Lake Elmer Thomas Recreation Area

 
3.5 (29)
58277   1   22   3   9

User reviews

8 reviews with 3 stars

29 reviews

 
(6)
 
(9)
 
(9)
 
(5)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
 
3.6  (29)
 
3.6  (29)
 
3.8  (29)
 
3.5  (29)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
8 results - showing 1 - 8  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

April 30-May 3, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at LETRA. The cost was $20 then up to $22 for a total of $64. Which is still a good deal. However, our GPS (Google Maps) tried to take us in the back way to Fort Sill, through Apache Gate on Hwy 49. The gate was closed and after speaking to the security guard at Key Gate West, that gate has been closed for many years. My advice is to call the campground (580-442-5854) before you go to make sure the gate is open or closed. Driving through Main Post added another 30-45 minutes to our drive. The Fort Sill website says Apache Gate is open Memorial Day through Labor Day sill-www.army.mill/ADASchool/gatehrs.html We were there prior to Memorial Day. The cable was fine but I wish the WiFi worked just a bit better in the campground. I had terrible phone service through Sprint but did have 3g. The wind was not enjoyable but the walk and the view certainly were. The Showers could use just a bit of upgrading but other than that the facilities were nice and the next time we're back in the Fort Sill area we will be staying at LETRA, if there is room. Its a good value.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 04, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

27 Sept to 3 Oct, 2011

As of 1 Oct 2011, new rate is $18 a night. They now offer free cable tv, limited channels, but a big improvement. WIFI is free but weak.
Bathrooms and laundry still dirty, with layer upon layer of dead bugs in light fixtures. Dog droppings on many sites. No sign of the camp hosts for the entire 1 week stay. Stayed one week, charged for 8 nights. Had to get that fixed - still waiting for refund to hit my credit card account 5 days later. The review from last year Aug 17, 2010 was our review as well. The only improvement we see is they added cable TV, and no sign of the rude employee from last year. Current staff is friendly, but they NEED to learn there are only 7 days in a week. Staff says the base will be improving the road from Apache Gate to LETRA starting this month.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 25 - July 5, 2009

L.R. left this review using the Directory software: Was assigned a space number when I made reservation and found site occupied upon arrival (have stayed here numerous times & this is first time this has happened). Camp host was not very helpful in correcting it. There is no cable television. With the change to digital broadcast, no television signal can be received on antenna.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

June 25 to July 5, 2009

This campground is remote and basically quite. Artillery impacts can be heard and an occasional convoy does go by. The rest rooms, showers and laundry room are cleaned daily. I've stay at LETRA many times and this is the first time my reservations were not accurate. The camp host was not real helpful in correcting the mix up. The recreational facilities are open 9 to 5 and closed on Monday & Tuesday. The campground DOES NOT have cable television. Back in the analog broadcast days, stations from Lawton and Wichita Falls could be received on antenna. With the switch over to digital broadcast, no television can be received on antenna. The new Artillery Museum is open at Ft. Sill and the eateries at Meers and Medicine Park are worth a visit.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

2 Oct 08

We arrived early in afternoon and there were no signs to tell you were to check in. Had to find another camper and ask. Turns out it is about 300 yards from the campground to the east in a building across the road from the lodge. The gentleman who checked me in was not very friendly but he got it done. It is 10 miles from the campground to the PX and commissary but they are very nice. The directions to the campground are right on. They are charging $14 a night now. From my observation I believe about one third of camp was local people station there or working there.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Sept.8, 2006

Everyone hit this one on the head. Great place for kids, lots to do. But unkept, unlevel, and the homesteaders are just kinda creepy. The dog-kennel thing too. Friendly people, but they seem frustrated at the half-baked condition of things too.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Oct 2006

This is an odd campground to rate. It is in an area deserving a rating of 5 but the campground is about a 2. The campground: 50 amp full hookup. Gravel level pads. Old beat up picnic tables. Grass and gravel. Pot hole interior roads. Big wide sites. The area: Located adjacent to a 59,000 acre wild life refuge in the Wichita mountains, the campground is on a section of the base complex but far off from the huge, huge Ft. Sill base itself. Lakes, streams, canyons, mountains and grassland prairies. A herd of 500 elk, deer, free roaming buffalo, open range Texas long horns. Surrounded by mountains and right on a lake. Wide open hill country of grassy rolling hills with wild flowers. The drive back into the campground is 8 miles from the gate. A 3 ? mile road goes up Mount Scott, which rises 2500 feet straight up from the plains? floor for a fabulous summit view of the whole area. Little town of Medicine Park is not to be missed. The commissary is so large, they offer a map as to where everything is located. The old historic fort museum where Geronimo was held (and died) is closed on Monday (the only day we had left to see it). The road to the Apache cemetery was also closed due to all the rain and rising creeks on the base. Next time? And this is a place we do want to return to and finish seeing and ?doing? the area. Maybe when it isn?t raining.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Jun 2006

This is a great campground if you take it for what it is-- a fun place for a little lake recreation. The water slides are fun for "kids" of all ages, and there is a small beach with a roped off swimming area, more suited to younger children. There is a wide variety of pedal boats and kayaks to rent at 1970's prices. The campground store is fairly well-stocked. There are 2 small playgrounds, suited for the 5-and-under crowd. Admission to the water slides is inclued in the price of your site. (Cost is $5 per person if not staying at the FAMCAMP.) This is really a great deal for a family vacation or a fun place to host the grandkids. There is a small laundry room (not air-conditioned). It costs 75 cents a load to wash and the same for the indsutrial-size dryers. The showers are what you would expect at a lake-- no A/C and a bit sandy. We loved this FAMCAMP because the road biking is incredible! Miles and miles of roads with no traffic. There are also several sites on post, about 9 miles away. These seemed to be taken over by the usual Army homesteaders.

Was this review helpful to you? 
8 results - showing 1 - 8