed in what is termed "an overflow site with a full hookup" - I believe it was #26. The check-in person surprisingly said we could park the motorhome anyway we wanted on the grass as long as we didn't block the adjacent sites and then joked that she often sees people walk the site for 15 or 20 minutes to try to figure out how to use it. In short, it is impossible to use as a full hookup, and it is a challenge to shoehorn a motorhome between the overhanging tree and building next to it. On top of that the park's "dump station" is literally in the grass approximately 8 feet from the right side of the coach where we had to park. And the dump station has no water, so people wheel their dump tanks over and then mostly pour it down the drain but then have no water to clean up what they missed The smell was bad. Again, the "regular RV sites" may be fine but we did not enjoy our visit to Fort Fisher and left sooner than we anticipated.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Apr 12 - Apr 19

Our stay at this campground was ok. The access to and abundance of beach was outstanding. We like to walk on the beach and there was certainly plenty of that to do. The campground itself was so-so. The site we were at had the water and electricity on one side and the sewer on the other. (Apparently there are some sites with all hook-ups on the same site - you might want to ask if making reservations) It ended up being more convient to drive in instead of backing in. In order to utilize sewer I had to hook up 30' of hose and stretch it under the RV just to reach the sewer. I had heard from other campers that the office didn't really want you to dump your tanks at the site so I went and asked. They said yes and asked that I use the dump station right across from the office. I took a look at this (never did find the water hose) and decided to dump at the next stop. I was a lot easier. Would I stay there again? Probably. Do they need to upgrade some? Certainly!!!! Did enjoy the area and there is lots to do.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 22, 2007

This is our second stay at Ft. Fisher. The facilities seem quite tired. As other reviewers have written, many of the sites have sewer hookups without covers & with broken pipes. Another disappointing aspect is the "bath house & laundry". It consists of a small building with one bathroom/shower for men, another for women and only one marginal washer & dryer ($. 75/load). Aside from that the location is terrific with lots of things to do on both the Carolina/Kure Beach/Wilmington side & Southport is an easy ferry ride away. We were here in early November a couple years ago when a Blue Grass Festiavl was taking place on site. We would definitely come back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 25, 2007

Potentially a very nice facility. Attention to detail was lacking on many of the sites such as no sewer cover, crushed sewer pipe covered with a rock and a other details that needed attention. Beach is across the street and walkable and although the camp store had friendly and personable staff, it was out of most things. Ft. Fisher Museum was a very nice experience as was the North Carolina Aquarium both just a short drive from the campground. As was mentioned in other postings some sites are crammed in close to mobile homes. Our site #12 was fine but hook-ups were on the wrong side if you have a fifth wheel and back it into the site which is the norm. I am sure the place is booming in the summer and on week-ends but we arrived late in March and on a Sunday night, which was good because several sites were vacant. It probably would be good planning to try to arrive on a week day versus a week end.

Was this review helpful to you? 
9 results - showing 1 - 9