Fort Fisher Air Force Recreation Area

 
4.0 (79)
110063   1   19   1   62

User reviews

29 reviews with 4 stars

79 reviews

 
(32)
 
(29)
 
(11)
 
(5)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.6  (79)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.8  (79)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.4  (79)
Value 
 
4.1  (79)
Overall Experience 
 
4.0  (79)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
29 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
August 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I have to agree with the previous comments. I RV a lot and stay at a lot of military campgrounds and this one needs a lot of TLC. I do come here often though because it is located directly across from the beach. My first constructive comment is that Ft Fisher needs a camp host for obvious reasons. Camp hosts usually care about their RV parks and a lot of the issues the previous person mentioned would be taken care of by a camp host. Ft Fisher Management doesn't really care about the condition of the RV park and it shows. Yes, the office ladies are pleasant and nice, however, they don't make any real decisions. The bath houses are disgusting. Laundry room is usually dirty. Internet rarely works. Dumpsters are always full. The new RV pads should have been constructed so that they were wider then 7-8 feet. The driveways for the pads are like a hundred feet long but the width is not nearly wide enough. Seems silly the bar and grill isn't open on the weekend or evenings but I guess it is contracted out to civilians and the RV park has nothing to do with it. The great things about this RV park is that it is across the street from the beach, they rent golf carts, kayaks, and small boats. There is a fishing pier. This military recreation area could be a real cash cow for the Air Force if it was managed better. I hope those in leadership at Seymore Johnson Air Force Base read this post and look into the concerns by its customers.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
June 28 - Jul 1, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed for 3 nights and loved it. There is so much to see in the surrounding area. Anything you could want are need is close by. The beaches are beautiful and there are rentals of bikes kyaks at the rec center. The internet worked great and all the hook ups. We will be back. Marv & Carol Singleton
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
24 March 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We are a popup camper family, we traverse the East Coast area, We enjoyed our stay lots of military history, beaches were peaceful and serene. Fort Fisher is directly across the street from the public access to the beach, walking across the street (crosswalk) from Fort Fisher there is a great beach shower to rinse off. I stayed in RV site 18 (15$) a night. I added a pic of the location. It was directly across from the Military Museum and right outside is military equipment, tanks, trucks and helicopters. Hint use the showers in the REC center they are cleaner and in better condition. The pool wasn't opened yet for the season but it was cute and looks like fun for the kiddos. We went to the Aquarium and the Ferry, those are a must do if your going there. The rec center offered some great activities and had equipment to rent such as bikes and kayaks. there are lot of bugs so bring your coils and bug spray. there is no open flame allowed and there is not BBQs at every site so either bring your own or you could rent one. There is a byway between Wilmington and Fort Fisher that helps you avoid the town traffic so take a look at using it when you don't want to take the scenic route. Lastly this a great Military and Historic area! It always surprises me when I read reviews and people complain about bathroom and shower facilities, I expect rustic conditions its camping...... Bring soap and TP :-). 
A
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 0
Mar 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Coming from the south to get to Wilmington required more downtown driving (we weren’t in coastal enough to take the ferry from Southport) than when we left going north. That way was pretty much a straight shot on good roads. Coming down Rt 421 to Kure Beach, I thought the best landmark was the white pillars either side of the road. The CG entrance was about a ¼ mile past them on the right. Our high rating of this CG is the same as what drives real estate – location, location, location! So much to see in the area and all close by with easy access. We recommend a ferry trip over to Southport, a quaint seaside town with good seafood restaurants. The sites are old asphalt pads with a concrete picnic pad with easy access to hookups. They do have cable, but you have to check out a converter box to use it; boxes that have a history of problems. They also now have Wi-Fi and we had a good strong signal. The area was unkempt with the grass was about 8” high and restrooms (none had soap) and laundry were less than clean. All of the sites are back in, but the hookups can be on different sides or even mixed depending on the site. The on-site restaurant and the clubhouse/rental center were all closed for the season. They offer off-season rates for the cabins/condos, but RVers still pay full price. There are mobile home rentals in the first part of the CG with some of the RV sites in between them. These sites are small, but the others all have plenty of space. We stayed in a motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
May 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We came here from Myrtle Beach and the ferry was amazing! I highly recommend the ferry if your coming from the south. Be advised the instructions to get to RV park are incorrect here. There is no sign that says where the "reception center" is, once you enter the base there is a sign that says "tent camping go right" and "recreation center left" I went to to recreation center thinking that was the office, HUGE MISTAKE!! The road is very narrow and comes to a dead end at a dumpster, there's no place to turn around so we had to disconnect our car which was a huge hassle in a tight space. What you need to do is turn RIGHT going toward "tent camping" the reception center is on the right side and you need to park in the large parking area to check in, then after check in you go back out and RV park is near the mobile homes near the entrance. RV park is kinda small but sites are large, only back ins. The reception center has a very nice souvenir store with a Starbucks coffee too. I think the $25/night with no weekly rate is kinda high though.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Jan 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We enjoyed our stay at Ft Fisher in early January, 2015 The sites are large and full service, although several are backwards (ie electric, water,/sewer, and/cable on wrong side), and pads are narrow. This can be overcome by pulling straight in, unhook, and pull TV through grass to back of RV. Base facilities are closed in winter, and that was ok with us. Wi-Fi is…ify. Cable required a converter (provided by MWR office) but worked fine. When we arrived it was one rig there, and we called the MWR office and they stated that we needed reservations… ok, but it is in the middle of the winter and one other camper is there. The washrooms/showers were excellent; water pressure and/hot water great. Staff was helpful in recommending restaurants (we recommend Jack Mackerel and drinks at Bud and Joes afterward). Located a few miles from Ft. Fisher and the Aquarium; excellent for bike riding and jogging and beach time during summer. The base is building new recreation villas that are looking great. We were heading south and took the Ft Fisher ferry to South Port, which was very enjoyable. DON’T PASS UP!
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
June 21-28, 2014
(Updated: November 16, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed in the cottages these sorry I know they are building new but these should have been torn down years ago buildings are falling apart. We stayed for a week four cameras and nobody had the heart to photograph our sad green house. There are tons of programs on the base at very reasonable prices and the staff was friendly. The cottage next door had a dumpster in the front yard pretty ripe between dumping's. The place seamed like it would be great for rv campers may go back when the new cottages are complete but think I will chalk this up as a done that.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 15, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed at site 21 which is in overflow area. This is the first overflow area that seems better then the normal open sites. We had 50 amp, water and sewer. We could see the water and the pier from our RV and close to beach for a nice stroll. Nice shade tree that gave us adequate shading to keep us out of the sun and we were even able to get satellite. We're only staying for two day's heading towards Florida after this. I could of stayed longer but have places to see.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Oct 3 - Oct 8, 2012
(Updated: October 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This small campground would be the place to be during the summer beach season (if you can get a reservation). A short 300 yard walk to the beach with easy access provided by two walkways across the dunes. Showers are located at the edge of the base to rinse off the sand and salt before returning to your RV. The campground appears to be a mobile home park that has been converted to a campground which also has several modular homes that serve as beach cottages. The sites are not close together and each has a concrete pad and driveway. The water and electric utilities are on the wrong side but this can be overcome by running your hose and power cord under your RV. In some sites the sewer connection is also on the wrong side. If you have a motorhome, you could drive in (not back in) and eliminate these problems. There is a bathhouse and laundry. The showers are located in individual rooms with sink and toilet, providing maximum privacy. The $25 daily rate would be appropriate for the summer season but, in my opinion, is too high for other parts of the year. Fort Fisher is located near the end of the highway and, except for the typical beach shops and restaurants, there isn’t much down here. The aquarium and Fort Fisher are nearby. The nearest Wal-Mart is 12 miles back toward Wilmington. Visit Jack Mackerel’s restaurant for some great seafood. During our visit, they were offering 40% off on Wednesdays, a real bargain.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Apr 30-May 8, 2012
(Updated: May 26, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We were meeting family on their beach vacation and this was a perfect location. Proximity to beach was good enough. We would return if we wanted a beaching site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
20-25th Oct 2011
(Updated: July 30, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Overall, this is a nice place. There isn't any security. Anybody can come in the campground. Anyone can go fishing on the pier. Anyone can use the restrooms or showers unless a camper steps up and says no. There are a lot of house trailers here. They are working to improve them. I found some of the hook-ups for RV's are quite odd in some sites. Water on wrong side, electric or cable far away. It's just weird. But it is close to the beach if you like the beach. There are some very reasonable golf courses near which is a plus to me. The staff was very helpful and sincere in wanting to provide a nice experience. That's a great plus!!!! Sunsets on the Cape Fear River were wonderful!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
August 2011
(Updated: September 25, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great location. Facilities are nice with pool, snack bar, etc. Nice pier on river side for fishing. Have to go across the highway and thru beach houses (only at public entrance areas) to get to the beach. Campsites are nice but a little tricky. Sites were originally a mobile home park and the homes faced each other - therefore, on some sites, to get the use of the patio you have to park your RV backwards which may put hookups on other side. However, overall a very nice facility and we definitely will return. Cabins are old base housing and according to the staff are scheduled to be torn down at the end of next season and new ones built. Staff was very nice and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
E.R.E. left this review using the Directory software: - Nice Campground. Take the ferry to Oak Island.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 2
16 through 26 April 2011
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
L.A. left this review using the Directory software: April is still the winter season so the recreation facilities and restaurant were closed. The restaurant did open for a few hours on Easter weekend. We stayed in lot 26 next to the dump station. The camp overall is clean and comfortable but the restroom/shower facilities are getting very run down. It is obvious that MWR isn't putting any money into maintenance or improvements. As mentioned in other reviews, depending on the assigned camp site, it can be a long way to the hookups. We arrived about 6PM and found we had to make a quick trip to WalMart (almost 20 miles one-way) to get water hose and an extension cord. Water and electric hookups are nearly 75 feet from trailer site 26. Sewer is about 20 feed. The office crew was friendly and helpful but don't be surprised if you have to move your camper at least once during your stay. It seems they find it easier to juggle campers around the sites rather than juggle the calender to slot campers according to length of stay. I know this sounds negative, but in spite of the shortcomings, we really enjoyed our stay at Fort Fisher and will most likely visit again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Apr 1 thru Apr 14 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great place to take in the ocean. Gives you a feeling like the outer banks but not as commercialized. Great restaurant called the treehouse.tappa food. Only negative is the dump station by the office. They have a orv-26 site connected with with RV dump PVC pipe. When we were there an RV was at this site. There is no way I could have moved my 5th wheel close enough to dump. Thank goodness I had a portable sewage tote with me or would have had to leave a week early and find a dump station else where. They need to do away with orv site-26.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
29 SEP to 8 OCT 2009
(Updated: October 08, 2009)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We liked this RV Park. It's quiet and roomy. The laundry room is with the bathhouses but it's not marked. It's the last door on the left side of the building. It's air conditioned and really pleasant inside. I brought a chair and my laptop while I was waiting for my laundry to finish. Two washers/two dryers at 75 cents each. We loved the beach access within walking distance. There are many free public parking lots for the beach if you'd rather drive. Boarded the ferry when we left the campground as we were headed south--our first ferry ride ever. It's $15 but better check ahead of time for the schedule as we had an hour wait. We paid $15 for the truck and 5th wheel. It's a 30 min ride on the ferry and you can sit in your vehicle OR walk about the boat. You CAN drive south if you want but you have to go through Wilmington which would take you about 1.5 hrs to accomplish the same thing that the ferry will do. When we saw all the neat shops and antique shops after we got off the ferry and into town, we wished we had taken a day to do that while we were at the RV park but we didn't have time once we got on the road as we had a deadline to meet. There is no military gate at the RV park. Cable TV gets over 100 channels which is a PLUS in our book! Intermittent drops w/Verizon cell and aircard but not too bad.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
23-27 JULY 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Brought the family down with a pop up camper. The staff was terrific and our fellow campers were friendly and polite. We had a very quiet "overflow" spot that worked out perfectly for us. We enjoyed the beach access the most and used the pool and fishing pier as well. We enjoyed our stay and will camp there again when we get the opportunity.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
New bath house and laundry room have been added. 4 complete baths, including sink, commode, and shower. 2 washers and 2 dryers @ $.75 each. Campground still has old mobile home hook-ups, but functional. You may choose to drive into the sites, instead of back-in because concrete pads for porch are on different sides for different sites. If you have a full black tank, they prefer that you use the RV dump in front of the reception center, due to old plumbing at the sites. Grey can be hosed into the sewer hook-up at site for continual drainage. AT&T aircard is sporadic, not consistent, which can be irritating. The number one positive about this campground is location to beach. A great value for $20 a night, considering what hotels and rental condos cost in this area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
August 21, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
If you can imagine a beach access property owned by the military and good it might be, it is that terrific! The office is staffed by knowledgeable friendly people who will answer all your questions. While there be sure to visit the little military museum on the base. It's terrific. We were there during a time when the camp hosted an outdoor music event on property. It was free and fabulous! There are nice restaurants close by for your eating enjoyment. The beach is literally half to one block walk away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
May 5 - 11, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We love Ft. Fisher, having stayed in the lodge a lot several years ago, but this was our first time with our coach. It was a great stay. It is very quiet, the staff are friendly and helpful, and we love the beach and surrounding area. We were disappointed to learn that the Beach House restuarant and the Recreation Center would not be open until Memorial Day weekend. We had been looking forward to doing some kayaking and canoeing but they were not ready yet. The laundermat only has one washer and one dryer but at $.75 each, a bargain. The facility manager, Bill, had some great plans and we hope he can get the necessary funding to implement them. We suggest to everyone going there to ride bikes to the ferry, take the ferry to Southport, and bike around the town. The battleship USS North Carolina is a great place to take the kids, and for adults too. We definitely hope to go back again soon.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 0
29 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2